Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating during the Coronavirus lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    The amount of riding that'll go on when/if a vaccine/very effective treatment is found will be quite something

I don't think folks are going to wait two years plus!

Id say most singles have looked up their ex's also single at this stage :D

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭eaglach

I don't think folks are going to wait two years plus!

Id say most singles have looked up their ex's also single at this stage :D

What is the new norm now? As you say, people are not going to wait for a vaccine to hug their partners or to date again!

At what point does that happen? Loneliness will kick in soon, if it hasn't already. Would I be judged for going on a date and breaking social distancing guidance?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

eaglach wrote: »
    What is the new norm now? As you say, people are not going to wait for a vaccine to hug their partners or to date again!

At what point does that happen? Loneliness will kick in soon, if it hasn't already. Would I be judged for going on a date and breaking social distancing guidance?

Sure who’d know? Anyone who sees you will just presume you live together

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Dating during the corona virus....

Well your status won't mean jack sh1t, it'll be like dating as a teen-ager again metaphorically I'm speaking.

Remember that guy that you snogged at a slow set at the local nightclub in 1993, he had an iron maiden t-shirt, longish hair, funny, bit of a messer.
    He was Into fishing, hiking and camping etc
    But he wasn't following the herd, and a bit of a mucker. But fck me you really fancied him, he was just really good eye candy and a loveable rogue.

You went out with him for say three months, moved on.
    You went to college, had loads of fun.
    John went to music school or art college, settled in a seaside or rugged country side place.

You qualified and got your degree and in the meantime you met Paul 7 years ago in Copper's, Lillie's bordello or O'Riordans in Cork.

Paul wore a Tommy Hilfiger Polo shirt and a pair of diesel jeans and a pair of jock shoes.
    He was a coder, ye exchanged number's.
    Starred dating, he wasn't as attractive as John or as interesting as him. But all your friends are settling down and your biological clock is ticking.
    So you get along ok, not perfect but ye compromise.
    Get married two kid's etc.
    But Paul was really a covert narcissistic bstrd.
    He got moody, controlling and sulked a lot.
    A real lazy pr1ck, couldn't even change a light bulb, or cut the lawn.
    So you confide in your friends that Paul's a dick, they're supportive and understand.
    Then you hear the door opening some evening and in walks Paul... he's not looking after himself and he's just an empty shell.
    Same old same old. Groundhog Day, no excitement.
    You tried to compromise, but to no avail.
    Saturday morning you say fck this, you get the kid's together and leave Paul sit at home.
    Off to Lahinch for the day..
    At this stage he's an embarrassment...

There you are and yourself Jack and Riona having an Ice cream cone, sun blazing, your t-shirt and shorts on , your raybans or Gucci, Masunaga's whatever shades you wear...

From the distance you see a familiar site, same slightly awkward walk lol walk... your memories ignite..
    There's a blast from the past, John in his wetsuit fck me you think wtf...
    He has salty water running down his hair, tanned and as fit as he was in 1993...
    Bearded, and chiseled cheek bones like Morten Harket but looks like Andrew Cooper.

You lower your Masunaga's, John catches your eye, you his...@#***

Rachel, how the **** are you, omg fckin hell.
    Haven't seen you since that party at Johan's house in 98, remember that time we all rented the few holiday cottages in Doolin and had a barbecue etc
    John say's hello to your kid's and admires Jack's batman t-shirt (Paul doesn't even remember Jack's birthday let alone favourite super hero) fckn dick..
    John tells Jack he preferred superman and, Jacks mouth covered in ice cream chuckles, first time he laughed in a few days...
    Because dad's just too busy on the laptop and trying to flirt with Sandra from accounts...

Then there's awkward silence, then ye ask about each others family etc
    As usual John's a gent, doesn't ask about her marriage or relationship status etc
    Ye talk for around 3 minutes, but Rachel never stopped fancying John, he's still manly, mannerly and a loveable rogue.
    Paul's just a sad narcissistic Jock counting his money and no soul and spirit.
    Still wears Tommy Hilfiger Polo shirt s deck shoes and bootcut diesel jeans...
    Think's he's still 27.

