Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supporting craft breweries

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭MidlanderMan

TXPTGR1 wrote: »
    Got any screenshots you can PM?

I don't but someone else probably does.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,782 ✭✭✭✭L1011

RasTa wrote: »
    Ah here, someone just sent me pictures of him talking about that Q crap and save the children etc.

If that's actually real and gets out, WH have made a very stupid mistake publishing that statement today.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Jeez, what a mess! I didn’t see the posts but I am outraged!!

https://twitter.com/TheWhiteHag/status/1352344352106942465

This seems exceptionally ironic (avoiding something as "divisive" as sours in a mixed box, if it doesn't load) today :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

I've no problem with someone having different politics to me, but jaysus, me thinking FFG are two sides of the same arse and them thinking nah, they've done a grand job running the country for 70 years is a far cry from "Well actually, the Clintons are something something pizza shop something conspiracy," and defending the Proud Boys! Who are not just muppets having an anti-mask protest outside the GPO, they're violent neo-fascists. And apparently Joe has been heard to spout anti-immigrant ****e at beer festivals?

That response from White Hag is worse than useless. "We're aware his views are unacceptable, but what ya gonna do? /shrug"

• Registered Users Posts: 33,931 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I've no problem with someone having different politics to me, but jaysus, me thinking FFG are two sides of the same arse and them thinking nah, they've done a grand job running the country for 70 years is a far cry from "Well actually, the Clintons are something something pizza shop something conspiracy," and defending the Proud Boys! Who are not just muppets having an anti-mask protest outside the GPO, they're violent neo-fascists. And apparently Joe has been heard to spout anti-immigrant ****e at beer festivals?

That response from White Hag is worse than useless. "We're aware his views are unacceptable, but what ya gonna do? /shrug"

100 percent. There's differing political views. But then theres allowing someone associate your brand with let's be fair extremist conspiracy theory views that would definitely involve liable and a more than distasteful view on minorities.

Not acceptable on any level.

Is it somehow woke to consider being just a basic human to others. Whatever happened to just being a decent person. Subscribing to this sort of ****e is bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Neckbeard in being neckbard shocker! * stares at his own dodgy beard*

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭TXPTGR1

How deep into Qanon was he? Would hate to see the culture of people losing their jobs over spouting off online take root over here- was it a bit of wind up stuff or full on defence of fascism?

I suspect had it been the assistant junior can sealer or something spouting that, they'd have been fired for gross misconduct immediately.

To try claim that your head brewer, partial owner and significant part of your public face at events is 'just' an employee and its all fine and dandy is surreal. His Twitter had their brand name in it, his Instagram was named and themed around him being their brewer. He *is* White Hag in those circles.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭MidlanderMan

How deep into Qanon was he? Would hate to see the culture of people losing their jobs over spouting off online take root over here- was it a bit of wind up stuff or full on defence of fascism?

Balls deep. #IamQ all over the gram.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭DelmarODonnell

Is anyone else doing the White Hag beer bingo tonight? Do you think Joe will be on like he normally would? I am hoping they keep the comments open.......................

• Registered Users Posts: 17,003 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Is anyone else doing the White Hag beer bingo tonight? Do you think Joe will be on like he normally would? I am hoping they keep the comments open.......................

I suspect Joe won't be there, somehow.
    Expect plenty of forced joviality, I'd say.
    Be brave to keep comments open.

Is it open or do you need an invitation?
    I'm curious now!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

L1011 mentioned earlier in the thread they should be. Would be interesting to hear what goes down on it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Only catching up on all this. Atlantean is one of, if not, my favourite craft beer.

I'm hoping that statement from WH is a holding statement of some sort while they get things sorted in the background. As others have said, simply describing it as an "employee" is very weak, if not outright misleading.

