Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiger King [Netflix]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,616 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Did any of you consider, even for a nanosecond, how 'merica would have been, had Joe become President instead of DJT?
    Did it even fleetingly pass through your mind?
    Anyone?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

johnnykilo wrote: »
    I went down a bit of a rabbit hole last night and watched the Rick Kirkham self-made documentary "TV Junkie". It's every bit as depraved as Tiger King TBH.

Obviously there's that clip in one of the early episodes of Tiger King where Bill O'Reilly introduces him as a reporter in some earlier gig which piqued my interested. He's also made to come across as something of the voice of reason in Tiger King but to me he had a sort of Hunter S. Thompson vibe off him which I needed to investigate further :pac:

It's 90 minutes long, not particularly well shot, and not an easy watch so be warned!!! But if you're looking for some tangential information on one of the ancillary characters it's definitely interesting, particularly as an in your face study of addiction. Makes me wonder did he relapse again during his breakdown after all the Joe Exotic footage got burned in the fire.

Yea I watched this last night, its a good watch , and answers some questions about him but still wondering what happened after it ended to when he got to the park.
    Hes an interesting man , fairplay on recording everything, he had his vices and should never had a family. It shows how bad drugs are. He looked to be very sucessfull and burned the candle at both ends and it blew up in his face.

Def worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Utterly batshít crazy and so funny in places. But if you believe more than 20% of it's contents are true or not twisted then you haven't copped onto Netflix's "documentaries" yet

Baskin has refuted every single claim made against her (in a link in this thread I believe) and I'm leaning towards her telling the truth

Don't believe Netflix's documentaries are full of shíte? Then you need to Google what they left out of Making A Murderer and how they flat out lied with their Game Changers vegetarian diet documentary.

They're the Daily Mail of documentary makers. Even if they don't "make" them all in house, they always sign up ones that are 80% lies or exagerattion

Take them as light entertainment, but don't go online then ranting about how X or Y is guilty or not. Anyone who knows how to use Google (and their brain) is just laughing at you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Lemlin wrote: »
    No, instead she exploits poorly educated people by manipulating them into free labour via some ridiculous t-shirt system where they can earn upgrades depending on how much they “volunteer”.

She is like a champagne socialist politician - preaches something but her actions show the opposite. She is exploiting the animals and people as much as possible.

I’d love to see stats on how many of her “rescued” animals make it back to the wild or anywhere near it.

Note that it was never said how many hours a week they volunteer. Maybe they do crazy hours but find me the part of the documentary that says that. The hours at Joe’s and Doc’s were listed and then Carole’s volunteers were mentioned alongside that, which I thought was a bit sneaky. Every animal sanctuary and shelter has volunteers. I don’t really any mention of the education levels of her volunteers either.

As for how many of her animals being returned to wild, I’d be surprised if any had. Big cats raised in captivity can’t be returned to the wild usually or at least it hasn’t proven to be very successful. So the idea is to give them a decent life in captivity ie. not being mauled and paraded around in roadshows. And not producing more when you don’t know how to do it properly. This documentary was really poor on explaining the animal husbandry stuff but I guess it wasn’t the focus.

I watched all of Tiger King but lost interest around the middle. I think it is badly made to be honest. The interviews are edited to extend and somewhat confuse. There are a lot of stupid people in this series which tends to get nauseating. I would not recommend it really.

The last few episodes barely held my attention. There’s only so much crazy you can take and pretty much every contributor was an unreliable narrator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

No petting or roadshows. For that alone, it’s better. Cubs aren’t bred as money-makers either. No inbreeding. I wish the documentary had gone into this more but just mating big cats with no consideration of subspecies and genetics is really bad animal husbandry and can produce big cats with health problems due to inbreeding. Then there was the fact that Doc was spending more than double what Joe was a year on feeding the tigers. Are Joe’s tigers given proper nutrition considering his cost-cutting efforts? I’d have my doubts. Joe was also mocking how few big cats Carole had but that’s kind of the point surely? Not to be producing more unless it can be done properly.

