Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Loughc wrote: »
    So what happened to the magical 11am army filled lockdown :D

The amount of guff going around is hilarious.

Screamer is a dreamer.

You missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

MD1990 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/SteadyImproving/status/1237527438176878593

dont know this isnt mentioned much.

but obesity is a leading cause.
    so improving diet & losing weight will help greatly to improve your chances.

It's a bit late losing it now unless hunger strike. Incidentally I'm told if you.can fast for 72 hrs your immune system resets making you supercharged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Antares35 wrote: »
    Mine are the same. They happened to be out there before the sh*t hit the fan. At the moment they face the agonising decision of whether to stay or leave. Their experience of the healtcare system there is that it is a thousand times better than ours and the Spanish government are not talking about denying people medical intervention on the basis that they are old and unproductive. There are far stricter measures in place to enforce lockdown and generally people seem to be respecting public health guidelines unlike here where we have gobsh*tes going out having covid parties and behaving recklessly.

Plus their house is in a quiet area, not too many people around and they can isolate quite comfortably there.

Its decision time as if they want to leave it will have to be by Thursday. Being in his 70s and with underlying conditions, my dad said a packed airport is the worst place to be and he fancies his chances in spain. Im terrified they will catch it and be alone :(

OH and i are expecting their first grandchild soon and there is every chance they wont be here for that. I cant even think about the possibility of them never meeting her...

I know the rational choice is probably for them to stay but I just want to be able to look after them. The thought they could get it and be by themselves and so far away is tearing me in two.

Yeah mine have stayed. They seem to be dealing with it well, at least the weather is nice and they have a nice garden to hang out in. I reckon they're way better off there, they can still get to supermarkets, individually.
    It's funny my parents were meant to meet their first grandchild next week, but it wont be happening now, he's in Colombia, my mother was really looking forward to it obviously. Can't see it happening for months now. I mean even if or when this blows over how long until the airline industry goes back to how it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.mhlw.go.jp/stf/seisakunitsuite/bunya/0000164708_00001.html#kokunaihassei
    Wtf is going on in Japan ..33 out of 43 tests conducted yesterday returned positive ..why aren't they increasing testing ?? They are almost as bad as the states in terms of conducting large numbers of tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Cupatae wrote: »
    Is the country going into complete shut down for two weeks or is that all nonsense ?
    Nonsense. It would achieve very little. We can't stop it so we need to slow it down as much as we can. Shutting down the country completely would certainly slow it down more but we'd have to do it until such time as there is a vaccine which could be 18 months away. They're trying to control the spread. Eventually there will be herd immunity and life can return to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Just got a whatsapp from a mate, not the most credible so draw your own conclusions:

"the emergency services, business, shops & politicians are all dealing with something that is evolving very quickly and that is probably (and hopefully) a once in a lifetime event. They are doing their best to sort out issues and have the best interests of the public in mind, no matter what the local loon-balls tell you. Everyone at every level in the country wants this to be over an done with as soon as possible and is doing what they think best to make that happen"

Must be bullsh*t - sounds way too far fetched to me

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Even if they were just up the road you can't really look after them without putting them at risk. They are probably best where they are for all the reasons you outlined above.

My parents are 20 mins away from me and I have to do all my contact now by text, phone and video call. Even if I feel well, I would be putting them at risk if I visit, as I could have it and not even know. :(
    OH and I are working from home and my lectures are online too so we havent been out for a week and are stocked up for a month to isolate..so I thought I could be here for them but given that symptoms mighy not display for some time I would say you are right :( Objective me says they are better to stay put. Emotional/subjective me just wants mam and dad home! Hope you and your parents will be ok through all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Can we ban anyone mentioning 11 o'clock? It's not funny or original.

