Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid-XIX Part VI - 90 cases ROI (1 death) 29 in NI (as of 13 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Last week our discussion at meetings was ‘if’ the school was closed. This week that discussion has become ‘when’.

I know in ours (second level) we will be setting and correcting work as per the usual timetabled classes via google classroom in our case. Not a holiday as some are imaging! And students/parents will be advised to try and follow the structure of the school day if they can and get their work submitted by 4pm etc

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

gabeeg wrote: »
    The WHO have said we can finally call it a pandemic

Knock yourselves out lads

Daltry is getting a bit big for his boots isn't he.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    This is pretty much what most governments will decide to do IMO. it isn't airborne, we can live our lives as usual for the most part with added awareness and precautions.
    Eh, yes, yes it bloody well is. How in christ's name can anyone even with a passing interest with the reports of this virus over the last few months be blindly ignorant on this point? No really, how?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

JDD wrote: »
    Question for y'all.

I saw the tweet from One Pico last night, and I have to say I feel very sorry for all the small business owners who are starting the feel the pinch and know that it is only going to get worse.

I am considering asking two of my friends if they want to go out to dinner on Friday night. I feel like I should support the restaurant business - while I still can - as it would be a terrible pity if some really good places went under.

I don't expect small businesses will get anything like the same amount of financial support from our government as that which has just been announced in the UK budget.

Am I being irresponsible by going out on Friday? We'll keep apart from one other, wash our hands, all the usual craic. And at the moment I am on my work floor with 140 other people, I can't see how going to a restaurant with two friends will make me more likely to pick something up, or pass it on to someone else.

What are your thoughts?

Why would that be irresponsible? Do you have the coronavirus?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Wibbs wrote: »
    At this point B, getting a bunch of toddlers to flip coins would be better than the HSE's "efforts". It's beyond ridiculous, scarily inept. If anything comes out of this mess, it has to be a gutting of the morons at the top and middle levels of that "organisation". They're like a bad Paddy Irishman joke by a 1970's end of Brighton Pier English comedian made flesh.

It's public health doctors running the show. They're fairly unanimous about the approach to take to this, it's not middle and upper level HSE.

Paul Reid has consistently been deferring to the Public Health specialists.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Croohur1 wrote: »
    In your opinion, or you know this to be the case?

Have been told in work and they can't have one rule for us and another for the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Took them long enough

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/03/11/who-declares-the-coronavirus-outbreak-a-global-pandemic.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Did Pete ever release that book he was working on?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

1st deaths in Sweden and Bulgaria

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,488 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Ridiculous economy focused thinking across most of the globe.

In 2001 foot and mouth was handled much better than this under the Department of Agriculture and Joe Walsh.

In the 19 odd years it seems our politicians have become totally emasculated. All talk and no action.
    Social media has had some serious impact on the attitudes now compared to 2001. There is a hell of a lot more information and misinformation being relayed about Coronavirus. Foot and Mouth was totally understood back then

• Registered Users Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Definitely time for this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Government departments will be working from home next week onwards.

How? I hear some departments share one laptop between 10. They are not set up for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Petition to ban this joke and the corona beer jokes please.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Croohur1

Have been told in work and they can't have one rule for us and another for the rest.
    I'll be waiting for my email so!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭traco

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Perfect analysis, that's how you look at data

Some very good points raised

"With the number of cases in countries like the US, Spain, France, Iran, Germany, Japan or Switzerland, Wuhan was already in lockdown

As soon as Wuhan shuts down, cases slow down

The World Health Organization (WHO) quotes 3.4% as the fatality rate (% people who contract the coronavirus and then die). This number is out of context so let me explain it. The two ways you can calculate the fatality rate is Deaths/Total Cases and Death/Closed Cases. The first one is likely to be an underestimate, because lots of open cases can still end up in death"

Its one of the best I've seen to date. Doubt many will see it at the speed this thread s moving at though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Government departments will be working from home next week onwards.

