Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social distancing Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

YFlyer wrote: »
    From your drone?

From my van

• Registered Users Posts: 14,155 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So it's the governments fault and there's no need for anyone to take personal responsibility, sounds ok

People are idiots. Gov needs to intervene more as no one is heeding to what they've asked of people already.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

YFlyer wrote: »
    From your drone?

Sitting in his chair by the window with binoculars.
    Waving a stick at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

From my van

Fair enough :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭4Ad

Lord TSC wrote: »
    They will have to lock down the country.

But I also think people need to see that a lockdown will only work for so long before people just give up on that too.

The people still congregating now aren't ignorant. Every Tesco and Dunnes Stores, every news outlet, every social media platform is absolutely saturated in info about the Covid virus. Its literally impossible not to know about it, and even the most ignorant person will know that the actions being taken (schools shutting, shops closing, etc) are because something serious is happening.

It's not that people don't understand.

They just don't care, sadly.

So, sure, lock everyone down. But also realise that within two weeks, there will be a LOT of people who will collectively shrug and walk out of their homes. A lockdown will only work for a very small window of time, until people realize if everyone ignores it, they can keep going as they are now.

And I say that as someone in an at-risk family, who has been massively avoiding going out over the last two weeks. I'm not advocating it, I'm not defending it. I'm saying we need to be prepared for it. People will ignore the lockdown en masse if it lasts too long.

I was talking to my sister earlier and I asked her where she was ? "Im in Dunnes shoping, I needed to get out of the house, I havent met anyone since Thursday evening"..
    Just go for a walk..
    She doesn't even need food, the house is overflowing with ****e..
    This is what you are dealing with..Good God...

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Ireland should follow The Philippines approach to Covid-19.
    My wife is from The Philippines and she can't believe the Irish policy to combatting this virus. I completely agree with her when I compare Ireland's little by little approach over 2 weeks to The Philippines approach in just a few days.
    In The Philippines, people are told there is a curfew, all flights cancelled and only vital employees are permitted to travel or be simple on the street.
    Ireland, still has plenty of flights, people congregating at tourist sites, groups of people congregating in houses and traffic jams. Filipinos accept government directions because otherwise they will be subject to legal consequences. In Ireland the government just advises the public with no police or legal consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Scoondal wrote: »
    . Filipinos accept government directions because otherwise they will be subject to legal consequences. In Ireland the government just advises the public with no police or legal consequences.

That's the way it should be, we don't need a dictatorship but i do agree we could be doing more

• Registered Users Posts: 28,383 ✭✭✭✭looksee

All the government can hope to do is reduce the incidence of illness in order for the health services to cope. If they ask everyone to maintain social distancing, wash their hands etc a percentage will do so and have a better chance of survival. Those that don't will be the main ones using the health service and/or dying.

Its their choice to decide to improve their chances or decide to ignore the whole thing. The hope is that the first group will be big enough to keep excess pressure off the system. Realistically the experts have said that large numbers will die, its up to the individuals whether they choose to be among those numbers and also share the virus with vulnerable people, or make an active attempt to protect themselves and other people.

If you prefer to 'put it to the government' the main people losing out by your bravado are yourself, your family, parents, children and loved ones. If its worth it, then go ahead, be a free spirit, your choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

KaneToad wrote: »
    I disagree. The majority of guards will do what is required in this time of crisis. Like the majority of HSE staff, retail staff, truck drivers etc...

But there are not enough Gardai.
    Those that exist will just say "Ah lads, what are ye doing, Can ye just go home ?"
    They should be locked in a cell for the night ... no chats. What is wrong with Irish police ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

The army/gardai have to enforce this stuff now. People had their chance. F**king idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

I’m still being asked to work in the office. The majority of staff are working from home the last few weeks but 30 of us identified as core roles and need to work in the office

The social distancing is ridiculous, most not abiding and crowding around desks and taking it as a personal insult if you ask them to stand back

I feel pressurised in going to work and I truly hate my managers as a result

After this is finished, I’m planning on taking them to court, lack of duty of care in the office

Providing I’m still alive then

• Registered Users Posts: 14,155 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

That's the way it should be, we don't need a dictatorship but i do agree we could be doing more

Desperate times require desperate measures. The group needs to be put before the individual. We 100% need strict measures put in place in my opinion, with harsh repercussions for those who don't comply.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I'm genuinely shocked by the amount of people taking this too seriously. It has a low mortality rate. Why would i care if i got it? And no, i dont have any elderly relatives living near me as well

i think i speak for us all when i say you are a stupid selfish ignorant C U N T.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,978 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Mushy wrote: »
    All for social distancing, but dont stand in the middle of the road chatting to people to maintain it

Was out for my (solo) jog today and saw plenty of neighbours standing around in places having the chat and some of them had to stand out in the road to maintain their distance. Respect for them for keeping to the distancing guidelines. Having to stand out in the road to do it is the fault of the city planners who build ****ty narrow footpaths everywhere. I had to do a lot of running out in the road / crossing to the other side of the road myself in order to maintain distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Filipinos accept government directions because otherwise they will be subject to legal consequences.
    Consequences like getting the sh1t kicked out of you by the police forces, or getting shot without trial if they decide that they don't like you?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Consequences like getting the sh1t kicked out of you by the police forces, or getting shot without trial if they decide that they don't like you?

