Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

The greens arent goin into government

They have nothing to gain and likely face a wipeout for doing so

Ball is firmly in vardkar and martins court as regards a national government it seems....either that or an postal election before september is only way out from present impasse,

Other than a smattering of healy-raes prop.them up...but neither martin nor varadkar (in particular) has the political ability to keep such a show on the road

Until virus is gone they wont do any election.

If the decision is to go back to polls then FG should be given power till the election can take place. Only option that makes sense

Before you all have a go, I hope I dont have to explain again I am not a FG fan or supporter

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Was thinking imagine in SF were in government and a decision was made to give everyone who can’t work €350 a week in an attempt to keep things ticking over? Just imagine the bluebots on here shrieking in panic “they’ll kill us all, they’ll kill us all”. LOL.

The hypocrisy of FG fanboys on here is one thing that has remained unchanged despite these unprecedented times, that much is certain.
    ... in your imagination.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Until virus is gone they wont do any election.

If the decision is to go back to polls then FG should be given power till the election can take place. Only option that makes sense

Before you all have a go, I hope I dont have to explain again I am not a FG fan or supporter

To best of my knowledge,no new legislation can be passed with present impasse as its too long since election

But things will most likely just continue as they were as regards last few weeks...the present legislation provides good cover for them and the OAS act can be used in present type scemarios for those who wish to take on gaurds (not that i agree with the OAS act,but it is there)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Phoebas wrote: »
    ... in your imagination.

Nope. The hypocrisy is there for all to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

To best of my knowledge,no new legislation can be passed with present impasse as its too long since election

I think the problem is the Senate needs to pass legislation but is not yet formed and cannot be without the Taoiseach's nominees. We need a new Taoiseach for that and can only have one when a government is formed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Was thinking imagine in SF were in government and a decision was made to give everyone who can’t work €350 a week in an attempt to keep things ticking over? Just imagine the bluebots on here shrieking in panic “they’ll kill us all, they’ll kill us all”. LOL.

The hypocrisy of FG fanboys on here is one thing that has remained unchanged despite these unprecedented times, that much is certain.

They wanted to increase the payment to €525

https://www.google.com/amp/s/extra.ie/2020/03/26/news/irish-news/sinn-fein-coronavirus-unemployment-benefit/amp

Who knows if they would actually have done this if they were in government. Like everything else they say they'd do it's always easier to say these things from the opposition benches.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

To be fair, I don't think many people have an issue with those who have contributed to the system being looked after in their time of need by the system. You're talking here about people who want to work but are currently not allowed to for the common good. Issue people have is with those who've never contributed in their lives being well looked after.

aido79 wrote: »

https://www.google.com/amp/s/extra.ie/2020/03/26/news/irish-news/sinn-fein-coronavirus-unemployment-benefit/amp

Who knows if they would actually have done this if they were in government. Like everything else they say they'd do it's always easier to say these things from the opposition benches.

If the government said €525 they would say it should be €675....

Would love to hear the maths behind the €525.....I would say it is exceptional....pity the media dont ahve the balls to ask these questions

But things will most likely just continue as they were as regards last few weeks...the present legislation provides good cover for them and the OAS act can be used in present type scemarios for those who wish to take on gaurds (not that i agree with the OAS act,but it is there)

Someone already answered, cant just continue as is

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    If the government said €525 they would say it should be €675....

Would love to hear the maths behind the €525.....I would say it is exceptional....pity the media dont ahve the balls to ask these questions

After rents supplement is added to the 350 it’ll work out around 525 or even more

Gas the way socialism comes to the rescue of capitalism every few years especially after FG only having one setting which austerity.

It’ll be back in that gear soon enough for us all sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,930 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

they say they'd do it's always easier to say these things from the opposition benches.

I think that's a facet of opposition parties everywhere not just here.

How is the 'we won't go into a coaltion with FG' claim standing up for FF.

Yes there's some truth in that. Fine Gael for example when they were in opposition under Enda Kenny and Bertie was Taoiseach, they were coming out with great plans to sort out the health system.

They had James O'Reilly as their health spokesman and he used to make impassioned speeches in the Dail in tears at times on behalf of punters who were suffering at the hands of Fianna Fail's incompetence with he health system. FG had a plan they called Universal Health Insurance which was to do away with the two tier health system.

When Fine Gael got into government this grand scheme was never to be heard of again and 9 years later the health system under Fine Gael is in worse nick than ever.

You see Fine Gael have been in power for two full terms and they did fúck all when they were in there in relation to Health and Housing and then there was other waste like the Irish Water debacles and lots of other things besides. That's why Fine Gael (in their own words) lost the election along with other gaffes like poor arrogant publicity stunts that backfired spectacularly from Charlie Tanaghan and others lest we forget.

Now SF if they got in may not be much better we don't actually know the answer until whenever it is that they get in, they might be a lot better though who knows? We can say they're less beholding to vested interests in the health and housing sectors so maybe they're better positioned to tackle reform in those areas.

However what we do know without question, is that FG will do next to fúck all as regards the health system in particular if they go back in again this time as junior partners for FF. We know that because they did fúck all when they were in there over the last 9 years. They don't even have the political will to take on vested interests in key areas of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

Phoebas wrote: »
    ... in your imagination.

He loves banging on about "fanboys" as if he isn't a Sinn Fein "fanboy" himself.

