Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

FVP3 wrote: »
    Let's see shall we, if the rate of increase slows with the existing measures.

I don't think Ireland could enforce a full lockin for everybody's house anyway; in China entire apartment blocks could be locked down, but we mostly live in houses. A policeman in every street in every housting estate dragging adults back to their houses is probably not achievable, or desirable. And may in fact backfire if attempted. However if the facts change and rate of increase continues to accelerate I will change my opinion on that.

The measures we have already taken are unprecedented in peacetime. We should perhaps close any existing markets or tourist attractions ( including maybe parks and beaches) where social distancing isn't happening. From what I see in the supermarket today, people are very careful and queues are marked with the 2 metre distance, and adhered to, as was the control of who got into the shop.

stopping people going for a walk isn't going to affect much.

Think again. The government now has ample emergency powers at their disposal.

Peacetime, my backside. Its an unprecedented global pandemic in our lifetime that if not taken seriously will cause a huge amount of unnecessary deaths. It is a war. There can be NO complacency.

The rate of acceleration WILL continue.

It is posts like this and that general attitude that some people have that has Italy and Spain in the positions they are in. National emergency, national guard, lockdowns when the horse has bolted. People ignored advice.

If you have been guided by announcements, Varadkars message to the nation was strong, but was signifying further moves. This is a well choreographed and phased level of panic. But it needs to move on. Otherwise we will be in the same boat when the numbers become unmanageable. It happens quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Mwengwe wrote: »
    You went through the airport yourself on Sunday but you're ranting about it? What?

There's a peculiar characteristic in people where they consider everyone else to be the crowd..

Stuck on traffic.. "bloody traffic is terrible"
    Busy Streets.. "Jesus have people any homes to go to"
    Out in the woods.. "Jesus no social distancing around here ha! Is anyone listening to the government at all!?'

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Your Fine Gael spins doctors

Haha I didn't vote FG and I'll tell my friends that are working in the airport that you called them that.
    I'm sure they'll love it, many only seeing their families for an hour or 2 a day at the moment.

Idiot

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

lawred2 wrote: »
    There's a peculiar characteristic in people where they consider everyone else to be the crowd..

Out in the woods.. "Jesus no social distancing around here ha! Is anyone listening to the government at all!?'

I had no choice and went straight into isolation, probably explains why I’m going crazy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

cloudatlas wrote: »
    The word 'on the frontline' is being overused now. Comparing a supermarket worker to a critical care physician is a bit much.

Everybody is a lynchpin dont ya know! The real heros or whatever dont give a flying **** about any of the absoloute scutter being posted about frontline heros all over social media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭timhenn

The same government who's leader went off to America just over a week ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

holyhead wrote: »
    I would agree that frontline is a bit lively to be applied to a supermarket worker. But I think we can all agree that those working in the supermarket are helping to keep an essential service, i.e. access to food, open and deserve due respect.

And doing so when there is a risk of infection out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭what the hell!

You are not a mod so keep out of it

Edit: He is asking for advice on whether he might test positive or not after two weeks which is a legitimate question. He has sought medical advice as he is waiting for a test.

Thanks for that I couldn’t be bothered responding to them- trying to have a stress free day today!

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

I’m in isolation since then

100% isolation? Did you get a lift home? Bus?

The reality is that people have probably weighed up their choices and realised that coming home to Ireland was their only real option. I find some of the stuff being thrown around at people travelling home to be a bit much - fair enough, if someone like the example above was symptomatic than he should have been quarantined/isolated straight away, not going to the shop.

But on the other hand we're all supposed to assume we're carriers - this thing is already in the community in Ireland. Someone getting off a plane might have the virus, but someone who hasn't travelled at all but just goes to the shop/commutes to work/goes to school/college could easily pick up the virus that way too. All of these things were being done up until last week. If you're a recent arrival you're advised at the airport to isolate for 2 weeks as much as possible. But depending on where you're actually going you're going to need to pick up food supplies, possibly get public transport... Just not as easy as getting off the plane and jumping straight into bed is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

Stewball wrote: »
    The social distancing guidelines are being ignored.
    Flights from heavily infected areas are continuing to land in our airports.
    We've been slow to begin a nationwide testing system.
    Big delays in testing symptomatic people.

It's starting to look like the gov't are letting this spread and their only concern is limiting the pressure on the health service.

If they were serious about beating back the virus like the Chinese have - they'd have already implemented a more stringent lockdown.

I'm starting to think our strategy now is similar to the herd immunity adopted in the UK (although our gov't are stupid enough to admit it).

It has never been the objective to stop it. The Chinese haven't stopped it. Once travel resumed into China they imported cases immediately.

