Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what CoronaVirus precautions are your club taking?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Lads I just did above out in excel.

Only 105 people will get out from 0700 hrs to 1503 hrs.

Jaysus - will be a nightmare. The usual tee time chasers will have bots trying to get the tee times.

I couldn't be arsed to be honest - and to make things worse - why close practice areas .
    I wouldn't get too excited about a club that has jumped the gun on what guidelines the GUI will issue tomorrow (presuming it does happen tomorrow). Also if the result of the poll on this thread is in any way accurate, there will probably be something between one third and one half of memberships eligible to play. And not all of them will be able to in any case if they are frontline workers or over 70. And those who can will not be playing every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

hawkelady wrote: »
    Cause without members , there is no club and if you are a member of a golf club you presumably joined it to play golf .. And clubs haven’t been given the authority to tell members who live 6km to stay away.
    Again, why do clubs need to be given any authority? The leader of this country has stated the regulations.?:confused:
    Rather than focusing your narrow mindedness on individual folk that want to play golf, something they have paid for , maybe focus on the governing bodies and the rushed guidelines they have set .
    **I'm** narrowminded? Surely the people who are ignoring the regulations just because they want to play golf are narrow minded and selfish? Would you have been equally ok with people jumping the wall and playing golf during the previous restrictions? afterall, they have paid their money.
    We got so called rushed regulations rather than get no regulations.
    If a member is stopped by a guard on the way to the club and is told to turn around , that’s ok too cause someone in authority has made a decision, but I doubt that’s going to happen .
    Erm, someone in authority has already made a decision? His name is Leo.
    Who exactly do you think the Guards are getting their regulations from?
    Fishing is allowed too on the 18th , but only if you live within the 5km. Another one that easy to enforce
    Or people could just act their age I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

hawkelady wrote: »
    Cause without members , there is no club and if you are a member of a golf club you presumably joined it to play golf .. And clubs haven’t been given the authority to tell members who live 6km to stay away. Rather than focusing your narrow mindedness on individual folk that want to play golf, something they have paid for , maybe focus on the governing bodies and the rushed guidelines they have set .
    If a member is stopped by a guard on the way to the club and is told to turn around , that’s ok too cause someone in authority has made a decision, but I doubt that’s going to happen .

Fishing is allowed too on the 18th , but only if you live within the 5km. Another one that easy to enforce

It's very doubtful that will happen, but if a club or its membership are seen to be taking the p1$$ then, a bit like the publicans who took the p!$$, the reckoning may well come at next licensing round in the DC when the local Super reminds the judge of the club's behaviour.

There may also be a reckoning if somone decides they contracted the bug at a club egregiously neglecting the prevailing guidance and they decide to sue - will they get anything? Highly, highly unlikely......but how much might a club have to pay to defend such an action? Especially as the insurance companies seem to be washing their hands of anything to do with Covid-19.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Erm, someone in authority has already made a decision? His name is Leo.
    Who exactly do you think the Guards are getting their regulations from?
    Well not to be pedantic (well actually I am being pedantic :)) but it was the Oireachtas that gave the powers to Gardai to issue penalties for people breaking the lockdown rules. Fines of up to €2,500 and up to 6 months in prison.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Well not to be pedantic (well actually I am being pedantic :)) but it was the Oireachtas that gave the powers to Gardai to issue penalties for people breaking the lockdown rules. Fines of up to €2,500 and up to 6 months in prison.

Well yeah, but they are made up of Seanad, Dail and the wee man. I think its fair to see that the Taoiseach had a large hand in it considering the power the Dail has versus the Seanad or President...

Ah yeah. I just wanted to make sure and spread the blame. The Dáil did pass those laws. ;)
    Fines are pretty eye-watering if you get to pay the full whack. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

maybe you should stay off the course for the summer to offset all the rule breakers, good man, seeing as you are a pillar of the community and all that

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Fines are pretty eye-watering if you get to pay the full whack. :eek:

- "Its ok Garda, I'm a golfer"
    o "Oh Im sorry sir, I didnt realise, enjoy your game sir"

maybe you should stay off the course for the summer to offset all the rule breakers, good man, seeing as you are a pillar of the community and all that

Maybe I'll go rob a bank because no one in my golf club is going to stop me?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Lads they country is hardly going to go under over this. Not sure why people get so worked up about it.

Whats the worst thing that could happen if people ignore the restrictions?

