Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social distancing Megathread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

A separate study by Chinese researchers showed that the virus can survive well in the warm, humid conditions of a swimming pool.

The virus appeared to survive despite the temperature of the pool being between 25C to 41C and humidity of approximately 60pc.

One person infected 8 others in the pool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Ok found it (The Mirror was considerate enough to include a link)

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2763852

So it's not new research, it's someone saying that the current guidelines are based off of a certain model-criteria.. I did research a few years ago that is more advanced than the old model.. and using my old research could explain the higher infection rates found amongst healthcare workers, and that the guidelines might be ineffective

It is scary to think that every hospital's ventilation system in the country is repeatedly infecting people

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,141 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

The chicken business I am cursed to have to work in only staggered breaks so less people would be in the canteen, what good is that when you have to stand less that a metre away from people the other 7.5 hours. They could at least slow down the production lines so that less people have to stand there, less chicken would be in shops but people can survive with less chicken for a few weeks. The worst of it is the line leaders still speak to you like you are a dog, I quote the words from a rancid line leader last night "they are all very bad at this". Then the Polish boss swearing at the workers is another matter, I'd like to put him through a burger processor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

While I completely agree with the distancing measures and get angry at the fools who ignore them, I fail to see the hazard in going for a car drive and an isolated walk somewhere that there is no other people.
    You are isolated in a sealed car, you can get to an isolated area and exercise in safety.... anyone?

The more cars on the road the more liklihood of accidents and consequently people taking up hospital resources when they are trying to cope with a worldwide pandemic. Some people have no choice but to drive places at the moment. Those of us who don't have to should avoid unnecessary journeys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

A separate study by Chinese researchers showed that the virus can survive well in the warm, humid conditions of a swimming pool.

The virus appeared to survive despite the temperature of the pool being between 25C to 41C and humidity of approximately 60pc.

I doubt it survived the pool, too many chems in the water.

More likely they caught it in the skanky changing rooms or those metal climbing ladders in and out of the pool. It would live on one of those for a while , catch anyone climbing out of the pool. Simply pull yourself out and then wipe your nose and mouth dry with you hand.....

The showers also, and the communal changing rooms of a public swimming pool, good night and good luck, all over the gaff. But the chems in the pool would sort it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

I don't see how wiping your nose and mouth with your hand could possibly work in a steamy environment when we know this virus is aerosolized (check out interview with Respitory specialist on the Irish Times, it's really good)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/confronting-coronavirus?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fconfronting-coronavirus

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

Beasty wrote: »
    Threads merged

Is that the result of a mutation?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

first time after almost 2 weeks in self isolation im thinking of going to sit in my car and go for a long drive..
    either that or i'm gonna go nuts..

Lavinia wrote: »
    first time after almost 2 weeks in self isolation im thinking of going to sit in my car and go for a long drive..

And risk an accident?

degsie wrote: »
    And risk an accident?
    well im driving for over 18 years now and never had anything so not in plan to start now :)

i was thinking if i do not leave the car i should be pretty safe..?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Go for a walk

Well you're probably far more likely to die in a crash than COVID

Go for a walk
    yes but am i not more exposed like that.. car should give some kind of protection?

im only worried if police would stop me and im more than 'x' km from home

(not saying ill go but i'm thinking of it..)

Well you're probably far more likely to die in a crash than COVID
    haha

thats probably also true..

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0328/1126947-ireland-road-deaths/
    As of 26 March 2020, there have been 47 road deaths in Ireland, nine more than for the same period in 2019.

This is an increase of 24% on the mortality rate so far this year. The road death victims include 14 pedestrians, 20 drivers, eight passengers, four motorcyclists and one cyclist.

Probably still better off going for a walk, although 20 pedestrians have been killed too this year

whats with this year.. wasn't it suppose to be 'nice and round'..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

well im driving for over 18 years now and never had anything so not in plan to start now :)

Oh well then im driving over 30 years so I'll drive as far as I like I guess :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

yes but am i not more exposed like that.. car should give some kind of protection?

im only worried if police would stop me and im more than 'x' km from home

(not saying ill go but i'm thinking of it..)

We are all in the same boat, but this is not allowed. If we all done it, the roads would be packed and the police stretched. You cannot guarantee you wont need to leave the car anyway (and this is the point - if we all went for drives a significant % of us would have to get out at some point.. breakdowns, fuel etc).

Is there any reason you cannot go for a walk?

whats with this year.. wasn't it suppose to be 'nice and round'..

Just bad luck....it'll either destroy you, or make you the person you really are ;)

kenmm wrote: »
    We are all in the same boat, but this is not allowed. If we all done it, the roads would be packed and the police stretched. You cannot guarantee you wont need to leave the car anyway (and this is the point - if we all went for drives a significant % of us would have to get out at some point.. breakdowns, fuel etc).

Is there any reason you cannot go for a walk?
    i can but i am afraid to do it as i see too many people walking around here

i could just drive around the neighborhood :d

degsie wrote: »
    Just bad luck....it'll either destroy you, or make you the person you really are ;)
    haha true story!

time to taste my own medicine :d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

i can but i am afraid to do it as i see too many people walking around here

ye - I get you - right in the city centre here and its pretty hard to maintain proper distancing..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Rand Paul went to the gym and pool while waiting for his results.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Garda are doin sfa if you call them

friends of ours called the guards to tell them of neighbours who are persisting with getting works done on their house this week with private contractors in and out

basically told they can do nothing and they can only advise on what regulations were set out last friday and there is no legislation for them to act on
    so basically people can do what the fcuk they like

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Go for a walk or a cycle. Stay home except for essential journeys.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,952 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Even chlorinated?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

ELM327 wrote: »
    Even chlorinated?

I'd imagine it's less to do with the actual water in the pool and more to do with the warm humid conditions in the enclosed swimming pool area..

It could of course be the pool water , but from the info that's out there so far a warm humid environment is perfect for the spread which is exactly what you get in an indoor pool area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

Lex Luthor wrote: »

friends of ours called the guards to tell them of neighbours who are persisting with getting works done on their house this week with private contractors in and out

basically told they can do nothing and they can only advise on what regulations were set out last friday and there is no legislation for them to act o
    It's my understanding they have zero power yet to dictate behaviour in a private property rather than doing SFA as you put it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Lex Luthor wrote: »

basically told they can do nothing and they can only advise on what regulations were set out last friday and there is no legislation for them to act o
    It's my understanding they have zero power yet to dictate behaviour in a private property rather than doing SFA as you put it.

Not according to the local TD

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭TrivialArguer

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Never too late to start.

Cooking food should sort it out.

I would try to not become too germophobic during this crisis, it will drive you mad. The chances of you contracting the virus from a product you select off a shelf are really really slim, don't go there.

I have OCD :o:(