Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭wandererz

Is anyone else watching "Saturday Night Takeaway?
    OH My God!

When was this filmed or is it really live?

Those folk have ZERO care whatsoever!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

What are you talking about?

What is rational to you and what irrational content are you objecting to?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,125 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

dasa29 wrote: »
    This is from Facebook regarding Pubs in mullingar

"Mullingar news and views
    1 hr ·

TEMPORARY PUB CLOSURES DUE TO COVID-19 VIRUS CONCERNS
    A growing number of Pubs across Mullingar are now closing temporarily in response to Covid-19 concerns.

The growing number of Pubs that are temporarily closing are
    Wallaces Mount street
    J Dalys ( are offering dial - a - Drink)
    Gillerans pub Harbour Street
    Kerrigans pub Harbour Street
    Chambers Mount Street
    Mojos nite club Dominick Street
    Fence bar and nite club Oliver Plunkett St.

other pubs are having limited opening hours but will review this case by case.
    See your local pub on their Facebook page.
    This is an exceptional difficult time for pubs around Mullingar and your understanding on this matter is very much appreciated."
    Dial a drink....how does that work....I want a pint...delivered?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

dasa29 wrote: »
    This is from Facebook regarding Pubs in mullingar

"Mullingar news and views
    1 hr ·

TEMPORARY PUB CLOSURES DUE TO COVID-19 VIRUS CONCERNS
    A growing number of Pubs across Mullingar are now closing temporarily in response to Covid-19 concerns.

The growing number of Pubs that are temporarily closing are
    Wallaces Mount street
    J Dalys ( are offering dial - a - Drink)
    Gillerans pub Harbour Street
    Kerrigans pub Harbour Street
    Chambers Mount Street
    Mojos nite club Dominick Street
    Fence bar and nite club Oliver Plunkett St.

other pubs are having limited opening hours but will review this case by case.
    See your local pub on their Facebook page.
    This is an exceptional difficult time for pubs around Mullingar and your understanding on this matter is very much appreciated."

Ahahahhaha. Look at the hysterical nutters! I mean they must be tin-foil hat merchants for following the HSE advice about social distancing, the plonkers, Sure it'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So when Ireland inevitably reaches the point the Italians are at due to our complacency/selfishness, how many of the people here on boards will have lost a loved one, probably with a funeral they won’t even be allowed to attend, due to the fact they want to support their local, because god forbid someone tells them they can’t have a pint.

A lot of pubs aren’t following the 100 person rule, our health service is one of the poorest in Europe ( through no fault of the incredible doctors and nurses who are doing their very best on the front line).

Unfortunately many people here will loose loved ones over the quibble of the freedom to have a pint or non essential gym session.....

I really don’t get the “ 100 person “ thing. It’s not as if you’re safe with that number.
    You only have to meet one infected person to catch this virus.
    For that reason I’m avoiding people in general.
    I certainly won’t be visiting pubs or restaurants and will only go to a supermarket when it’s absolutely necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭jos28

shesty wrote: »
    I have 2 family members with bad asthma.Young, in their early 30s, relatively fit and in good health otherwise.
    I am afraid for them.I know lots of people wih young kids with asthma.Who knows how they will get hit??
    Hence my annoyance at the pub brigade.

It's the fact that the virus attacks the lungs first that make it so scary for asthmatics and anyone with impaired lung function

• Registered Users Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭paul71

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I know it has been asked, but my partner is a chef, where should he go to for financial support if the business shuts?

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/99104a-covid-19-coronavirus/

Local social welfare office, there are arrangements in place already.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,737 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

So, France and Spain locked down.
    I expect us next?

Yes. They are all working off the same script, once you hit X number of cases...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭optogirl

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Include all them favelas the Brazilians created around the Northside of the city sharing bedrooms filled with bunk beds. Breading ground for coronavirus spreading

The Brazilians didn't create them. They are victims, like the rest of us, of greed at all levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Not everyone clogs the A&E after a night out to be fair. But those that do now should be put waaay down on the list.

Then A&E staff have to deal with aggressive drunks and fights there.

FFS. Why can't people just do the decent thing and stay the **** out of the pubs for a couple of weeks.