Wouldn't like to see a whole brewery go out of business and job losses because of the views of a single person involved.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Wouldn't like to see a whole brewery go out of business and job losses because of the views of a single person involved.
    Most of their customers will never find out about it. People on the internet still ask "what's up with Founders?" when that situation has been going on years, the details are well publicised, and seems to be much worse than one team member with unpalatable views.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Would hate to see the culture of people losing their jobs over spouting off online take root over here- was it a bit of wind up stuff or full on defence of fascism?
    It was a lot more than just spouting off online to be fair. There's a lot of that culture I'm not entirely comfortable with, but WH really didn't go far enough given the posts I saw (never mind the apparently more extreme stuff I haven't seen!).

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I'm hoping that statement from WH is a holding statement of some sort while they......hope the storm blows over!
    FYP

Macy0161 wrote: »
    It was a lot more than just spouting off online to be fair. There's a lot of that culture I'm not entirely comfortable with, but WH really didn't go far enough given the posts I saw (never mind the apparently more extreme stuff I haven't seen!).
    Surely that's the most important point. WH were fine with his posts, or happy to ignore them, until there was pushback? They must've known this day was coming if he was always this bad?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

BaZmO* wrote: »
    WH were fine with his posts, or happy to ignore them, until there was pushback? They must've known this day was coming if he was always this bad?
    It's a calculated risk, I guess. As is their response.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

BaZmO* wrote: »

Surely that's the most important point. WH were fine with his posts, or happy to ignore them, until there was pushback? They must've known this day was coming if he was always this bad?

This is what is concerning. Not calling someone out on this **** or politely ignoring it is as good as encouragement.

Well the more amusing part of this all is how someone with a thriving business living in one of the top 5 places to live on the planet according to international wellness and happyness indexes . With access to free healthcare and ability to have a verbal voice without going to prison for saying things against the government. Feels like they are oppressed or there freedom is being stolen.

The levels of cognitive dissonance to your current situation and surroundings must be something behold.

Having it all and still having an entirely negative view of your fellow man. Would ye ever get up the fk as they say. Absolutely clueless when you have it so good.

I often wonder how these exact people would get on under say russian rule or maybe a Turkish coup or even in Thailand where you seen vast prison time for openly slagging their king.

Ireland's not without its issues , no where is. But cop the fk on like.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,003 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

His Marxist free health care must rightly piss him off!

As must the socialist support of his business they've received (Visit Sligo branding all over the festival)

DPD have now been and gone and no bingo box. Wonder if their logistics got distracted by something this week!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

L1011 wrote: »
    DPD have now been and gone and no bingo box. Wonder if their logistics got distracted by something this week!

My bright box arrived this morning. 28 beers:
    18 cans of the core range 330ml cans(Little Fawn, Atlantean, Phantom, Irish IPA, 9th Wave), 2 Roc Helles 440ml, 2 each of the most recent smash series 440ml, 2 Malafemmena 330ml, 2 Dough Brews IPA 330ml
    No bingo card but don't think I can attend it tonight anyway. Overall fairly happy with the selection and good value

His Marxist free health care must rightly piss him off!

Actually perhaps no one told him Ireland's a social democracy. That might just set him off. Social whhaaaaa. Gaaahhh argggh . Namby pamby Europeans

The bingo cards are digital and just sent out via email. Easier than trying to verify physical ones on a Zoom having already done a bingo session for another (non-booze) group so its understandable.

There's people on Twitter who got sent a primarily IPA box for the dark one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

L1011 wrote: »
    The bingo cards are digital and just sent out via email. Easier than trying to verify physical ones on a Zoom having already done a bingo session for another (non-booze) group so its understandable.

There's people on Twitter who got sent a primarily IPA box for the dark one.

I got a good mix, was undecided on a dark or bright but seems I got a 50/50 mix. Suits me tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

One of the lads got his box there. I'll be avoiding naturally due to dry Jan.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

One of the lads got his box there. I'll be avoiding naturally.

Thats my box

• Registered Users Posts: 10,121 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Thats my box

That's what she said.