Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid-XIX Part VI - 90 cases ROI (1 death) 29 in NI (as of 13 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,365 ✭✭✭facehugger99

walshb wrote: »
    What's the view on Cheltenham galloping away with not a care in the world?

Delighted.

Will put on a few bets later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

New policing patterns will be announced today.

Uk said if you call them.....they won't come. Some pattern.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭theunforgiven

Nope. If we had a strong government by law she'd be forced to self isolate.

Express your concerns to management in the strongest possible terms.

What part of Spain is she coming back from?

To be honest, I am not sure. I would suspect Alicante or one of the usual sun holiday places but I don't know.
    I am going to bring it up today, if the attitude is "ah shur be grand" then I am not dealing with her and will make this clear in no uncertain terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,032 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

UK approach looks far more sensible and will have much less impact on the economy.

We'll have the same lads that are on here crying and moaning wondering what's happened to their pay checks in 12 months time.

Get the oldies and vulnerable to isolate and get the herd immunity established in the population. It's the only way to combat it. Our politicians are too spineless to take this approach unfortunately.

It's not as easy as that though, the health systems wont be able to cope. It may be the correct approach but it's not an easy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The situation in the US is just insane, theres evidence of nationwide community transmission and still no ramping up in testing and no sick leave for those with symptoms so people with coronavirus are being forced to go out and interact with the public just to make ends meet. Europe might escape this because of all the recent lock downs but the US is going to be so so much worse than China, in fact the 'worst case scenario' figures we have been discussing in Europe recently look like the inevitable figures for the US epidemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,306 ✭✭✭Ardent

I think it is high handed for people to label sudden death as being due to an underlying condition like diabetes, asthma, or similar. I find that it is often used as a cop-out. If someone has a heart attack and they aren't adequately treated in the golden hour, I don't think it is legitimate to write off the person as having had 'an underlying condition'. No, it was the heart attack that killed that person, and adequate treatment could potentially have saved them. I am seeing a tendency in the media to so 'ah yes, but that person had an underlying condition' when there is a report of a fatality in relation to covid-19, as if that underlying condition could have caused that person's death at the drop of the hat. I don't think that this is true.

There is a Lancet medical article analysing the first 200 deaths or so in the Wuhan area. Half of the victims suffered from hypertension, 30% from diabetes, and so on. Does this mean you are at increased risk if you suffer from high blood pressure? Or does it mean these conditions were naturally present in these unfortunate folks of these age groups and ultimately inconsequential? I mean, there were a number of fatalities among young over-worked Chinese doctors who had no obvious health complications.

I feel like the media, by pointing out that victims had underlying conditions, might be doing so to assuage the general public. But I'm no medical expert. I hope the most important factor is to have as healthy an immune system as you possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,539 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Bed blockers not going to A&E is a positive out of all this.

Not really, it just means actual sick people are not getting treatment because they are probably terrified.

GPs probably playing their part too.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

namloc1980 wrote: »
    And when the health service is overwhelmed what happens then? People with other medical needs won't be treated. Anyway looks like sporting and other organisations in the UK are going to take matters into their own hands now. Wouldn't be surprised to see schools closing unilaterally over there also.

So organisations and individuals can’t even follow clear government advice, and this is proof that they are using logic to deal with the situation and can be trusted to follow further advice. Makes perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Boggles wrote: »
    Not really, it just means actual sick people are not getting treatment because they are probably terrified.

GPs probably playing their part too.

Actual sick people who need emergency care will still go there. I'm talking about the punters who go to A&E for very minor issues that could be treated locally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Stateofyou wrote: »
    How about keep in mind that our own education system has challenges, how about keep in mind some of us have American/British friends and family, and FYI, my wife has been slowly bringing home extra bits over the last weeks so there was no stockpiling here. People in general aren't gob****es or dangerous idiots, they're scared. Stocks will replenish. How about just stop with the insults? There's enough to contend with.

ah will you feck off, completely over-reading into what I said in the first place and then taking it personally FFS.

Relax and try have a good day.

Fair question but to be blunt no. Due to the fact it is an exponential curve, it grows far quicker that cases being resolved. So it is behind the curve. i.e number who have it is always behind those who are serious.

It's like people on here who were dividing number of cases by population. Not useful in this scenario. Luckily the ancient greeks / Egyptians /Newton came up with a way to do this kind of maths.

Calculus

Calculus, originally called infinitesimal calculus or "the calculus of infinitesimals", is the mathematical study of continuous change, in the same way that geometry is the study of shape and algebra is the study of generalizations of arithmetic operations.

"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus"

The resolved cases on worldometer is currently 93/7 in recoveries to fatalities. I wonder is that being skewed by the Italian experience though? The Chinese ratio was quite a bit better I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

So while South Korea had it's lowest daily total in the epidemic today unfortunately Iran also recorded it's highest daily total so far in the epidemic. 1300 new cases and 85 deaths. Though Iranian health officials apparently confident that numbers will stop growing by April.

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Daz_

Delighted.

Will put on a few bets later.

Good man . Remember that when a family member ends up in intensive care next month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Live briefing from HSE now on RTE NEws Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,012 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

silver2020 wrote: »
    The Covid-19 miracle cure!

