Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

chrissb8 wrote: »
    So much for that

Ah sure, aren't we better off without it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

MadYaker wrote: »
    Yeah it’s only a part of our culture for the last thousand years. Gobsh!te.

Yeah us and virtually every other society. Pubs are a plague on communities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Woke Hogan wrote: »

Woke I would say you struggle in a public environment at the best of times?

Do you find people stare at you in funny ways?

I mean in fairness both Coronation Street, EastEnders and Fair City would all be stuck for filler if there wasn't any pubs? Think about that one for a second. Without pubs there mightn't be soap operas, what would you do then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

There is a serious point in there, around the damaging effects of alcohol on our communities, but this thread isn't likely to be the place to make it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

People who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity. If you don't want pubs in your community, feel free to emigrate to the many countries in the world that don't have a pub culture and let us know how you get on.

dotsman wrote: »
    People who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity. If you don't want pubs in your community, feel free to emigrate to the many countries in the world that don't have a pub culture and let us know how you get on.

Actually I think people who complain about people who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

kenmm wrote: »
    Actually I think people who complain about people who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity.
    People who complain about people who complain about people who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity.

Thats me - you got me, nothing can beat that! I am gonna go and emigrate now so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Without pubs, most Irish people wouldn’t have been conceived.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭manster

I wish the pubs would open, I'm turning into an alcoholic at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

People who complain about people who complain about people who complain about pubs are a plague on humanity.

C-C-C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!!

A saturday evening without the boozer just isnt the same, theres only so much netflix and cans a man can take.

Anyone else kinda getting used to it? I am enjoying sitting in with the OH having some gins and listening to tunes. I think I've saved roughly 800 this month from not socialising. It's what the Vitners are sh!tting themselves over... People will realise that pubs, while great, are a waste of money.

I still would go down to the local if I could, that being said...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

never_mind wrote: »
    Anyone else kinda getting used to it? I am enjoying sitting in with the OH having some gins and listening to tunes. I think I've saved roughly 800 this month from not socialising. It's what the Vitners are sh!tting themselves over... People will realise that pubs, while great, are a waste of money.

You spend €800 per month on nights out? I think you have a bit of a problem to be honest..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

MarkY91 wrote: »
    You spend €800 per month on nights out? I think you have a bit of a problem to be honest..

Easily done. Couple of gigs, a dinner or two, pints, taxis etc.

Sorry Mark, I don't sit at home playing 238 games.

Dinner out twice a month, two nights out, cinema twice a month (maybe), coffees, lunches etc. It all adds up when you leave the house.

Oh... and transport. I'd say I spend 100 euro a month on my leap card which includes work and buses out to town etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

dotsman wrote: »
    Ridiculous comment. I won't be doing that. I'm as Irish as any man, people piss their money away every night in the tavern don't hold a monopoly on living here. Put the bottle down.

I sometimes spent that in 2 weeks when I was drinking professionally.

Add in active participation on the dating scene and you can easily be blowing more. On dates alone.

It is only when moths get their paws into you fulltime that your wallet really collapses. Once the weekend trips to Paris, Berlin and Lisbon kick in. Those Booking .com 459euro spending sprees before you have a cocktail at the bar before dinner. Luckily by that stage they have the parole chain around your ankle and you get texted every 3 of your waking hours to make sure you don't contemplate going for a pint anyway.... which you eventually will because you get sick to death of sitting on your couched ass watching stupid shight on television like some knacker on EastEnders pulling a red faced temper tantrum down the square or some other bland US sitcom with prompted laughter or worse still a fly on the wall expose about some corrupt Irish business ripping off people to some slow unmelodic background music that is attempting to compensate the actual lack of tension that the entire concept was giving.

Eating maltesers on the couch watching shight TV is just as bad for you. You are better off bringing a book to the pub and having a drink. I said it first.

never_mind wrote: »

I think the lockdown will have been a definite acid test for relationships globally.

There is only so much Netflix and home made drinkies and cosy nights in a red blooded drinker can tolerate. The law of diminishing returns kicks in after a while. The irish drinker needs some down time and to lose their mind in private to enable their sanity.

Drinkers need to drink, non drinkers have no idea. I really pity non drinkers, it is a very, very sad existence.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I sometimes spent that in 2 weeks when I was drinking professionally.

Add in active participation on the dating scene and you can easily be blowing more. On dates alone.

