Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Football & Coronavirus [READ MOD NOTE IN FIRST POST - updated 06-05-20]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Strumms wrote: »
    I was referring to the previous financial year, granted I could have been clearer but those and the most recent set of results bolster my view that the club are behaving poorly. Very poorly.. there is or shouldn’t be a defense of it. Poor.

You made a mistake. Fair enough.

But back to your point. The profit they made isn’t sitting in a bank account like you seem to infer. They don’t have £100m to cover wages, they don’t even have half that.

And they obviously have other expenditure outside of the £2m in weekly wages they have to pay. They have enough cash to last 2-4 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Just a heads up....

All the Goals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup is on at 4.00 on rte 2 this afternoon

might be a welcome break from ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I think it’s fair that footballers think Hancock was deflecting attention form his own shortcomings. But it’s sad that they are more concerned about how they look as opposed to what they are actually doing.

If they want to have any credibility, they have to commit to something. Rooney said something on the lines of footballers want to make sure their donations would get to the right people...

Well there’s nothing to stop clubs/players immediately start to save or contribute to a Holding fund that’s intended to be used for this very thing. Then you can work out the logistics of getting it to the right area.

I can’t really have any sympathy for rich people (most if not all EPL footballers in comparison to the average worker) who are struggling to decide how to donate to the cause. Just start now and work out the logistics later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

City have announced they will not be using the government fund to pay staff.

Nice of them.

Probably funding that with the 2million a month they are charging the NHS for the Excel Arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

fryup wrote: »
    Just a heads up....

All the Goals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup is on at 4.00 on rte 2 this afternoon

might be a welcome break from ****

Won't be a break once you see S.A opening goal.

Iirc it was a worldie :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

City have announced they will not be using the government fund to pay staff.

Nice of them.

Probably funding that with the 2million a month they are charging the NHS for the Excel Arena.

Charging? Are you being serious or just reposting something from Benchwarmers etc?

They’ve gave it to them rent free. They have to cover their own costs while using it. Does that no seem like a good will gesture or you just looking to point score.

They’re making zero profit from it, but I know you knew that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

At the very, very least, I'm v.disappointed Liverpool haven't held out alot longer.

gstack166 wrote: »
    Charging? Are you being serious or just reposting something from Benchwarmers etc?

They’ve gave it to them rent free. They have to cover their own costs while using it. Does that no seem like a good will gesture or you just looking to point score.

They’re making zero profit from it, but I know you knew that already.

Yeah, benchwarmers.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/news/coronavirus-abu-dhabi-charges-nhs-millions-in-rent-for-super-hospital-in-excel-london-5zdlpbxhs

Number 1. Sheik Mansour doesn’t own Excel.
    Number 2. They published figures that the building costs £3.5m a month on basic fees including maintenance, they gave it to the NHS at £2.5m a month to cover their own basic fees.
    Number 3. They’ve now changed the agreement & are covering the NHS basic fees. (Picture of proof included.)

So what you & what the Times are posting is just ****e.

Have a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Liverpool fans have sold their souls to the current ownership

They have to defend them, even if they make them look completely classless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

JPA wrote: »
    The PFA need to stop digging here.
    Look to Barcelona and Juventus for leadership on how to handle this. The players are doing irreparable damage here.

They're not though. Those players could piss in the letterboxes of every Covid patient in the UK and they'll still be treated like heroes when football kicks off again down the road.

The Premier League can afford to be cúnts because it is the safest business in the land in terms of a captive audience.

In a few months if someone posts "Remember how terribly they behaved?" they will be met with dozens of "Oh shút up, football is back!" posts.

Where does this stuff even come from?

Hyperbole.

Exaggeration.

OTT.

Strawmanning.

noodler wrote: »
    Where does this stuff even come from?

Hyperbole.

Exaggeration.

OTT.

Strawmanning.

