Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,436 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

spookwoman wrote: »
    Top countries done now
    China Italy Iran S Korea Spain Germany France USA Switzerland UK Norway Netherlands Sweden Belgium Denmark Austria
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1nu5mIBHYoW1cYgb5JvvjyfLoyKHBG2T8ZRvTK7o80L0/edit?usp=sharing

That to me looks encouraging. A clear pattern of very much reduced numbers other than in Italy.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Tootsie_1

threeball wrote: »
    Well one of those 5 has it too and I hope its not one of the carers or we're looking at a superspreader to the elderly

Yep it’s pretty worrying though to me anyway god only knows how many ppl are walking around spreading it. God love that woman doesn’t sound good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Heighway61

I wonder how many living in border counties will head across Paddy's night for a skinful and a free virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Good move closing the pubs tonight, is there a reason they aren't doing the same with restaurants and cafes etc? Surely it would make sense just to close everything at this stage.

It's a rolling wave now.

I would expect more in the coming days, be prepared for it.

We are ahead of the curve and should keep it at that by whatever means necessary now. Honestly if the LVA close pubs that is a deal breaker. Others will follow. Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭spookwoman

paul71 wrote: »
    Probably because restaurants and cafes are not frequented by substance addicted gob****es who refuse to listen the advice of medical professions and government and hence the people in them actually do distance themselves from other customers for the most part.

Jaysus you'd think anyone who had a bit of the gargle was a demon for the drink with the frequent "addicts" in your posts.

News-Demon-Drink.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

across the road from me on talbot street the pub has closed its shutters but its cleary packed and a right aul sesh going on in there. clearly this order to close isnt being heard very well in the city, can only imagine how its being dealt with rurally.

Do your duty report it to the authorities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Cant wait to watch fair city in 3 months time. Bella in isolation and no more scenes in the pubs/cafes great drama

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Lots of people asking when EVERYONE in the world will start taking this seriously?
    I fear by then it will too late for the at risk group

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Do these lockdowns work or just kick the can down the road? is this not going away readily?..........like any other pandemic strains of flu (it's what it is) the only combat is vaccine and build up of immunity, the latter you only get by it's spread not hiding behind closed doors ................the reality we have to face is that some people are going to die from it, it's tragic and not avoidable .............the Spanish flu killed 60m people and is now what we call a seasonal flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭threeball

across the road from me on talbot street the pub has closed its shutters but its cleary packed and a right aul sesh going on in there. clearly this order to close isnt being heard very well in the city, can only imagine how its being dealt with rurally.

People should report pubs like this from tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    That's complete bull.

It's such a pity, the English ruling class have 'form' when it comes to culling populations.. It's just this is the first time they're doing it to their own..

It's a disgusting call to make, to shrug and say the old/vulnerable/immunocompromised are not worth the effort.

There is no defending it no matter what language they use.
    Economy is king and the wealthy are completely in control.

I see the queen has cancelled her engagements, stopped working.
    But won't give the same benefit to the poor.

Fffssss.

This. They are an utter disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,277 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Name and shame, report to the Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I agree. Close all the pubs, chippers, takeaways, snooker halls, bingo, arcades, GAA clubhouses, pitch and putts and pigeon races.

Leave alone the wine bars, private members clubs, bistros, brasseries, fusion cuisine lofts, tennis, rugby, yacht and golf clubs and seal off Howth at Sutton Cross.

No matter what the government do someone will complain

I would expect the people in those establishments have a little bit more cop on that a shower of gobs**t that are only interested in drinking as much of their wages/dole in as little time as possible

Hence the pubs get closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

The pub across the road and those sheep shaggers outside of Dublin will soon have their taps run dry and there will be no more coming.

Sorted.

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

It's a rolling wave now.

I would expect more in the coming days, be prepared for it.

We are ahead of the curve and should keep it at that by whatever means necessary now. Honestly if the LVA close pubs that is a deal breaker. Others will follow. Hopefully.

