Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinister tension in the air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Stark reading, hopefully it will give some a sense of perspective.
    Number of cases down to increased testing and most are mild infections. But the amount of deaths in some countries... and the more cases the more deaths.

Raconteuse can you tell me truthfully if you were up on high and sitting with so much money and power that it made you wet with every breath and you had the opportunity to slam the economy into the ground and then pick up the scraps for tuppence and do it all again...are you saying you WOULDN'T ...because that's just not cricket?
    I wouldn't have a choice either way if there's a pandemic of a highly contagious and potentially serious/deadly disease.

It wouldn't be me slamming the economy into the ground, it would be the virus.

So I truly don't understand why you're arguing as though choice comes into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Raconteuse can you tell me truthfully if you were up on high and sitting with so much money and power that it made you wet with every breath and you had the opportunity to slam the economy into the ground and then pick up the scraps for tuppence and do it all again...are you saying you WOULDN'T ...because that's just not cricket?
    Boards must be broken again.... because no one is thanking your posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

There were and are kids going around terrorising others especially the elderly while touching them and shouting Corona virus.....

In all seriousness, and I am no superhero, if I see anybody doing this to a vulnerable person, I will break their fcucking jaw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Don't get so upset by someone simply being realistic about the contagiousness of this potentially deadly virus.

Nobody takes issue with someone simply questioning something.

I don't take issue with questioning authority when there is reason to. I absolutely criticise torture at Guantanamo Bay. You're throwing out stuff apropos nothing.

You're making out that this is only an excuse for abuse of authority - as if there isn't an extremely good reason for the restrictions, some of which are being just asked of us, not implemented. You sneered at a pregnant woman, afraid of becoming infected, that she's a good little pawn. And then you suddenly endorse China's approach?

I didn't do anything of the sort.

I never mentioned any pregnant woman and I didn't once allude to the fact that there were any good reasons for distancing oneselves from each other. That's common sense if you wantto avoid a cold anyway.

What I took umbrage with was that this stipulation is being carved into the popular mindset and I took further umbrage, when questioning said sanction, that I was "cool and edgy" and a "self proclaimed rebel".

But to return to your abuse of authority imbroglio. This crisis, and I don't for one minute doubt that the disease exists, will birth new restrictions. And they won't go away. Once you cave into the most pathetic little boundaries like "keep your distance" you are ripe to be a sap for further abuses in the name of keeping you "safe and healthy".

I've ranted enough. I've seen enough. I've seen people take off their fcuking flip flops at airports (as if you could conceal a hydrogen bomb inside the cheasy squeaky foam.
    I have one prediction and one prediction only about this covid-19 crap.....you will ALL be required to give a swap at the airport to make sure your not coronavirus infected and that swap will be you DNA on file.

This is Winston Smith....outside the Ministry Of Truth awaiting O'Brien to torture me.

Peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

growleaves wrote: »
    Governments want to arrogate power to themselves - economics has nothing to do with it.

Ask yourself:

Will the gov. be repealing their power to detain people without trial and restrict them from travel after this virus is mostly-eradicated? Will boards posters apart from myself and one or two others be looking for them to do so?

No they will not, because the threat of “microbial enemies” (as the Lord Mayor Dublin so eloquently put it) will remain in our minds as an ever-present danger.

Similar legislation was brought in during the TB problem in the 1940s, guess what happened once that ended ...none of what you suggested

The legislation that is in place is for specific purposes and on specific grounds and are governed by the need for proportionality . The safe guards include right to appeal and turn to the Courts if need be, an Institution that has no qualms scrutinising orders for detention on a daily basis

I would admit that I was and still am weary about legislation like this, especially when it hasnt been properly discussed in the Oireachtas (why then allow the presumption of Constitutionality ?) But it be best that you get yourself a link to the website eg irishstatute.ie and read this legislation first before commenting .

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I wonder do they play this song for the people who get tested in Croke Park lol. So many emotions when that song is played after games when your exiting.

https://open.spotify.com/track/4o7azvfDlNonVbEnqB5K3U?si=CnXr-_akRcOS9JMlQ4Yckg

Another haunting sound from the stadium

'Gardi and Stewards end of match position please, Gardi and Stewards end of match positions please'

Oh god now the comparison to 1984. Inevitable I suppose. Who do you think is going to actually torture you?

That woman you sneered at for being a good little pawn is pregnant. She spoke about her unborn child.

The future of these restrictions being kept in place for the laugh after the virus dissipates. Such confidence that it's a guarantee yet no grounds. People are literally just following these guidelines to try and stem the spread. Why does that mean they'll automatically be abused down the line. No logic at all.

