Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Haha will do my best to get out saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Itziger

OOnegative wrote: »
    As long as it’s ran on Saturday(in Sweatlickers case, Sunday) there is no specific start time. Whenever suits you AM.

Can't be having this Sweatlicker Sunday $hite. He could be looking at results and gaining a crucial edge. If anything he should be made do it on Friday!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Itziger wrote: »
    Can't be having this Sweatlicker Sunday $hite. He could be looking at results and gaining a crucial edge. If anything he should be made do it on Friday!!!!

Lads make up your mind before I send him on training for the week. Got to know what day to schedule his sessions to make sure he doesn’t beat me :P

KSU wrote:
    Lads make up your mind before I send him on training for the week. Got to know what day to schedule his sessions to make sure he doesn’t beat me

Your target time is close to my PB!

We'll go with Saturday. Can't be getting an unfair advantage. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,491 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|Adjusted
    ReeReeG|F|22:30||
    Hedgehoggy|F35|20:30||
    career move|F35|21:20||
    laura_ac3|F35|||
    Laineyfrecks|F40|20:30||
    Sussex18|F40|22:00||
    ariana’|F40|23:30||
    Bluesquare|F40|25:00||
    Younganne|F45|28:00||
    Annie get your Run|F45|29:00||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    deconduo|M|24:00||
    pconn062|M|17:48||
    yiddo 1882|M|19:50||
    Dudda|M35|18:00||
    justdoit|M35|19:20||
    duffyshuffle|M35|19:59||
    healy1835|M35|17:05||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|17:59||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18:15||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|21:59||
    racersedge|M35|21:30||
    Lambay Island|M35|17:45||
    quick feet|M35|18:45||
    IvoryTower|M35|19:25||
    diego_b|M35|22:00||
    Dubh G|M35|17:59||
    dickidy|M35|||
    token56|M35|21:00||
    Clash City Rocker|M35|17:59||
    zico10|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    shotgunmcos|M40|19:47||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    average_runner|M40|21:20||
    Zebra3|M40|22:30||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    adrian522|M40|25:00||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    dangerous quack|M40|18:45||
    Treviso|M40|17:59||
    Lazare|M40|19:50||
    mister paul|M40|19:48||
    ofthelord|M40|21:00||
    Singer|M40|19:59||
    spc78|M40|17:45||
    Ecoenergy|M40|19:45||
    jamule|M45|17:45||
    krusty_clown|M45|17:30||
    coogy|M45|19:30||
    MrSkinny|M45|20:00||
    WubbleWubble|M45|21:30||
    Slow_Runner|M45|19:59||
    AuldManKing|M45|17:49||
    DeepBlue|M45|20:50||
    Sideswipe|M45|19:29||
    Kurt Godel|M45|21:00||
    ultrapercy|M45|16:59||
    Itziger|M50|18:30||
    skyblue46|M50|20:00||
    snailsong|M50|20:00||
    dna_leri|M50|17:30||
    MisterDrak|M50|20:50||
    Speedy44|M50|21:59||
    TFBubendorfer|M50|21:00||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    Murph_D|M55|21:00||
    Crisco10|M|19:10||
    wookiesleep|M40|19:45||
    MisterJinx|M40`
    Pherekydes|M60|32:00||

A club virtual one mile TT today hasn’t raised my confidence levels. I’ll be lucky to do 21 mins next week, unless I pick a very favourable course (and maybe I will!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭diego_b

Just a suggestion, given the fine effort in setting this up is there a gofundme or anything we could throw give a few euro to. That corona thread has been an awful nasty thing at times but this virtual race thread is great. Suspect it’ll be the only kind of racing we’ll have for a while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭spc78

Murph_D wrote: »
    +1 to that. PB or recent race means little.

I’m certain I can’t recreate a race atmosphere out on the deserted hills of SW Donegal! Maybe I can convince myself I’m somehow leading the pack somewhere like Sligo parkrun and desperately trying to hang on.

Yep....I've always found I'm 30-45sec slower in a parkrun than road race so expect solo TT to bring that up to current road race fitness plus 1min i.e f I solo'd 17:30 i would be confident of 16:30 in a flat road race a week later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Is it a start/ finish at approximately the same place, kind of deal? I was going to head out 2.5kms on one of my local country backroads (it curves conveniently, just about inside the 2km) and then come back the same way to complete the 5k.

There's another local stretch where I could run 5km entirely downhill, but I'd have considered that to be bad form.

Is it a start/ finish at approximately the same place, kind of deal? I was going to head out 2.5kms on one of my local country backroads (it curves conveniently, just about inside the 2km) and then come back the same way to complete the 5k.

There's another local stretch where I could run 5km entirely downhill, but I'd have considered that to be bad form.

