Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,930 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    Labour, Greens, PBP, Aontu, etc. were all rejected more by the electorate.

Might have escaped your notice but FG were by far and away the major incumbents.

The incumbents were rejected, they failed to reach their previous mandate.

The rest PBP Greens etc got a vote/mandate.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Ahh put the toys back into the pram please, you making an awful mess

Is this some sort of debating tactic?

Try to portray me as throwing toys out of a pram? :):) Deary me, how pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

If SF were front and centre people would accuse them of trying to hog the limelight, intruding and being a hindrance.

You mean just as some people have done re Leo? Joe Brolly comes to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Do you have to curse on every post?

You keep talking about FF/FG not partnering with SF. As I asked already, twice, which other parties have said they will work with SF?

Pot, kettle.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Is this some sort of debating tactic?

Try to portray me as throwing toys out of a pram? :):) Deary me, how pathetic.

It’s annoying isn’t it when someone else is always right and better than you?

Feck me I even annoy myself I’m so good....

On that bombshell, good night

It’s annoying isn’t it when someone else is always right and better than you?

Feck me I even annoy myself I’m so good....

On that bombshell, good night

You didn't deal with a single thing raised...what an arrogant post. Varadkarian levels of self regarding/preening.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,655 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Attachment :)

Cringe!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

So in other words you don't have any link? that was fairly pointless.....

I know a lad down the pub who was interviewed once on Newstalk, never realized that meant he is now an expert
    Are you Enda Kenny?

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

baldbear wrote: »
    In fairness Pearse Doherty is a decent politician. You must be a FF/fg supporter? Maybe call UP the Ra man a idiot.

ah, yes the "....self-taught financial mind" whose claim to having a sufficiency of intellect to manage a modern economy is that he almost beat his first year maths teacher in an algebra match!

Sounds like exactly the type of person you'd want to be running the economy and also exactly the type of person who came up with the "brilliant" SF wealth tax proposals - obviously "marginal cost of funds" wasn't covered in the algebra match ;)

Edgware wrote: »
    Are you Enda Kenny?

Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Yes

Will Mayo win the Sam next season ?

ah, yes the "....self-taught financial mind" whose claim to having a sufficiency of intellect to manage a modern economy is that he almost beat his first year maths teacher in an algebra match!

Sounds like exactly the type of person you'd want to be running the economy and also exactly the type of person who came up with the "brilliant" SF wealth tax proposals - obviously "marginal cost of funds" wasn't covered in the algebra match ;)

Well, look... what was Pascal before that ?

Pearse has a history of pretending to hold qualifications that he never earned, but so did Bertie

Would be interesting to see how Doherty faired once he drops all pretences that’s he is a socialist

I’m not f**king God :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

He couldn't be any worse than any of our previous. Not picking on FG, but what was Michael Noonan's background in finance? Apart from being a school teacher...:rolleyes:

I’m not f**king God :-)

That never stopped Pádraig Flynn thinking and believing it

Yes

Lol.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

SheffWed have a better chance of winning Sam than Mayo LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

Mayo for Sam and Mary lou handing it to the captain as Taoiseach:)

Everyone wins :)

Ni neart go cur le cheile :)

Granadino wrote: »
    He couldn't be any worse than any of our previous. Not picking on FG, but what was Michael Noonan's background in finance? Apart from being a school teacher...:rolleyes:

Economics at UCD.

Donohoe is eonomics from Trinity

And I think Bruton did his Masters on public debt.

The SF taxation policies always ignore marginal cost of funds - you can't wish it away anymore than you can wish away gravity because you want to fly! However, it does seem to be a basic principle of Shinnernomics that such matters are ignored or perhaps filed under "ah, sure it'll be grand" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Economics at UCD.

Donohoe is eonomics from Trinity

And I think Bruton did his Masters on public debt.

The SF taxation policies always ignore marginal cost of funds - you can't wish it away anymore than you can wish away gravity because you want to fly! However, it does seem to be a basic principle of Shinnernomics that such matters are ignored or perhaps filed under "ah, sure it'll be grand" :D

Was thinking imagine in SF were in government and a decision was made to give everyone who can’t work €350 a week in an attempt to keep things ticking over? Just imagine the bluebots on here shrieking in panic “they’ll kill us all, they’ll kill us all”. LOL.

The hypocrisy of FG fanboys on here is one thing that has remained unchanged despite these unprecedented times, that much is certain.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Was thinking imagine in SF were in government and a decision was made to give everyone who can’t work €350 a week in an attempt to keep things ticking over? Just imagine the bluebots on here shrieking in panic “they’ll kill us all, they’ll kill us all”. LOL.

The hypocrisy of FG fanboys on here is one thing that has remained unchanged despite these unprecedented times, that much is certain.

The key word here is imagine. It’s all in your head, dude.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

The key word here is imagine. It’s all in your head, dude.

Point stands.
    The silence from the usual suspects who complain about doleites and wasters are usually the FG fanboy cohort and now they’re strangely quiet on Leo throwing money away for free like confetti at a travelers wedding

ah, now there's a difference between guaranteeing a minimum, non-savings, subsistence level of income when you can borrow at 0% and pledging to spend €22 billion in borrowed funds.

In the former scenario you are, effectively, bringing forward your tax take - in the latter you're just exploding the deficit and increasing the cost of borrowing, which drives up the deficit, which increases the cost of borrowing, which drives up the deficit, which increases the cost of borrowing,which drives up the deficit, which increases the cost of borrowing,which drives up the deficit, which increases the cost of borrowing.......and so it goes in the land where Shinnernomics prevails.

But then again, harbouring people who blow things up, sometimes without rhyme, reason or warning, is an SF specialty ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think a lot of people, bluebots and non-bluebots alike, are satisfied with how the crisis has been dealt with. They've stepped up. As for SF and other parties, well they've kept in the loop and IMO that's how it should be until we get a new government. Apart from opining on a new government, none of them should be offering any more than the HSE safety messages.

Is that the best your imagination came up with?

F**k me I am currently King of the World, f**k Ireland, I own the lot :p

Go you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

You absolutely would, and you know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,942 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It is a long way from election night, when we had "Up the RA" and "Come out ye Black and Tans". It must be terribly disappointing for Sinn Fein supporters to realise that they are now further from government than ever, that no party wants to coalesce with them, that their "success" has been tarnished by events and that finally the FG government is actually getting some credit.

Once the Greens get over their national government hump - they must do that to appease their members - then we will see a new government formed that will last the five years.

It is a long way from election night, when we had "Up the RA" and "Come out ye Black and Tans". It must be terribly disappointing for Sinn Fein supporters to realise that they are now further from government than ever, that no party wants to coalesce with them, that their "success" has been tarnished by events and that finally the FG government is actually getting some credit.

Once the Greens get over their national government hump - they must do that to appease their members - then we will see a new government formed that will last the five years.

This is funny.

If a government of FG/FF/GR forms SF will be exactly where they were...in opposition for the next 5 years, which was one of the +'s of their situation after the election.

The 'SF could not lose in any of the scenario's' POV.

Now, however, it will be in opposition to parties who have to find a fair way to pay for this crisis and continue to manage expectations.

Are we confident these 3 can do that? :)

The greens arent goin into government

They have nothing to gain and likely face a wipeout for doing so

Ball is firmly in vardkar and martins court as regards a national government it seems....either that or an postal election before september is only way out from present impasse,

Other than a smattering of healy-raes prop.them up...but neither martin nor varadkar (in particular) has the political ability to keep such a show on the road