Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social distancing Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

I am starting to like this community isolation / social distancing. I am talking to my neighbours more now. People are more open to chat in supermarkets. There is a feeling of less consumerism and more social contact. Irish people aren't really that social, but with space between us, we are lovely to each other.
    We don't need pubs nor drink to be nice people.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

they have done well, buy time, implement measures , fine. I am not really prepared to live like a hermit for months, I am living alone now, I dont think locking down the entire country for months, is acceptable. Start addressing the key issues, let the elderly shop in the early hours or whatever, ban kids from grocery shops whatever. But shutting the country down for a few weeks is one thing, from a social and financial perspective. Shutting it down for months, is going to create serious social and financial problems...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    they have done well, buy time, implement measures , fine. I am not really prepared to live like a hermit for months, I am living alone now, I dont think locking down the entire country for months, is acceptable. Start addressing the key issues, let the elderly shop in the early hours or whatever, ban kids from grocery shops whatever. But shutting the country down for a few weeks is one thing, from a social and financial perspective. Shutting it down for months, is going to create serious social and financial problems...

You keep bring up the idea of the country being shut down for months, but there's little sign that's going to happen. China didn't shut down completely except in Wuhan, and even then, there were measures for people to walk around outside, go shopping etc once the initial panic had passed...

Those particularly vulnerable will continue to isolate themselves, but the remainder will be able to go back to work or live their lives after a few weeks. The point is to gauge the effects of the virus, and determine measures to decrease the risks. Hence the need for social distancing, to give some time for Ireland to observe what happens in other countries which are ahead of us, and also for Ireland to determine it's own reaction.

However, I really don't believe Ireland or just about any country will shut down for months to the extent you suggest. It won't be the same as before the virus appearing. People will need to be careful, and people will die.. that's a given. Still, others will be perfectly happy to take that risk to their lives once the dangers are known... right now there are too many unknowns about the virus.

just saw this, lads its so true, less than a week in, endless contact on phone , seeing some people face to face, endless documentaries, films, series, more than you could watch in your life time & we are starting to climb the walls! Food and drink an absolute pittance ... Jesus maybe all these threads about the younger generations these days being absolute snow flakes are spot on :D

90148423_10219409040195616_8558231385393856512_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_sid=8024bb&_nc_ohc=DpZtZQbnVXcAX9bIeU3&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=bb87197eba22272e792912c0f0c7d2dd&oe=5E9886FF

You keep bring up the idea of the country being shut down for months, but there's little sign that's going to happen. China didn't shut down completely except in Wuhan, and even then, there were measures for people to walk around outside, go shopping etc once the initial panic had passed...

Those particularly vulnerable will continue to isolate themselves, but the remainder will be able to go back to work or live their lives after a few weeks. The point is to gauge the effects of the virus, and determine measures to decrease the risks. Hence the need for social distancing, to give some time for Ireland to observe what happens in other countries which are ahead of us, and also for Ireland to determine it's own reaction.

However, I really don't believe Ireland or just about any country will shut down for months to the extent you suggest. It won't be the same as before the virus appearing. People will need to be careful, and people will die.. that's a given. Still, others will be perfectly happy to take that risk to their lives once the dangers are known... right now there are too many unknowns about the virus.

Ireland is a ridiculous nanny state. Now in this particular situation in the short term, it may be beneficial. I dont know what way things will pan out, nobody does. Its not just me suggesting it might happen, many others on these various threads are too. We are just saying if that happens, the consequences will be seriously ****, potentially worse than just doing what you think will play out in your post, which is what I hope happens...

• Registered Users Posts: 60,559 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I wonder what the 3 people in the ISS are thinking about whats happening down here on earth since they have social distancing covered.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I wonder what the 3 people in the ISS are thinking about whats happening down here on earth since they have social distancing covered.

"Can we stay up here longer?"

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Ireland is a ridiculous nanny state. Now in this particular situation in the short term, it may be beneficial. I dont know what way things will pan out, nobody does. Its not just me suggesting it might happen, many others on these various threads are too. We are just saying if that happens, the consequences will be seriously ****, potentially worse than just doing what you think will play out in your post, which is what I hope happens...