Don't get so upset by someone simply being realistic about the contagiousness of this potentially deadly virus.

Nobody takes issue with someone simply questioning something.

I don't take issue with questioning authority when there is reason to. I absolutely criticise torture at Guantanamo Bay. You're throwing out stuff apropos nothing.

You're making out that this is only an excuse for abuse of authority - as if there isn't an extremely good reason for the restrictions, some of which are being just asked of us, not implemented. You sneered at a pregnant woman, afraid of becoming infected, that she's a good little pawn. And then you suddenly endorse China's approach?

Then don't insult people by calling them, derogatorily, "edgy" for merely voicing skepticism.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Ah lads, chill out..
    It's not like there's a run on the banks.... Yet.

Dun dun Dun!

You're complaining about authoritarianism but endorsing the (authoritarian) measures in China.

Not that complicated.

Go on...

Must I drag it out of you? What measures?

It's ok , you let your kids out.

Hopefully, you and other parents like you will cop on before the government have to lock everyone up.

But , as an uncle of mine used to say , "you can have your ****e" if you think I'm getting locked down for **** parents and spoilt children.

You can talk about irrelevant history all you like , but these kids have food , internet, porn and more . Talking about the blitz in that context is pathetic.

Ok "MATE"

You keep your kids in. Keep them in because there's bad stuff out there. Keep them in because the Russians are coming. Keep them in because your daughter has started to sprout and others might be sniffing around her. Just keep them in and lock all the doors. You want to try that for 40 days? Good luck with 40 hours.

Go on...

Must I drag it out of you? What measures?
    Lockdown obviously! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

What do young people do? They meet up with their friends, girlfriends, boyfriends,

Weren't you ever a teenager?

What did teenagers before, during and after Bloody Sunday do? Did they sit at home and say I'm going to wait here with my thumb up my arse until 1998 when I'm 57 and see if Ciara is still out there?

Did kids meet each other and lovers try to make contact during the Blitz? What about in Damascus for the last 7 years? You think teenagers there just want to stay home and forget about their mates or their romances?

How many centuries ago were you a teenager?

None of these other examples increased the chances of a large number of people dying. During the blitz, for instance, the youth did not gather around large bonfires. People have to behave responsibly.

Where are you getting that from?

It wasn't directed at you.

I wouldn't have a choice either way if there's a pandemic of a highly contagious and potentially serious/deadly disease.

It wouldn't be me slamming the economy into the ground, it would be the virus.

So I truly don't understand why you're arguing as though choice comes into it.

You have completely sidestepped the question.

If you had the opportunity to make your wealth even more dynastic that what it already was would you jump at that opportunity?

If you could make millions and the plebs be damned...would you?

Ok "MATE"

You keep your kids in. Keep them in because there's bad stuff out there. Keep them in because the Russians are coming. Keep them in because your daughter has started to sprout and others might be sniffing around her.
    No, the covid-19 virus. :confused:

(Pure nuts post).

rtron wrote: »
    Its not looting when it's surviving!!

Funny you should mention that.

There are always the arselickers who say "obey the law" even when the law is dicking them. When New Orleans got inundated and the people were left to drown and starve you still had assholes castigating people trying to break into food pantries to survive. Now the usual narrative is that they all wanted to just steal TV sets and the latest fcuking trainers. What good is that crap to the thousands of old men and women left to rot it a sh1t floating cesspool of a city for weeks without a drop of water to drink. I too would be out looting to get my beloved mother and grandmother something to eat and drink.

Funny you should mention that.

There are always the arselickers who say "obey the law" even when the law is dicking them. When New Orleans got inundated and the people were left to drown and starve you still had assholes castigating people trying to break into food pantries to survive. Now the usual narrative is that they all wanted to just steal TV sets and the latest fcuking trainers. What good is that crap to the thousands of old men and women left to rot it a sh1t floating cesspool of a city for weeks without a drop of water to drink. I too would be out looting to get my beloved mother and grandmother something to eat and drink.
    Yeah I don't blame them either.

And I'd assume you'd also do what you can to help stem the spread of this virus and reduce the chances of your grandparents being infected... because that's what the restrictions are about. Not oppression.

You have completely sidestepped the question.

If you had the opportunity to make your wealth even more dynastic that what it already was would you jump at that opportunity?

If you could make millions and the plebs be damned...would you?
    I dunno. I don't think about stuff like that the way you do.

But I didn't sidestep it. In the context of this virus (which is what the thread is about) it isn't relevant because nobody is choosing to sink the economy for the craic.