If that's the case, we can forget about getting paid.
    Pssc look after 55 payrolls, the Gardai, Army and CS pensioners.:D

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    How? I hear some departments share one laptop between 10. They are not set up for it.

Probably some, who will just have to work something out but a lot of departments have laptop devices for each worker.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eh, yes, yes it bloody well is. How in christ's name can anyone even with a passing interest with the reports of this virus over the last few months be blindly ignorant on this point? No really, how?

Technically, it's actually not an airborne virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

The chief of the World Health Organization has said Covid-19 'can be characterised as a pandemic'.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    10 years?? if this stays around for 10 years the only way to survive will be by naturally developing antibodies, at the expense of a large chunk of the population who wont survive
    There is potential for a vaccine within 1 year or so
    Outside of some government agencies like ours running around like headless chickens, there are some big horsepower minds being fired at this right now, so I will bet now Mic that there'll be some therapies on the go within the next month and some signs of a vaccine, or partial vaccine for those in the frontline by mid summer. Even a vaccine that reduced symptoms in half of potential patients would make an impact.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

Government Departments are working on contingency plans in case staff are told to work from home but that is all they are at the moment, just plans. Nothing has been decided yet. If it is I suspect it will be announced after Patricks Day.

IF schools close there will be a lot of workers who will have to take time off to look after their kids if they cant get babysitters.

Croohur1 wrote: »
    I'll be waiting for my email so!

Your team should already have filled out a business needs assessment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

BloodBath wrote: »
    I've been calling this **** out for weeks.

But there is evidence? In fact that's a feature of the disease? Attaching via ACE2 receptors? Kidney and lung damage?

I posted it earlier? Based on medical studies from China.

A quick google would have found it .....

https://www.thailandmedical.news/news/breaking-more-emerging-chinese-research-studies-shows-that-the-sars-cov-2-coronavirus-also-attacks-the-kidneys,-pancreas-and-liver

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://mobile.twitter.com/NaomiOhReally/status/1237706206644514816
    Containment no longer priority in Netherlands, Switzerland, France

Over 500 cases now in Netherlands and approaching 500 in the UK, Sweden, Norway

Over 20,000 cases in Europe now. It is more daily increase in cases than China experienced at it's peak, and Europe is 1/3 of the population.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I remember my granddad, RIP, died of pneumonia technically, but he was very old and it was just what put him to rest in the end. A lot of old people will probably just die of Corona now instead of something else.

Yes, this is the communist group think. Let all the people who are a burden on society die, the old who have outlived their usefulness, the disabled of all ages who have never been useful at all and should have been aborted before they were born.
    The best way to achieve equality for all is to eliminate as many of the parasites as possible, leaving only contributors who can share resources equally between themselves.
    You can eliminate them by letting them die of the corona virus or you can murder them like Pol Pot did.
    It’s very difficult for someone who has bought into the whole socialism concept hook line and sinker to understand why, in a crisis, we wouldn’t just let the old and the disabled just die, but personally I’m glad that we seem to be resisting that temptation.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Surely they could use their own laptops.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

You see you're wrong. The issue with Ireland is it's such a small local type country. if Dublin for example has to shutdown / isolate and quarantine then it has huge implications on most of the South East, Midlands and North East where hundreds of thousands commute from. Going on that logic then those areas and people also need to self isolate.

It has nothing to do with the walking dead or zombies. It's a potentially life threatening virus which could visit all of families.

If commuters can work from home they should.

I'm leaning towards a ban on public transport for 2 reasons.
    1. It stops people coming to work and possibly spreading the virus if they have it
    2. It stops the opportunity to spread it on public transport

People should only travel to their workplace if remote working is not possible and also ideally by private car.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Now officially declared a pandemic by the WHO.

Technically, it's actually not an airborne virus.
    Oh really Professor, do inform the rest of us. Even wiki would define it as one. An airborne disease is any disease that is caused by pathogens that can be transmitted through the air by both small, dry particles, and as larger liquid droplets[1]

YFlyer wrote: »
    Surely they could use their own laptops.

Government filing and emails are locked down, so a specific device with a VPN is needed.