Yes, but it's what you're focusing on. I haven't seen you talking about Ireland shutting down for a few weeks or a month, and moving on... Instead, most of your posts seem to be related to how fcuked we're all going to be for/after shutting down for months or "long term"

I think everyone knows the world would be screwed if it was shut down long-term.. which is why it won't happen. Saving lives is important, but not emerging into a dystopian apocalypse scenario is also important.

Logically, social distancing will happen until we've got a handle on the panic relating to the virus, and technology/medicine can combat the worse risks of it, and then there will be gradual reactivation of essentials, and then the remainder. It's what's been happening in Asia. We'll get to see how they do it, the mistakes they make, and learn from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

while I see the reasoning of the new legislation which will allow gardai to break up house parties.

I am very concerned at the effect on our liberty to grant agents of the state such powers. Sure it's temporary for the emergency but fcuking hell so was PRSI...:eek:

This is police state sh1t.
    I hate how people actually approve of trading their freedoms for security :(:mad:

paw patrol wrote: »
    while I see the reasoning of the new legislation which will allow gardai to break up house parties.

I am very concerned at the effect on our liberty to grant agents of the state such powers. Sure it's temporary for the emergency but fcuking hell so was PRSI...:eek:

This is police state sh1t.
    I hate how people actually approve of trading their freedoms for security :(:mad:

If this was the US, I might agree but it's Ireland. There is neither the culture nor the desire for such a changeover. There's no underlying system to support such a totalitarian state. In the US, corporate entities, and a supremely powerful rich class exists to subvert control. Nothing even close to that here.

I'm all for the change to give the Gardai such powers, and I was rather surprised they didn't have them already.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

so no one night stands ?

fryup wrote: »
    so no one night stands ?

Don't see why not... Just go doggy and you're not exchanging saliva or coughing on each other.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/can-i-have-sex-a-frank-guide-to-intimacy-during-the-coronavirus-outbreak-1.4206811

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

I've still been told to attend my office. My work is more or less completely online based so I should be able to wfh. I'm only in the job about 4 months but slightly disappointed that risk is still being taken with regards to stopping the spread of the virus & social distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    I've still been told to attend my office. My work is more or less completely online based so I should be able to wfh. I'm only in the job about 4 months but slightly disappointed that risk is still being taken with regards to stopping the spread of the virus & social distancing.

Are they not listening to public advice?! You should work from home where possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Are they not listening to public advice?! You should work from home where possible.

Family run business - they are listening but their attitude towards everything is worrying. I worked from home Monday/Wednesday but was called in again yesterday afternoon. Anyway - it's worrying for me as I live with vulnerable people at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Family run business - they are listening but their attitude towards everything is worrying. I worked from home Monday/Wednesday but was called in again yesterday afternoon. Anyway - it's worrying for me as I live with vulnerable people at home.

Easy for me to say, but it would seem reasonable to ask them exactly what work they need done onsite that can't be done at home. For example, yesterday afternoon, was there something that couldn't be done at home?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

If this was the US, I might agree but it's Ireland. There is neither the culture nor the desire for such a changeover. There's no underlying system to support such a totalitarian state. In the US, corporate entities, and a supremely powerful rich class exists to subvert control. Nothing even close to that here.

I don't agree - we have our own cases of garda overreach in Ireland even in recent times.
    We had Donegal and more recently Garda McCabe and there appears something fishy in the midlands but as of yet unproven.
    But we have enough with a small enough population.

I guess we can wait and when this is over campaign to repeal these laws if they aren't removed.
    I'm all for the change to give the Gardai such powers, and I was rather surprised they didn't have them already.

I don't get this , the gardai should only be able to enter your house if a law is being broken and the entry is warranted , this give them any reason to enter a private house.
    That's utter pox. Tbh if that doesn't concern people , that is prob more worrying than the actual legislation.
    People support this type of stuff cos they assume it will always affect "other people" and not them....

paw patrol wrote: »
    People support this type of stuff cos they assume it will always affect "other people" and not them....

Nope.. that's your assumption of other people. I assume that most people are aware from personal experience or knowledge of world affairs (past or present).