We are like caged rats (we aren't) but Chinese people weren't when measures were brought in to stem the spread there?

I notice that your tone was conciliatory to me a few posts ago but it is still vulgar to others, replete with the sneering epithets of conspiracy theorism.

You lot are missing the point. This energy of monitoring what everyone is doing or not doing is starting to fester. Feel like I'm living in Nazi Germany.

I'm sure the Jewish community feels your pain

Honestly, you'd swear there was no pandemic at all, the way that ShatterAlan member is going on.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Why don't you address me instead of the audience?

I'm not denying the existence of this disease, much like you seem to like to imply. Nor am I in anyway trivialising its effects or consequences. What I AM doing is questioning the herd mentality that had spawned from this original posting, Coupled with that I am railing against your ilk for insinuating that I, or others, are being "cool, edgy, and rebellious" for questioning the mandate that everyone stand two metres apart.

There is, I might add, a lot of money to be made off of this mess. Others, naively, think that a government and its corporate backers would "never" do something so scummy as to crash the economy and drive a load of people out of work so that everyone had to take a paycut but still pay the same tax and that finances for public services were now available to rescue private interests. They would NEVER foreclose millions upon millions worth of properties and have sovrerign funds snap them up.

Governments would NEVER do such a thing. It's so sneaky and mean.

Ok "MATE"

You keep your kids in. Keep them in because there's bad stuff out there. Keep them in because the Russians are coming. Keep them in because your daughter has started to sprout and others might be sniffing around her. Just keep them in and lock all the doors. You want to try that for 40 days? Good luck with 40 hours.

Wow!

You sound very angry and very paranoid. Really no need to speak about someone's daughter like that either.

I'm guessing here, do you adopt an attitude of disobeying the law just to disobey the law?

I notice that your tone was conciliatory to me a few posts ago but it is still vulgar to others, replete with the sneering epithets of conspiracy theorism.
    And your tone? E.g. the one about the daughter starting to sprout?

None of these other examples increased the chances of a large number of people dying. During the blitz, for instance, the youth did not gather around large bonfires. People have to behave responsibly.

I was talking about kids actually going out and being themelves. Hanging out with their friends. Being teenagers.

It has nothing to do with the circumstances of the day. People are on here about how teenagers in 2020 should be slammed into their rooms and kept their for months because of this so called world-changinging pandemic. Go ahead try that....let me know your results.

I simply pointed out that teenagers will do anything to meet their friends even if there are aircraft overhead dropping bombs on them. So please don't idiotically say that I equated kids running out to meet their girlfriends during an IRA/Para firefight as different to a few kids hanging around outside Spar and trading jokes and whatnot.

These kids are not going to kill you. They are not going to infect you or you damn family.

Christ you think a lot of yourself if you think that your life is so fcuking precious that everyone else must lock up in a bio-suit and stay there till august in case you get a cough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

These kids are not going to kill you. They are not going to infect you or you damn family .

They might, they might and they damn might.

These kids are not going to kill you. They are not going to infect you or you damn family.

Christ you think a lot of yourself if you think that your life is so fcuking precious that everyone else must lock up in a bio-suit and stay there till august in case you get a cough.

A, you cannot state that for a fact. They could infect the poster and his family.

B, people are being killed. It's not than just a cough to a percentage of the population.

Who suggested anyone being in a bio suit until August? "So called" world changing?

Yeah I don't blame them either.

And I'd assume you'd also do what you can to help stem the spread of this virus and reduce the chances of your grandparents being infected... because that's what the restrictions are about. Not oppression.

Please, Raconteuse, don't sidestep and then attempt what you've just attempted.

You've already accused me of something or other about a pregnant woman. So go back and rectify that first.

But if, while you are back there you would like me to bang the drum a little louder so it gets through to you.....

I DON'T THINK THIS VIRUS IS A HOAX

I AM NOT EDGY

I AM NOT COOL (anymore)

I DON'T THINK A 2 METRE SEPARATION BETWEEN PEOPLE MEANS A FCUKING THING.

TEENAGERS WILL DO WHAT THEY WANT DESPITE WHAT YOU ORDER THEM TO DO.

PEOPLE WILL MAKE LOTS OF MONEY FROM THIS CRISIS

LOTS OF PEOPLE WILL LOSE LOTS OF MONEY FROM THIS CRISIS

THE PEOPLE WHO WILL MAKE MONEY FROM THIS CRISIS ALREADY HAVE LOTS OF MONEY

Finally,

You don't like that.