Unless we want to close Ireland off to the world indefinitely then there's no way to stop the spread. Controlling the spread and giving the health service time and capacity to help those that need it is the best we can realistically do. Social distancing and good hygiene play a massive part in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Backlog of 40,000 people waiting.

Haha I didn't vote FG and I'll tell my friends that are working in the airport that you called them that.
    I'm sure they'll love it, many only seeing their families for an hour or 2 a day at the moment.

Idiot

I don’t see what it’s got to do with them. My point is that people are will fully ignoring the social distancing. People who know and or suspect that have the virus are out and about. You are promoting that’s it’s grand don’t worry about it attitude, you give those reckless people cover

My wife is a nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Enjoying a few ciders in the warm afternoon sunshine

The end of the world can wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Time to take a break from here and go for a walk.

Some absolute head cases online this afternoon talking utter rubbish.

Where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Everybody thinks that everyone else needs to make sacrifices in this crisis. Everyone else that is, obviously I shouldn’t be expected to make any sacrifices.
    They’re are people wandering around tramore quite literally wondering to themselves what the other people are doing there when we were all told to stay at home.
    Obviously it doesn’t apply to me because I work hard all week and I’d like to get some fresh air on Sunday, but all these other people need to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

The amount of virtue signalling going on is nausiating. People need to be careful of course bit they dont need to then tell everyone how careful they are being. Christ, a very low % will come to any harm because of this, chill people.

This morning you were on spouting the solidarity you felt with some kid fool that got cheeky with an elderly lady in a supermarket when she asked him to keep his distance.

What exactly is your point?

Mwengwe wrote: »
    100% isolation? Did you get a lift home? Bus?

The reality is that people have probably weighed up their choices and realised that coming home to Ireland was their only real option. I find some of the stuff being thrown around at people travelling home to be a bit much - fair enough, if someone like the example above was symptomatic than he should have been quarantined/isolated straight away, not going to the shop.

But on the other hand we're all supposed to assume we're carriers - this thing is already in the community in Ireland. Someone getting off a plane might have the virus, but someone who hasn't travelled at all but just goes to the shop/commutes to work/goes to school/college could easily pick up the virus that way too. All of these things were being done up until last week. If you're a recent arrival you're advised at the airport to isolate for 2 weeks as much as possible. But depending on where you're actually going you're going to need to pick up food supplies, possibly get public transport... Just not as easy as getting off the plane and jumping straight into bed is it.

I fully agree.

My point is that it’s not that safe going to busy shops and busy parks, people are infected and spreading it. It won’t be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Enjoying a few ciders in the warm afternoon sunshine

The end of the world can wait

That's the way to be. People are getting as tetchy and it's only been a week. I shudder to think what the discourse will be after a month or so of social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

cosanostra wrote: »
    Gardai are about to close a beach in Donegal which is packed with tourists

Which beach? Rossnowlagh? Where ever it is, I’m delighted to hear that.

I don’t see what it’s got to do with them. My point is that people are will fully ignoring the social distancing. People who know and or suspect that have the virus are out and about. You are promoting that’s it’s grand don’t worry about it attitude, you give those reckless people cover

My wife is a nurse.
    Well that wasn't you point originally.

If you've seen my posts on previous threads you'll see I'm far from in the its grand dont worry about it attitude. I leave the house once a day at the moment to go for a walk, work from home and limit who I'm in contact with.

So really your opinion doesn't add up. Anyway I'm off out for my walk because theres no point in feeding the troll

• Registered Users Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭Nermal

STB. wrote: »

LOL. It’s not enough merely to panic, now we have to panic about the second derivative.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    The word 'on the frontline' is being overused now. Comparing a supermarket worker to a critical care physician is a bit much.

If all the supermarket workers decide they’ve had enough of all the dogs abuse they’ve had this week and decide to “self isolate” then where will you buy the things you need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭dan786

Another 360 deaths in Lombardy

The total number of dead in the worst affected region of Italy is now more than 3,450, according to the Reuters news agency.

The number of cases in the area, which includes Italy's financial capital, Milan, has increased by about 2,590 to more than 28,370.

New York State announces 4,800 new cases of COVID-19

The total is now 15,168, Governor Andrew Cuomo said.

The number of deaths has risen to 114.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

STB. wrote: »
    Think again.

I have thought again and come to the same conclusion.
    Peacetime, my backside. Its an unprecedented global pandemic in our lifetime that if not taken seriously will cause a huge amount of unnecessary deaths. It is a war. There can be NO complacency.

If the rate of acceleration continues to increase with the close down of all pubs, restaurants, cafes etc then nothing we can do will stop this. Stopping people wondering lonely on a beach isn't going to help much is it?