Is it really going to kill you lot to do it?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I know it has been asked, but my partner is a chef, where should he go to for financial support if the business shuts?

He'll have to make some dough some other way.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,377 ✭✭✭✭walshb

wandererz wrote: »
    Is anyone else watching "Saturday Night Takeaway?
    OH My God!

When was this filmed or is it really live?

Those folk have ZERO care whatsoever!

Possibly recorded?

Stuck in watching ant n Dec...this Covid really is a bitch!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

blade1 wrote: »
    They can have it in 2021 instead.
    What's another year

Why would you cancel it and then bring it back the following year?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

“Sure everyone loves de Irish!”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭McGiver

bennyl10 wrote:
    Spain is keeping workplaces open. And advising people to go to work.
    Judy got clarify, I didn't mention workplaces. I meant shops and public spaces. Workplaces are another business.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,288 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

walshb wrote: »
    Possibly recorded?

Stuck in watching ant n Dec...this Covid really is a bitch!

It’s live in the studio - there was a news story about it today and how it was still going ahead. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

France got to this point also due to this reckless behaviour

PSG supporters practising social distancing

3500 people gathered dressed as Smurfs to break the Guinness World Record

https://twitter.com/PSG_English/status/1237812836308586497

https://twitter.com/Europeisnotdead/status/1237074221999759360

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Hermy wrote: »

It’s a Johnny Logan.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Uneasy feeling today, sense something big approaching early next week.

Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Keep howling at the moon so. that will get things sorted

I have absolutely no illusions about my hot air on teh interwebs (or anyone else's) and whether it has any impact IRL. Nonetheless I'll still call out BS such as yours when I see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Hermy wrote: »

Joke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

France going into lockdown, was not expecting that.

Monday morning i expect Ireland will follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭tara73

I'm baffled by the italian numbers. From the BNO website as now:
    cases overall: 21.157 deaths: 1.441

do I get something wrong or is this a death rate of 6.8%? even if you multiply the cases with 15, as experts say the number of infected people could be 10-20 times higher than the actual confirmed cases it's still a death rate around 4.5%.
    this is sickening, pardon the pun...:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Hope I'm wrong.

You aren't. Next week will be absolutely like nothing any of us have witnessed before.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

There's a time to tell idiots where to go and that was the perfect time.

Listen lads. can ye not see the hysteria creeping in to your posts. immediately jumping to personal abuse is an obvious sign. it will solve nothing and will not lend anything to your points, but have at it if that''s what gets you through this.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 biker16

i think alot of people in the pubs are not living with diabetics,people with heart problems,people that have recovered from cancer...i dont care about getting the virus myself just obviously dont want to bring it home and RISK killing someone in my family circle...if they are living with people with these underlying conditions them cmon thats reckless...go to the offo and get a few cans of dutch is all im saying

• Registered Users Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Uneasy feeling today, sense something big approaching early next week.

Hope I'm wrong.

But what could it be?
    Closing down pubs & clubs for two months?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Another thing.... let's say by some miracle pubs are told to close, there might be an even bigger trolley dash to the off licenses (I know supermarkets sell alcohol, but still).

Ration the alcohol purchases per person, just like the toilet rolls, the soap and whatever the feck people are grabbing by the dozen or more.

If they close the off sales along with the pubs there will be riots. I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,899 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

tara73 wrote: »
    I'm baffled by the italian numbers. From the BNO website as now:
    cases overall: 21.157 deaths: 1.441

do I get something wrong or is this a death rate of 6.8%? even if you multiply the cases with 15, as experts say the number of infected people could be 10-20 times higher than the actual confirmed cases it's still a death rate around 4.5%.
    this is sickening, pardon the pun...:o

It just suggests a lack of testing. The real number infected is probably 100k.

I think we should stop reporting on the number of people that have it. Or at least just give a vague figure. We don’t need to know exactly how many have it and we certainly don’t need to know the locations of each case.

It’s just creating more panic and hysteria.

And that webcam in temple bar should be switched off. Too many people stressing themselves looking at it.

The less we know, the better really. People just aren’t handling it well at all.