Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭babybuilder

What part of Donegal are the most cases in? Cluster?

• Registered Users Posts: 46,094 ✭✭✭✭muffler

What part of Donegal are the most cases in? Cluster?
    we are not being told that

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

So went out on Saturday morning and my car wouldn't start, managed to get a jump but went out there to start it and it's dead again so I'm presuming the battery has died properly. Anyway my question is, are there any mechanics or anybody that fixes this type of thing still working? I'm not front line staff, I do the shopping for a couple of households though. I'm in Letterkenny

• Registered Users Posts: 29,084 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Do you have breakdown cover on your insurance. They might know.

So any reports from the weekend? Busy beaches? Any checkpoints seen?

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭md23040

My wife was stopped on the Donegal Road in Ballybofey this afternoon and asked for the purpose of her journey. Explained she had to run a quick wage roll and revenue commissioner return for the company that can only be done from a computer with the imbedded software. The guard thought about it and then let her through.

FairPlay to the lads for being strict and hopefully this detracts others off the roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

md23040 wrote: »
    My wife was stopped on the Donegal Road in Ballybofey this afternoon and asked for the purpose of her journey. Explained she had to run a quick wage roll and revenue commissioner return for the company that can only be done from a computer with the imbedded software. The guard thought about it and then let her through.

FairPlay to the lads for being strict and hopefully this detracts others off the roads.

was told the "lads" stopped a woman on saturday at clar chapel with a dog in the car. Asked where she was going she told them for a walk around the bank.
    The guard asked had she heard about the restrictions and she replied she had, when asked where she had came from she replied.....wait for it.......

Strabane!!!!:confused:

she was told very polietly to go home and to reconsider coming to donegal for her walks for a while :):):):D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Firblog

Was stopped coming out of Donegal Town on Saturday, guard knew where I worked so got waved on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

feelpablo wrote: »
    was told the "lads" stopped a woman on saturday at clar chapel with a dog in the car. Asked where she was going she told them for a walk around the bank.
    The guard asked had she heard about the restrictions and she replied she had, when asked where she had came from she replied.....wait for it.......

Strabane!!!!:confused:

she was told very polietly to go home and to reconsider coming to donegal for her walks for a while :):):):D:D:D

And this is exactly why we are where we are at.some people will need to be baby sat until this blows over.
    Fair play to the lads.

Inishowen quite a few of the total cases in Donegal I've heard. I wonder why?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭echo beach

Inishowen quite a few of the total cases in Donegal I've heard. I wonder why?

Could be more people sent for testing but could also be related to people working and shopping across the border where there is a far more relaxed attitude and more deaths per head of population.

echo beach wrote: »
    Could be more people sent for testing but could also be related to people working and shopping across the border where there is a far more relaxed attitude and more deaths per head of population.
    Yes and the number of school ski tours to Italy?

We have now jumped to 46 confirmed cases as of midnight 29 March. Thats almost double the figure (previously 24) over a 2 days period. Thats worrying.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Technique

Maybe more testing? I dunno. We'll probably only see any benefits of the lockdown next week or the week after. A good reminder not to get complacent as the evenings get longer and the weather gets better.

I noticed unfortunately a lot more cars out on the roads again during a one hours walk and observed the following without meaning to be the Stasi.

- a commercial company power washing the roof of a house. What if he fell off with no safety harness.
    - father cycling with his three kids on a foot path and could have waited at a narrow section within the town for a fellow walker to pass them but went on ahead. The kids didn’t know how to get around him and all bunched up together.
    - Noticed two houses clearly mixing with neighbours.
    - one guy talking right into the window of a stopped car with a couple that were obviously mates, face to face less than 30cm. When he was walking up the road could hear him coughing and blowing away at his nose.

Although all these incidents probably will led to nothing, people are getting complacent very quickly and probably as a measure to protect against ourselves there probably will be stricter lockdown.

I think the guards should be dishing out fines for people without due reason for being out and about especially someone cleaning a roof.

77 confirmed cases in the county up to midnight on Wednesday, 1st April

muffler wrote: »
    77 confirmed cases in the county up to midnight on Wednesday, 1st April
    Fairly large numbers. Multiply by 10 they reckon to get real numbers

Some interesting stats. Today there are 80 cases in Donegal a jump of 13% compared to yesterday. Dublin is the epicentre and on a population per capita basis County Dublin (1.347M) has double the average cases compared to the rest of Ireland.

