Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Workplaces and employer attitudes Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

OU812 wrote: »
    We've just been told we're going to be working from Home until January at the earliest. We'll have one team operation lasting half a day, once a month so we can have some face2face with the other team members.

Not getting any financial support regarding WFH as we can "claim that from revenue"

They've also cancelled the Xmas party :|

Well on the upside, there won't be any forced socialising haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,582 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

OU812 wrote: »
    They've also cancelled the Xmas party :|

Wouldn't it be nice if they sent everyone a christmas hamper instead :)
    There's an idea to 'incept'.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭tiredblondie

Our office has been open throughout - no one has worked from home during it as company is deemed "essential" (although it would have been more than possible for majority to work from home but they didn't give the option!)
    Air Con will be on and off during the day
    Screens put in on some desks that were smaller to keep 2m distance - and screens not put in on bigger desks that they deemed to be adequately spaced although there is barely 2m between staff.

We don't wear masks in the office and tbh, i'd sooner not have to wear a mask in a mainly stuffy office for 8hrs a day

Christmas party is also cancelled for this year as far as i am aware.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Just wondering does anyone know are retailers ALDI/Dunnes etc. still paying the 10% extra to their staff considering the lock down is all put lifted?

Dunnes never paid 10% extra to staff. They gave them an extra 10% staff discount (on top of their measly original 10% staff discount.)

We don't wear masks in the office and tbh, i'd sooner not have to wear a mask in a mainly stuffy office for 8hrs a day.

Stuffy doesnt sound good. Suggests if someone coughed or sneezed or gave a speech in a common area that any virus emissions would just hang in the air as aerosol.

If you are static at your desk and screened or distanced probably no real need for mask there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Stayed working throughout, nothing changed except we got hand gel. No social distancing whatsoever . We keep our own space clean and try to restrict as much movement as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Luckily enough to be well looked after by the company I work for
    medium size I.T company

-free wellness day (not part of annual leave)
    -a few quid towards home office desk and chair etc
    -one for all vouchers

Our office is open for 15% capacity. It's completely optional to go in, we're WFH first until January at the earliest.

I'll be honest, I won't be going into the office until masks are no longer mandatory on public transport. I was on an empty train last week, and wearing a mask for 25 minutes was torture.

How was it torture? That’s ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Worked throughout the pandemic as per normal.

Apart from hand sanitizing, social distancing and now wearing of masks my Monday to Friday didn't change

Didn't get the virus and didn't get paid anything extra.

Worked throughout the pandemic as per normal.

Apart from hand sanitizing, social distancing and now wearing of masks my Monday to Friday didn't change

Didn't get the virus and didn't get paid anything extra.

Exactly the same. Didn’t really want to work as it left me very exposed (visiting customers where measures mostly ranged from dubious to non existent) but had to be done and I’ve been lucky so far. Hopefully anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

pgj2015 wrote: »
    -China has closed down its last coronavirus hospital. Not enough new cases to support them.

- Doctors in India have been successful in treating Coronavirus. Combination of drugs used: Lopinavir, Retonovir, Oseltamivir along with Chlorphenamine. They are going to suggest same medicine, globally.

- Researchers of the Erasmus Medical Center claim to have found an antibody against coronavirus.

- A 103-year-old Chinese grandmother has made a full recovery from COVID-19 after being treated for 6 days in Wuhan, China.

- Apple reopens all 42 china stores,

- Cleveland Clinic developed a COVID-19 test that gives results in hours, not days.

- Good news from South Korea, where the number of new cases is declining.

- Italy is hit hard, experts say, only because they have the oldest population in Europe.

- Scientists in Israel likely to announce the development of a coronavirus vaccine.

- 3 Maryland coronavirus patients fully recovered; able to return to everyday life.

- A network of Canadian scientists are making excellent progress in Covid-19 research.

- A San Diego biotech company is developing a Covid-19 vaccine in collaboration with Duke University and National University of Singapore.

- Tulsa County's first positive COVID-19 case has recovered. This individual has had two negative tests, which is the indicator of recovery.