I think it’s bad form too, but apparently it’s allowed. We had a club teams TT yesterday and the rule was net zero elevation. But the idea here is just to have fun, I’ve been told more than once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Any route goes, be it completely downhill or otherwise. As Murph said it’s a bit of fun but I’ll be using it as some kind of gauge to fitness so will be using a looped route myself.

We'll also be using route choice as a gauge of people's integrity......... anything goes but we will think less of you ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

diego_b wrote: »
    Just a suggestion, given the fine effort in setting this up is there a gofundme or anything we could throw give a few euro to. That corona thread has been an awful nasty thing at times but this virtual race thread is great. Suspect it’ll be the only kind of racing we’ll have for a while yet.

This is a great idea. I'd throw some money into it to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Feed The Heroes is what I donated to when this all kicked off. https://feedtheheroes.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭EnPassant

laura_ac3|F35|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    zico10|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    EnPassant|M55|23:14||
    MisterJinx|M40`

Predicted 23:14 which corresponds to 19.59 adjusted - at least it is a target to aim for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Any route goes, be it completely downhill or otherwise. As Murph said it’s a bit of fun but I’ll be using it as some kind of gauge to fitness so will be using a looped route myself.

Hi B.Couple of stupid questions,to annoy you with.Doe's it have to be loops,our can you just go out the door,jog 2k up the road,then go balls,out 5k in one direction?
    How would someone, that has not a clue,how to use strava,post up the time's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Why is everyone trying to guilt me into not cheating

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I think it’s bad form too, but apparently it’s allowed. We had a club teams TT yesterday and the rule was net zero elevation. But the idea here is just to have fun, I’ve been told more than once!

I think my route will end up an equal balance of up and down overall, my biggest problem is that the out section is mostly up so I'll be totally banjaxed by the time I turn around and won't be able to take advantage of the downhill return!! Have considered driving out to the turn around point and running 5K from there for a mostly downhill route but I'd only be kidding myself. I'm gonna use this as a measure of where I'm at, get my current max HR and start doing some proper training so I'll be in better shape for the next one :).

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Hi B.Couple of stupid questions,to annoy you with.Doe's it have to be loops,our can you just go out the door,jog 2k up the road,then go balls,out 5k in one direction?

Jog 2k up the road then balls out 5k is grand J, whatever suits you best. Re Strava if your on it and join the 5k TT group your time will show up automatically.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Feed The Heroes is what I donated to when this all kicked off. https://feedtheheroes.com

Great idea, this is a fantastic service and appreciated by so many.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Sussex18

I now think 22:30 would be more likely than 22 minutes. Normally I'd be good to break 22 but haven't much speedwork done lately and not sure how well I'll be able to race on an open road and without support.

Of course it will be all good for me and the effort will 'bring me on' or rather 'bring me back' a bit 🙂.

Not sure yet exactly of my route, well I know in general but not sure where exactly it will start and end.

Will probably try to warm up first and do it at maybe 6.30 something like that, when the roads are nearly entirely clear 🙂

Jog 2k up the road then balls out 5k is grand J, whatever suits you best. Re Strava if your on it and join the 5k TT group your time will show up automatically.
    Sound b.Ball's out it is so,in one direction.Not on strava.A bit too tech savy,for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

laura_ac3|F35|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    zico10|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    EnPassant|M55|23:14||
    MisterJinx|M40`
    PaulieYifter|M45|18:45||

Weather and tightness of grass will determine course choice and therefore the outcome

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Picked up what I suspect is shin splints 2 weeks ago so I've been taking it easy doing cycling instead of running. Tried an easy 5k today and was reasonably ok, though definitely still felt a little niggle. Hopefully will be on form for next weekend.

To be honest I think this initiative is way oversubscribed and having difficulty spending the money. I'll happily donate elsewhere though - plenty of other charities are struggling.

Not sure of the significance of the 2k jog then head off in any direction. Presume everyone is trying to keep the entire run within 2k radius? I am, hence very restricted route choice!

Sound b.Ball's out it is so,in one direction.Not on strava.A bit too tech savy,for me.

If I can use it J any eejit can!!!

Not sure of the significance of the 2k jog then head off in any direction. Presume everyone is trying to keep the entire run within 2k radius? I am, hence very restricted route choice!

I will jog a warmup of 2.5k up from my house.Then run 2.5k to my house,and 2.5k past my house.If the cops wana arrest me for being half a k past the allowed distance,so be it.

If I can use it J any eejit can!!!

