Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid-XIX Part VI - 90 cases ROI (1 death) 29 in NI (as of 13 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

DOCARCH wrote: »
    That's where The Cove let me down last night, after playing a blinder yesterday. When questioned about flights he said we can't stop them 'cause the EU says so/EU rules will not allow.

Should be the right of any sovereign countries to have ultimate control of borders.

Ridiculous to be told we can't even try restrict travel for a while by Brussels. We are an island, that's our strength yet we can't use it to our advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭1641

Putting arrangements in place for childcare for health workers will have to be a real urgency.

I wonder how many kids are going to be minded by grandparents?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I'm not going to argue with you if you have that kind of a grasp of figures. You're right and I'm wrong.

However, you appear to have confused 0.025 with 0.025%. That's a big difference.

I like your username btw.

I am going to argue with you, just in case you thought I wouldn't. Don't take the opportunity to murky my substantiated numbers with your complete and utter garbage, you are talking nonsense.

All your posts are highly inappropriate considering what is slowly turning into a national crisis. You have no compassion for what is going on, so don't pretend you do, you are not fooling anyone. Whipping up fear and posting exaggerated sensationalist bullshíght is not necessary.

As it happens I thought your suggestion of closing the border with the north was not a nice thing to say either. I have family who live in the north. People like you really have no clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,583 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

1123heavy wrote: »
    Army shutdown of the country from Monday. Taoiseach will make announcement early Monday morning. Everything closed except shops on a restricted basis. No one going to/from work except those with special permission.

Basically Italy. This is the reason the army have been drafted, Garda do not have resources to police such a scenario.
    The great thing about boards over other social platforms is that it allows this kind of horse **** to be called out.

This is completely unsubstantiated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

laugh wrote: »
    I'm really not understanding the attitude in the UK.

If they allow it to run rampant trying to achieve herd immunity their health service won't cope. People will die in their beds having never seen a health professional.

Their hope is that the impact to the wider economy won't be as bad, but someone is going to have to take care of these people at home?

That will likely take a lot of people out of the workforce and cause further spread of the virus ...

I'm really not getting it.

And people desperate for healthcare will jump
    Ship to Ireland hoping to get help here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    With the influx on the way up from Turkey?? Close them to **** is right.

What influx is that? The Greek Turkey border is closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

1123heavy wrote: »
    Army shutdown of the country from Monday. Taoiseach will make announcement early Monday morning. Everything closed except shops on a restricted basis. No one going to/from work except those with special permission.

Basically Italy. This is the reason the army have been drafted, Garda do not have resources to police such a scenario.

please don't tell me you actually believed that whatsapp message of a recording going around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Yakult wrote: »
    This is way too much of a common misconception. I really think people don't listen or something, crying out that it wont be cured or stopped in a few weeks with shutdowns.

Closing schools etc isn't to cure the virus or to stop it in it's tracks. It's to prevent a higher amount of people contracting it at the same time, putting too much pressure on our already fragile health system. They know people will get it regardless, but at a slower rate that will leviate the pressures on health workers.

Right, but the point is that shutdown will last until we get a solution, we aren't going to develop the healthcare capacity to remove the restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

spookwoman wrote: »

Government don't want to upset the horsey crowd for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,971 ✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I see the Czech Republic and Slovakia have decided to start closing their borders ignoring EU advice to maintain open borders.

Hard to disagree.
    Close them, and keep them closed! Bloody EU and their obsession with open borders, free movement of people bull****. This is a crisis, exceptions have to be made, and governments of sovereign nations should be able to act in the best interests of their own people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Longing

I see the Czech Republic and Slovakia have decided to start closing their borders ignoring EU advice to maintain open borders.

Hard to disagree.

One thing I have taken from this dreadful virus is all countries for themselves in the EU. No neighbourly help whatsoever. Even China have more of my respect today for helping Italy out in there time of need. European Union there is not much Union at all especially from Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

wylo wrote: »
    Germany's death rate is on a par with the flu at the moment though.

The German strain seems to be grand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Countries not taking action are in for some very hard times ahead
    There are horrors stories from Italy, people left dying at home, families left with dead relatives in the house for days
    Waiting for herd immunity to build up can't be done without having restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

laugh wrote: »
    I'm really not understanding the attitude in the UK.

If they allow it to run rampant trying to achieve herd immunity their health service won't cope. People will die in their beds having never seen a health professional.

Their hope is that the impact to the wider economy won't be as bad, but someone is going to have to take care of these people at home?

That will likely take a lot of people out of the workforce and cause further spread of the virus ...

I'm really not getting it.

If they kill all their old people, they will have a stronger economy afterward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Ger Roe wrote: »
    Call your GP. If the stats are meaningless because people aren't coming forward, then we will have no idea where we are (baseline) and therefore no idea if any of the protection measures are working.

