Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid-XIX Part VI - 90 cases ROI (1 death) 29 in NI (as of 13 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Necro wrote: »
    Same poster was calling me racist earlier for suggesting sanctions on the Chinese government as a result of the virus.

Best to ignore tbh.

It's not racist, it's a silly idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,805 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Blazer wrote: »
    Well as long as you’re ok with about 2-3% of the population dying it’s all ok then.
    Good on you. That's about 120,000 people just so you know.

2-3 % might die but then people come immune and its back to normal

Lockdown won't stop people dyeing it'll just means people die but just more slowly , The country is lockdown for months upon months and then when it comes off lockdown the virus spikes again

England idea is basically just get it over and done with ,

I'm not saying there right but that's is there plan,

In two years time then we will know who done it correctly ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Well the clubs are testing staff every days of course they will have higher rate of detection ,
    Also i'd imagine thousands have it or will have it that will never even know they did,

The clubs aren't testing their staff and players every day. There have even been complaints (not from the clubs themselves) that football clubs haven't been given priority on the NHS testing service. They've to meet the same criteria as any other prospective patients and get in the queue.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Norway starting the next phase of lock-down; restaurants, cafés, bars, schools, day care centres and many companies were being urged if not ordered to close or dramatically limit operations.

Likely a fore-taste of what will happen here.

Professor Peter Piot of the London school of hygiene and tropical medicine suggesting there could be an ‘effective therapy’ for the disease available next month based on antiviral drugs used to treat HIV and Ebola.

Here's the link to the story on Sky News if anybody wants to read it. Hopefully happens, would be good news.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-spread-of-coronavirus-much-worse-than-ebola-11956484

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

lawred2 wrote: »
    I see everyone's favorite term is now vector...

Vector that..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Here's the link to the story on Sky News if anybody wants to read it. Hopefully happens, would be good news.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-spread-of-coronavirus-much-worse-than-ebola-11956484

"Suggesting there could be..."

Sars was 18 years ago and there is no treatment.... Don't hold your breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,365 ✭✭✭facehugger99

My brother is off in Spain this weekend on a golfing holiday with 5 friends.

I very much doubt any of them with be self-isolating and would expect they'll all be in work next Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

A colleague told nobody and headed to Spain for a few days, due back on Monday.
    I found this out on the grapevine. What can I do, if anything, can I ask management to force her to self quarantine?
    I'm fuming and will be refusing to deal with her or handle any paperwork she may hand up to me.

Am I overreacting?

Assuming she hasn’t and won’t mention this to HR and quarantine, no you are not overreacting.

She is being irresponsible if she doesn’t - especially now that thre is official advice not to travel there.

But I guess you can’t be 100% sure she’s planning to go back to work without saying anything?

Necro wrote: »
    Same poster was calling me racist earlier for suggesting sanctions on the Chinese government as a result of the virus.

Best to ignore tbh.

As far as I'm aware. He's a medic working in an acute hospital. Cut him some slack. We are all stressed the **** out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,924 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Vector that..

Victor Victor what's your vector? Charlie!

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

GENUINE QUESTION

Was thinking of travelling home this weekend and stay with relatives (Down the country from Dublin)

Was thinking of going to have a few pints in the local pub(s).

Am i being irresponsible?

gmisk wrote: »
    That person is gonna lose their mind when they see stills from how busy it was in that pub last night!

What was it like last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭matthewmurdock

My brother is off in Spain this weekend on a golfing holiday with 5 friends.

I very much doubt any of them with be self-isolating and would expect they'll all be in work next Wednesday.

If somebody is found to disobey orders to self isolate they should be jailed.

Graces7 wrote: »
    I OWE YOU A KNITTED HAT! It keeps niggling at me! pm?

Badly here but just my usual illness; hibernating … back at some stage to catch up.. stay safe..

Don’t worry about the hat get knitting face masks and setup an eBay shop!