I’d be no fan of Liverpool myself & hate that kind of stuff too. The supporters he’s on about seem to be in a minority thankfully, although it stops at a current Mod on here but never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Kyle Walker keeping it classy during lockdown. He stayed in the house, he just paid a couple of escorts to join him.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kyle Walker keeping it classy during lockdown. He stayed in the house, he just paid a couple of escorts to join him.

And make it worse he tells others to stay indoors and isolate

This is typical enough of the vitriol you post.

Couple of general Liverpool digs followed with an accusation of blinkers etc when I haven't defended the action.

The blinkers belong to you and your partner though. Look how many posts you have on the subject, conflating all sorts of hyperbolic nonsense into your posts to try and make it seem you aren't being fuelled purely by your anti-liverpool bias.

The hypocrisy is strong in this one. I mean, I don't even have to quote your untouchable posts from last week, there's enough here.

You should relax for a moment, and turn that mirror inward.

Champions league winners last year
    Look like Premiership winners this season

They can have my soul if you believe in that stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Someone needs to send this to Rooney and Liverpool.
    Barcelona players will take a 70% pay cut during the coronavirus pandemic and make additional contributions to ensure non-sporting staff receive full wages.

Captain Lionel Messi said the move was delayed as the players were "looking for a formula to help the club".

Juventus players and manager Maurizio Sarri agreed to freeze their pay for four months at the weekend.

Spain's national death toll now stands at 7,340, making it the worst-affected country in the world behind Italy.

German sides Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund, have also agreed to take pay cuts.

The hypocrisy is strong in this one. I mean, I don't even have to quote your untouchable posts from last week, there's enough here.

There's hypocrisy from a few here that are lambasting Liverpool ownership. Some of them had no issues with Saudis taking over their club when linked with them earlier this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Is the scrutiny on the personal lives of footballers not a tiny bit over the top? Yes, prostitution is against the law in England and yes he clearly wasn’t adhering to social distancing, which he obviously should have been.

Both things are wrong, but is the disproportionate coverage of these things for celebrities (footballers are in the upper tier for this kind of coverage) not ridiculous and better intended for people with puny brains?

CSF wrote: »
    Is the scrutiny on the personal lives of footballers not a tiny bit over the top? Yes, prostitution is against the law in England and yes he clearly wasn’t adhering to social distancing, which he obviously should have been.

Both things are wrong, but is the disproportionate coverage of these things for celebrities (footballers are in the upper tier for this kind of coverage) not ridiculous and better intended for people with puny brains?

I think it’s entirely fair for him to be called out on it & hope he gets fined by City accordingly not just for the fact he broke social distancing which is bad enough in itself but also for engaging in a illegal activity. He represents a club & is a role model for kids.

Reckon we’d be having a different conversation if lads from Tesco were getting fined for breaking social distancing and having a lady of the night over.

This scrutiny that gets placed on footballers is insane. It’s a parent’s job to raise their children. It’s a footballer’s job to be good at kicking a football around.

Reckon we’d be having a different conversation if lads from Tesco were getting fined for breaking social distancing and having a lady of the night over.

This scrutiny that gets placed on footballers is insane. It’s a parent’s job to raise their children. It’s a footballer’s job to be good at kicking a football around.

We wouldn’t if I knew the Tesco employee engaging in what you’re saying. A footballer knows the standard of which he’s held to. They’ve been coursed from a early age about their images etc. He’s let himself & his club down it’s a simple matter of fact.

I also know the standard they’re held to. I’m not disagreeing that they’re held to those standards.

I’m saying that the standards they’re held to, by people of low intelligence who’ve amassed an insane feeling of ownership over footballers (even how much of their earnings they’re allowed keep now) because they go to games and pay a TV subscription is crazy.

And obviously football clubs are willing to play along considering how important public image is to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,037 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

RasTa wrote: »

Does Spain have a furlough scheme? Or would those staff members have simply been unpaid otherwise? Can’t say I’ve heard of them having one... kind of changes the dynamic quite a bit.

A pay cut to their star earners of that size is a pretty massive drop in their tax contribution to the Spanish government, who could probably do with the money right about now.