People still can’t get tested. I know someone at home with flu like symptoms and travelled from an affected area who has been waiting days now for someone to get back to him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Longing wrote: »
    One thing I have taken from this dreadful virus is all countries for themselves in the EU. No neighbourly help whatsoever. Even China have more of my respect today for helping Italy out in there time of need. European Union there is not much Union at all especially from Germany.

Its a shame, but what country had resources to give? Most if not all are now facing the same battle Italy is, I doubt they have anything to spare.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

J Mysterio wrote: »
    If they kill all their old people, they will have a stronger economy afterward.

....but a smaller one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Why are people not wearing masks in Ireland? (very very few anyway)
    BloodBath wrote: »
    Because they are almost useless on their own and our current infection rate is very very low.

I don't believe that and I think a mask is a positive add on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

I'm still waiting for the right time to open my novelty seal cushions that came from Wuhan last month :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,142 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

spookwoman wrote: »

I would imagine the army is merely needed for manpower back up. It's nothing to do with curfews or riots or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Iran's militarily to take to the streets of their country in 24 hours on the orders of the government.

Streets will be cleared and everyone's movements monitored to enforce quarantine.

What happens when things are allowed spiral out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Field east

It is naive to think that people will not engage in a certain level of stock piling in a situation that currently exists and the uncertainty over the next few weeks at least. min Humphries has just been on radio saying that we should shop as we normally do - as the retail industry is telling her that the supply lines will be capable of keeping supplies up, etc, etc, etc. So she is saying, ‘take a step back and shop as you normally do’ . This specific issue , IMO , has been very badly thought true.. WHY!.
    Gov policy is to reduce contact, reduce going out, stick around your home/accomodation and other such actions /non actions as appropriate.
    Would it not make perfect sense then for the Government to encourage people to buy , for example, two weeks supplies instead of one week’s supply thereby reducing their exposure in public areas/ mixing with the public.. this would also help supply chains as the chain is not required to deal with big volumes - which would be the case if there was a major run on supplies.

So , it should encourage a certain level of ‘stock piling’ and giving the reason that it contributes to reducing the risk of contacting the virus. It’s a sort of win win situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Longing wrote: »

Yeh. The politicians know what's coming for every country though and would be political suicide to give over resources to another country when everyone will be stretched past limit in the next few months.

They are voted in by their own electorate so reality is they will look after them first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

jmayo wrote: »

This crisis is going to highlight how cr** our health service is, but also how pi**poor our military, security services are as well.
    And that is all down to successive governments, all politicians and indeed the voters who have never really cared.

Like everything else we fooking do in this country we sleepwalk into things before we start trying to get serious.

History has shown that when we do take hard decisions, they tend to have been the correct ones.

As for the health service - I've always said that bed blockers are a huge issue (I have a neighbour as a manager of a large hospital), the other big issue is people presenting themselves to a&e with the most minor of ailments that in most countries wouldn't even require a gp visit.

This crisis has seen utter miraculous recoveries of bed blockers and sudden non requirement for a&e of those who at any other time would be crying about the gubberment and the state of the hospitals.

Check the hospitals yourself - there are available beds in EVERY hospital today. A&Es are practically empty.

The hypocondriacs suddenly are better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Strazdas wrote: »
    It should be stressed though the HSE are by no means anticipating 10k cases, that would be an absolute worst case scenario but which they have to legislate for.

I watched the HSE press conference : they say the aim is to keep it down to around 1000 cases over five weeks (an average of 200 a week). They think without the partial lockdown, it could be at least double this for the first few weeks.

I cannot believe the HSE are saying that. There isn't a chance that we will stay under 200 a week. Based on the rate of spread so far we will hit over 1000 by Paddy's day. EDIT - Sorry, wrong on the 10%, if we get it down to 10% a day it will be 4 weeks before we hit a 1000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Food for thought

505437.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭dublin99

Why are people not wearing masks in Ireland? (very very few anyway)

1. People here don't have the same level of awareness as people who had first hand experience of Sars. Look at places like Macau, Hong Kong and Singapore where the spread has stopped (no new case in Macau for over a month) or is very much under control (through quarantine and contact tracing), everyone wears a mask. This has protected the mass population from invisible or asymptomatic /pre-symptomatic spreaders in the community.

2. People genuinely believe that masks are useless. The fact is that there aren't enough. If they are useless, then why do they say save the masks for those (medical frontliners) who need them most?

Apparently, specialist doctors in local hospitals in other areas eg pediatricians, obstetricians etc have been told if the number of cases increase dramatically, they will be redeployed to general medicine ie look after Covid cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

I'm still waiting for the right time to open my novelty seal cushions that came from Wuhan last month :o
    is it well sealed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Countries not taking action are in for some very hard times ahead
    There are horrors stories from Italy, people left dying at home, families left with dead relatives in the house for days
    Waiting for herd immunity to build up can't be done without having restrictions

This crisis will certainly make or break leaders depending on how they manage the situation.

But besides Xi and China who look like they will come out of this stronger, it is a bit early for me to make calls elsewhere.