Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what CoronaVirus precautions are your club taking?

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Golfhead65

FP you're being irrational. Its an easy one to be irrational about but you're being irrational. Very much so.
    We really need to take this thing seriously, I am in full agreement with that. But closing golf courses will achieve absolutely nothing. We're just doing it because. Its a political/PR decision with next to no practical value.

I'm in total agreement, I'm booked in for a game at 10-30 Sat morning, fancy joining me... keeping your distance of course

• Registered Users Posts: 9,507 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

FP you're being irrational. Its an easy one to be irrational about but you're being irrational. Very much so.
    We really need to take this thing seriously, I am in full agreement with that. But closing golf courses will achieve absolutely nothing. We're just doing it because. Its a political/PR decision with next to no practical value.

Whats irrational is wanting to play a game of golf in the middle of a world wide pandemic and contributing to the spread of a virus that kills people. Anyone playing golf now is a selfish prick.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

We all know it’s probably safe enough to drive at 100mph along an empty motorway.

We all know it’s against the law and you shouldn’t be doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

It is not often in life that decisions are as clear cut as they are now. We all have a role to play and we are all responsible for doing what we can in difficult circumstances.
    I would love to be in a position where I could play golf but there is a much bigger picture here. We need everyone in society to listen and in doing so we can help prevent unnecessary deaths. One in four people infected are health care workers. They are risking their health on a daily basis for the good of all. Is it too much to ask that we sacrifice our golf in the short term?
    Even if you don't believe it will make a difference, it will definitely make a difference to the morale of those on the frontline knowing that the country is doing all it is asked to tackle this threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Disgraceful actions from Roganstown. There are more important things than golf right now. They should be ashamed. Our Taoiseach has pleaded with us to stay at home and for everyone to do their part. Our Golfing Union recommended every club to close but yet these clowns decided to give a two fingers up. Hopefully the golfing public will remember their selfish actions going forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

An absolute disgrace for clubs to stay open given the government announcements and the GUI statement, pure greed, nothing more nothing less

• Registered Users Posts: 6,648 ✭✭✭Glebee

Have to agree , it really is too fingers up saying we know better. Bad form. As much as i do not like my club being closed its for the best intentions. Stop all unnecessary journeys, what are people not getting with this request.

HighLine wrote: »
    Disgraceful actions from Roganstown. There are more important things than golf right now. They should be ashamed. Our Taoiseach has pleaded with us to stay at home and for everyone to do their part. Our Golfing Union recommended every club to close but yet these clowns decided to give a two fingers up. Hopefully the golfing public will remember their selfish actions going forward.

Yet not everyone is at home, not all or even nearly all non essential businesses are closed, impossible to impose, Are you still at work, is everyone on here sitting at home not going anywhere..I doubt that very much..

Morons with head in the sand and two fingers to the doctors, nurses and other frontline hse staff

Unless everyone posting here is self isolated at home, you can't come the high moral ground on this, There can not be "I have to go out, my job is more important than yours etc " medical staff exempted, so if you are giving out about a golf club being open who are enforcing best practices and you are going to work you are being a hypocrite

Golfhead65 wrote: »
    Unless everyone posting here is self isolated at home, you can't come the high moral ground on this, There can not be "I have to go out, my job is more important than yours etc " medical staff exempted, so if you are giving out about a golf club being open who are enforcing best practices and you are going to work you are being a hypocrite

Roganstown are clearly not enforcing best practices. Apart from reading the rules to suit themselves, they are keeping the shop open and handling payments. If they wanted best practice at the very least they should close shop and only be open for casual golf for members only

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

As a roganstown member I don't agree with the decision but roganstown is not a members owned club and the management made the decision to keep both swords and roganstown open. I certainly wont be playing over the coming weeks.

Seve OB wrote: »
    Roganstown are clearly not enforcing best practices. Apart from reading the rules to suit themselves, they are keeping the shop open and handling payments. If they wanted best practice at the very least they should close shop and only be open for casual golf for members only

So you agree golf clubs should open for members only,as I stated earlier ??

No I don’t.

Edit: here is my post about that earlier on which you didn’t answer
    Seve OB wrote: »
    how is it any different if it is members only?

You’re avoiding the issue at hand with the above statement. The government has clearly specified you should not be travelling unless necessary, I love golf but in the current climate it could not be classified as such. The gui statement was unambiguous, all clubs should shut end of story.

You’re in the wrong if you’re trying to find a reasonable justification for any golf club remaining open.

And I am wfh whilst minding 2 kids and am leaving the house once a day with them for exercise and that is it, shops every 7/10 days for food shopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Curly head

I work in HSE. I Play n love playing golf. I said at beginning of year that definitely I’d be playing more this year as I’ve more time on my hands. My God but how that’s changed, I play in a privately owned club which like the overwhelming amount of sports clubs is now closed, I’d say the majority of members haven’t paid there subs yet so it’s going to be a huge hit on the club. But they’ll take it on the chin n hopefully still be in business when this incredible thing calms down.How incredibly stupid can some people be to want to play golf at this time. Put the clubs away till its deemed safe to play. Hopefully the numbers will not reach what they projected n if closing down golf helps that’s the tiny price we pay. Stay safe everybody

• Registered Users Posts: 20,912 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

What we have learned, is that your views changes for the worse with covid as you learn, will be interesting what people think of their confidence now in a month.