As it happens the rate of increase has not accelerated in the last few days, but that might be something to do with testing over the weekend. We should also be cognisant of the fact that more tests will reveal more cases, but this tells us nothing about the actual increase. So a wiser strategy is randomised testing of people. A few hundred a day, symptomatic or not, picked from the register.

It is posts like this and that general attitude that some people have that has Italy and Spain in the positions they are in. National emergency, national guard, lockdowns when the horse has bolted. People ignored advice.

No it isn't. Italy went into lockdown mode after their health services was overwhelmed, and despite what people say here, Latin culture is in fact different as they socialise outdoors and are tactile. Not closing down outdoors for southern europeans, is like not closing down pubs here.

However, as I said, if the facts change and the level of change accelerates ( not the number of cases which will increase for a while, but the change in the increase in the number of cases) then I will change my mind. However I reckon the risk of transmission from people walking on the beach on their own is close to 0%.

If you have been guided by announcements, Varadkars message to the message was strong, but was signifying further moves. This is a well choreographed and phased level of panic.

No problem with other moves if they aren't the insane level of locking everybody in their house indefinitely.

To those of you who want to lock up the entire population, what's the end game. When do people leave? And if people leave and infection rates increase again, which they will probably, do we lock everybody up again? For how many years? Or until the vaccine?

Who made you the arbiter of the thread? Maybe you should jog on.

Fed up of people who are just criticising and moaning, here and social media.

If people are complaining about the HSE and the reposnse then those people should if possible want to sign up and help make a difference.

Far too easy to sit behind the keyboard and criticise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

Nermal wrote: »
    LOL. It’s not enough merely to panic, now we have to panic about the second derivative.

Well that is, to be fair, the thing to worry about. As I wrote in a post yesterday the rate of change is in fact slowing down in Spain, and Italy. Not enough yet, but they are trending correctly.

The US is the one trending as fast as ever, but that might be an increase in testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Good point. There was a doctor posting here last week psudo something , can’t remember the name.

Would be interesting to see what he thinks as he was quite informative
    He's doing an AMA here:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058062219

Likewise the chances of being in contact with anyone long enough to get it are slim.
    How long do you think it takes to transmit the virus? Because it sounds like you're wrong.

Fed up of people who are just criticising and moaning, here and social media.

If people are complaining about the HSE and the reposnse then those people should if possible want to sign up and help make a difference.

It’s not criticism of the HSE but rather criticism of government choices.

Look at the U.K. Boris is utterly reckless. The Irish government is much better, but there is more that can be done.

I heard my local diy store is jammers, they should be told to shut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 22 March 2020

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-2020-03-22_0.png?itok=B5mzP34a

The number of daily cases in Europe continues to stutter upwards on the barchart.

Now approx 5 times the peak Chinese daily rate.

Larger version clickable here https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

timhenn wrote: »
    The same government who's leader went off to America just over a week ago?
    Don't like Leo or his ilk. However, it was necessary for An Taoiseach to go over to US for Patrick's Day show, national interest.

What was not necessarily was all the pre, and especially post-trip group photo shoots. He was in close contact with a number of of US pols and officials, who had been in close contact with a Brazilian delegation, a number of whom had subsequently test positive.

Leo has had no COVID-19 test AJAIK, and on past experience I'm pretty sure we'd have been told all about.

He has made no apparent effort to practice social-distancing himself. cf North South Meeting, COVID-19 testing center etc., etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

When's the last time we had covid 19? :confused:

The response is too late! Can't you see that? Things should have been done ages ago, long before Leo was swanning off to America and back!

Bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

I’m seeing reports on twitter and elsewhere of failure to take adequate precautions by certain major retailers.

Someone needs to lay the law down with them and at least point out they’ve legal duties of care to their staff in particular and also customers in the stores.

If they’re not taking adequate measures for whatever reason, they need to be closed down temporarily as they’d endangering everyone who’s working there or shopping there.

I would much rather see retailers, especially food and so on, manage things properly and stay open, but a handful are being reckless or incompetent and not adapting to the situation.

When retailers like SuperValu are being absolutely exemplary, it’s just sad to see certain others taking such a laid back attitude.

This isn’t business as usual. It’s business with extreme caution.

You can be a hero or you can be someone who took a short term view and screwed us all over for a few quid.

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    This morning you were on spouting the solidarity you felt with some kid fool that got cheeky with an elderly lady in a supermarket when she asked him to keep his distance.

What exactly is your point?

Kidchameleon gets into a thread, establishes which way the flow is going , then resolves to swim against the tide irregardless of how ludicrous that may seem.
    In the Ana Kruegel thread he/she decided that Anas parents were partially to blame for her murder, and that Boy Bs father was an exemplary parent, from whom we could all learn a thing or two. That’s the sort of thing? Just so you know what your engaging with.

