Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid-XIX Part VI - 90 cases ROI (1 death) 29 in NI (as of 13 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Nermal wrote: »
    They're not expendable, but they're not priceless either. No one is. A certain amount of excess deaths is preferable to an economic depression.

Every life is equally precious. People matter. More than money etc, That is what society and humanity is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,531 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

This isn't going well for them - figures not adding up.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭hurikane

I can’t believe they are still handing a mic around the press conference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

namloc1980 wrote: »
    All associated with travel or contact with a known case. We're not picking up on the community transmission cases at all.

Yes.

This is only going one way.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,038 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He's looking a little tired tbh
    Can you blame him?
    He is clearly working his arse off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭innuendo141

namloc1980 wrote: »
    All associated with travel or contact with a known case. We're not picking up on the community transmission cases at all.

Are we certain people are being tested that have had NO contact with any known cases?

https://twitter.com/tgr_campania/status/1237728030182854658

OK let's see if this can reduce symptoms in others and not just coincidence. Please be causative
    Patient treated with anti-inflammatory drug used to treat rheumatoid arthritis, and commenced breathing on their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

9 seems low enough. I don't want to be accessed of wishing for more but the relatively low numbers could prevent us tackling this in time.

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

Mr.S wrote: »
    I mean, all in all, 9 cases is extremely low. I thought it was predicted to double every day?

It shows that there is sustained spread of the virus.
    Proactive action needs to happen now.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,016 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Tony is flustered

No he’s not. He like me is trying to understand what that journalist was trying to get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

laurah591 wrote: »
    What was your plan for Summer Holidays or Easter break?

I'd imagine like many other parents, childcare providers and summer camps. Both of which will close if schools are advised to close.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Longing

I mean, all in all, 9 cases is extremely low. I thought it was predicted to double every day?

The projected number for today was 40 cases. We are at 43. Sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Did Holohan just say a few thousand cases nationwide.

Couldn't he get it right at least

They are all over the place cant even speak

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

VinLieger wrote: »
    Its all about flattening the curve so the health system is not overwhelemed

Wow thank you for that completely useless and off topic picture.

It still doesn't answer the question.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,926 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

flynnlives wrote: »
    It shows that there is sustained spread of the virus.
    Proactive action needs to happen now.
    5 of them are related to foreign travel. so 4 internal, all from known cases, thatisn't so bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

gmisk wrote: »
    That is quite low...I wonder what testing numbers are at...

Testing will always be low here. Don't they send out a driver to your house. That driving is taking up more time getting to and from people's houses.

They need a different approach to testing.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Nope. Every 4 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Maxpfizer wrote: »
    It seems like shutting everything down might mean we go from 34 to 1.2 million in 12 months instead of 6? At what cost? It doesn't seem like there is any way out of this.

I'm not saying this is necessarily possible, but if nobody left the house for the next two weeks our cases would drop to zero.

It is not magic.

The virus cannot live in the wild, it needs humans.

The virus can only be in a human for about 2 weeks, from point of infection to demise (which may or may not include the patient).

After two weeks we could identify the last few cases in the country and keep them in isolation.

If all countries did this the entire pandemic would be over in a month.

There are, however, practical considerations. Nonetheless, China clearly has shown that it's possible.

Is it possible in the land of the gombeen man?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭KaneToad

VinLieger wrote: »
    Cus hes in over his head and has no idea what to do next even though its staring him in the face

I imagine that he's very tired and highly stressed. I wish him well and appreciate the efforts he's making.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Jaysus, that's technical stuff!

fritzelly wrote: »
    This isn't going well for them - figures not adding up.
    How so 34 before today 9 more
    43 now in total
    He clearly misspoke in another section.
    It would be interesting to know number of tests.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

I think he misspoke no idea what be was meaning to say tbh
    Was he doing to say number of tests done?

Yes i was expecting him to say "tested" and he goes ahead and says "cases".

Im actually properly worried about thousands of those arseholes coming back from Cheltenham. Thats really going to kick things off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

Nope. Read it again slowly. Then do some research on the definition of an 'airborne' virus. It is not defined simply by droplets travelling through the air and landing somewhere.

OK for the average person, for the people reading it on the boards "You can catch this from droplets that are airborne maybe as a result of an infected person breathing/coughing close by".

Is that OK to say ?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Are we certain people are being tested that have had NO contact with any known cases?

They're not being tested to date as we've only been testing people associated with travel to a hot zone or those in contact with known cases. It seems we will only now start testing for suspected community transmission cases from now on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Naggdefy wrote: »
    9 seems low enough. I don't want to be accessed of wishing for more but the relatively low numbers could prevent us tackling this in time.

9 is a relief. I was expecting 20.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,375 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Never a better time for this!
    Altogether now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

People on here are deluded to think this will blow over or we will somehow escape.

Its not happening lads and following the same course as the brits of doing very little is folly.
    Theyve priced in mass deaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

laurah591 wrote: »
    What was your plan for Summer Holidays or Easter break?

My new annual leave cycle comes in April 1st, so I already had first week of Easter hols booked off and partner took second week. Summer is mostly covered by his after school creche and summer camps etc.

5 of them are related to foreign travel. so 4 internal spread isn't so bad.
    I think all the rest were also in contact with existing cases?
    Clearly they are working their arse off on tracing.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,531 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

How so 34 before today 9 more
    43 now in total
    He clearly misspoke in another section.
    It would be interesting to know number of tests.

He was questioned about a case today not in their numbers and fumbled and didn't answer the question