Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway COVID-19, local news and discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Scienceless

We are all entitled to our opinion. Making someone feel uncomfortable and unwelcome for posting is really unpleasant to see. Argue the point and not the person if you want, this sort of thing comes off like bullying.

Agree completly re that post by Storm 10.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Thank God we have a health expert like you on here to tell us what to do.

In fairness, what she is saying there is all true.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

whatever99 wrote: »
    What/who is the Merchant?

A poster on boards who receives info on the cases around lunchtime daily. I think he's been spot on every time he posts them.

He doesn't deserve the views, but it's unbelievable that anyone would be so ignorant and waste the guards time like this.
    Happened on the Renmore bus.
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/09/07/seeking-cover-2/

He ran in the GE as a candidate. His literature was some reading - pure Gemma O'D nonsense.

The thing about these type of guys is that if we were being told not to take this seriously they'd be raving about how serious it was on YouTube or Facebook or whatever. You can read them like a book.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭serfboard

Arghus wrote: »
    He ran in the GE as a candidate. His literature was some reading - pure Gemma O'D nonsense.
    describes himself as a Nationalist Irish Republican
    Says it all really ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭what_traffic

serfboard wrote: »
    Says it all really ...

Would he consider himself to be a geographically linked Nationalist Irish Republican?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Would he consider himself to be a geographically linked Nationalist Irish Republican?

Well, he mentioned in his video that he had a head injury! I'd believe it...

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭skinny90

Where do you hear that? (About it being preschools specifically)

originally heard 2 preschools from a whatsapp group. its actually 1 preschool and 1 primary school, confirmed from close contacts in both places affected

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

He doesn't deserve the views, but it's unbelievable that anyone would be so ignorant and waste the guards time like this.
    Happened on the Renmore bus.
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/09/07/seeking-cover-2/

The same guy in March:

'He tried to spit at the officers repeatedly while they were restraining him and yelled “I’m going to kill you and your family”. Garda Hann told the District Court that he also yelled “I have 19 previous convictions” at the officers .
    https://www.galwaydaily.com/courts/bench-warrant-issued-for-man-who-drunkenly-threatened-garda-and-his-family/

• Registered Users Posts: 25,175 ✭✭✭✭zell12

08 Sept
    A further 307 cases of Covid-19 confirmed in Ireland
    182 in Dublin, 25 in Kildare, 19 in Limerick, 15 in Wexford, 15 in Louth, 8 in Wicklow, 6 in Galway, 6 in Clare, 6 in Kilkenny, remaining 25 cases are located in Cavan, Cork, Donegal, Kerry, Longford, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good news: pubs to reopen 21st September
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/cabinet-decides-all-pubs-can-open-from-september-21st-1.4349607
    The Cabinet has decided that so called “wet” pubs will reopen on September 21st and the date will not be subject to any change or further delays.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Exactly, last week he said we were going into a full countrywide lockdown again, before the Tuesday announcement. Another quality prediction.

Poor old Heath Bewildered Scale has been really getting it in the neck from some people.Seeing that we now have confirmed active clusters in Oranmore and Renmore, people might finally start being less nonchalant and flippant about this.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Storm 10 wrote: »
    God dam it I thought you were gone but your back again with more doom and gloom please go away.

Why should he/she go away?If you have an issue with a poster, then just put them on ignore.None of us wanted this virus, but it's here now, and it looks like it ain't going away anytime soon.So let's just try and get on with things, whilst taking all the necessary precautions to protect ourselves and our loved ones.There's no point in getting ratty with people, that won't solve anything.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 12,150 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Poor old Heath Bewildered Scale has been really getting it in the neck from some people.Seeing that we now have confirmed active clusters in Oranmore and Renmore, people might finally start being less nonchalant and flippant about this.

There's a large difference between their close the country/destroy the economy position and what reality needs to be/is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭LostDuck

A poster on boards who receives info on the cases around lunchtime daily. I think he's been spot on every time he posts them.

84 cases - 4 deaths

• Registered Users Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Redo91

LostDuck wrote: »
    84 cases - 4 deaths

Jesus only one death out. Spot on with cases. They clearly know something.

Redo91 wrote: »

He's accurate every day, obviously he's has the inside scoop.

Lot of reporting today of numbers from different regions within Dublin... sounds like they're readying the ground for a regional lockdown within parts of Co. Dublin.
    Redo91 wrote: »

Great news for the person that got back off the death count.