I was supposed to visit a friend in The Canaries two weeks ago but cancelled, I got the "ah c'mon, you'll be fine, it's just one case and the high temperature over here kills it in seconds anyway."

Up to a week ago the place was still hopping, party central.

The cops came around to all business's last Saturday night and gave everyone 10 minutes to clear the premises and shut up shop.

He's very sick now and has been self isolating since Sunday, there is a 9pm curfew in place.

He rang me last night, from his balcony he saw a cop car pull a taxi over and leather the driver and passenger with batons.

All shops and chemists are closed after 9pm, no excuses stay home.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Never seen fanore beach as busy as it was today and the roads in the caher valley thronged with people walking, i dont think the message is getting through to a LOT of people
    Since my last post I had to do a food run. Taking the usual, or maybe not so usual precautions. On the car journey I passed parks and other green areas and I've very rarely seen so many people out and about. Definitely more than an average sunday, maybe a bank holiday weekend in the summer kinda levels. Familes with kids stopping and chatting to other families with kids, joggers everywhere and quite the number in groups of four or more huffing and puffing along together. I passed one coffee shop/newsagents type place and the outside tables anyway were about averagely full. It's like people think outdoors is grand no matter how close you are to other people. :confused:

One thing stood out for me while I waited for traffic lights. At a busy crossroads a family of two parents and three kids stopped at the pedestrian lights and the kids had a play fight over who would push the button. A nice happy sunny day family scene normally, but in this current crisis? Shared public surfaces are a major no no. How many dozens or more of people have hit that button in just the hour before that family showed up? Crazy though it sounds we have to start thinking on that level. We have to become temporary germophobes with OCD. Ask any epidemiologist or doctor who specialises in such things.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

The pictures from Howth today are ridiculous. So many morons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

But there are not enough Gardai.
    Those that exist will just say "Ah lads, what are ye doing, Can ye just go home ?"
    They should be locked in a cell for the night ... no chats. What is wrong with Irish police ?
    Detaining people requires taking gardai off the street. There aren't enough cells, some skanger spits at a Garda that's maybe the car or station out of action. It'll require reopening st pat's and some brutal violence from the army and Garda to make this work.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I'd have to drive for an hour to see a set of traffic lights and we are still being very wary, in fairness we got an oil delivery the other day and was delighted with the delivery drivers attitude, held his hand up and said please stay back before I got within 20 feet.

That's as near as I or anyone here has been to anyone else in nearly a week.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

The pic from Howth is ridiculous. Huge queue at Burdocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I passed a group of about 8 or 9 young teenage lads earlier huddled together sharing a joint in the sun. Twats! Them and the parents.

People like this really get my goat, most of us are making sacrifices and trying hard with social distancing then you get arseholes like this undoing all our efforts.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

We wanted to go for a drive in the Dublin mountains on Paddy's day (no intention of getting out for a walk just a quiet drive to pass an hour), we were a few minutes into the trip and as we approached a spot where walking trails are present, the road was completely blocked by people parking their cars to go for a walk up a single narrow trail where they were cheek by jowl with each other. After 20 minutes of mayhem we turned back and went home.

Any open park I've seen this weekend whilst in the car has been packed. People really are selfish and ignorant.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

The pictures from Howth today are ridiculous. So many morons.

It’s boiling my blood now.

My cousin had a Christening today in the Church then get together in my uncles house after. Just family and close friends. But they are a large family 6 kids associated grandchildren then both sets of Grandparents. There was about 25 of them in all. Pics up on FB last half hour including large group one. So disheartening to see this carry on closer to home.

I have written off a fair few people I know as morons over this. On the 12th March I was assured by one, who has family in Spain, that there was no real problem there, that it was just two nursing homes in Madrid affected. Another just back from a week in New York on the 10th of March said there was no issue there and we all just need to "get over it". Several former colleagues posting up photos from afternoon tea in a hotel yesterday. Brain dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,273 ✭✭✭emo72

wheres the howth pictures? i was asked to go out there today but i knew it would be bedlam. didnt go.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

*David Attenborough voice* ... and here we see the Lesser Spotted Moronwanker in its natural habitat. A large mammal with one of the smallest brains in the animal kingdom.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Genie1986

Hey guys, so my wife is pregnant with twins(18weeks). She is self employed and has stopped working as her work resolves around the beauty sector. My work is in construction(carpenter). I am employed and work is busy. My wife is freaking out that I could come home with the virus which is understandable. I work remotely in construction sites or in Mrs. Murphys/Joe bloggs doing flooring and wardrobes. We took last week off as a precaution to see what was happening with the virus. I have reassured her that I will take the necessary precautions such as mask, gloves etc etc but still no good... also i have told Mrs. Murphy/Joe bloggs that if we are to do work in their house that they must vacate the house from me so there is no contact. I'm in a rock and hard place...I don't want to come back to our home with the virus putting my pregnant wife at risk but i have to work as i need the funds for the twins that are on the way. I have also read articles that the covid 19 has no effect on pregnancy but still that's no consolation in this occasion.
    Thoughts and advice would be appreciated?
    First time posting a tread...long time reader!!
    Thanks guys