General members of the public are being called out daily for not adhering to social distancing, photos of shops, walking in the park, of crowded trains, the chief medical officer of Scotland, the former Labour leader's son. It's not disproportionate at all to anything that's going on.

Who do you call out on these things, or do you not call out anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You've said it yourself. Footballers are celebrities. Surely the coverage is nothing more than to be expected.

Why people have so much interest in celebrities is another question.

General members of the public are being called out daily for not adhering to social distancing, photos of shops, walking in the park, of crowded trains, the chief medical officer of Scotland, the former Labour leader's son. It's not disproportionate at all to anything that's going on.

Who do you call out on these things, or do you not call out anyone.

Haven’t seen a single ordinary member of the public singled out for not adhering. Only the most idiotic would have been clamouring for names and addresses to go with the faces stuck outside the chipper in Howth.

I don’t personally feel like you call out anyone. You call out behaviours, which has been done and done rightly quite frequently.

If behaviours have a negative impact on society at large you quite often regulate them with punishments for those that don’t comply.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Anyway thankfully kyle walker doesnt play for liverpool or utd as we would have to read 100s of posts about it.

PARlance wrote: »
    You've said it yourself. Footballers are celebrities. Surely the coverage is nothing more than to be expected.

Why people have so much interest in celebrities is another question.

I mean I’m not saying I don’t expect it. But it should be rejected by those with half a brain. Like before people think I’m suffering kind of intelligence superiority complex, I’m not talking about Mensa candidates here. Basic capacity of independent thought is surely sufficient here.

Haven’t seen a single ordinary member of the public singled out for not adhering. Only the most idiotic would have been clamouring for names and addresses to go with the faces stuck outside the chipper in Howth.

I don’t personally feel like you call out anyone. You call out behaviours, which has been done and done rightly quite frequently.

If behaviours have a negative impact on society at large you quite often regulate them with punishments for those that don’t comply.

I haven’t seen them calling in prostitutes either! I’m sure if it was just a gang of mates that Walker let in his gaff then nothing would of been mentioned. You seem fixated on the fact of social distancing more than eliciting in illegal activities. That’s the main part of the story in most people’s eyes.

The social distancing is a bigger deal tbf.

Anyway thankfully kyle walker doesnt play for liverpool or utd as we would have to read 100s of posts about it.

On the contrary if the woman disclosed false accounts of the payment she received from Walker I know of one other thread at least that would be burning up.

6 wrote: »
    The social distancing is a bigger deal tbf.

Yeah it probably is but that wouldn’t generate clicks or sell papers unfortunately.

Like before people think I’m suffering kind of intelligence superiority complex

:pac: Perish the thought.

I like Kyle Walker, started his playing career at Northampton, and The Sun aren't seeking these cases for a greater good (greater good) but it really isn't just celebrities and sports stars they're naming. Or did you know the chief medical officer of Scotland before today?

Yeah it probably is but that wouldn’t generate clicks or sell papers unfortunately.

True.

You are a fan of the partners and their posting style I take it.

Given that's what I criticise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

When was it decided that footballers are role models for kids?

And who decided?

I'm not sure of the answer to the first question, but I'll bet the answer to the second question is sleazy journalists who were hacking the phones of dead kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

6 wrote: »
    Champions league winners last year
    Look like Premiership winners this season

They can have my soul if you believe in that stuff :)

You've just proven my point

Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,037 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Zebra3 wrote: »
    When was it decided that footballers are role models for kids?

And who decided?

Totally agree that they shouldn't be, but its just reality that kids are dumb and copy whatever it is they're interested, be-it Jake The Snake Roberts 30 years ago, or some random footballer now.

Should there be an extra pressure on footballers to take that into account? I don't know... but I think the decent ones will anyway, pressure or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I doubt Kyle Walker is many kids Role Model.

