Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭jh79

I explained this before in fairness jh79

The IRA whom I never supported (but as republican understood why they did what they did) had to convince me. As had SF that they were applying their commitments to the GFA.
    I think what Adams and McGuinness did was outstanding in bringing them (IRA) into democratic politics.
    I understood a number of things...rather than sensationally go on about white bearded old men in the whins pulling nefarious strings I understood not all of them would get or take up elected office and that there was a possibility some people who did awful things would be in the background. That is a post conflict/war society.

I also understand what the IMC referred to when they talked about 'difficulties in South Armagh' for the IRA and control. That too was always going to happen and I think Murphy apologising has brought him at least to heel. I think he should resign though.

I am convinced SF are fulfilling their commitments to the GFA...therefore can vote for them.

Given that Murphy is still a MLA is it hypocritical of MLD to criticise TD's for playing fecking golf with bank managers and the like?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

jh79 wrote: »
    Seen Mary Lou on the news. So in her amoral world it's wrong for td's to play golf with judges and lobbyist put xmas parties with criminals and murderers is fine.

And of course the virus can tell the difference between a party and a mock funeral.

The virus can't tell the difference in a Gardas funeral or a Sinn Fein funeral either jh.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,880 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

McMurphy wrote: »
    The virus can't tell the difference in a Gardas funeral or a Sinn Fein funeral either jh.

'The Virus Likes To Party' according to Dara Calleary on Wednesday last when he probably had the invite for a two day in his pocket.

I agree completely. But MLD was on news today saying there was no equivalency with the Clifden incident. Was she right or wrong?

Given that Murphy is still a MLA is it hypocritical of MLD to criticise TD's for playing fecking golf with bank managers and the like?

They are all hypocrits when it suits...what makes you think that I think there is a perfect political party out there, I don't really know.

And please jh79...do me a favour and stop trying to diminish the significance of the power swap parties, the judiciary, journalists and the Gardai all ignoring regs and giving two fingers to the entire country by calling it a 'game of fecking golf.'

That game has accounted for multiple apologies and the resignation of two government reps and an abject Taoiseach on our national broadcaster. Not to mention severely weakening the government.

They are all hypocrits when it suits...what makes you think that I think there is a perfect political party out there, I don't really know.

And please jh79...do me a favour and stop trying to diminish the significance of the power swap parties, the judiciary, journalists and the Gardai all ignoring regs and giving two fingers to the entire country by calling it a 'game of fecking golf.'

That game has accounted for multiple apologies and the resignation of two government TD's and an abject Taoiseach on our national broadcaster. Not to mention severely weakening the government.

Mary Lou on the Six One news specifically said as an aside that the golf club thing was wrong irrespective of the virus.

'The Virus Likes To Party' according to Dara Calleary on Wednesday last when he probably had the invite for a two day in his pocket.

There wasn't a whimper about the social distancing guidelines being ignored until the shinners followed suit.

They keep going with different angles - "they broke travel restrictions during lock down" no they didn't, the funeral was the day after restrictions were lifted.

"They broke the rules" then post a link complaining that an exception was made for Storeys funeral.

"Social distancing was ignored" so too was Garda Horkans.

"The virus can't tell difference in a party and funeral" - see above.

They have no moral high ground, yet still try and claim some.

I agree completely. But MLD was on news today saying there was no equivalency with the Clifden incident. Was she right or wrong?

Didn't see it, (the interview) but have seen it discussed on the Dara Calleary thread, and the general consensus there is that she was saying there was a difference in a funeral and a golf outing, which I agree with.

Emotions will be running high at a funeral, hence why I thought it was completely understandable (though technically not right) that the social distancing measures were ignored at times during both the Garda and Storey funerals, both were wrong, but could be forgiven in my eyes.

It's hypocritical to have a problem with one and not the other.

Mary Lou on the Six One news specifically said as an aside that the golf club thing was wrong irrespective of the virus.

Well what the f*** was going on? Members of the judiciary partying with members of select political parties? Details emerging on the other thread of some of the business interests there too.
    It's all very cozy between the power swap parties and the part of the state apparatus they are supposed to be separated from. The Gardai watching on too as regs were being broken.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Best thing is not to upset yourself too much about this particular fact and the next time don't vote for her or her party.

Might be a good idea to stop watching the Irish news too.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Didn't see it, (the interview) but have seen it discussed on the Dara Calleary thread, and the general consensus there is that she was saying there was a difference in a funeral and a golf outing, which I agree with.

Emotions will be running high at a funeral, hence why I thought it was completely to be accepted that the social distancing measures were ignored at times during both the Garda and Storey funerals, both were wrong, but could be forgiven in my eyes.

It's hypocritical to have a problem with one and not the other.