Whats the worst thing that could happen if people dont play golf?

Whats the worst thing that could happen if people ignore the restrictions?

Whats the worst thing that could happen if people dont play golf?

These are two questions that aren't really creating an honest context when put next to each other.

Someone playing golf who lives 7 km from the course as opposed to 4 km is not the same as "people ignoring the restrictions". It is very few people ignoring ONE restriction. ish.

But I suspect there won't be any talking to you on this one. The rules are the rules are the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭SEORG

These are two questions that aren't really creating an honest context when put next to each other.

Someone playing golf who lives 7 km from the course as opposed to 4 km is not the same as "people ignoring the restrictions". It is very few people ignoring ONE restriction. ish.

But I suspect there won't be any talking to you on this one. The rules are the rules are the rules.

You can't really cherry pick which restrictions to follow though.
    There is no "ish", you either abide by the restriction or you don't

I'm sure minor rule infractions here and there happen all the time all over the country. In any case I'm not going to debate that. Was only attacking the hyperbole in the question.

Not defending my own actions anyway I live under 2 km from the course. Only trying to spread a bit of common sense which seem in short supply at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

There's the problem - it just won't be someone. This is Ireland, so lots of people are going to break the restrictions on the basis of "sure-it'll-be-grand"......after all what's the difference between 5km and 7km or 10km.

The point people are missing is that this is not a scientific process - the restrictions are being relaxed to see what happens. If "what happens" is an increase in cases and/or people unable to respect the relaxed restrictions then it'll be the case that a tighter regime will be re-introduced, and the next time it's relaxed those bits that didn't work won't be tried again.

Hopefully it will all go well, but if it doesn't and one of the images from the "loosening" is golf club carparks full of cars and stories circulating about players travelling >5km to play then golf will get hammered and clubs will get hammered, even if individuals don't.

And really, what are people missing by waiting? It's not like there'll be any competitions, so those thumbing their noses at the rules are just doing it to play social golf.....which is pretty selfish, imo.

Well maybe thats part of the problem. That its not a scientific process. But I won't get into that. The problem with this particular debate is that people are so hyped up over this thing that common sense goes out the window.

Here is Paul, John and me. We're playing together for the last 15 years. John and I live in town. Paul lives 2km outside. So how in all earnest can I explain to Paul that its ok for me and John to play but him coming along after the 18th is practically killing people?

Well maybe thats part of the problem. That its not a scientific process. But I won't get into that. The problem with this particular debate is that people are so hyped up over this thing that common sense goes out the window.
    I think one side of the debate is certainly hyped up about something.

Here is Paul, John and me. We're playing together for the last 15 years. John and I live in town. Paul lives 2km outside. So how in all earnest can I explain to Paul that its ok for me and John to play but him coming along after the 18th is practically killing people?

You dont have to explain to Paul unless he is a simpleton though.
    Paul reads the news and is aware of a global pandemic so doesn't expect to play until the restrictions are reduced to include his circumstances.

Who gets harmed if you and Paul and John jump the wall and play some holes in Carton House? Is this something that you would do?

You could try this:

"It's not about you Paul. If Jim hears you're playing, you know he's going to turn up and play, even though he lives 10Km away. And then the other lads who live in [Jim's village] hear about Jim and they decide it's ok too. Pretty soon the guys from [town 20km away] hear about this and they turn up. Multiply that by the 300 golf clubs around the country and that's the end of lockdown".

Or what Greebo said ^^

They are two independent questions, they dont require an honest context between them.

You said "Lads they country is hardly going to go under over this. Not sure why people get so worked up about it."

My point was that there are 2 things in scope here, rules and golf.
    If you obey the rules you dont play golf
    If you dont obey the rules then you do play golf.

For me at least, its pretty obvious that the impacts of people not obeying the rules is far more significant than people not playing golf.

I'll try asking this again since I still haven't seen an answer on this thread.
    For those who are going to ignore the 5KM restriction, what distance is too far for you?
    10?
    20?
    50?
    100?

Or are you basically saying that you will play golf either way, irrespective of any distance restriction and hence this idea of 5.3km or 7km is really just a diversionary tactic?

I think one side of the debate is certainly hyped up about something.

You dont have to explain to Paul unless he is a simpleton though.
    Paul reads the news and is aware of a global pandemic so doesn't expect to play until the restrictions are reduced to include his circumstances.