I'm no SF fanboy pal, I had the Greens and the SocDems on my ballot paper don't you know:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 27,942 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Runaways wrote: »
    After rents supplement is added to the 350 it’ll work out around 525 or even more

Gas the way socialism comes to the rescue of capitalism every few years especially after FG only having one setting which austerity.

It’ll be back in that gear soon enough for us all sadly.

It is the other way round.

Socialism only works until you run out of other people's money to pay for everything.

an postal election before september is only way out from present impasse,

Some consistency in posting would be useful. On the one hand you suggest a postal election before September, but then immediately contradict yourself in the next post that no new legislation can be passed!!!!!

How will you get new legislation for your postal election????

I'm no SF fanboy pal, I had the Greens and the SocDems on my ballot paper don't you know:pac:

I thought that was McMurphy?

Still makes you a fanboy under your own criteria ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gas the way socialism comes to the rescue of capitalism every few years
    don't you get that its a symbiotic relationship? Do you know what socialism without capitalism is called? Famine.

I think that's a facet of opposition parties everywhere not just here.

How is the 'we won't go into a coaltion with FG' claim standing up for FF.

Yes it is and can usually be a good thing if followed up with realistic alternatives or ideas.

Politicians changing their minds or plans after an election could also be seen as a facet of political parties everywhere not just here.

Yes it is and can usually be a good thing if followed up with realistic alternatives or ideas.

Politicians changing their minds or plans after an election could also be seen as a facet of political parties everywhere not just here.

Hardly 'could be seen'. It has been a fairly staple behaviour of the power swap parties over the 100 years of the state.
    Referenced in a joking way by Pat Rabitte and Regina 'Who reads manifestos' Doherty.

Yes there's some truth in that. Fine Gael for example when they were in opposition under Enda Kenny and Bertie was Taoiseach, they were coming out with great plans to sort out the health system.

They had James O'Reilly as their health spokesman and he used to make impassioned speeches in the Dail in tears at times on behalf of punters who were suffering at the hands of Fianna Fail's incompetence with he health system. FG had a plan they called Universal Health Insurance which was to do away with the two tier health system.

When Fine Gael got into government this grand scheme was never to be heard of again and 9 years later the health system under Fine Gael is in worse nick than ever.

You see Fine Gael have been in power for two full terms and they did fúck all when they were in there in relation to Health and Housing and then there was other waste like the Irish Water debacles and lots of other things besides. That's why Fine Gael (in their own words) lost the election along with other gaffes like poor arrogant publicity stunts that backfired spectacularly from Charlie Tanaghan and others lest we forget.

Now SF if they got in may not be much better we don't actually know the answer until whenever it is that they get in, they might be a lot better though who knows? We can say they're less beholding to vested interests in the health and housing sectors so maybe they're better positioned to tackle reform in those areas.

However what we do know without question, is that FG will do next to fúck all as regards the health system in particular if they go back in again this time as junior partners for FF. We know that because they did fúck all when they were in there over the last 9 years. They don't even have the political will to take on vested interests in key areas of society.

It's a big step into reality going from the opposition benches into government as it is very easy to criticise a government when you're not the one making the hard decisions and getting the figures to add up. Big ideas always need to be followed up with details and I most parties in opposition are guilty of criticising the party in power when they know they themselves wouldn't do much better if they were given the opportunity to have a go at making things better

One thing is for sure though. Sinn Fein's manifesto has gotten a severe dose of coronavirus and is currently somewhere between life support and the cemetery. Their promises are worth nothing after this is over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

don't you get that its a symbiotic relationship? Do you know what socialism without capitalism is called? Famine.

Ventilators just went from $20,000 to $50,000

Boy that capitalism sure is pricey if you like breathing. Or healthcare in general.

Hardly 'could be seen'. It has been a fairly staple behaviour of the power swap parties over the 100 years of the state.
    Referenced in a joking way by Pat Rabitte and Regina 'Who reads manifestos' Doherty.

Do you think the vast majority of SF supporters read their manifesto?

I gave SF a vote in a GE for the first time ever and didn't read it. I have managed to get to my mid 50's and I have never read a full manifesto from any of them.

They are written in the 'sales' dept of the party's I'm afraid. Valueless, when it comes down to it because they all throw them away once elected and will not be held to account on them.

Ventilators just went from $20,000 to $50,000

Boy that capitalism sure is pricey if you like breathing. Or healthcare in general.

Where you see that?

I gave SF a vote in a GE for the first time ever and didn't read it. I have managed to get to my mid 50's and I have never read a full manifesto from any of them.

They are written in the 'sales' dept of the party's I'm afraid. Valueless, when it comes down to it because they all throw them away once elected and will not be held to account on them.

Why did you vote for them if you didn't believe their promises? Do you think Matt Carty is better for Monaghan than Heather Humphreys or that Pauline Tully was better for Cavan than Brendan Smith(just examples)?
    Or was it just a protest vote for change just like so many other first time SF voters?

Why did you vote for them if you didn't believe their promises? Do you think Matt Carty is better for Monaghan than Heather Humphreys or that Pauline Tully was better for Cavan than Brendan Smith(just examples)?
    Or was it just a protest vote for change just like so many other first time SF voters?

It wasn't a case of 'not believing'. I simply pay no attention to promises.

I made my choice based on who I believed would deliver fair and balanced government.

I might also say, I don't think any of them are fit to govern on their own for varying reasons.

First time ever haha? Mother of God. Who were you voting for before that? Eirigi? Or were you not voting at all?

I have given votes to all the major parties over the years, never Eirigi.