Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

We’re staging photos now and getting RTÉ to write fluff pieces to show the human that’s really inside the cold lifeless exterior of the hand dryer impersonator

Someone actually had to write this piece

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1245036277512142852?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 68,930 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Who ever dragged the DUP to sign the joint agreement today should be congratulated. It has been ridiculous here on the border for the last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Runaways wrote: »
    We’re staging photos now and getting RTÉ to write fluff pieces to show the human that’s really inside the cold lifeless exterior of the hand dryer impersonator

Someone actually had to write this piece

You don’t seem to understand what Twitter is for?

It’s exactly the place for mindless dribble like the RTÉ article

Who ever dragged the DUP to sign the joint agreement today should be congratulated. It has been ridiculous here on the border for the last few weeks.

Why what’s the problem on the border?

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    You don’t seem to understand what Twitter is for?

It’s exactly the place for mindless dribble like the RTÉ article

It’s also where news gets posted which you seem fit to call waffle and when shown to you and given a link of the Garda actually saying what he said you breeze on to your next deflect hoping nobody will notice.

Ps I’ll say it again. Twitter is your leaders platform of choice to communicate.

What does that say to you and all of us of the regard he holds us in? By your own logic, it’s not very high regard at all.

Why what’s the problem on the border?

Loads of people crossing from further south to shop mainly, and no where near the same safeguards and restrictions in the north. Practically life as normal in Lisnaskea today.

It’s also where news gets posted which you seem fit to call waffle and when shown to you and given a link of the Garda actually saying what he said you breeze on to your next deflect hoping nobody will notice.

Ps I’ll say it again. Twitter is your leaders platform of choice to communicate.

What does that say to you and all of us of the regard he holds us in? By your own logic, it’s not very high regard at all.

Twitter is my leaders choice? Who is my leader?

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

We’re staging photos now

That's how photos are usually taken unless you're some pervert or a spy or just like taking blurred photos of the back of people's heads. :rolleyes:

Loads of people crossing from further south to shop mainly, and no where near the same safeguards and restrictions in the north. Practically life as normal in Lisnaskea today.

You can’t stop people been stupid. I heard the first weekend after lockdown people actually went from Dublin to north to go to the pub

‘Skea hardly the busy metropolis, hardly 10 people in it at the best of times :-)

Wow. Even Irish central going for him

Leo Varadkar and Fine Gael are using COVID-19 to cling to power

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/leo-varadkar-fine-gael-covid19.amp?__twitter_impression=true

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

SF, FF and all the rest have the numbers to form a government tomorrow. Would you suggest that FG walk away and leave the country leaderless while SF struggle to get their s**t together?

hmmm wrote: »
    SF, FF and all the rest have the numbers to form a government tomorrow. Would you suggest that FG walk away and leave the country leaderless while SF struggle to get their s**t together?

We’ll never know. Only a few weeks ago Leo wanted to walk away into opposition.
    Cute hoor he is, saw hls chance to do his bathroom hand dryer impression with a prepared speech cos all the lemmings would eat it up. And they did. and no we’re stuck with him until we aren’t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Twitter is my leaders choice? Who is my leader?

#NotMyLeader

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Cute hoor he is, saw hls chance to do his bathroom hand dryer impression with a prepared speech cos all the lemmings would eat it up. And they did. and no we’re stuck with him until we aren’t.
    He's the Taoiseach of the country during a 100 year pandemic, do you expect him to say nothing to the country?

SF, FF could be in government tomorrow if they wanted and could be bothered trying. FG have said they are happy to step down and go into opposition.

He wanted to walk into opposition....after the election it would have been the best move for FG

Then Mary Lou opened her mouth and everything fell around SF, remember she hasnt managed to get a single party to join her

Now the option is,

1. stand back and let the country fall apart and get the blame.

2. Stand up and help the country, while some idiots will snipe from the sidelines....

3. Stand up and help the country, while sitting down with opposition parties to work out best way forward. All the while knowing if you make the arrangment you are losing your job

Im no fan of Leo, but in reality he has done option 3.

What exactly have Mary Lou and SF done in this process? she off fixing peoples tv licenses?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/leo-varadkar-fine-gael-covid19.amp?__twitter_impression=true

Very insightful article, thanks for sharing.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

About time he and FG were called out on it, they aren't exactly being subtle about it.

Breaking news. SF are in advanced talks with FF. Stumbling block is positions of Taoiseach and Tainiste.

He wanted to walk into opposition....after the election it would have been the best move for FG

Then Mary Lou opened her mouth and everything fell around SF, remember she hasnt managed to get a single party to join her

Now the option is,

2. Stand up and help the country, while some idiots will snipe from the sidelines....

3. Stand up and help the country, while sitting down with opposition parties to work out best way forward. All the while knowing if you make the arrangment you are losing your job

What exactly have Mary Lou and SF done in this process? she off fixing peoples tv licenses?

Fine Gael tried this 'sniping' nonsense before the election the Irish voter was not interested. They have more sense. Any idiot can portray the job of opposition as 'sniping from the sidelines'.