Can we just ban anyone who cites WhatsApp as a source for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Mine are the same. They happened to be out there before the sh*t hit the fan. At the moment they face the agonising decision of whether to stay or leave. Their experience of the healtcare system there is that it is a thousand times better than ours and the Spanish government are not talking about denying people medical intervention on the basis that they are old and unproductive. There are far stricter measures in place to enforce lockdown and generally people seem to be respecting public health guidelines unlike here where we have gobsh*tes going out having covid parties and behaving recklessly.

who said the bit in bold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

Just got a whatsapp from a mate, not the most credible so draw your own conclusions:

"the emergency services, business, shops & politicians are all dealing with something that is evolving very quickly and that is probably (and hopefully) a once in a lifetime event. They are doing their best to sort out issues and have the best interests of the public in mind, no matter what the local loon-balls tell you. Everyone at every level in the country wants this to be over an done with as soon as possible and is doing what they think best to make that happen"

Lol wtf

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

It is bull thanks for sharing. You got any chain texts or emails to send too? Maybe a Facebook will start charging unless you post this status perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ShayNanigan

I sort of hope the authorities would nail my neighbour's door shut. I'm amazed their door hasn't fallen off its hinges at the rate they are coming and going; packing the kids to the car and leaving, then arriving and unpacking the car and the same thing within an hour again. If they're not going somewhere, their relatives are visiting them. Also bunch of people gathering and tittle-tattling away on the street like it's a normal day.

I feel like I should go and try to get some food from the shops but I know it's useless. I have no wish to end up in the middle of a group of coughing people fighting over the last case of beer and toilet rolls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

So what happened to the magical 11am army filled lockdown :D

The amount of guff going around is hilarious.

Screamer is a dreamer.

Infairness the whole town where I'm from has locked down aside from dunnes Tesco's and the pharmacy , pubs and everything else is closed as far as I can see , so didn't seem too outlandish that a 2 week stay at home to delay would happen, it d make sense. , Guess I get to go into work and mingle with 200 other people get the spread going!

Can't wait to go to the canteen for lunch ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I’d say pornhub is doing great business😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

wakka12 wrote: »
    A second doctor in Bergamo has died , she was 58 yo, her mother also died of coronavirus two weeks prior . https://www.ilmessaggero.it/italia/coronavirus_bergamo_morti_ostetrica_ivana_valoti_morta_ultime-5114005.html
    Absolutely horrific what is happening in Italy

Bergamo appears to be like ground zero in Italy.

We don't have the capability or willingness to properly enforce a complete lockdown here.
    It is much easier to enforce one in China where the people know damn well you will suffer dire consequences if you do not do as your told.

Likewise with lots of European countries where they have had strict regimes in the past, some in recent living memory.

Here too many Irish see laws as something flexible to be bent a little.

And how many guards or soldiers here would be willing to shoot a looter if push comes to shove ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

is_that_so wrote: »
    Nonsense

Give it a week or two and let`s see if it is still nonsense then. Needs to be done ASAP.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Infairness the whole town where I'm from has locked down aside from dunnes Tesco's and the pharmacy , pubs and everything else is closed as far as I can see , so didn't seem too outlandish that a 2 week stay at home to delay would happen, it d make sense. , Guess I get to go into work and mingle with 200 other people get the spread going!

I’m due in work on Wednesday with a 120 others. Boss confirmed it’s still going ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Shutdown, total lockdown, code red.... so much nonsense at the moment. What do any of those terms mean? Even across europe total and complete lockdown means different things in different countries and even within different areas of those countries.

Here's the bottom line, its one day at a time, comprising of one hour at a time and containing multiple meetings at official level reacting to the latest information compiled minute by minute.

Stay in and stay safe... you will be told when anything changes. Stay off social media and stick to official sources. Get to know when the daily press conferences are held and you will find out at the same time as everyone else.

hse.ie is all you need to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Local Centra has been mostly cleared out of cases of beer, except for Budweiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I sort of hope the authorities would nail my neighbour's door shut. I'm amazed their door hasn't fallen out of its hinges at the rate they are coming and going; packing the kids to the car and leaving, then arriving and unpacking the car and the same thing within an hour again. Also bunch of people gathering and tittle-tattling away on the street like it's a normal day.

I feel like I should go and try to get some food from the shops but I know it's useless. I have no wish to end up in the middle of a group of coughing people fighting over the last case of beer and toilet rolls.

What's wrong with them going in and out with kids. I'm doing the same. There's nothing wrong with going off for a walk or going about life as normal with the exception of mixing with other people.

Yeah mine have stayed. They seem to be dealing with it well, at least the weather is nice and they have a nice garden to hang out in. I reckon they're way better off there, they can still get to supermarkets, individually.
    It's funny my parents were meant to meet their first grandchild next week, but it wont be happening now, he's in Colombia, my mother was really looking forward to it obviously. Can't see it happening for months now. I mean even if or when this blows over how long until the airline industry goes back to how it is?

