Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Nitrogan wrote: »
    NI broke the Belgian record for a non-functioning government.

SF can't manage a coalition of two where they are equal partners.

The only way they even got that far was threatening to kill people.#

SF have NO democratic record of governance. Nothing.

What kind of bullsh*t is this? No fan of SF but for f**k sake cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

Oh great here's the guy who thinks murdering people's friends and family is funny.

Sorry I just can't hide my disgust for your existence.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Runaways wrote: »
    The simplest most logical and best option would be a unity government reviewed in 6 months and election coming out of it.

But nope. That would be too sensible and we can’t be seen to sit down with them filthy shinners.

That’s going to come back to haunt FG.

Firstly do you really think it would be sensible for a national unity government when Sinn Fein have been critical of pretty much every decision that has been made by Fine Gael. Do you think a national unity government would assist in swifter decisions or would too many parties with such opposing views end up arguing leading to delays.

Also, it would probably be more damaging for Fine Gael to form a government with Sinn Fein especially after the accusations made by them.

If a government is able to be formed with FF and Independents and allows appropriate decisions to be made then it seems more sensible.also it is important to have an opposition to constructively challenge decisions and actions then it’s better than everyone in together.

I think the calls by certain TDs to allow the government that the people voted for is hollow. If the people really voted for such change then a left government would be formed already.

The fact that FF FG and independents with broadly similar policies shows can meet the quota is evidence that the people didn’t want that much change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

joeguevara wrote: »
    Firstly do you really think it would be sensible for a national unity government when Sinn Fein have been critical of pretty much every decision that has been made by Fine Gael. Do you think a national unity government would assist in swifter decisions or would too many parties with such opposing views end up arguing leading to delays.

Also, it would probably be more damaging for Fine Gael to form a government with Sinn Fein especially after the accusations made by them.

If a government is able to be formed with FF and Independents and allows appropriate decisions to be made then it seems more sensible.also it is important to have an opposition to constructively challenge decisions and actions then it’s better than everyone in together.

I think the calls by certain TDs to allow the government that the people voted for is hollow. If the people really voted for such change then a left government would be formed already.

The fact that FF FG and independents with broadly similar policies shows can meet the quota is evidence that the people didn’t want that much change.

I haven’t heard SF be critical at all.

And politically it would have made sense for a unity government especially for FG. If this gets worse and it will they’re carrying the can alone. Even Boris is after reaching out to other party leaders for the same reason. Spread the blame.

FG have already raided half of SFs ideas for dealing with it. They just didn’t go as far. They’d all be far more on the same page than they’d admit but no way can they be seen to say it. Any of them.

Some maturity and forward thinking is needed but no. FG going it solo.

It will haunt them and come back to bite them seriously. Just wait n see.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,968 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Moulding 57 varieties of Independents together with bribes and promises of things they wouldn't normally be entitled to or get has 'nothing - sweet fanny Adams' to do with 'what the people want'.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,959 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The simplest most logical and best option would be a unity government reviewed in 6 months and election coming out of it.

But nope. That would be too sensible and we can’t be seen to sit down with them filthy shinners.

That’s going to come back to haunt FG.

Why would that be logical? Sinn Fein policy is nuts and reckless.

blanch152 wrote: »

Then why have FG adopted half of them?

Talking about this crisis and other elements of policy

I haven’t heard SF be critical at all.

And politically it would have made sense for a unity government especially for FG. If this gets worse and it will they’re carrying the can alone. Even Boris is after reaching out to other party leaders for the same reason. Spread the blame.

FG have already raided half of SFs ideas for dealing with it. They just didn’t go as far. They’d all be far more on the same page than they’d admit but no way can they be seen to say it. Any of them.

Some maturity and forward thinking is needed but no. FG going it solo.

It will haunt them and come back to bite them seriously. Just wait n see.

FG going it solo? All 35 of them, on their own forming a government?

The failure of Sinn Fein to even negotiate a bare minimum arrangement with even one party is stark.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭mattser

Nitrogan wrote: »
    SF can't form a government because they don't know how to behave in a democracy. Plain and simple.

I'm open to any evidence from their years in NI government which shows they can.

Someone forgot to chit their seed potatoes

Where to even start with that nonsense.

Can you back up any single one statement in there?

For a start, where did those tweets of Pearse Doherty with Syriza ever go? They got deleted, just like a scene from an Orwell novel.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

The failure of Sinn Fein to even negotiate a bare minimum arrangement with even one party is stark.
    IIRC they did negotiate well with other parties, just not FFG.

Then why have FG adopted half of them?

Talking about this crisis and other elements of policy

Half of what?

Give examples, with links, because you are just making rubbish up.

Suckit wrote: »
    IIRC they did negotiate well with other parties, just not FFG.

Eh no, they started to talk with other parties, but it went nowhere, absolutely nowhere.

I will point out to you cos your so rabidly myopic when it comes to this that FG and FF have also utterly failed to form a government. With anyone. Labours refusal to deal with them was scathing but accurate. The green refused in their usual limp wristed tree hugger nonsense.
    Why might that be do you think?
    But you know this. And of course refuse to even acknowledge it.

For a start, where did those tweets of Pearse Doherty with Syriza ever go? They got deleted, just like a scene from an Orwell novel.
    Like the tweets that can't be mentioned here, or the finner bots get them removed... Funny that.

Half of what?

Give examples, with links, because you are just making rubbish up.

Oh Jesus you’re so tiresome

Rent freezes. Ban on evictions. Flat pay rate for anyone lot their jobs. Healthcare that doesn’t discriminate.

The rent freeze being the weirdest one.