- All 7 patients who were getting treated for at Safdarjung hospital in New Delhi have recovered.

- Plasma from newly recovered patients from Covid -19 can treat others infected by Covid-19.

How well did this post age?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I was overheating and struggling to breathe with a mask on. It's not ridiculous.

I'm going to comply with any regulations, but if I can avoid needing to use public transport, I will.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Tork

Did you try a different sort of mask? I had one that wasn't comfortable and made breathing difficult. It went in the bin.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭SnrInfant

I’m currently working with an absolute power hungry, control freak Boss who has no social distancing skills whatsoever!
    He stands over me in the office all the time with no mask on, brings people directly in on top of me in my pokey office, again with no masks.
    He constantly sits at my desk using my computer and phone when he has his own office.
    I’m out now with suspected Covid and he is raging that I might have ‘passed it on to him’!!
    God give me patience!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

SnrInfant wrote: »
    I’m currently working with an absolute power hungry, control freak Boss who has no social distancing skills whatsoever!
    He stands over me in the office all the time with no mask on, brings people directly in on top of me in my pokey office, again with no masks.
    He constantly sits at my desk using my computer and phone when he has his own office.
    I’m out now with suspected Covid and he is raging that I might have ‘passed it on to him’!!
    God give me patience!!

Anyone hovering over me like that in work gets told where to go. Boss or not, it’s not on, but some people Genuinely don’t realise they are doing it so I think it’s up to you to say something.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭SnrInfant

Seve OB wrote: »
    Anyone hovering over me like that in work gets told where to go. Boss or not, it’s not on, but some people Genuinely don’t realise they are doing it so I think it’s up to you to say something.

I absolutely will when / if I get the all clear and go back to work.
    My elderly mum with a lung condition is minding my kids, I really can’t afford to put her health on the line.
    He was always like this but I would have thought he’d cop on now with things being so serious!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Bosses at my friends place (public sector) would not let anyone work from home initially, citing IT issues. Then they very grudgingly let some staff who had childcare issues be on three days per week (at 12/13 hours per day) and let a limited number of staff be on a four day week.

They are now aggressively trying to force people back onto five day weeks. Social distancing ok in the office apart from when the boss walks in and she's all over you. Someone called her out on it the other day and she laid into them, called them into her office and they got a good telling off for it. Person involved is looking for promotion so couldn't push it with her or report her.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,357 ✭✭✭bladespin

I've done a 60 minute gym session in mine (didn't really have to but wanted to experiment), not the most comfortable thing to do but wasn't torture either, I'd suggest looking at better masks as there can be a wide variety of fits from what I've used.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 legal_lassie

Self-isolating awaiting my test result (I’m a close contact of a positive case), my bosses WIFE rings me today, giving out to me for visiting my in laws at the weekend (The close contact) as now she has to cancel her holiday with her friends next week to cover for me. She asks me if I definitely can’t come back to work next week even if the result is negative, and do I really need a second test next week????

No sure I’ll just come in and spread the virus around to your husband and everyone else in the office so you can go away on your girls trip away ya selfish €un^!

Self-isolating awaiting my test result (I’m a close contact of a positive case), my bosses WIFE rings me today, giving out to me for visiting my in laws at the weekend (The close contact) as now she has to cancel her holiday with her friends next week to cover for me. She asks me if I definitely can’t come back to work next week even if the result is negative, and do I really need a second test next week????
    No sure I’ll just come in and spread the virus around to your husband and everyone else in the office so you can go away on your girls trip away ya selfish €un^!