And if reports are true about the virus thriving in cold climates then Spain for the foreseeable might make more sense! :)

Scotty # wrote: »
    Nonsense. It would achieve very little. We can't stop it so we need to slow it down as much as we can. Shutting down the country completely would certainly slow it down more but we'd have to do it until such time as there is a vaccine which could be 18 months away. They're trying to control the spread. Eventually there will be herd immunity and life can return to normal.

Are they making a judgement call between putting thousands more on the dole queue and virus spreading faster

Still trying to figure out what's coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

jmayo wrote: »

We don't have the capability or willingness to properly enforce a complete lockdown here.
    It is much easier to enforce one in China where the people know damn well you will suffer dire consequences if you do not do as your told.

Likewise with lots of European countries where they have had strict regimes in the past, some in recent living memory.

And how many guards or soldiers here would be willing to shoot a looter if push comes to shove ?

Not necessarily, reality will kick in if a lot of people are dying etc. i think we are quite a warming and caring nation when we want to be/things start getting tough, with the exception of snow of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

INMO Trolley Watch figures below for March 16th 2020

https://www.inmo.ie/Trolley_Ward_Watch

Irish hospitals only 35 beds short today.

must be a record low for this time of year !

jmayo wrote: »

So basically because we're a bunch of apes that can do what were told were gonna spread the ****e out of this virus... Unreal what a nation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

wadacrack wrote: »
    kclr96fm.com/six-american-tourists-who-stayed-at-hibernian-hotel-in-kilkenny-had-coronavirus/

Feck sake, I work in a visitor attraction in Kilkenny, we had a number of Americans in last week :-\

Syncpolice wrote: »
    Lol wtf

It be called sarcasm

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Local Centra has been mostly cleared out of cases of beer, except for Budweiser.

Jaysus that is a code red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ShayNanigan

deisedevil wrote: »
    What's wrong with them going in and out with kids. I'm doing the same. There's nothing wrong with going off for a walk or going about life as normal with the exception of mixing with other people.

Because you can bet they are mixing with other people. They don't do walks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

sudzs wrote: »
    So this stuff is not confined to Whatsapp and Facebook :rolleyes:

Sadly this is also true. All these articles about “cures” need to better reflect reality. Drugs take months to go through human trials. Exceptions are unlikely for Coronavirus.

Another peeve of mine is that recent article on Medium that was shared by some guy emphasise the need for social distancing. He had tips for avoiding coronavirus, some of which were condradictory or misleading. Yet people shared it by the masses because it looked like a credible source. (They guy was not a healthcare official. We believe he was a number guy)

paw patrol wrote: »

To be honest I cant even remember now but there was some talk about having to make decisions on who would get ICU beds if there is a shortage.

I thought Leo said that workplaces should stagger their break times. Is that not happening at your place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

I sort of hope the authorities would nail my neighbour's door shut. I'm amazed their door hasn't fallen out of its hinges at the rate they are coming and going; packing the kids to the car and leaving, then arriving and unpacking the car and the same thing within an hour again. Also bunch of people gathering and tittle-tattling away on the street like it's a normal day.

Go out and get some fresh air ya maniac. Stop obsessing over your neighbours.

Shops are also grand.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

There's no demand for that... 'cos it's shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

paw patrol wrote: »

No one is talking about not treating the old and unproductive. The Irish Medical Council has issued advise to doctors that if the medical services are overwhelmed patients more likely to survive may have to be prioritised.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-patients-with-best-chance-of-survival-to-be-prioritised-1.4203716%3fmode=amp

The Spanish equivalents have had similar discussions or if they have not will have to do it informally on the front line. It has happened to a great extent already in Italy.

It is bull thanks for sharing. You got any chain texts or emails to send too? Maybe a Facebook will start charging unless you post this status perhaps?

I know - sure how can it be correct when there CIA are currently working with Rotschilds to get the army to put flouride into our water supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

At least some sense is prevailing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So basically because we're a bunch of apes that can do what were told were gonna spread the ****e out of this virus... Unreal what a nation..

Yes I'd say so.

https://www.thejournal.ie/cheery-orchard-garda-incident-5047312-Mar2020/

Do you really think people in these areas are going to follow any instructions issued?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Just got a whatsapp from a mate......