Ha.Seriously b,i am useless with this sort of stuff.My 5 year old,mite be able to sort it,for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

IvoryTower wrote: »
    Why is everyone trying to guilt me into not cheating

If its dry 7 laps of m'view, if not its downhill starting from the motorway-funtasia-mary st and finish on the ramparts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

jamule wrote: »
    If its dry 7 laps of m'view, if not its downhill starting from the motorway-funtasia-mary st and finish on the ramparts

I will struggle in Meadowview, dry or not...thats an interesting route though hadn't thought of that

Race day rules:

1. Run 3.10 per your Garmin at least, anything below, tree excuses or otherwise will not be acceptable.
    2. Route, run whatever route you can under current conditions, lads/ladies running downhill routes are w@nkers!!
    3. You can run your TT from 12am to 11.59pm, whenever suits you. shotgunmcos stay in bed till after 4am FFS at least!!
    4. Vaporflys are legal but like the downhill rule, yes you’re a w@nker.
    5. There are no prizes, T-shirt’s or fookin medals so don’t be melting my head asking about same.
    6. Earphones are allowed but again your a w@nker!
    7. Use of children as pacers on a bike is seriously frowned on, Itzi we know your old but your better than that!!
    8. Butterbeans, average_runner, ClashCityRocker & sideswipe no real names ye don’t count, I’ve asked politely on more than one occasion for a name. If some lad is licking yer window in a few weeks it sure as hell isn’t me!!
    9. Thank you all for the response, I reckoned when I put up the original post that if I got 15 responses it was a good result. Best of luck to you all next Saturday, If sh!t gets tough, think of those parents, sons, daughters, loved ones you haven’t seen in weeks.
    10. Fook off!!

See ye all next Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Based on that there will be 40/50 w@nkers on Saturday!

How about I set up a GoFundMe page with the proceeds going to LittleBlueHeroes (pls google cannot create a link)?

All I ask is ye donate €5 a head and I will in turn send a customised Boards 5kTT bottle opener as shown on Strava free of charge with a name and address?

Opinions pls?

5k is 3.11 miles rounded (3.107). Anyone running 3.10 (even if it’s legal) is a w@nker too in my book. :D

Set up your watch for 5k or 3.11 miles.

5k is 3.11 miles rounded (3.107). Anyone running 3.10 (even if it’s legal) is a w@nker too in my book. :D

Set up your watch for 5k or 3.11 miles.

Hence I said 3.10 at LEAST, you’ve ran 5k races at 3.09 and above like myself. 3.10 is the MINIMUM distance asked.

Jeez D your getting contrary like the natives since ye emigrated.........

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

So for the scarf wearing new Europeans that jumped on the metric bandwagon have to change their watch settings to miles?

Also can you start at 11:50pm on Sat night and finish after midnight, same goes if your really really slow and don't finish until after midnight Sun night, will these count?

Asking for a friend ðŸ˜

How about I set up a GoFundMe page with the proceeds going to LittleBlueHeroes (pls google cannot create a link)?

All I ask is ye donate €5 a head and I will in turn send a customised Boards 5kTT bottle opener as shown on Strava free of charge with a name and address?

Opinions pls?

Sounds good, B.

https://www.littleblueheroes.org/

So for the scarf wearing new Europeans that jumped on the metric bandwagon have to change their watch settings to miles?

Also can you start at 11:50pm on Sat night and finish after midnight, same goes if your really really slow and don't finish until after midnight Sun night, will these count?

Asking for a friend ðŸ˜

No cause I’m one of those new European’s you speak of, your run may be at 5.30am but I’m up at 4.30am to equal you!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Treviso

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Based on that there will be 40/50 w@nkers on Saturday!

Will have to add a minute to my predicted time in that case.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Opinions pls?

Please go ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

No cause I’m one of those new European’s you speak of, your run may be at 5.30am but I’m up at 4.30am to equal you!!!

How about compression socks?

Hence I said 3.10 at LEAST, you’ve ran 5k races at 3.09 and above like myself. 3.10 is the MINIMUM distance asked.

Jeez D your getting contrary like the natives since ye emigrated.........

Ah but other races are measured by other people. We have to trust the watch (or treadmill) for this one and just run until the 5k beeps. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭diego_b

Opinions pls?

Go for it!

12x400m @6min pace done this morning, with a 60 second recovery. Now all I need to do is string them all together on Saturday........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Treviso wrote: »
    12x400m @6min pace done this morning, with a 60 second recovery. Now all I need to do is string them all together on Saturday........

-15/20 seconds, yeah? ;)

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    -15/20 seconds, yeah? ;)

The Vaporflys take care of that Damo, you know yourself

Just a warning to anyone tempted to run their TT in stages inbetween breathers with the clock stopped - this will show up in Strava :)

https://twitter.com/stravawankers

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Just a warning to anyone tempted to run their TT in stages inbetween breathers with the clock stopped - this will show up in Strava :)

https://twitter.com/stravawankers

There have been some classics on that feed over the last week :pac:

skyblue46 wrote: »
    There have been some classics on that feed over the last week :pac:

I know. That account alone has kept me entertained for hours recently!