Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

fin12 wrote: »
    The Uk should unite and do what their EU neighbors are doing. They are not doing a f*cking thing.

Ireland should unite and do what their EU neighbours are doing and shut down the airports. They are not doing a f*cking thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Fergus Ryan
    @GusRyan100

·
    Mar 13
    Replying to @newschambers
    Your coverage has been brilliant Richard... do we know where they came back from?

Richard Chambers

@newschambers

·
    Mar 13
    That's Italy, I understand.

Christ cheltenham wasters still not acvounted for.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭jos28

Jeez lads slow down, I took a break for my dinner and 20 pages :eek:
    Realistically how many cases are expected before the progression starts to slow down (apologies if this has been answered already)

splinter65 wrote: »
    For some people on this thread they are wrong because they’re British. It’s cringeworthy

You were giving out about people saying old people were expendable a couple of days ago saying it was communism/socialism causing this, and now your supporting the actions of the U.K. government which looks like it is based around old people being expendable trying to make it all about brit bashing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭thomas 123

So is it completely irresponsible to go to the pub? Myself and my wife would like to go down for one, not necessarily because I'm mad for a pint but I want to support my local business. While one drink won't make it break them, I want them to still be there when this is over.

What do we think?

Yup any non essential leaving of the house. If you want to support them so bad ring in a voucher or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,134 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

biggebruv wrote: »
    Will more stuff be closing on Monday I’m getting really bad anxiety over all this now lol I’m scared to go my normal route to work on public transport Packed buses

I hope I get a message not to go in on Monday
    In fairness the buses are likely to be a lot more quiet.
    I was on bus on Friday id say it was a quarter full.
    Also lot of people prob off Monday before the bank holiday and more working from home

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

splinter65 wrote: »
    For some people on this thread they are wrong because they’re British. It’s cringeworthy

Ah cop on.

They're wrong AND they're British.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

I missed the 6pm announcement. Has the advice changed? I read this “ The HSE is warning anyone with "normal cold and flu like symptoms to self-isolate" and to ring their GP on Monday.” but in the same article it said GPs are swamped with calls. My 3 year old has a cough and the runs. I imagine its just a normal kid bug but who
    Knows. Got sick one night but that was probably from the cough. Are we supposed to isolate totally? Keeping kids in but I’ve been popping to the shops...

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

If anyone can do the maths with last week's headline saying 1.9m can be infected within 3 weeks. How true can this be?

It can't happen within three weeks. All the estimates of doubling time without containment are ~5 to 6 days, and we're still at very low numbers (perhaps a few hundred to a couple of thousand cases).
    It could happen within 6-8 months if we do nothing, maybe 12-18 if we slow it down a bit but not that effectively.

The UK plan currently says to expect the peak in ~3 months, and they'll only be halfway through the epidemic at that point.
    Personally I think they'll have to switch to plan B long before they get there.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tiddles_1 wrote: »
    Ah stop its not even funny , wash your hands with soap and wash them well ffs

Wind your neck in. We’re not all as wise as you obviously.
    I have the hands washed off myself with soap and warm water.
    I thought there was a particular product I hadn’t heard of.
    You’re easily annoyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Looking for some advice. My wife has booked a night away in a hotel in Ireland as a birthday present for us on Monday night. Thoughts on whether or not this is a good idea? Plan is to avoid social interactions, etc with other guests for the duration so I’m inclined to think it might be fine but a bit on edge nonetheless...
    I'd go and appreciate it. As others said it might be quiet enough. Follow the health advice and you will be fine. Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

France has closed all non essential businesses.

Funny how every country resists doing this at the beginning, first schools , then businesses, then you cant go outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,753 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Adiboo wrote: »
    This is a virus, anti bacterial does nothing. Need to look for something with virucidal in it.

If they also contain bleach, even though they are labelled as anti-bacterial, they will kill viruses e.g.
    Dettol Antibacterial Cleansing Surface Wipes kill E. coli, salmonella, MRSA and the flu virus (H1N1).
    https://www.thesun.co.uk/money/11128765/cleaning-products-stop-coronavirus-germs-bm-poundland/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The sensible think to do is say away from the pubs.

But you want to go and are looking for an excuse to do so?

I'm not looking for an excuse. If the government want everyone to stay out of pubs and restaurants the decree would've come to close. That hasn't come, so do people really think the government wants the pubs to stay open but be empty? Is that it?

Surely the right approach is to keep going but observe good hand hygiene and social distancing?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Looking for some advice. My wife has booked a night away in a hotel in Ireland as a birthday present for us on Monday night. Thoughts on whether or not this is a good idea? Plan is to avoid social interactions, etc with other guests for the duration so I’m inclined to think it might be fine but a bit on edge nonetheless...