Who gets harmed if you and Paul and John jump the wall and play some holes in Carton House? Is this something that you would do?

Point 1: This is the golf forum. We are talking about the effects this has on golf. Don't mistake partaking in this debate for golf being all people care about.

Point 2:

Point 3: No I wouldnt but thats because Carton is a 100 kilometres away.
    John, Paul and I live in the same community/parish/town. We socialise together all the time including golf. If Paul came along he'd still be within his community/parish/town. Just because he lives 2 km out of town doesn't change that and it will be difficult to communicate to him how it would.

I'll try asking this again since I still haven't seen an answer on this thread.
    For those who are going to ignore the 5KM restriction, what distance is too far for you?
    10?
    20?
    50?
    100?

Or are you basically saying that you will play golf either way, irrespective of any distance restriction and hence this idea of 5.3km or 7km is really just a diversionary tactic?

I think the problem is that a number was giving in the first place. They don't want people to travel in numbers across parishes/communities/towns. It should have been that. Stay in your locality. Not don't go beyond 5km. 2km, 5km is just arbitrary.

Point 1: This is the golf forum. We are talking about the effects this has on golf. Don't mistake partaking in this debate for golf being all people care about.

Point 2:

Point 3: No I wouldnt but thats because Carton is a 100 kilometres away.
    John, Paul and I live in the same community/parish/town. We socialise together all the time including golf. If Paul came along he'd still be within his community/parish/town. Just because he lives 2 km out of town doesn't change that and it will be difficult to communicate to him how it would.
    I'm not mistaking anything. Just because its the golf forum doesnt mean that people breaking the rules here are only potentially impacting golfers.

I'm not talking about just during restrictions, I'm talking about in general.
    But even taking that example, would you jump the wall of a club that you aren't a member of within the 5km if you own club was closed? If not, why not? No one is getting harmed. Would you rely on the guards or the club in question to catch and stop you?

Do you have to explain to Paul why you cant still socialise with him or does he get that bit of restrictions?
    (tbh it sounds like you need to ditch Paul)

I think the problem is that a number was giving in the first place. They don't want people to travel in numbers across parishes/communities/towns. It should have been that. Stay in your locality. Not don't go beyond 5km. 2km, 5km is just arbitrary.

You have to give a number if you want to restrict something.

"please dont drive too fast"
    "please dont drink too much and then drive"

How do you define "locality" anyway? What you mean by it and what someone else means is likely very different. Do you think people would have obeyed "locality" more than "2km" or "5km"? I certainly dont.

No one is saying that its not arbitrary btw, but the alternative was spend 12 months of total lockdown while they define every single aspect of the restrictions.

Well this is where common sense comes into play.

We all want to comply with the rules. And we all do. We haven't seen each other in 2 months. Not a drink or a dance or a song or a game of golf. We are actually all really good citizens even if I say so myself.

Now Paul is just outside 5km and sees me and John going out for a game. Common sense will tell anyone that he can play too with no consequences to the pandemic locally or elsewhere. But the rules but the rules but the rules....

A number has to be given. This is law. You can't have ambiguity in the law. Seriously, this is basic stuff.

"Judge, he was doing around 60Kph in a roughly 50Kph zone".

Well this is where common sense comes into play.

We all want to comply with the rules. And we all do. We haven't seen each other in 2 months. Not a drink or a dance or a song or a game of golf. We are actually all really good citizens even if I say so myself.

Now Paul is just outside 5km and sees me and John going out for a game. Common sense will tell anyone that he can play too with no consequences to the pandemic locally or elsewhere. But the rules but the rules but the rules....

And as soon as you decide that the number (whatever number you decide) isnt fixed it becomes pointless.
    I said it earlier, I can add 1Km to any distance you give me and use that as an argument to break the restrictions.

Thats why we shouldn't be having this discussion to begin with. The least be said about it the better. Only drawing attention (albeit to a very small minority of boards users).
    Be grand. Its what one calls the 'grey area'. It works.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭TXPTGR1

I live within 5K of my club and I plan on calling the guards if I see anyone from outside 5K playing, might Post picson Twitter to shame them too, I’ll post the hashtag here if anyone wants to do likewise

Its what one calls the 'grey area'. It works.

and this is why we cant have nice things in this country.:mad:
    It doesnt "work" for anyone than the ba$tards breaking the rules, it typically makes a balls of it for everyone else.