I would support it because it's needed. The world is changing and the security forces need a greater degree of flexibility. There has to be a measure of trust in the police, or the military for that matter.

And I do live in a police state... I think most of posters like yourself should spend time in other countries where there is such abuse of power.. for perspective on the differences.

I've noticed over the past few days. No one seems to be taking social distancing seriously. It feels like it's the summer holidays with the amount of people outside, perhaps it's time to introduce tougher measures?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

There is a culture of total passivity and taking things at face value and the robotic repitition of media-created narratives as if hey had sprung from people's own thoughts.

Invisible microscopic germs can now be used forevermore as a justification for any State action, long after this virus has been mostly-eradicated.

Before that it was Climate Emergency and if it wasn't that it'd be something else.

I've noticed over the past few days. No one seems to be taking social distancing seriously. It feels like it's the summer holidays with the amount of people outside, perhaps it's time to introduce tougher measures?

I think it's time to link real genuine cases of infections or deaths with the people who have broken or taken the piss with the social distancing.

I don't believe that tougher measures are needed yet. A stronger public campaign to make people aware that social distancing can only work if people stick to the measures required... Although, honestly, I do suspect that tougher measures will be needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

growleaves wrote: »
    There is a culture of total passivity and taking things at face value and the robotic repitition of media-created narratives as if hey had sprung from people's own thoughts.

Invisible microscopic germs can now be used forevermore as a justification for any State action, long after this virus has been mostly-eradicated.

Before that it was Climate Emergency and if it wasn't that it'd be something else.

It was always likely to hard right would decide taking a hard line was a BAD thing and yet people like you probably back the freedom not to vaccinate from Covid 19 when one is available.

Simon Coveney is now asking people to confront strangers on the street about social distancing. Will you be playing your part?

"Excuse me Citizen, I notice you are only standing 1.5 metres away from your lady companion. Can you please stand a further point five metres apart?"

Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Simon Coveney is now asking people to confront strangers on the street about social distancing. Will you be playing your part?

"Excuse me Citizen, I notice you are only standing 1.5 metres away from your lady companion. Can you please stand a further point five metres apart?"

Let us know how you get on.

Social distancing is less important outdoors. Also ppl are usually walking outdoors so passing close by someone for the 2 second it takes it not a big deal.

edit: Did Coveney really say that btw. Oh, and I'm seeing social distancing all day around my locale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

Agreed.

If some eejit is wheeled out on RTE to say something it's taken as gospel.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/coronavirus-failure-to-engage-in-social-distancing-putting-lives-at-risk-1.4207842
    The Tánaiste said of the emergency powers passed: “I hope we never need them, but I suspect we might.” He said parents, families, peer groups and communities needed to confront people who were not taking the public health message seriously.

He said they had to speaking particularly to “teenagers hanging out together in people’s homes or on street corners, interacting and socialising and chatting as they would normally do”.
    “Social distancing matters. It is not a theory, it’s a protection, and we need to confront our families and our peers and our communities to make sure that everybody takes that seriously. And if we do we will save lives, thousands of them, he said in an impassioned speech.

“Ultimately it is the people themselves, all over the country who need to play their part by following public health advice,” he said.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Social distancing is less important outdoors. Also ppl are usually walking outdoors so passing close by someone for the 2 second it takes it not a big deal.

edit: Did Coveney really say that btw. Oh, and I'm seeing social distancing all day around my locale.

Social distancing matters as much outdoors as it does indoors. Why? Because you'll likely have very little warning (if at all) when someone coughs or sneezes in your direction. Having a decent amount of space between you and them, vastly improves your chance of avoiding infection.

I must admit I find the blase attitude a bit worrying, especially considering the deaths coming out of Italy. This isn't the flu. This isn't something that we've experienced before, and have fully explored all it's effects. Covid is still undergoing research and nobody should be getting complacent about how infectious it might be. Err on the side of caution. Keep distance between you and others....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what's the story with cafe's?? are they meant to close or obliged to close....cause my local cafe is still open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Trust me, your not the only one. I have two close friends in the same position.

Getting treated like kids. We are an army all going to battle together and this is criminal that some micro managers are expecting this from their staff.