Is that you Phil?
    Sorry couldnt resist.
    Hope your test comes back negative.
    Play this one by the book.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 legal_lassie

Thanks, I feel I am really gonna get it in the neck when I get back to work for this, she made me feel like an Imbecile for visiting my mother in law, when she PHILOMENA HOGAN herself goes away a few times every month!!!!
    odyssey06 wrote: »
    Is that you Phil?
    Sorry couldnt resist.
    Hope your test comes back negative.
    Play this one by the book.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Sunrise.Sunset

A friend of mine is working in a private capacity within a family home as a childminder/nanny. Since the easing of lockdown, the family has led a high social life. It was a lot like that even before the virus and lockdown. Since the easing of lockdown the family has mixed with all and sundry, its a miracle the virus hasn't hit them yet. The most recent episode was last week where the government issued fresh guidelines to curb the spread of virus in homes. I think the parents sat down that night to see how they could actively go against them guidelines. By Thursday, the teenager had an end of summer party in the home with some friends. It turns out there was 9 or 10 people there from from 6 or 7 households. Followed by more weekend socialising for the family with more plans for this week too. Probably afraid lastsl weeks socialising probably wasn't enough. Keeping close contacts low is beyond them.

There was a verbal agreement made back in March that if anyone displays respiratory symptoms, she won't be required to attend for work. She was happy with that. Over the past few weeks that verbal agreement turned out to be a load of bollix because the younger children came down with sore throats and coughs. The parents never notified her that the kids were unwell until she was right there. No PPE or social distancing in the job either. She got lucky this time where the childrens colds were just that but she's dreading the winter now especially with the kids going back to school. She's not confident that the parents will isolate themselves if they begin to feel unwell, turning her job into high risk for picking up the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Sunrise.Sunset

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/outbreak-at-care-home-after-worker-hid-her-virus-diagnosis-39482114.html

This is shocking. A care worker was identified as a close contact of a confirmed positive and she continued to attend to work. She received a test and didn't notify her employer and a resident and colleague were exposed and became positive.

Is there anything in law to protect people from careless colleagues like this?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/outbreak-at-care-home-after-worker-hid-her-virus-diagnosis-39482114.html
    This is shocking. A care worker was identified as a close contact of a confirmed positive and she continued to attend to work. She received a test and didn't notify her employer and a resident and colleague were exposed and became positive.

It is even the opposite. The employer has no right to know if an employee has an infectious notifiable disease.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

odyssey06 wrote: »
    It is even the opposite. The employer has no right to know if an employee has an infectious notifiable disease.

Didn't know that

Needs to be changed asap

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Probably not like everything with our laws. The careworker was not careless, that is deliberate attempted murder and life in prison is the only acceptable outcome in that instance

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Didn't know that

Needs to be changed asap
    GDPR

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

GDPR shouldn't be absolute

That person could have killed many in the nursing home through her reckless actions

She already spread it to 2 people by not doing what she was meant to whereas if her employer knew the true story she wouldn't have been allowed work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Anyone else have an employer where they relied on staff to social distance?

But off course, staff have been doing things they always have and very little social distancing between staff.

The meetings between the manager and employees involved gathering in groups without the use of face masks.

I was maybe one out of five out of 50 to wear a mask. If one person came in sick and infected others, that's a possibility of 45 more staff members being infected and spreading germs before showing symptoms. Am I correct in that in a situation like that, I have very little protection? It's quite alot of viral load for me.

My concerns were dismissed. The management themselves are sitting in there offices wearing masks protecting each other. But to fcuk with the workers.

Am I correct in thinking employers has to ensure social distancing but all they done was stick a few stickers on the floor. And if social distancing can't be maintained to have masks but they seem to be very slow to introduce mask wearing for the workers.

They're talking about mask wearing and bringing it in but I don't like the talk, the virus has no understanding of time and they need to be taking action. I only started a few weeks ago and was told that we would be wearing face masks and they are still dragging it out.

Nobody else seems to care but I was not comfortable in that workplace. I got offered a new job, one in which employees are protected. It would have seemed hypocritical of me to work my notice in an unsafe environment. I have never walked out of a job like this before and feel very bad. But my health is worth more.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,417 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I see in England they are actively encouraging staff to get to workplaces and offices
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-53942542
    (Could imagine the uproar and outrage here?!)

I did think this would happen. In certain collaborative roles there’s a certain drive and energy attained from people together and bouncing ideas.
    On a wider level business in cafe, small shops, transport etc must be greatly effected by WFH. Thinking of places like the IFSC and all the coffee shops they support