Fg only said weeks ago it was unconstitutional ffs

And voila. Stroke of a pen it’s done.

All SF policies before this crisis even

Like the tweets that can't be mentioned here, or the finner bots get them removed... Funny that.

Which ones?

Rent freezes. Ban on evictions. Flat pay rate for anyone lot their jobs. Healthcare that doesn’t discriminate.

Yes, they have implemented them, and they have cost 20 billion, and the country is bankrupt, exactly what everyone said would happen if we followed Sinn Fein policy. Most of them will be reversed once this crisis is over.

As the old saying makes clear, socialism is great until you run out of other people’s money to spend, we are learning that this year.

That’s bringing up an interesting point. Tangent. FFs base are far older and dying out. I wouldn’t call their base outright conservative they got behind marriage equality in good numbers. Think the 65+ bracket nationwide was one of the biggest yes votes in that one across the spectrum.

Interesting times ahead for them they’re going to have to become attractive to younger voters soon cos us middle aged remember what they did with the economy and as mane said, SF are stealing their vote in a big way.

I think that too simplistic. Fianna Fáil performed strong in the over 45s. Sinn Fein were most popular with younger voters. They outperformed ff in the 35-45 year old category too but not as big a gap.

Your premise doesn’t take into account how Fianna Fáil will change. It is clear that Brexit wasn’t as important to voters as they thought but that could be because of over exposure. As Brexit starts it may become more important which could change votes.

It is clear that issues beat historic voting. Younger supporters may change the importance of issues if they see their pay packets decrease with Sinn Féin’s taxation policies.

Ff definitely sat on their laurels but could change.

Which ones?

errmmm..

Twitter accounts going since 2011 have been suspended for posting nothing but facts, that FG didn't like.

Yes, they have implemented them, and they have cost 20 billion, and the country is bankrupt, exactly what everyone said would happen if we followed Sinn Fein policy. Most of them will be reversed once this crisis is over.

As the old saying makes clear, socialism is great until you run out of other people’s money to spend, we are learning that this year.

The country is bankrupt ?

Your going to have to back that up blanch seeing as how you’re so fond of demanding links and seem unable to use google before you post.

So the measures have cost 20 billion and the country is bankrupt? Any official link to back up your usual BS?

errmmm..

Twitter accounts going since 2011 have been suspended for posting nothing but facts, that FG didn't like.

Wasn’t aware of that but it wouldn’t surprise me. And with them hiring bot farms to signal boost every single one of their tweets it makes sense.

Hadn’t heard of the ones you mentioned though. Odd.

Thats almost dictatorial.

Blueshirts to their bones.

So the measures have cost 20 billion and the country is bankrupt? Any official link to back up your usual BS?

Only link I can find is HSE budget is 17/18 billion this year and we’ve spent an extra 3 billion on this crisis.

Blanch. As always. Talking absolute misleading hysterical nonsense

I think I posted on the rent freeze and ban of evictions. The emergency legislation is not the same as the previous proposed bill. Firstly the bill was prior to pandemic and was for 3 years. It was unconstitutional as it was an infringement on free market with no common good. It would have created a situation where renters could stop paying rent in the knowledge that they couldn’t be evicted. There was no reason to do so, especially with then4% increase in place. Also it has been shown in many jurisdictions that it doesn’t work. If rent was defaulted, banks would reposess houses and lead to automatic eviction.

What was brought in is a rolling 3 month and it is for the common good because of the current situation and people loosing jobs in large numbers. To say that it was a uturn is not a true description.

Only link I can find is HSE budget is 17/18 billion this year and we’ve spent an extra 3 billion on this crisis.

3 billion on this crisis? We will be lucky not to spend 10 times that by the time it s finished.

I think I posted on the rent freeze and ban of evictions. The emergency legislation is not the same as the previous proposed bill. Firstly the bill was prior to pandemic and was for 3 years. It was unconstitutional as it was an infringement on free market with no common good. It would have created a situation where renters could stop paying rent in the knowledge that they couldn’t be evicted. There was no reason to do so, especially with then4% increase in place. Also it has been shown in many jurisdictions that it doesn’t work. If rent was defaulted, banks would reposess houses and lead to automatic eviction.

What was brought in is a rolling 3 month and it is for the common good because of the current situation and people loosing jobs in large numbers. To say that it was a uturn is not a true description.

Let’s be fair and get back to before this when they were asked to implement a rent freeze.

It wasn’t for the common good according to them and going by the constitution so they said no.

Rents skyrocketing constantly and nobody able to afford them..so how is it that not against the common good?

Berlin of all places introduced rent freezes.
    And bizarrely it would have been a badly needed and massive boost for FGs standing with the public had they done it.

But they didn’t. So why? And who’s really benefitting? I’ll tell you. The multiple property owning landlord class that FG depend on. And that’s a minority compared to the numbers renting obviously but how politically stupid or just arrogant do you have to be to be cosying up to the few and not the many?

I know that’s more FFs game but still

3 billion on this crisis? We will be lucky not to spend 10 times that by the time it s finished.

You said we were bankrupt already so it’s all the one.

Still waiting on a link to verify your claim

Funny Blanch has described himself/herself as a Green supporter yet a recent thread asking what next for the Greens guess who is missing in the comments. I described the poster in question as one of the most disingenuous posters on Boards. I don't think I was exaggerating.

Anyone with eyes can see that.
    The absolute obsession with replying to posts that mention Sinn Fein wherever they’re may be, is enough though.
    Still convinced the myth is true. If you stand in front of a mirror at midnight and say Sinn Fein, three times, blanch will appear behind you and start ranting :)