Just think back to Rugby and Cheltenham,

Golf courses staying open, will also be viewed as selfish and arrogant.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

I disagree with clubs being closed but I also completely disagree with clubs going against government and GUI/ILGU advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Remind me wrote: »
    I disagree with clubs being closed but I also completely disagree with clubs going against government and GUI/ILGU advice.

I went to my local park this morning for a walk. It’s not a very big park but there were literally hundreds of people out walking, some with dogs and kids. There were no Gardai there and it’s too small a park to have rangers.
    I didn’t go out, I came home again but I couldn’t help thinking of my local golf club with 150 acres of beautiful parkland and the gates locked.
    Does anyone have a reasonable explanation why loads of people can be out in the local park and why nobody can be out on a golf course which is jus another kind of park? If one is not safe then neither is the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I predict this golf lockdown is not going to last. The case made by Roganstown is very rational and is in line with government and HSE recommendations. I expect GUI is under fire from members already and will ease on their closure recommendation very soon. Especially if this is going to last longer than a couple of weeks we really need to hang on to some escape and some resemblance of normality very quickly. Or else we all go up the walls.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,655 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

All public parks are open. A golf course could remain open and be just as safe with the correct rules in place.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I love how Roganstown are shouting about it being "ONLY A RECOMMENDATION" to close.
    How many other recommendations from experts do you ignore in your daily life I wonder...?

GreeBo wrote: »
    I love how Roganstown are shouting about it being "ONLY A RECOMMENDATION" to close.
    How many other recommendations from experts do you ignore in your daily life I wonder...?

But thats the thing, this recommendation is not coming from experts, they're coming from the GUI. The GUI are no medical experts, they're just covering their arses. The actual experts are not calling for outdoor activities to be ceased given the right precautions. Quite the opposite.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

GreeBo wrote: »

The ‘experts’ in this case are not the GUI, it is the medical experts that we need to listen to. Roganstown say they are following all the recommendations laid down by the government and the medics. This is not difficult to do on a golf course.
    What the GUI did was done for purely PR purposes whereby the don’t want to incur any criticism.
    Golf is one pastime that we could continue to enjoy while absolutely adhering to the guidelines. This is the view that Roganstown have taken and I applaud them for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Lads, there's always the option to do a bit of practice in the back garden in the meantime. I know we all don't have back gardens like Padraig Harrington, but you can cut your cloth according to your measure. Sound on for this one. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

I went out for a walk to my local park. It was very busy. On the way there and within the park there are spots where it is simply impossible to maintain 2 metres separation from other people. I could feel a jogger breathe on me at a pedestrian crossing. I would honestly feel a lot safer and be confident I can maintain 2 metres separation on a golf course. Pre pay online. Electronic scorecard. No flag sticks, rakes etc. It’s a no brainier to me. I don’t think I would play though because I feel I would be selfish. Oh well...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

All sporting activity in Ireland has been cancelled by the government until April 19th. How difficult is that to understand?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I went to my local park this morning for a walk. It’s not a very big park but there were literally hundreds of people out walking, some with dogs and kids. There were no Gardai there and it’s too small a park to have rangers.
    I didn’t go out, I came home again but I couldn’t help thinking of my local golf club with 150 acres of beautiful parkland and the gates locked.
    Does anyone have a reasonable explanation why loads of people can be out in the local park and why nobody can be out on a golf course which is jus another kind of park? If one is not safe then neither is the other.

I think the GUI need to be seen to do the 'right thing' and be in solidarity with other sporting organisations and their 'locked down' members in the north

All sporting activity in Ireland has been cancelled by the government until April 19th. How difficult is that to understand?

Well you might want to check on the accuracy of your statement before you put on that berating tone.

i'll help you out here on the accuracy of his statement. this is a quote from Leos speech the other day
    And, the following new actions are being taken:
    all theatres, clubs, gyms/leisure centres, hairdressers, betting shops, marts, markets, casinos, bingo halls, libraries and other similar outlets are to shut
    all hotels to limit occupancy to essential non-social and non-tourist reasons
    all non-essential retail outlets are to close to members of the public and all other retail outlets are to implement physical distancing
    all cafes and restaurants are to limit supply to take away food or delivery
    all sporting events are cancelled, including those behind closed doors
    all playgrounds and holiday/caravan parks will close
    all places of worship are to restrict numbers entering at any one time to ensure adequate physical distancing
    all organised social indoor and outdoor events of any size are not to take place

take your pick, but it is very clear and actually no need for GUI recommendations, they just clarified it like so many authorities do in situations like this. It is right there in his first point, the government told every club in the country to close up.