Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Eamon Ryan a troll?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭blackbox

well for some. My car is covered with ash from neighbours' fires. Only washed a couple of weeks ago. tires cleaner than the bonnet.

People doing that are killing people. Iran and northern Italy have terrible air pollution and that is thought to be what us behind their death rates.

They both have a lot of smokers.

Could that be a factor?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

blackbox wrote: »

Could that be a factor?
    wouldn't help

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

ted1 wrote: »
    There is 17.8 million in the Netherlands
    There is 4.83m in Ireland.

Land mass of Netherlands is 41.5km^2
    Land mass of Ireland is 84.4 Km^2

The Netherlands kept there villages and cities and didn’t allow one off housing. And urban sprawl.

With proper urban planning 10 million us very possible and feasible

The Netherlands is a mostly horrible urbanised sh1thole with very little wild, green spaces and almost no expanse of natural countryside. What kind of an environmentalist would advocate for this?

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Leonidas BL

Eamon Ryan is a complete bliddering omadáin. Anyone that would vote for this tool of a party with him at the helm is defo smoking the good shhtuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Dorakman wrote: »
    I seriously cannot believe that someone with their full wits about them, could come up which such half-baked and stupid ideas. Is he serious, or just having a laugh?

Eamon was trying to make the point that we should support local business and keep ourselves busy through the virus crisis.

Why he needed to do it in such an hilarious, if impassioned way, is known only to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

tdf7187 wrote: »
    He's a ludicrous champagne socialist virtue signaller with terrible ideas. His party was recently advocating that the population of our island should be increased to 10 million.

His hero 'our' current President Higgins has very similar ideas, but fortunately no real power.

Despite that, the greens are easily the best of the left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

blackbox wrote: »

Could that be a factor?
    Definitely. The advice here is to quit right away because of it.

Haven’t seen that at all. Hardly any point at this stage anyway is there?

”I’ve smoked 20 Rothmabs a day for the last 25 years but I’ll be grand because I gave up last Thursday.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Haven’t seen that at all. Hardly any point at this stage anyway is there?

”I’ve smoked 20 Rothmans a day for the last 25 years but I’ll be grand because I gave up last Thursday.”
    well you will see it if you Google. It is worth doing. Your blood pressure goes down right away and after a few weeks you start to regain the ability to clear crap from your lungs. social distancing means you can go through the withdrawal without acting like a lunatic in front people too.

It’s worthwhile doing regardless but giving up now will be no extra protection against this.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The Netherlands is a mostly horrible urbanised sh1thole with very little wild, green spaces and almost no expanse of natural countryside. What kind of an environmentalist would advocate for this?

CLARENCE !!!...how could you ?

Deliberately ignoring how The Dutch LOVE their bicycles.....You will be sent to the bold corner for this...mark my words !! :o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

NSAman wrote: »
    Ehhmoan is a failed bicycle sales man who now makes a living of the tax payer.

Is he a troll? No. Most trolls have FAR more intelligence.

Entitled, idiotic and not as smart as the Kerry lads... but yet you are paying for him.

You live n learn....was this Ryans of Dorset Street I wonder ..?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

I want to protect our environment but how can I vote for the Green Party when they have simps like this guy in charge?

You can change personal behaviours if you want to do that. The Greens only want to tax you without changing anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 ivorhead

His idea behind what he said was good, but how he said it made him appear mad in the Head.

People will need something to keep them occupied during this crisis, and no better way than getting around to finishing off all them jobs that need doing over the past 20 years

and if anyone is lucky enough to have a garden, then believe me there is nothing better than gardening and veg growing for keeping yourself mentally and physically well.

ivorhead wrote: »
    His idea behind what he said was good, but how he said it made him appear mad in the Head.

People will need something to keep them occupied during this crisis, and no better way than getting around to finishing off all them jobs that need doing over the past 20 years

and if anyone is lucky enough to have a garden, then believe me there is nothing better than gardening and veg growing for keeping yourself mentally and physically well.

To finish all those things then people need to go to Woodies, etc. That should mean it’s a non runner from the start. Non essential.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 ivorhead

To finish all those things then people need to go to Woodies, etc. That should mean it’s a non runner from the start. Non essential.

True, but right now its still ok to go there once we all follow the correct precautions and proper distancing etc. So get all your materials and veg seeds now instead of the toilet rolls;)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

woodies in Lucan had a 20-30 person social distanced queue at 12 today, people are mad for DIY now.

Nobody being there would be better than any socially distanced queue.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

That's the green parties input at this moment?

Just paint and seeds?

Jesus imagine him at the wheel during a pendamic.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,778 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Not to be mean when he said touching me , touching you

I thought he was going to start signing the darkness I believe in a thing called love !!!!

He did give me one idea I have about 6m square of grass in my garden I am thinking of turning into a vegetable garden as being honest it gives me something to do !!!

Go on Go Green :p

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

saladsposter.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

ted1 wrote: »
    You forgot to mention whAt he said that you have an issue with.

I’d a great time in the garden today , cleated it out , built raised beds , for planted fruit and veg. Kept the kids away from screen and off the streets.

I'm going to go out on a limb here - but you wouldn't happen to be... ah... middle class? :D

I do this ould craic myself. Maybe it is my middle class ****e coming out. But I don't harbour any of the posh hippy idealistic illusions that the Greens have that we can replace supermarkets and intensive agri. Those things are here to stay. Window box salads are nice extras.

They want to save the planet and tax us to that but then states they want 10 million or more on this small island, eh pal this isn't how you save the planet...

Food for the wolves they want to reintroduce perhaps?
    I'd give a higher preference to the Monster Raving Loony party.

You grow a few bits on the windowsill so you can go on in work to the other twats from Kildare about it. And then the mickey measuring about the size of the windowsills and amount of windows can begin.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

How many salads would you grow in a window box anyway, 3 or 4 at best. Might feed you for two days.

Somehow the idiot boy seems to think that windowsill salads are the answer to food shortages. All the while Ireland is the 2nd most secure nation in the world for food security, what a gobdaw he is.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

topper75 wrote: »
    Food for the wolves they want to reintroduce perhaps?
    I'd give a higher preference to the Monster Raving Loony party.

He doesn't want to reintroduce wolves really though. Here is what he said
    When asked if he would like to see wolves reintroduced to Ireland in his lifetime, Mr Ryan said: ‘Yeah, but first things first, we have to restore our peatlands. We have to build up a native and natural forest.

‘Currently we have a forestry model which is plantations, which is short of wildlife. It is going to take 40 to 50 years, forestry takes time. It is that sort of time frame not in the political time frame that it might happen in’, Eamon Ryan added.

So after 50 years of rewilding, wolves could be introduced, is what he suggested. Which would be great for the country's ecosystems.

Really we should be looking at giving back to nature and stopping the destruction of biodiversity, I expect to see more and more viruses as man destroys every last bit of nature on the planet.

i see that that is a subtler take on what was reported, TM, so fair enough

tell you what is even better than that, though-

an elected TD that doesn't have a ****in position on the reintroduction of wolves because they have never had the time to take a position on the reintroduction of wolves because they have other things to do with literally ever other minute of their working lives

that would be better

and id say the same of any green party member, id expect better of any one of them than feeding into the dreamy impractical stereotype