You've just proven my point

Well done

Your point was awful. You proved nothing :confused:

Didn't Barcelona force the cut on the players based on it being declared a natinal emergency in Spain, which allows all companies to impose a 70% cut.

Also, why is there such a fervent desire for players to take a wage cut?

City are paying their staff, what would the players taking a pay cut help?
    United are paying their staff, what would the players taking a pay cut help?
    Arsenal are paying their staff, what would the players taking a pay cut help?

They United players haven't taken a pay cut, but donated 30% of wages to health care in Manchester, but cool - TAKE A PAY CUT GUYS! Rashford has ensured 400,000 meals for disadvantaged kids in Manchester -TAKE A PAY CUT GUYS!

Plenty of footballers are doing, and have always done, charitable things. Why THE ABSOLUTE FOOK do they need to take a pay cut and how would them taking a pay cut benifit the fight against Covid19 or the NHS?

The clamour for pay-cuts, seemingly because a lot of people have lost jobs, is insane.

I'm lucky in that my job is stable and my company is still fully working and paying staff. Should I take a pay cut just because other peolpe have lost their jobs? Would that help them?

Clubs want players to take a pay-cut because of issues with incoming revenue and TV money. Its got nothing to do with the nurse in the local hospital.

If a club does not need players (or, more importantly, imo, regular staff) to take pay cuts because their finances don't dictate such a need, then why would anyone want them to take a cut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Rashford is on 200K+ a week so it's the least I'd expect him to do.

Didn't Barcelona force the cut on the players based on it being declared a natinal emergency in Spain, which allows all companies to impose a 70% cut.

They United players haven't taken a pay cut, but donated 30% of wages to health care in Manchester, but cool - TAKE A PAY CUT GUYS! Rashford has ensured 400,000 meals for disadvantaged kids in Manchester -TAKE A PAY CUT GUYS!

Plenty of footballers are doing, and have always done, charitable things. Why THE ABSOLUTE FOOK do they need to take a pay cut and how would them taking a pay cut benifit the fight against Covid19 or the NHS?

The clamour for pay-cuts, seemingly because a lot of people have lost jobs, is insane.

I'm lucky in that my job is stable and my company is still fully working and paying staff. Should I take a pay cut just because other peolpe have lost their jobs? Would that help them?

Clubs want players to take a pay-cut because of issues with incoming revenue and TV money. Its got nothing to do with the nurse in the local hospital.

If a club does not need players (or, more importantly, imo, regular staff) to take pay cuts because their finances don't dictate such a need, then why would anyone want them to take a cut?

It would help if you started by not posting false claims like your last post & retracted it.

Nope.

1.I repeated a claim from the Times. Abu Dhabi, the same crowd that own City, charged the NHS millions for use of the Excel Arena.

2. It has absolutely nothing to do with what I have posted above.

Rashford is on 200K+ a week so it's the least I'd expect him to do.

LOL.

So players d don't accept a pay cut and they are targets for you to beat down, but they do charitable things and its just what is expected.

Grow the f up.

Nope.

1.I repeated a claim from the Times. Abu Dhabi, the same crowd that own City, charged the NHS millions for use of the Excel Arena.

2. It has absolutely nothing to do with what I have posted above.

A simple 5 second google would bring the truth about a) the story being wrong, b) Abu Dhabi not owning Manchester City & 3) never once charged them.

You were wrong, and it got proven.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

They earn obscene amounts of money and aren't really working right now. If you were told to stay home by your company and not work, would they pay you?

The players are entitled to that money when the machine is generating the revenue to pay those wages. It now isn't. So they continue to claim hundreds of thousands a week when they aren't working while the world is on its knees and people are losing their jobs. Someone has to pick up the tab for that.

That someone is football clubs who can only do it for a limited period of time - 2-3 months for most clubs. What the players are doing right now is not sustainable. I'm sure they'll come to a sensible decision because most of them seem like decent people. It's just taking time.

You are a fan of the partners and their posting style I take it.

Given that's what I criticise.

That is some weird, weird, weird, Cathy Newman logic there.