Your best bet

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

It's the people behind Rockshore I feel sorry for. Feels like the nation would rather drink its own hungover p1ss for a taste of alcohol than that stuff judging by crates left in shops.

Ger Roe wrote: »
    Shutdown, total lockdown, code red.... so much nonsense at the moment. What do any of those terms mean? Even across europe total and complete lockdown means different things in different countries and even within different areas of those countries.

Here's the bottom line, its one day at a time, comprising of one hour at a time and containing multiple meetings at official level reacting to the latest information compiled minute by minute.

Stay in and stay safe... you will be told when anything changes. Stay off social media and stick to official sources. Get to know when the daily press conferences are held and you will find out at the same time as everyone else.

hse.ie is all you need to know.

Some people are still at work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Syncpolice wrote: »
    Are they making a judgement call between putting thousands more on the dole queue and virus spreading faster

Still trying to figure out what's coming
    Well kind of, yes. It's a balancing act. They are trying to keep the daily numbers as low as possible so our health service is able to cope. They've closed schools and pubs in an effort to do this. If they're still t0o high they'll have to extend this to Restaurants, Cafe's etc. Then all non essential retail... and so on.

People sill need food/medicine etc so a total lockdown is never going to happen.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Your best bet

giphy.gif

Did you even read the post!

Also - that looks very similar to what happens every time i text a woman so to see a pictorial representation of it has both angered and upset me

And if reports are true about the virus thriving in cold climates then Spain for the foreseeable might make more sense! :)
    Temperature makes little or no difference. Look at the new cases in countries with warm climates. Isolation is the only way to slow this thing down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

So they're cleared out of beer.

I thought Leo said that workplaces should stagger their break times. Is that not happening at your place?

Not at all, people don't bother there bollox I go to the car for break and eat there but it's pretty much treated as nonsense , outside of a sign about it and a little bottle of hand sanitizer.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

INMO Trolley Watch figures below for March 16th 2020

https://www.inmo.ie/Trolley_Ward_Watch

Irish hospitals only 35 beds short today.

must be a record low for this time of year !
    Numbers of elective surgeries cancelled, freeing up beds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Scotty # wrote: »
    We can't avoid it. Ultimately it will come down to herd immunity. What we are trying to do now is slow it down so that the number of new cases per day is still manageable by the health services. Once the health services become overwhelmed the vulnerable will have a far lesser chance of survival.

Here's the problem with this:
    Ireland has around 250 ICU beds. But let's be generous and say that somehow we get that number up to 500 and they aren't needed for anything else apart from cov-19 cases. Let's also be extremely optimistic and say that each person needs the bed for only 10 day, this means that a theoretically highly stretched Irish health service could cope with 50 new severe covid-19 cases per day (in a highly unrealistic scenario where the beds are being used for just this)

We also know that that for a population like we have somewhere around 5% of cases will need this type of intensive care. Which means that again, in theory we could have 1,000 people a day being infected and 'barely' cope. This would still lead to around 1% 'unavoidable' mortality rate, but we as a society would not be letting anyone die unnecessarily.

So estimates for herd immunity vary, but 70% is not unreasonable ie. 3,400,000 people based on the current pop of Ireland. So you can see that those advocating 'flattening the curve' to keep corona virus below the capacity of the health service, if they were being honest would be talking about a period of 3,400 days (ie just short of 10 years) until this 'herd immunity' is reached. This would be 10 years of continual lock-down (slow virus transmission scenarios) which is clearly nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

D.Q wrote: »
    Go out and get some fresh air ya maniac. Stop obsessing over your neighbours.

Shops are also grand.

actually the virus could be on surfaces, we are essentially depending on each other to practice good hygiene, whilst a low chance, you should be vigilant at all times, so there is a chance of contracting the virus in shops and also kids in playgrounds etc. So at the moment, i would say shops are not grand as when i was in Lidl yesterday, it was quite apparent some people were not doing this and just going about things as normal

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Corkgirl20

Numbers on Wednesday may be very high due to backlog.
    Friend was tested on Saturday and told results will be given today. He rang and they said there’s a backlog so results will be given on Wednesday. Not sure if all weekend results will be given on Wednesday or not.