Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

There’s no other way of getting a decent pint of Guinness though so if there was one nearby I would partake.

If you lived next door to a pub offering such a service I could bend my neck around the concept. But pouring a pint of stout out the back of van after driving a mile to your gaff is not the same. There would be entire argument around can consumption at that point. I drank a slab on Friday night/Saturday morning, you don't notice the difference after 3 or 4 cans. You don't care either after another 6.

I miss drinking Guinness on the continent 20 years ago. It used to be brewed in Brussels and over 6%. Cartwheel inducing stuff.

It is like the canned Heino you get on City Jet, lovely stuff and nicer than pints here. It is over 5% and has a lovely kick and starker flavour. Very difficult to find in off licences now, they mostly sell the 4.3% drivel. Look out for a green can without the prevalent red star, those babies are scrummy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

If you really miss pints that much just buy a keg and a tap.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Graingers Hanlons Corner, are they connected to Graingers beside connolly station?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Total gimmick, you might do it once for the craic or novelty of it. A lot easier to buy a slab of cans and throw them in the fridge.

Drinkers don't go to the pub to just drink, they go to meet people, socialise and further their existence, to be at piece with the world, to hear the truth about Kim Jon Un. You don't get that with take-away pints, it won't catch on.

I think there is scope for "pop-up" pubs out the back of a van in summer hotspots, a bit like an ice-cream van, except selling pints and hot whiskeys.

I had a few pints with Kim once. He’s great craic

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    I had a few pints with Kim once. He’s great craic

Thanks for sharing Bre. I would say he was well able to nail a few scoops. Koreans love their booze, was he on the Taedonggang?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Thanks for sharing Bre. I would say he was well able to nail a few scoops. Koreans love their booze, was he on the Taedonggang?

Kims a hound for the porter. He's fussy about the crisps though. Only king pub crisps will do when he's on the sesh.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Kims a hound for the porter. He's fussy about the crisps though. Only king pub crisps will do when he's on the sesh.

He never grasped me as a fussy man. I could see him do a serious job on a heap of scampi or bacon fries... and then hit the peanuts heavy for about an hour. Probably wash them down with 2 or 3 pints of Carlsberg, no farting though, I hear he has impeccable manners.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I miss pints in the salt house and bags of keoghs on a Sunday afternoon with a bit of trad in the background :(

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I doubt pubs will ever be the same again. Well until we all become immune or there is a vaccine.

No point in going for a drink if you can't have the craic and mingle and argue the toss, etc. Very sad and it all happened overnight. We are doomed to non pub culture. Bet some of the Puritans will be delighted.

I doubt pubs will ever be the same again. Well until we all become immune or there is a vaccine.

No point in going for a drink if you can't have the craic and mingle and argue the toss, etc. Very sad and it all happened overnight. We are doomed to non pub culture. Bet some of the Puritans will be delighted.

They’re gloating like mad all over here already.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It'll be back of that I have no doubt. Might look a little different for a while but we'll get there. Looking forward to catching up with everyone in the local when they reopen

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭horseofstone

Based on the announcement this evening it seems pubs could be back open in August. We need the craic of the pubs back ASAP, here's hoping.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Based on the announcement this evening it seems pubs could be back open in August. We need the craic of the pubs back ASAP, here's hoping.

yeah its some balls

****ing cans and bottles for another few months so

• Registered Users Posts: 6,636 ✭✭✭Glebee

Its going to be a long summer...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

Not a chance of pubs being opened in August while we have no vaccine or cure. If they were let open, we'd be back to square one again

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

salonfire wrote: »
    Not a chance of pubs being opened in August while we have no vaccine or cure. If they were let open, we'd be back to square one again

Things will have to reopen without a vaccine as it might not even come. Pubs wont be closed until 2021. Lots will reopen 10th august so long as we've progressed to that point. Let's see how the early phases of the plan go

You know better than the gov obviously? Are you an epidemiologist?

I was hoping for July but it’ll do. Time to book a few days off work!

Things will have to reopen without a vaccine as it might not even come. Pubs wont be closed until 2021. Lots will reopen 10th august so long as we've progressed to that point. Let's see how the early phases of the plan go

The rest of the economy will have to be open by then I agree, but opening pubs will make all the current restrictions redundant. As people drink, they spray more than say, people shifting strangers in the corner, running into each other at the toilet door.

Not a chance.

The pubs will just have to stay closed

MadYaker wrote: »

I wouldn't have thought so either, yet here we are.

The Government is throwing it out there to give people something to look forward to, but when the time comes pubs will be closed.

Did you not notice any patterns to the Govt announcing of timelines and then the subsequent extending of those timelines?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭jackboy

They will open as cafe style set ups. There will be table service and no stools at the bar and no standing around. The old style Irish pub will not be seen for the rest of this year at least.

The rest of the economy will have to be open by then I agree, but opening pubs will make all the current restrictions redundant. As people drink, they spray more than say, people shifting strangers in the corner, running into each other at the toilet door.

Not a chance.

The pubs will just have to stay closed

I’d say the plan is by then to have good enough testing and contact tracing to find and isolate all cases so the lockdown won’t be as necessary. This is what they’ve done in South Korea and Taiwan. No lockdowns there. We should have effective treatments by then too so less people in ICU.

I’d wonder how many can operate with social distancing though.

jackboy wrote: »
    They will open as cafe style set ups. There will be table service and no stools at the bar and no standing around. The old style Irish pub will not be seen for the rest of this year at least.

Oh yeah I agree it'll be different but they'll open in a new normal.

Having restaurants in June will be a good test but theres not alot of difference between small cafes, restaurants and pubs tbh. Restaurants will also be serving alcohol so what's the difference between a restaurant and a pub.

Let's see how the first few phases pan out

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

There could be some rough heads rocking up the fancy restaurants around the place

• Registered Users Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭pgj2015

would ye be bothered drinking in a pub that is only half open? you may as well stay at home drinking and have friends around. it wont be the same, you wont even be able to chat to strangers in the pub.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    would ye be bothered drinking in a pub that is only half open? you may as well stay at home drinking and have friends around. it wont be the same, you wont even be able to chat to strangers in the pub.

Yup me and my mates have all said we'll go back.

Anyway it's a good few months away yet, let's see what happens, alot can happen between now and then. If theres an effective treatment for example then social distancing might not be as widely enforced but it's all a waiting game as we go through the phases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

MadYaker wrote: »

Do you believe all that from Leo, the whole thing could be changed by the end of the first three weeks. All it does is give people hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭da_miser

Hair salons closed until July 18, so wont be a woman seen out on the town until after then.
    If the pubs are opened before then it will be like the 1800's, no women in bars at all

And only if all the vermin start behaving themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

Cop. The. F. On.

A lot of places are very similar. Most pubs, since the smoking ban, make more money from food than drink and have restaurant validation.