What’s the point?

Going to a hotel so that you can stay in the bedroom all the time Incase you pick up a highly contagious virus?

Think about that for a minute

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Tiddles_1 wrote: »
    They said that yesterday ?
    yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Shn99 wrote: »
    Where are the moddeling predictions that were supposed to be completed this week? Are we expecting the peak soon or at a lter date, and would schools remain closed until the peak or follow NI in closing for 16 weeks(when they eventually close)

16 weeks is more realistic tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

The most worrying thing about Covid in Ireland is our lack of ICU beds and ventilators. We have one of the lowest of both per capita in Europe. We only have 250 - 300 in total. 15 - 20% of cases need these. If the number of positive cases goes beyond 1700 we are screwed.

Italy has double our amount. Here is the chart:

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Numbers-of-critical-care-beds-corrected-for-size-of-population-per-100-000-inhabitants_fig1_229013572

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Bob24 wrote: »
    French prime minister currently announcing drastic measures live on Tv. Sounds like it is going Italy’s way.
    Bob24 wrote: »
    For now:
    - all non-essential shops to be closed (I assume it means food and pharmacies only to remain open)
    - any type of gathering is prohibited
    - cafes, restaurants, cinemas and all public gathering locations to be closed

Public transports still operating and he fell short of telling everyone to stay at home.

So it seems like it is still not as strong as the Italian mesures, but a big step up.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭jackboy

I assume all those on the thread condemning those in pubs also condemn those still using public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

At least there's this. Any suggestions for what they could call themselves? My immediate thought is "The Cuntonas" after the other popular drink. Or maybe they could just call themselves The Script or The Blizzards, because all of those sh!t bands are just indistinguishable from each other.

505595.jpg

They could re-launch as Hand Sanitiser. Been saying in work for a fortnight it would be a great name for a band. Got a nice modern edge to it, like Ham Sandwich. But in this case, they'd be born from the ashes of the Coronas.
    Got a real Spinal Tap meme to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ireland doing okay at the minute. All those cases today were obviously before the measures took to lock schools so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

thomas 123 wrote: »
    Yup any non essential leaving of the house. If you want to support them so bad ring in a voucher or something.

Bull****. The country isn't in lockdown not in a state of emergency. We've been asked to observe good hand hygiene, cough etiquette and social distancing.

There is no issue with going out for a walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

gmisk wrote: »
    In fairness the buses are likely to be a lot more quiet.
    I was on bus on Friday id say it was a quarter full.
    Also lot of people prob off Monday before the bank holiday and more working from home

This is true but I’d still rather be told not to come in this whole thing is just crazy I’m scared for my parents and older relatives

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

GM228 wrote: »
    Italy and Spain seeing some big increases over the last 24 hours (2547 and 2086 respectively), Italy has now peaked the highest daily numbers from China (even at their peak) and they don't appear to be near their own peak:-

I wonder whether these are just first peaks? We may see higher numbers in the future, hopefully with a more gradual, less peaky, incline.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

ricero wrote: »
    Stop being so petty.

It was obviously the 5 45pm announcment that my councillor was referring to.

You and he were completely wrong.

Maybe you’ll think twice the next time before posting scaremongering crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

is_that_so wrote: »
    I'd go and appreciate it. As others said it might be quiet enough. Follow the health advice and you will be fine. Enjoy!
    Terrible fúckin advice dude, where do you get off other than on minimising this disaster.

Anyone who values their health would be staying very firmly put for the next two months minimum, with the situation kept very much under review even from then.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

wellwhynot wrote: »
    The most worrying thing about Covid in Ireland is our lack of ICU beds and ventilators. We have one of the lowest of both per capita in Europe. We only have 250 - 300 in total. 15 - 20% of cases need these. If the number of positive cases goes beyond 1700 we are screwed.

Italy has double our amount. Here is the chart:

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Numbers-of-critical-care-beds-corrected-for-size-of-population-per-100-000-inhabitants_fig1_229013572

I think there is huge work behind the scenes to increase this.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,134 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

jackboy wrote: »
    I assume all those on the thread condemning those in pubs also condemn those still using public transport.
    The two things are in no way the same but I think you know that.
    People need public transport if they have to work, reach a shop to get their groceries, visit doctors etc.
    Someone does not have to go to the pub, it is a choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,075 ✭✭✭joseywhales

touts wrote: »
    I see they are still sticking to this notion that unless you were standing really really close to the person for 15 minutes you can't catch it BUT wash your hands because the virus can be on anything. Really they need to drop the whole 15 minute line. It's a hangover from the nothing to see here phase 10 days ago. And it's causing idiots to think they are find asking as they keep moving every 14 minutes in the pub/racecourse.

The ironic result of which is organised distribution of the virus.