Storm 10 has been warned.

skinny90 wrote: »
    originally heard 2 preschools from a whatsapp group. its actually 1 preschool and 1 primary school, confirmed from close contacts in both places affected
    I don't doubt this is true but it's still hearsay.
    Please stick with linkable verifiable sources.

There is plenty of discussion around other counties in the Covid forum,. This thread is for Galway city (and sure, the county) only, thanks.

Thankfully no further big surge today in Galway... (draft numbers)
    196 cases. 107 Dublin. 11 Limerick. 12 Waterford. 7 Kildare.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,453 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Fergie is doing well out of his photo. It's even made the New York Times now.

Being used to promote the importance of the pub, even though the man himself said "To hell with the feckin' pubs, health is more important".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭skinny90

Fergie is doing well out of his photo. It's even made the New York Times now.

I wonder at the start did he agree to someone taken his photo and posting it online in the first place?
    I’d be very interested..
    While it went viral for a lot of good reasons i saw tonnes of comments and questions of loneliness, mental health and even addiction issues.
    You can imagine people behind their screens giving their own personal diagnostics etc

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

skinny90 wrote: »
    I wonder at the start did he agree to someone taken his photo and posting it online in the first place?
    I’d be very interested..
    While it went viral for a lot of good reasons i saw tonnes of comments and questions of loneliness, mental health and even addiction issues.
    You can imagine people behind their screens giving their own personal diagnostics etc

Yes he was asked and he agreed.

Have a listen:

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

5 in Galway today.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,453 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Taylors have put up a kind of confusing (to me anyway) tweet.
    I can't link but here's screenshot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Taylors have put up a kind of confusing (to me anyway) tweet.
    I can't link but here's screenshot.

Folks, we hope this finds you all happy and well.

We have been notified that one of our staff members has been in close contact with a confirmed case of Covid-19. For the safety of our staff & customers we are closing until further notice & following HSE guidelines & protocols. We will reopen when advised that it is safe to do so. We appreciate the support, patience & understanding. Dated Sunday 6th September.

Stay safe & have the craic safely. See you soon hopefully!

Hi All. Following on from our voluntary closure on Sunday 6th September 2020, we wish to make the following statement.

We have been notified by the HSE, that a group of people, that had attended Taylor's Bar & Beer Garden over the last weekend in August, had all tested positive for COVID-19 in the early part of the following week. The HSE has explained that the party, likely unknowingly, were at a highly contagious stage when on our premises. As is normal process in the circumstances, the HSE are responsible for following up on contact tracing via both the COVID TRACKER APP and from our contact tracing records that have been maintained as per the guidelines. The HSE has contacted everyone that was on the property in / around the time of the infected parties booking. Where the infected group sat and the time of their booking was not made known to us for privacy reasons, and we respect that.

As a precautionary measure & following HSE advice we have arranged testing for ALL Staff. We have also carried out a deep clean of the premises. We do this so that when we reopen, we will do so knowing that our staff are COVID free and the premises is as per guidelines. We will only reopen when safe to do so.

We would like to sincerely thank the HSE for their guidance, professionalism, efficiency & confidentiality in dealing with what the HSE have told us is a most unlikely & strange occurrence.

We would also like to thank our staff and all at Roost, obviously this has been a significantly difficult time for everyone involved.

As you will appreciate, we will not be making any further statement on the matter and will not be responding to individual queries on the matter as it is with the HSE to follow up with the relevant contacts as they see fit.

We hope to reopen within the next week, awaiting HSE confirmation.

This is now what they refer to as “living with COVID” and will undoubtedly happen again to us and others. We hope that our action of voluntary closure may have assisted in some way in preventing the spread further.

Our advice from all of this is 1) Download and use the COVID TRACKER APP and 2) obviously follow the HSE guidelines (and most especially when you are socialising)

We hope to see ye soon in what is likely to be the safest place in Galway this coming weekend to have some food & a glorious pint or a well made cocktail!

Big Love ❤️

Johnny & Philip

Taylor's Bar & Beer Garden

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Why would they not tell Taylors the time of booking? At very least people who were booked in earlier, or staff who worked earlier wouldn't have to be put through worry.

And 'all' tested positive? It must be a bunch of people who live or work together, but still. Yes the info is a little odd.

inisboffin wrote: »
    Why would they not tell Taylors the time of booking?

I'd say it's the contact tracing team that can't disclose that, as they could be identifying the people, patient confidentiality and all that.

I'm sure those in the group could call up Taylors and give more detailed info.