Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

One thing about this crisis, it just shows how absolutely petrified by death we all are. Doesn’t matter if you’re 90 or 40, once you reach the age where the tho7ht of mortality becomes a part of your immediate future, we will do everything to stop it, including shutting down whole economies leading to economic catastrophe so a 90 year old can live a few more months in a nursing home.

We shouldn’t fear death, will come to us all but humanity acts as if death is not a universal experience. Just have to hope there is something beyond.

Oh shut up you heartless twit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭Speak Now

kingtiger wrote: »
    €500 on the spot fine for people who don't have a valid reason to be out

Sure you only have to say you're going to the shops, they'll be no fines.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

tromtipp wrote: »
    Don't know about phones but I used diluted bleach yesterday on a 'new' laptop and it hasn't harmed it (took care not to let wetness get into the innards). Went to the laptop repair shop in response to an 'emergency' - in another world. I'm so glad I went for a reconditioned replacement, now that this phase of the lockdown has landed. Wondered at the time was my feeling I wanted to avoid going back into town a bit ott.

For clothes, you'd be better to wash them - soap and water is the BEST cleanser. If you're staying at home, wearing easily washable things shouldn't be a problem.

I know it's best to wash clothes. What I meant was is there anything else to use other than bleach for disinfecting surfaces. I always manage to get bleach on my clothes and it ruins them. I've been colouring in bleach stains on my clothes with permanent markers to try and fix the bleach stains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

One thing about this crisis, it just shows how absolutely petrified by death we all are. Doesn’t matter if you’re 90 or 40, once you reach the age where the tho7ht of mortality becomes a part of your immediate future, we will do everything to stop it, including shutting down whole economies leading to economic catastrophe so a 90 year old can live a few more months in a nursing home.

We shouldn’t fear death, will come to us all but humanity acts as if death is not a universal experience. Just have to hope there is something beyond.

It's not about allowing a 90 year old a few more months in a nursing home. This virus doesn't understand age. It's coming after all of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Oh shut up you heartless twit.

1. I wouldn’t want to be in a nursing home
    2. If I was 90 I would be scared but accept that I’ve had a long and good life and probably would want to be out of said nursing home

How do you know I’m heartless. Humanity does act as if death won’t come to us all. And that’s what Has stood out to me from all of this. Doesn’t mean it isn’t sad or tragic or that ai want people to die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,621 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wouldn’t ya just love to see the cops here adopt the Indian approach and start beating young ones with sticks 😂 then charge to watch the videos would pay for all this mess😂

So much porn on the internet and you want to **** to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,947 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Tokyo on the brink of explosive outbreak
    The governor of Tokyo has again urged people to refrain from non-essential outings, warning that the capital is at a critical juncture in preventing an explosive spread of the coronavirus.

Yuriko Koike made the appeal as she reported 40 new cases in Tokyo on Friday. The Japanese capital has seen 40 or more new patients for three straight days.

She said the figure reaffirmed that the metropolis is on the brink of a sudden surge in the number of cases.

https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/news/20200327_37/

Speak Now wrote: »

100%, from the force that couldn't process penalty points ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I know it's best to wash clothes. What I meant was is there anything else to use other than bleach for disinfecting surfaces. I always manage to get bleach on my clothes and it ruins them. I've been colouring in bleach stains on my clothes with permanent markers to try and fix the bleach stains.

Hydrogen peroxide works as well, but that'll **** up your clothes.

Formaldehyde as well.

Or wear an apron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

khalessi wrote: »
    UK are overrun
    Maybe so now, but the UK can and will create more ICU beds.
    Ireland can not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

yes, flights to and from UK still happening anyway

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What is the problem that people have? What is a natural death or a good way to die?
    Massive coronary just after I've shot my bolt into a Russian lingerie model. While off my tits on goofballs.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Speak Now wrote: »

Aye just got stopped by the Gardai, told them I was going to the Chemist, was actually just popping to the Supermarket for a shop, fair play to them for asking, but there's not much they can do if you just say Pharmacy or Supermarket. Unless they pull you over on the M50 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

An online friend of mine in America with terminal brain cancer got this letter from her hospital. She’s 40. I hope things don’t get bad in her home state and that she doesn’t catch coronavirus. Shit like that is just so scary. To see it written starkly like that is so shocking. I understand the rationale but holy living fuck. And she’s a pretty long-term survivor so she could have a few more years left.