It is only when moths get their paws into you fulltime that your wallet really collapses. Once the weekend trips to Paris, Berlin and Lisbon kick in. Those Booking .com 459euro spending sprees before you have a cocktail at the bar before dinner. Luckily by that stage they have the parole chain around your ankle and you get texted every 3 of your waking hours to make sure you don't contemplate going for a pint anyway.... which you eventually will because you get sick to death of sitting on your couched ass watching stupid shight on television like some knacker on EastEnders pulling a red faced temper tantrum down the square or some other bland US sitcom with prompted laughter or worse still a fly on the wall expose about some corrupt Irish business ripping off people to some slow unmelodic background music that is attempting to compensate the actual lack of tension that the entire concept was giving.

Eating maltesers on the couch watching shight TV is just as bad for you. You are better off bringing a book to the pub and having a drink. I said it first.

I’ve nothing to add but just wanted to say this is a piece of fantastic writing. Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I think the lockdown will have been a definite acid test for relationships globally.

There is only so much Netflix and home made drinkies and cosy nights in a red blooded drinker can tolerate. The law of diminishing returns kicks in after a while. The irish drinker needs some down time and to lose their mind in private to enable their sanity.

Drinkers need to drink, non drinkers have no idea. I really pity non drinkers, it is a very, very sad existence.
    I'm sure the non drinkers would disagree. Plenty of other things to do with your time besides drinking. It's not for everyone.

As I said, tea totalling is a very sad way to live your life. I mean it is hard enough without enjoying its' pleasures.

I feel very sorry for the poor divils, I mean that, god bless them.

Non drinkers often remind me of porridge eaters. They are constantly reminding everyone of what they are consuming. You never hear non-porridge eaters announcing their breakfast in the morning do you? As a contrast porridge eaters never miss an opportunity to share their health driven conceit. " oh , I feel great you know, warm porridge this morning with gooseberries and almonds flakes" …. phuckers would drive you to drinking they are such a pain in the hole.

Non drinkers are the same. Always wrecking heads. Tut tutting at hangovers, helicopter parenting, practising social distancing even without a global pandemic. Sometimes I wish they just phuck the phuck off. Buzzkillers the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

IAMAMORON wrote:
    Non drinkers often remind me of porridge eaters. They are constantly reminding everyone of what they are consuming. You never hear non-porridge eaters announcing their breakfast in the morning do you? As a contrast porridge eaters never miss an opportunity to share their health driven conceit. " oh , I feel great you know, warm porridge this morning with gooseberries and almonds flakes" …. phuckers would drive you to drinking they are such a pain in the hole.

IAMAMORON wrote:
    Non drinkers are the same. Always wrecking heads. Tut tutting at hangovers, helicopter parenting, practising social distancing even without a global pandemic. Sometimes I wish they just phuck the phuck off. Buzzkillers the lot of them.

Come on pal, its Friday!!!

As a non porridge eater i still love talking about what i had for breakfast.

4 sausages, 4 rashers, mushrooms, black & white pudding, 2 fried eggs, batch loaf and loads of tae with a drop of low fat milk.

I normally have whole fat but im watching the figure.

Come on pal, its Friday!!!

As a non porridge eater i still love talking about what i had for breakfast.

4 sausages, 4 rashers, mushrooms, black & white pudding, 2 fried eggs, batch loaf and loads of tae with a drop of low fat milk.

I normally have whole fat but im watching the figure.

Mushrooms ? Eugh that is disgusting.

Low fat milk in a fry is window dressing in the extreme, you lose a turn for that one. Go directly to jail , do not pass go, do not not collect 200 pound.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

We'll have ta give the boozer a miss IAMAMORON the first few days they open as all the lightweights will be in there.

You know the students and that, shouting and roaring and vomiting all over the place. And you won't be able to hear the football or horses on telly

Andrew00 wrote: »
    We'll have ta give the boozer a miss IAMAMORON the first few days they open as all the lightweights will be in there.

You know the students and that, shouting and roaring and vomiting all over the place. And you won't be able to hear the football or horses on telly

Students are fine Andrew. I think they are a vital part of the drinking community. I respect that they are only learners, but I am always helpful like that. Some of the female students are also very pleasing on the eye, which is great to see.

If they get too rowdy a quick, " would you ever shut up to phuck" usually sorts it out. They learn to adapt fast after that.

This thread has turned into something beautiful and I love you all.

Shared a half bottle of gin while watching tipping point. Nuff said.

This thread has turned into something beautiful and I love you all.

Shared a half bottle of gin while watching tipping point. Nuff said.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Zetor19

When will our new Taoiseach Holohan give the all clear for lovely cold pints again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

This makes me cry. I miss the pub, the craic, the banter, the fun, the people, the creamy head on a pint of Guinness. Lord Jesus make this virus go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Zetor19 wrote: »
    When will our new Taoiseach Holohan give the all clear for lovely cold pints again?

Someone should ask the first question at the press conference. When will the pints be had again Tony?