It's one of the more ridiculous ones tbh.

Big difference, of course, is when the crisis arrived, he stepped up, SF walked out.

As SF always do.

Shame of FG for not standing aside and letting Mary Lou and her grand coalition of the left take power.

Big difference, of course, is when the crisis arrived, he stepped up, SF walked out.

As SF always do.

Again, this is just complete bollixs that the challenged might swallow, anyone with any knowledge of how it works won't be swallowing that one either.

The duty is on the caretaker government to respond, FG had no choices here.

The two parties excluding others from government are FF and FG, you cannot dress it up any other way.

Again, this is just complete bollixs that the challenged might swallow, anyone with any knowledge of how it works won't be swallowing that one either.

The two parties excluding others from government are FF and FG, you cannot dress it up any other way.

SF walked away in NI and are keeping their heads down here too. It's what they do, it's their stock response when reality intervenes on their "easy options" politics.

As a SF member you can be excused for not understanding how democracy works, but down here we let parties decide whether they join a coalition to form a government or not. Any party can choose to join, or not join.

FF and FG have less than half the seats, so there is nothing stopping SF forming a government if as you say FF and FG are the only parties preventing it.

#MaryLooForTaoiseach

As a SF member you can be excused for not understanding how democracy works, but down here we let parties decide whether they join a coalition to form a government or not. Any party can choose to join, or not join.

FF and FG have less than half the seats, so there is nothing stopping SF forming a government if as you say FF and FG are the only parties preventing it.

#MaryLooForTaoiseach

SF voter who lives 'down here'.

Yes, the intelligent person knows how democracy and coalitions work...how would they not if they were even paying 20% attention to government formation over the last 20 years.

They can see 'exclusion' when it happens too. The 2 main parties petulantly refusing to accept a challenge to their power swap.

They have seen the awkward and contradictory confidence and supply arrangement and now the painful coalescing/merger they are having to do to keep control.
    The electorate are not the chums FF and FG have always taken them for...not anymore. That is why their vote share continues to fall and fall - a smarter electorate.

SF voter who lives 'down here'.

Yes, the intelligent person knows how democracy and coalitions work...how would they not if they were even paying 20% attention to government formation over the last 20 years.

They can see 'exclusion' when it happens too. The 2 main parties petulantly refusing to accept a challenge to their power swap.

They have seen the awkward and contradictory confidence and supply arrangement and now the painful coalescing/merger they are having to do to keep control.
    The electorate are not the chums FF and FG have always taken them for...not anymore. That is why their vote share continues to fall and fall - a smarter electorate.

As I said, the 2 parties you referred to have less than half the seats. They are not stopping PBP/Solidarity/RISE, Greens, Labour, SDs and the independents from forming a coalition with SF.

No they aren't and nobody has said that.

Again Rodney, the electorate are not stupid...(if we go into another election campaign FG/FF can refuse to accept this fact at their peril and try the same schemes again) they know that a 'coalition' made up of all those disparate interests will probably not work or survive.

FF/FG are excluding SF by not even trying to discuss a working coalition.

Michael Martin is actually straight-up treating the electorate as fools...by stating HE WOULD NOT go into a coalition with FG and is now seeking to do EXACTLY that. Fine Gael pretending loftily that they would go into opposition rather than lower themselves, when everyone knew they would take any bone that allowed them maintain the power swap, if it was thrown to them.

Sleeveen politics in other words Rodney...it's day is over, they are fooling nobody but apparatchiks that want to be fooled.

Now the option is,

There is the problem though Shef. Leo spearheaded a sniping campaign against SF rather than telling the electorate what FG have achieved (ehhhh) and what more there is they can do.
    Nope. Spent the whole time rattling about FGs biggest threat.
    It backfired wildly. I’d thought at the time this is very intentional. Nobody in their right mind would want to be Taoiseach in the incoming disaster and he had far more info available to him than any other party leader about what was coming.

But here we are.

SF walked away in NI and are keeping their heads down here too. It's what they do, it's their stock response when reality intervenes on their "easy options" politics.

You’re in la la land.

They’ve been on every radio and tv spot we have the past month.

And you bring up a good point.

FG insist SF must tak uo their responsibility and govern in NI

FG also insist SF aren’t fit to govern here

How do you square that circle?

You can’t.

It’s Fine Gael running scared and talking out of their hoops. and we can all see it.

The entire country can see it. It too will backfire.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

You’re in la la land.

They’ve been on every radio and tv spot we have the past month.

And you bring up a good point.

FG insist SF must tak uo their responsibility and govern in NI

FG also insist SF aren’t fit to govern here

How do you square that circle?

You can’t.

It’s Fine Gael running scared and talking out of their hoops. and we can all see it.

The entire country can see it. It too will backfire.

Well yes they have been voted in up in NI so they should govern like they have been mandated too.

Down here they aren't in power but there is nothing stopping them forming a left wing government.

If they manage to do that they have every right and obligation to govern down here.

Just like they do up the north but have ran away from for 3 years.

They are a disgraceful excuse of "Democratic" political party.