Everybody turned a blind eye to the obvious breaches at the Garda funeral out of empathy and decency.

Well what the f*** was going on? Members of the judiciary partying with members of select political parties? Details emerging on the other thread of some of the business interests there too.
    It's all very cozy between the power swap parties and the part of the state apparatus they are supposed to be separated from. The Gardai watching on too as regs were being broken.

And those in criminal gangs have nothing to gain by having a cosy relationship with SF given they could be in power in the near future?

Ever cross your mind that some of these people were friends in college? Are they not allowed separate their work life from their social life!

What kind of warped mind thinks you ditch those that have climbed the corporate ladder and are law abiding but retain those who murder, launder diesel and smuggle?

Best thing is not to upset yourself too much about this particular fact and the next time don't vote for her or her party.

Might be a good idea to stop watching the Irish news too.

Didn't find it up your nose? Maybe try your ears.

And those in criminal gangs have nothing to gain by having a cosy relationship with SF given they could be in power in the near future?
    That remains to be seen. I can guarantee my response if it happens
    Ever cross your mind that some of these people were friends in college? Are they not allowed separate their work life from their social life!
    Have a glass a wine in each other's homes so. I think one of the big eyeopeners for a lot of people today is the interconeectedness of the establishment. I knew this, the surprise for me was a hero of mine being there - feet of clay there.
    What kind of warped mind thinks you ditch those that have climbed the corporate ladder and are law abiding but retain those who murder, launder diesel and smuggle?

If SF endorse murder, I guarantee you they lose my vote.

That remains to be seen. I can guarantee my response if it happens

Have a glass a wine in each other's homes so. I think one of the big eyeopeners for a lot of people today is the interconeectedness of the establishment. I knew this, the surprise for me was a hero of mine being there - feet of clay there.

If SF endorse murder, I guarantee you they lose my vote.

Francie, all who break the rules should resign. MLD should have resigned but didn't.

She specifically said td's and bankers shouldn't socialise together irrespective of the virus. Again why can SF MLA's socialise with criminals but ff/fg can't with law abiding citizens who happen to be bankers?

Francie, all who break the rules should resign. MLD should have resigned but didn't.

She specifically said td's and bankers shouldn't socialise together irrespective of the virus. Again why can SF MLA's socialise with criminals but ff/fg can't with law abiding citizens who happen to be bankers?

Apologies...didn't realise you were talking about bankers and TD's...didn't see the interview, only an edited version. Can you link?

If she said it, I disagree.

Apologies...didn't realise you were talking about bankers and TD's...didn't see the interview, only an edited version. Can you link?

It was the Six One news. Dunno if they do clips of interviews. RTE player should have it. Will have a look.

Dunno if this will work

https://www.rte.ie/player/b/series/rté-news-six-one/SI0000001474?epguid=IH000385081

It was the Six One news. Dunno if they do clips of interviews. RTE player should have it. Will have a look.

Don't do it on my account, if she said it I disagree.

Do watch it. Surely it is an example of populist rhetoric? Elites conspiring against us.

Yeh right.

The 'elites' were in Clifden jh79...wakey wakey.

Yeh right.

The 'elites' were in Clifden jh79...wakey wakey.

I don't think they were but MLD does.

Who is more 'eliter' in Ireland jh...ffs, have you listened to people all day?

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Apparntly there are aload of different sports and social clubs in Leinster House that politicians and staff are all involved in, its not some secret society they were at!

Might not be secret...definitely a specific set though.

Who is more 'eliter' in Ireland jh...ffs, have you listened to people all day?

Sorry Francie but dunno what you mean? I've already said those arrogant enough to think the rules don't apply to them should resign. Callerary has yet MLD hasn't.

MLD suggested there is something nefarious about successful people playing golf.

Sorry Francie but dunno what you mean? I've already said those arrogant enough to think the rules don't apply to them should resign. Callerary has yet MLD hasn't.

MLD suggested there is something nefarious about successful people playing golf.

There is something nefarious about the power swap parties, gene pool independent, the judiciary and journalists wining and dining without a care for anyone else and watched over by the Gardai jh79.

That is why the field is strewn with casualties today and may take down another few.

Might not be secret...definitely a specific set though.

What do you mean by that? Surely lots of professionals would have a history together through university? What exactly is wrong with that?

Why are criminal friendships ok but professional ones not?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

What's your personal handicap jh?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

What do you mean by that? Surely lots of professionals would have a history together through university? What exactly is wrong with that?

Why are criminal friendships ok but professional ones not?

Ah...that is nearly better than Phil blaming the hotel...they were all at Uni. Your problem is you think people are thick, that is why the power swap is at an all time low in vote share. Hubris and arrogance.