768-C27-CB-DA0-C-4665-84-E0-EC751-FEA5-ACD.jpg?dl=1

:(

otnomart wrote: »
    Ireland can not.

Why not?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Massive coronary just after I've shot my bolt into a Russian lingerie model. While off my tits on goofballs.

Hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Me too.

Do you live in my house?

Ermmm...looking around anxiously...

Panic over actually. When I looked at the map I never checked to see how accurately it had placed my location. When I corrected the...er...epicentre...I was grand.

"Oh I do like to be beside the seaside..."

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Dettol?

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

You've put alot of thought into this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Ireland can not.

We can, plenty of places for them and we will have to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Steer55

Ireland can not.

How can they, without a constant supply of the much needed ventilators it's not much use having an ICU bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

You are Tyrion Lannister and I claim my five pounds. :)

Went for my test earlier. Have seen Gardai out this morning carrying out checks on people who are out and about. On the way back went through a checkpoint - they were stopping everyone on the road- drivers, cyclists, runners, walkers.

I just put the window down a crack and held up my mask in front of my mouth and said I was on the way back from the test. “Grand, take care”.

Didn’t catch the conversations they were having with others.

All in all I was glad to be seeing it policed in some way.

Well that all we fecking need now. Traffic backed up and a Guard spreading the love to each and every one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,292 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Boggles wrote: »
    So much porn on the internet and you want to **** to that?

Go easy on him. He's been locked up at home for 2 weeks. He's already finished all the regular porn stuff

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Are we sure this privatized medicine is the right course for Ireland ?
    No, it most certainly isn't but some in the insurance and medical industries would love to replicate the price gouging utter bastards of the American model elsewhere.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭lillycakes2

the over 70's , are they not allowed go for a walk on a country road?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

1) We are not all petrified by death. I'm not. It happens to all of us.
    2) Based on UK figures, the average 90 year old man can expect another 4.1 years of life and woman, 4.7 years of life. That's way more than just a "few more months in a nursing home".
    3) Nobody acts like death is not a universal experience. People are acting like they want to keep as many people alive as possible. If the hospitals are full of covid19 patients, how do you expect people with other diseases and turns to be treated? Or are you actually suggesting that everyone ill with covid19 should be just left somewhere to die without treatment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

We will of course fear death when it is somewhat preventable and it's long before our time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

1. I wouldn’t want to be in a nursing home
    2. If I was 90 I would be scared but accept that I’ve had a long and good life and probably would want to be out of said nursing home

How do you know I’m heartless. Humanity does act as if death won’t come to us all. And that’s what Has stood out to me from all of this. Doesn’t mean it isn’t sad or tragic or that ai want people to die

Believe it or not most people want to see their 90 year old relatives live. And most 90 year old's want to see their grand-kids move through life.

I have a relative close to 90 still full of life ,who still does some farming and makes the point of buying himself a brand new car every year. The farming keeps him going.

There are some extraordinarily fit and healthy elderly out there. These people gave so much to the country during their lives, so treat them with the dignity they deserve.

No.

People saying we should sign a deal with the UK to take some of our patients when it's more likely we'd end up having to import some of the herd.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Inquitus wrote: »
    Aye just got stopped by the Gardai, told them I was going to the Chemist, was actually just popping to the Supermarket for a shop, fair play to them for asking, but there's not much they can do if you just say Pharmacy or Supermarket. Unless they pull you over on the M50 :)

Yeah they shouldn't bother otherwise anyway, control the parking spots out near the beaches and walks and parks, that's the whole point of it and where any excuse won't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

So the poor lady is being triaged even before she reaches the hospital !

A lot of Americans have their health insurance tied to their employment. With the current downturn, the loss of the job also means loss of health insurance and an average bill of $35,000 for Covid treatment.

If ICU is involved in the treatment the cost becomes astronomical for the average individual.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/mar/27/coronavirus-pandemic-americans-health-insurance

Ever since Mary Harney started the rush to private medicine in this country, the number of private hospitals has mushroomed and the public hospitals have been starved of resources.

Are we sure this privatized medicine is the right course for Ireland ?

Personally, I know my own answer to that. But I think after all of this nonsense is over, others may be having a serious rethink about privatised health care.

Good point. Didn’t think about it like that. Get the whole at capacity and it’s not just people with Corona Virus who are suffering(even said so much in the last thread) but deducting my argument to its natural end I’m left with deciding whether I believe someone critical with Corona should be left untreated which I obviously don’t.