It’s not criticism of the HSE but rather criticism of government choices.

Look at the U.K. Boris is utterly reckless. The Irish government is much better, but there is more that can be done.

I heard my local diy store is jammers, they should be told to shut.

More can be done of course, whatever people think about the government they've done a great job so far. It's a balancing act really, make the wrong call and they'll be lynched, do it too soon or too late it's the same thing.

We're still pretty early on in this, it'll be an emergency for weeks and months to come.

Personally and I've said it for a while, anything non essential shouldn't be open, the DIY shop a prime example.

FVP3 wrote: »
    So a wiser strategy is randomised testing of people. A few hundred a day, symptomatic or not, picked from the register.
    And what course of action would you advocate based on the results of this randomised testing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

YFlyer wrote: »
    Backlog of 40,000 people waiting.
    It's all ramping up says Paul Reid. Numbers of things on order are starting to become mind-blowing - 100,000 kits a week planned from China, €28m order for PPE items!
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0322/1124663-hse-reid/

Senior Irish politician has tested positive after contact with an RTE staff who had also tested positive. Safe and isolating at home.

Ficheall wrote: »
    And what course of action would you advocate based on the results of this randomised testing?
    An informed course of action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Time to take a break from here and go for a walk.

Some absolute head cases online this afternoon talking utter rubbish.

If those that just want to criticise behind a keyboard and do nothing to help would like to sign up and help the HSE then sign up here https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/oncall/

If not then stop complaining about them if your not prepared to do you bit. The same people probably ran out to the shops last week and panic bought and now complain about people going for walks.

Rant over
    Nobody is as bad as the people downplaying it and sneering at people for following the guidelines.

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Bull

My post was 100% fact.

bekker wrote: »
    Don't like Leo or his ilk. However, it was necessary for An Taoiseach to go over to US for Patrick's Day show, national interest.

What was not necessarily was all the pre, and especially post-trip group photo shoots. He was in close contact with a number of of US pols and officials, who had been in close contact with a Brazilian delegation, a number of whom had subsequently test positive.

Leo has had no COVID-19 test AJAIK, and on past experience I'm pretty sure we'd have been told all about.

He has made no apparent effort to practice social-distancing himself. cf North South Meeting, COVID-19 testing center etc., etc

Close contact is defined as 15 mins within 2 metres of those people
    He did none of that
    I'm presuming he washes his hands and did so in the states and followed all guidelines
    Ergo if he has no symptoms, theres no point wasting a test kit

My post was 100% fact.

No
    It was an opinion on response

More can be done of course, whatever people think about the government they've done a great job so far. It's a balancing act really, make the wrong call and they'll be lynched, do it too soon or too late it's the same thing.

We're still pretty early on in this, it'll be an emergency for weeks and months to come.

Personally and I've said it for a while, anything non essential shouldn't be open, the DIY shop a prime example.

They've made the wrong call weeks if not months ago! The chose finance over people's lives which will result in large numbers of deaths and a collapse of the economy. This is worse than ff in the naughties.

splinter65 wrote: »
    Senior Irish politician has tested positive after contact with an RTE staff who had also tested positive. Safe and isolating at home.

https://m.independent.ie/incoming/politician-tested-for-coronavirus-after-contact-with-rte-case-39065600.html

Politician has been tested, nothing mentioned about being positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's all ramping up says Paul Reid. Numbers of things on order are starting to become mind-blowing - 150,000 kits a week from China, €28m order for PPE items!
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0322/1124663-hse-reid/

Whats the latest on the Irish lads that produced the test kit that returns a result in 15 mins. That would be a game changer if it worked as promised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,967 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Have we any figures for Ireland today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PyreOfHellfire

Reading over the past few Coronavirus threads has really made me appreciate the truth of a quote from an iconic movie villain.

"You see, their morals, their code, it's a bad joke. Dropped at the first sign of trouble. They're only as good as the world allows them to be. I'll show you. When the chips are down, these... these civilized people, they'll eat each other." - The Joker

No
    It was an opinion on response

You're not making sense. Justlike the fg strategy on this crisis.

bekker wrote: »
    An informed course of action.
    Glad to hear it! Could you perhaps give an example?

(Given that you've just taken away the tests from people who are symptomatic, more vulnerable, and have been in contact with confirmed cases, and thus limited the ability to effectively treat some of these cases, I assume you have something resembling an intelligent idea in mind.)

Close contact is defined as 15 mins within 2 metres of those people
    He did none of that
    I'm presuming he washes his hands and did so in the states and followed all guidelines
    Ergo if he has no symptoms, theres no point wasting a test kit
    Please do a just bit bit more research on aerosol transmission distance and persistence.

You do know about asymptomatic transmission?