Rachel's 44 John's 47 but he's still manly mannerly and just a man really.
    He's a chippie and shapes surfboards and design's t-shirts.

Back to the moment, John JOHN... a gorgeous 35 year old Susannah Hoff lookalike with a kid in her arms arrives over, big smile on her face. John introduces Gabriel, he met her in Bali 5 year's ago she's from Rome.
    But they got married 2 years ago. Gabriel is really funny and has banter with Jack and Riona. They have a good laugh, and John's lad is three, Jack's 5

Gabriel say's we're going for lunch to O'Looneys come and join us. Fck it she joins them. In walks
    Piero Gabriel's brother he's 45...

You're introduced....

12 months later Paul's gone, you're flicking through Bumble you see a familiar face it's Piero.
    Rachel tries to match him, a day later bingo...

She's getting to know Piero, he's funny, rough around the edges, living in Liscannor.
    Rachel's in Ennis...

There's always a sliver of hope.

This is a true story but I changed the name's, my friends female, she's been through a rough time with your atypical narcissist.. alcoholic gambling bumbling mess.

She's going to meet Piero for a coffee when this covid has less restrictions and she's not in love or has expectations.
    She's just looking forward to the date...

Never let status or financial potential dictate your potential partner...

There's always a treasure waiting to be discovered burried in the ground...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

If you get stopped at a garda checkpoint just say you're going on a tinder date.

Sure who’d know? Anyone who sees you will just presume you live together

Oh I know, but I don't want to be putting anyone at risk of catching the virus, even if I could get away with it.

It would be nice to have a statement from medical professionals or the government about relaxing social distancing once contact tracing and testing has improved. Maybe allowing 2 or 3 people within your 2m zone (not that I'm suggesting dating 2 or 3 different people at the same time!)

Going without the shift for at least a year before a vaccine is a hell of a long time!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Had been thinking about this too. Open to correction but I always thought the best way to pick up with someone was by mingling in pubs and clubs. That’s not going to be an option for the foreseeable future.

Suppose new dating methods need to be tested. Apps don’t do it for me though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I've been chatting to a girl on Bumble for the last few days and she seems fairly keen. She lives in Dublin though so it will be a while before we can meet. I'm not sure where we could even go tbh.

Looking at the government road map, there is nothing which suggests that dating is ever possible. Maybe in an additional stage beyond what they've outlined so far, but who knows.

I started chatting to someone on Tinder before the lockdown happened, but never got to meet. I've been chatting to them almost every day since and have had regular video "dates", but it's wearing thin at this stage. Not that they're getting boring, but the frustration of not being able to meet is getting to me.

I can see that there will not be any government "advice" that it's okay to break social distancing in the near future and it's pretty frustrating. I feel very strongly about keeping the virus at bay, but I think I've reached breaking point and finally go on a real date, even if it is just a walk in the park. It may sound selfish, but I can't put my life on hold indefinitely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Looking at the government road map, there is nothing which suggests that dating is ever possible. Maybe in an additional stage beyond what they've outlined so far, but who knows.

I started chatting to someone on Tinder before the lockdown happened, but never got to meet. I've been chatting to them almost every day since and have had regular video "dates", but it's wearing thin at this stage. Not that they're getting boring, but the frustration of not being able to meet is getting to me.

I can see that there will not be any government "advice" that it's okay to break social distancing in the near future and it's pretty frustrating. I feel very strongly about keeping the virus at bay, but I think I've reached breaking point and finally go on a real date, even if it is just a walk in the park. It may sound selfish, but I can't put my life on hold indefinitely.

Just wrap yourself in tinfoil and you will be grand x

• Registered Users Posts: 8,436 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I feel very strongly about keeping the virus at bay, but I think I've reached breaking point and finally go on a real date, even if it is just a walk in the park. It may sound selfish, but I can't put my life on hold indefinitely.

if you live within 10 km its possible to meet for a walk and not break any guidelines... even if you don't live that close, I wouldn't be too worried about it, unless either of ye are in a vulnerable category or living with someone who is

Unfortunately he lives beyond 20km. Neither of us are in a vulnerable category or are living with someone who is.