THey are advised to cocoon so to speak but what they choose to do is up to them once its withing 2km radius of their house apart from shopping and medicine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Steer55

Well that all we fecking need now. Traffic backed up and a Guard spreading the love to each and every one.

Hope they all carry battons so they can hammer the spitters out there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

A 90 year old can live a few more months in a nursing home?

Do you realize a young 16 year old died in France? Australia is diagnosing coronavirus in kids, seems like they aren't immune after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

This seems to be the case.
    Shielding, or cocooning, is to be introduced for everyone over 70 years of age and other vulnerable categories of people, effectively requiring them to stay at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭jams100

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Yes, yes we do.

Still thickos out running, cycling, going to the off licence etc..

What is the problem with running?
    Many people keep saying that, it is allowed like.
    For mental health alone people should try get out and do 1 walk a day unless in the vulnerable category. My feeling is that this is going to go on for a lot more than 2 weeks anyway

A 90 year old can live a few more months in a nursing home?

Do you realize a young 16 year old died in France? Australia is diagnosing coronavirus in kids, seems like they aren't immune after all.

You really need to swap usernames with that muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,652 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

My brother in law sent me this, a little bit of humour, probably has been posted here about 500 times but what the hell here it is again.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

jams100 wrote: »
    What is the problem with running?
    Many people keep saying that, it is allowed like.
    For mental health alone people should try get out and do 1 walk a day unless in the vulnerable category. My feeling is that this is going to go on for a lot more than 2 weeks anyway
    Observe all the guidelines and that 2km limit and you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Just a thought -

Would decompression units, as used by divers, assist breathing for people with respiratory problems?

There may be quite a few of these units around, the navy, garda divers, commercial divers, sports divers, etc. surely have access in case of emergency

Bear in mind that these units allow for various mixes so oxygen level could be increased

We could always take the South African approach:

"South African police enforcing a coronavirus lockdown have fired rubber bullets towards hundreds of shoppers queueing outside a supermarket in Johannesburg, an AFP photographer has said."

Guardian blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭dan786

For those asking about construction:

In a statement, the Construction Industry Federation said all members should secure construction sites immediately and construction workers should stay at home.

It recommended that CIF members sending teams to secure sites should call ahead to gardaí to inform them.

The CIF said it is ready to help combat Covid-19 in any way possible and will continue to engage with the Government and the HSE to explore ways the industry can contribute.

Inquitus wrote: »

How did they approach you, as a matter of interest? Did they say not to open your window or were they 2m back from you?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Why would we want to import UK cases? They're heading for a catastrophic situation. We have enough to deal with here with our own cases.

Ireland is also heading into a catastrophic situation. The amount of people on this thread who can't see that is very sizeable. WHO have said closing airports at this stage will not make any difference. UK already help Ireland with medical issues severe cases in the past have been airlifted to Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital in London.

Just a thought -

Would decompression units, as used by divers, assist breathing for people with respiratory problems?

There may be quite a few of these units around, the navy, garda divers, commercial divers, sports divers, etc. surely have access in case of emergency

Bear in mind that these units allow for various mixes so oxygen level could be increased

I was wondering about the use of Cystic Fibrosis drugs to help move the fluid off the lungs but I presuming that theyve thought of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Why not?
    You can just not compare the resources that the UK has, vs the resources that Ireland has.
    I will just name the UK armed forces, they have got medics, can built camp hospitals...
    And the industrial sector in the UK.

There is a a consortium called Ventilator Challenge UK, involving companies including Airbus, Rolls-Royce and Ford.
    Ireland just does not have all these industrial plants on its soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

Nextstrain is visualising data from the GISAID Initiative - the international sharing of virus sequences https://www.gisaid.org/
    Today, one more sequence from Ireland has been posted in Nextstrain, for a total of 5 sequences: 3 from Limerick, one from Dublin, one from Cork
    https://nextstrain.org/ncov?f_country=Ireland

Iceland put their virus genome sequences up today.

334 of them! That's over a third of the cases recorded to date.

With that level of coverage they can actually begin to see who's passing it to whom from the sequence alone, so it potentially becomes a useful tool for linking cases when doing contact tracing.

https://nextstrain.org/ncov?f_country=Iceland&l=radial&m=div&p=full