A&E's are practically empty. Seems a little cut on the leg can now be sorted with a plaster rather than a trip to a&e. A slight chest infection can now be cured with some resting up at home instead of a visit to a&e.

Glad to here it.

They should station soldiers on the doors and anyone who shouldn’t be there should be ”forced” out.

Too many SF voting “types” using A&E as a “GP service” for far too long.

Also, any ”intoxicated” people should be refused entry, point blank.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Anyone coming back from Spain or Italy will be met at the airport and told not to work and self isolate. They’re looking at doing the same with Germany and France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

walshb wrote: »
    What's the view on Cheltenham galloping away with not a care in the world?

Beyond stupid - nearly every other Sporting organisation is taking the right action , even so ther are high profile infections - Arteta etc - Expect Irish cases to jump when those returing are added to this tragedy, they should be quarantines on return, not too late .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Owner of my pub freaking out cause there's a rumour we are closing. Not freaking out about his staff being pointlessly put at risk over this. Demanding we let people know we are gonna stay open. And yes I could quit and am seriously considering it now even if it leaves my in a bad spot during this.

Daz_ wrote: »
    Good man . Remember that when a family member ends up in intensive care next month

I didn't realise the PaddyPower app was so potentially dangerous.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

grouchyman wrote: »
    When you're at home - child minding/WFH etc are you supposed to try to practice social distancing with the other people in the house? Genuine question

Unless you all have separate bathrooms and are super diligent about cleaning down surfaces etc, I'm not sure maintaining a two meter distance is going to cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Anyone coming back from Spain or Italy will be met at the airport and told not to work and self isolate. They’re looking at doing the same with Germany and France.

So should the Cheltenham brigade

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Lads, thought experiment.

If they announced a real lockdown on Monday, and I mean genuinely hardcore....army on the streets, road blocks between towns, zero unnecessary travel, flights cancelled, all social life engagements shut down.

What do ye think the reaction would be? Would people accept two weeks of such "hardship"?

We're either a civilised society or we're not, I guess we will find out which if such measures come into play.

If there is a proper lockdown as you say - I also hope that the army & guards are given all necessary emergency powers to deal with whatever challenges come their way.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭sterz

thebaz wrote: »
    Beyond stupid - nearly every other Sporting organisation is taking the right action , even so ther are high profile infections - Arteta etc - Expect Irish cases to jump when those returing are added to this tragedy, they should be quarantines on return, not too late .

Probably is too late as many have already returned apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,346 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

New policing patterns will be announced today.

Including the immediate attestation as fully fledged Gardaí, students that have been in Templemore for only a month. They will receive intensified training in public order methods.

A sure fire recipe for someone to get killed, at either end of the baton.

Decisions like this greatly add to public anxiety.

If somebody is found to disobey orders to self isolate they should be jailed.

Same poster said that they were off to Amsterdam soon for a weekend with the lads, basically a wum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

UK approach looks far more sensible and will have much less impact on the economy.

We'll have the same lads that are on here crying and moaning wondering what's happened to their pay checks in 12 months time.

Get the oldies and vulnerable to isolate and get the herd immunity established in the population. It's the only way to combat it. Our politicians are too spineless to take this approach unfortunately.

I've been thinking about the numbers on that approach. Herd immunity is normally considered to be 70%, but lets take the UK number of 60% population infected. That would mean 3.6 million people will need to get it. At a (conservative given Italy's numbers) 5% ICU rate, that would mean around 1.8 million requiring ICU. Lets assume they need ICU treatment for a week. UK has 4000 ICU and High Dependency beds. Lets assume they somehow manage to double that to 8000 by taking over operating theatres (although they wouldn't have the specialist nurses to actually run those beds properly). So we have 1.8 million needing ICU for a week and 8000 beds available. The infection rate would have to be spread over 4.5 years for that to work! If the ICU patients actually need longer than a week then that goes up. I can't see this being a viable approach. I think we are probably right to try and stop it in its tracks and figure out how to deal with it over the summer - and we will have to figure it out cos it will be back with a vengeance once the restrictions are relaxed, something China will find out in the next few months.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Glad to here it.

They should station soldiers on the doors and anyone who shouldn’t be there should be ”forced” out.

Too many SF voting “types” using A&E as a “GP service” for far too long.

Also, any ”intoxicated” people should be refused entry, point blank.

What exactly is a "Sinn Fein voting type"?

Gods Gift wrote: »

I presume you mean handed a leaflet with some advice on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

wakka12 wrote: »
    The situation in the US is just insane, theres evidence of nationwide community transmission and still no ramping up in testing and no sick leave for those with symptoms so people with coronavirus are being forced to go out and interact with the public just to make ends meet. Europe might escape this because of all the recent lock downs but the US is going to be so so much worse than China

There is another worrying variable from this. Trump may somehow manage to turn this against Europe and China and his idiot supporters follow a quite dangerous line of thought. Really could make USA closer to a dictator country (even more insular and xenophobic) then a western democracy. How far they have fallen from the promising times that Obama looked to be signalling

The British have a history of catastrophic planning that cost huge numbers of lives.

Gallipoli. The Crimea. Dunkirk. To name a few.

I guess we can add Covid19 to that list.

Irish famine