I am starting to feel like a fool when I see so many others, and even friends who are in favour of the restrictions, breaking the rules and visiting their boyfriends / girlfriends / family beyond the limit.

I feel I will soon break (mentally) and go beyond the advised travel distance for a socially distanced date. I've acted very responsibly up until now, but when there's no end in sight it is very demoralising.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

It’s terrible and really disheartening.
    I’m still on tinder but I can’t muster the enthusiasm to properly chat as there’s a strong sense of “what’s the point?” when we still can’t realistically meet up with anyone for another 2 months at least (I live rurally so the 20km travel limit won’t make a difference).
    For me, video call dates are just horrible and a hundred times more awkward than meeting someone in person.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭thegolfer

Mr rebel wrote: »
    It’s terrible and really disheartening.
    I’m still on tinder but I can’t muster the enthusiasm to properly chat as there’s a strong sense of “what’s the point?” when we still can’t realistically meet up with anyone for another 2 months at least (I live rurally so the 20km travel limit won’t make a difference).
    For me, video call dates are just horrible and a hundred times more awkward than meeting someone in person.

I'm on tinder and bumble, chatting away at the moment. What it's teaching me is to get back in the habit of text and chatting again, it could be anything and nothing at all.

But the benefit is even if you do not meet up once there is a release, you have gotten your self back in the game to chat, your texting is strong and better able to deliver the compliments. It's not to become a pick up artist, it's the pick yourself up and possibly hit it off with someone.

Pay the extra and super swipe or like or whatever it's called, and grab someones attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

For those that caught the virus and recovered. Can they get back on the saddle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

So how will dating work with social distancing?*

Will you just date people in your social circles and try minimize the risk that way?

Or will you date people you've never met from Tinder, POF and Bumble?

Or! Will you go the whole hog and not date until there's a vaccine?

I think, for single people, it's going to be a bigger problem than we think. I mean, who doesn't love the buzz of those first few dates when you click with the other person right?

Single people of Boards: with the current Covid situation, when will you date again?

(*thinly disguised "When will we get The Ride again" thread)

Poll added

If there's an option you'd like added you can list it here and maybe a Mod can add it to the poll

But there's plenty of options to start

• Registered Users Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Never. I'm becoming a Hermit.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭2 fast

Never I wasnt very good at it before covid, and now I just couldn't be bothered... hello singledom

I chose "not til 2021" in the poll

I think by then my hormones will be over-riding (pardon the pun) any fears

It's all very subjective though because things are constantly evolving with Covid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Advocating social distancing is advocating puritanism. That reason alone is enough to realise it is not sustainable for too long. Those that think otherwise are likely to be virgins.

I've had enough of social distancing and am planning on going on a date on Saturday, life is too short to remain imprisoned in your home.

I've had enough of social distancing and amp ironing on going on a date on Saturday, life is too short to remain imprisoned in your home.

Is that a very specialist fetish?

Is there a website we can check?

Asking for a friend

• Registered Users Posts: 13,740 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Is that a very specialist fetish?

Is there a website we can check?

Asking for a friend

Wouldn't recommend it. Flattens the sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Whenever someone's desperate enough to have me

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The first opportunity ha but I'm not one for the texting and all that

All about once clubbing/late bar culture returns its game. There's no atmosphere to the current drinks model, have to buy a meal in each pub for a drink etc

PTH2009 wrote: »
    There's no atmosphere to the current drinks model, have to buy a meal in each pub for a drink etc

That's very true. Having food on a first date isn't that common. It's more of a second or third date thing

With that in mind, I wonder will there be a big increase on people dating from August 10th onwards

2 fast wrote: »
    Never I wasnt very good at it before covid, and now I just couldn't be bothered... hello singledom

I'm sure, even 3 years from now when cases of this are negligible, you could join a club or something

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,137 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users Posts: 1 2 furious

2 fast wrote: »

:(