I'm currently in Spain and we are not allowed outside unless its to the chemist or supermarket or work. The cops are stopping cars. Cyclists and joggers etc are being fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Cant wait to watch fair city in 3 months time. Bella in isolation and no more scenes in the pubs/cafes great drama

Just don’t watch Corona-tion Street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

threeball wrote: »
    People should report pubs like this from tomorrow.

I wouldnt mind but this one is right behind a garda station and I doubt theres 100 in there, they tried but doubt they got that many packed in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I thought they could stay open till tomorrow so why would they even close the shutters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,732 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Publicans, ughhh, same all over, just can’t do without frothing at the gash over cash....

Love if Gardai could identify and while not clear the place, that might require too much in the way of resources but if they turned up tomorrow around opening and arrested the manager/owner... close the place, revoking license, film it for the news sending a message to the rest of the greedy numpties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Do these lockdowns work or just kick the can down the road? is this not going away readily?..........like any other pandemic strains of flu (it's what it is) the only combat is vaccine and build up of immunity, the latter you only get by it's spread not hiding behind closed doors ................the reality we have to face is that some people are going to die from it, it's tragic and not avoidable .............the Spanish flu killed 60m people and is now what we call a seasonal flu

Kicking down the road is what we are aiming for.

We dont want the hospitals overwhelmed with cases or we will be like Italy and doctors having to make difficult decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

VinLieger wrote: »
    Name and shame, report to the Gardai

They aren't breaking the law.

The government have said they should close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

So many inaccuracies in a single post...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

The pub across the road and those sheep shaggers outside of Dublin will soon have their taps run dry and there will be no more coming.

Sorted.

Shag off ourra dat... :)

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

Guards raided Brogans and shut it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,221 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I agree. Close all the pubs, chippers, takeaways, snooker halls, bingo, arcades, GAA clubhouses, pitch and putts and pigeon races.

Leave alone the wine bars, private members clubs, bistros, brasseries, fusion cuisine lofts, tennis, rugby, yacht and golf clubs and seal off Howth at Sutton Cross.

Really it's where people congregate in close proximity Class shouldn't have anything to do with it. The virus doesn't discriminate on class.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,867 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

mickdw wrote: »
    That to me looks encouraging. A clear pattern of very much reduced numbers other than in Italy.

Where?

UK changed testing rationale.
    Germany had over 1200 cases today
    Spain had over 2000 cases and 100 deaths
    France has not reported its figures for some reason
    Italy had another record case increase and new high for deaths
    USA is on it's way to its first 1000+ case count

Positive is South Korea where new cases have daily in the last week. Everywhere else in a deteriorating mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭threeball

FFs the the spanish flu is not what we now call a seasonal flu. The clue is in the death rate.
    Can people not get their head around keeping within the capacity of the health service. Does Italy look like its just a seasonal flu?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Guards raided Brogans and shut it down.

Brogans in Ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Sorted.

Ok, see this is where we go too far, firstly describing people as 'sheep shaggers' for being from outside dublin and wishing the pub trade run out of booze is just bad form, understandibly they have to close for public safety reasons, and understandibly you don't drink , both of those things are fine but you need to tone down the anti drink rhetoric in my opinion, I like many others have a load of cans at home for just this eventuality , nothing wrong with a drink, closing the pubs is a crowding issue only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Shutting down the schools is only helpful if the kids don't go out and play/socialise with each other. And that isn't happening at the moment. Kids need to be kept away from other kids and parents need to see that happens.

And yes, it's a poxy task but these are poxy times.

Our hope isn't to contain it, it's to slow it down so that the hospitals won't be overwhelmed by thousands of cases at the same time, because we can cope with a slow stream of patients, but not with thousands at the same time.
    We've a large estate full of kids and they're not out. This evening was quite nice, the few that were out were with their parents.