Lovely day out there today so breathe in that fresh Atlantic air. Best regards xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

I found this out on the grapevine. What can I do, if anything, can I ask management to force her to self quarantine?
    I'm fuming and will be refusing to deal with her or handle any paperwork she may hand up to me.

Am I overreacting?

Nope. If we had a strong government by law she'd be forced to self isolate.

Express your concerns to management in the strongest possible terms.

What part of Spain is she coming back from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

South Korea for the first time in the epidemic reported more recoeveries than new infections today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Gynoid wrote: »
    Ugh. This is the kind of stuff that gives me pause...

There's early but increasing evidence that even if you "recover" from this disease it causes longer term lung damage which is more widespread than just the old and ill.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Lads, thought experiment.

If they announced a real lockdown on Monday, and I mean genuinely hardcore....army on the streets, road blocks between towns, zero unnecessary travel, flights cancelled, all social life engagements shut down.

What do ye think the reaction would be? Would people accept two weeks of such "hardship"?

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Corkgirl20

Am I overreacting?

Dfa says to avoid non essential travel to Spain.

You can probably inform management and I’m sure they can look into if quarantine is necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Downlinz

GENUINE QUESTION

Was thinking of travelling home this weekend and stay with relatives (Down the country from Dublin)

Was thinking of going to have a few pints in the local pub(s).

Am i being irresponsible?

Visiting relatives, no.
    Making zero attempt to adjust your socialising plans and avoid large crowds, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭SDKev

Sorry if this has been posted already

Interesting facts/figures

https://www.instagram.com/p/B9nrTQVpchF/

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭chancer12

Boggles wrote: »
    When Leo gets back from his jolly, he needs to get on the phone with Arlene and Bojo and demand the North mimic the South.

The UK are sleepwalking into Italy, The Premier League are going to self suspend today.

Don't think he's on a jolly, think he's doing an excellent job. And there's no hope of Bojo and Arlene listening. They're too thick. Bojo says 'jump' and Arlene says 'how high?' The tories think they're invincible and Arlene is so desperate to be part of the club that she'll agree with anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Lord TSC wrote: »

If they announced a real lockdown on Monday, and I mean genuinely hardcore....army on the streets, road blocks between towns, zero unnecessary travel, flights cancelled, all social life engagements shut down.

What do ye think the reaction would be? Would people accept two weeks of such "hardship"?

Well it wouldn't be two weeks for starters. This isn't going away in 2 weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

2-3 % might die but then people come immune and its back to normal

Lockdown won't stop people dyeing it'll just means people die but just more slowly , The country is lockdown for months upon months and then when it comes off lockdown the virus spikes again

England idea is basically just get it over and done with ,

I'm not saying there right but that's is there plan,

In two years time then we will know who done it correctly ,

I think it's more that they will pick the fight with the virus at the point which will have most impact.

Shutting down everything now just means you get a massive spike 6 weeks later, their thinking is to do a shutdown nearer the peak and try to reduce that number nearer the time when it will make a bigger difference. For now just rely on people being sensible to try and limit the spread for a few weeks as best as can be done.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Lord TSC wrote:

Unlikely. People can't even abide by proper etiquette for shopping at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Remember that time it snowed for a day and people demolished a lidl? yeah...

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Vudgie

Corkgirl20 wrote: »
    Dfa says to avoid non essential travel to Spain.

You can probably inform management and I’m sure they can look into if quarantine is necessary.

I would absolutely inform management, in my view she should have done so herself.

I'm sure it could be done in confidence but I would do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,258 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I think the majority would, you'll always have some moron on social media complaining about it but as it's for the greater good I can see it being received well.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭ReverseGiraffe

Really good article to share with family and friends who might not be taking this seriously yet:

https://www.newsweek.com/young-unafraid-coronavirus-pandemic-good-you-now-stop-killing-people-opinion-1491797

It's about everyone taking responsibility and protecting the elderly and vulnerable people to the best of our ability