Overall Donegal has still only 2% of the cases but 3.3% of Ireland’s population so that’s good. If you compare Donegal against all other counties excluding Dublin then we are still 2.8% lower than the 25 county average. By comparison the border county Cavan is very worrying and if it had 159,000 population same as Donegal then it would have 140 cases.

md23040 wrote: »
    Some interesting stats. Today there are 80 cases in Donegal a jump of 13% compared to yesterday. Dublin is the epicentre and on a population per capita basis County Dublin (1.347M) has double the average cases compared to the rest of Ireland.

Overall Donegal has still only 2% of the cases but 3.3% of Ireland’s population so that’s good. If you compare Donegal against all other counties excluding Dublin then we are still 2.8% lower than the 25 county average. By comparison the border county Cavan is very worrying and if it had 159,000 population same as Donegal then it would have 140 cases.
    You have to be careful about drawing any conclusions. The stats only tell you about CONFIRMED cases. If people aren’t tested nobody, including themselves, know if they have it or not. That is why it is so important that people observe the restrictions, difficult as it is.

Major population centres all over the world have higher rates because people are more crowded together so any virus can spread more easily. On that basis Donegal should have a lower rate. On the other hand, our population is older, sicker and further away from specialist medical attention so the impact will be greater on those who do contract the virus.

I believe that these statistics don’t reflect the true level of the virus either but based on the representative data the distribution would be absolutely correct and Donegal thankfully is doing well compared to the rest of Ireland.

We have to be so thankful that the IRL growth factor is much lower than that anticipated at 18% a day and unbelievably has not doubled in a week when it was forecast to grow 318%. I believe based of the German mortality rate of 1.4% because of its extensive testing, that Donegal would in reality have between 600 and 700 cases many possibly being asymptomatic spreaders (showing little conditions).

Though that’s for another time and only realised when we have extensive antibody tests, but as mentioned we need to strictly continue social isolation and stop this virus in its tracks and not be complacent nor let the guard down. People staying at home and observing the rules are all heroes especially to our health staff.

Addon - Letterkenny admissions not encouraging for 4/4 (ICU 4 patients)

Capture.jpg

Strange how more cases in LUH than in CUH when 3X many with covid in Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 68,791 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Add Mercy to CUH for starters; also LK may have cases from Sligo/North Letrim whereas the Cork hospitals are unlikely to even have all the cases from Cork (some may be closer to Kerry and Limerick)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

Could someone tell me exactly what area the north west covers

lulu1 wrote: »
    Could someone tell me exactly what area the north west covers
    I've wondered about this myself and even asked the same question further back in the thread. The nearest I can find to an answer was a discussion on the Greg Hughes show on Highland Radio where he was interviewing someone and Hughes guest appeared to confirm that it was the old North Western Health Board region which consisted of Donegal, Sligo and Leitrim - LINK

Seems Highland must be running on a skeleton crew at the moment. Don't know what time it starts but they just play a load of classics any time I turn it on in the evening. No country. Vienna is currently on. :)

L1011 wrote: »
    Add Mercy to CUH for starters; also LK may have cases from Sligo/North Letrim whereas the Cork hospitals are unlikely to even have all the cases from Cork (some may be closer to Kerry and Limerick)

Dunno about taking cases from Sligo/North Leitrim, was always told that ppl from Laghey and south of there are sent to Sligo for any treatments needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,791 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Firblog wrote: »
    Dunno about taking cases from Sligo/North Leitrim, was always told that ppl from Laghey and south of there are sent to Sligo for any treatments needed.

Sligo only having 3 cases suggests its not accepting cases generally to me though

Guess I won't be visiting the parents for this weekend, or it could be a very expensive visit.

The statement saying if you're in a holiday home stay in it will only bring a rush to get to them I fear.
    Hope I'm wrong.

The statement saying if you're in a holiday home stay in it will only bring a rush to get to them I fear.
    Hope I'm wrong.

The message has to be stay in the holiday home. You are NOT on holiday. Do not go past the gate unless advised to leave for medical attention. No walks on the beach. No trips to local shops.

echo beach wrote: »
    The message has to be stay in the holiday home. You are NOT on holiday. Do not go past the gate unless advised to leave for medical attention. No walks on the beach. No trips to local shops.

We will soon find out this weekend. Hopefully sense will prevail.