It's obvious the producers wanted to make Carole into a "bad guy" and it worked, as you can see a lot of the people on here dislike her more than a degenerate like Joe.

Reminds me of this

Just like the making a murdered "documentary" convincing people Steven Avery was innocent but I guess ten hours of propaganda is gonna influence a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I didn’t see any real bias at all lads. They’re all pretty much horrible. I think that’s the point. Joe’s awful. Carol’s awful. Jeff’s awful and that creep in Carolina is the worst of them all

That they all disliked their portrayal apart from egomaniac convict Joe is no surprise

Dodge wrote: »
    I didn’t see any real bias at all lads. They’re all pretty much horrible. I think that’s the point. Joe’s awful. Carol’s awful. Jeff’s awful and that creep in Carolina is the worst of them all

That they all disliked their portrayal apart from egomaniac convict Joe is no surprise

But stuff like “Carole is the worst!” is interesting (and has been said a lot). She’s suspected of having something to do with her husband’s disappearance. But everyone asked about it in the documentary was partial and not under oath. Meanwhile Joe has a conviction for murder for hire, a conviction for violations of the Endangered Species Act. Then we have the accounts of people working for him.

The grounds for Carole being worse are usually cited as her being a hypocrite but there are fairly big differences between her park and Joe’s. No roadshows, no producing cubs as cash cows, no mauling them. Somebody upthread asked if any of her big cats had ever even been released into the wild. That alone just shows how uninformative this documentary was on the animal welfare side of things. Big cats raised in captivity can’t be released into the wild. It’s been very unsuccessful to try. So these sanctuaries just try to give them a decent life but they will always be in captivity.

Then people have said even (on this thread) that she has her volunteers working crazy hours. I waited for that to be confirmed in the documentary but it never was. Joe’s and Doc’s workers said the hours they were working and somehow those got transferred over to Carole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,081 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Dodge wrote: »

This 100%.

What I found amazing and horrifying in equal measure , was how easy it is for so many fcuked up people to be in possession of these beautiful animals . Seriously, how the he'll does that happen ? Call it a Sanctuary and off you go ?

Add drugs and guns into the equation and it's a recipe for disaster .
    Was it Jeff that was punching the white tiger/liger, whatever it was in the head ?
    Saying that the whole thing is bat**** crazy given the circumstances we're in at the moment might be in bad taste , but it truly is madness . Imo .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

But stuff like “Carole is the worst!” is interesting (and has been said a lot). She’s suspected of having something to do with her husband’s disappearance. But everyone asked about it in the documentary was partial and not under oath. Meanwhile Joe has a conviction for murder for hire, a conviction for violations of the Endangered Species Act. Then we have the accounts of people working for him.

The grounds for Carole being worse are usually cited as her being a hypocrite but there are fairly big differences between her park and Joe’s. No roadshows, no producing cubs as cash cows, no mauling them. Somebody upthread asked if any of her big cats had ever even been released into the wild. That alone just shows how uninformative this documentary was on the animal welfare side of things. Big cats raised in captivity can’t be released into the wild. It’s been very unsuccessful to try. So these sanctuaries just try to give them a decent life but they will always be in captivity.

Then people have said even (on this thread) that she has her volunteers working crazy hours. I waited for that to be confirmed in the documentary but it never was. Joe’s and Doc’s workers said the hours they were working and somehow those got transferred over to Carole.
    who cares they are all weirdo's who are getting far too much attention

MD1990 wrote: »
    who cares they are all weirdo's who are getting far too much attention

You make a good point. None of these shams deserve the oxygen of publicity. Not a single solitary one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

I remember the Louis Theroux interview. Yer man said if he ever went bankrupt, he’d “euthanise” every animal he had rather than give them up.

They should never have given that wanker any publicity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I think that's quite a generous portrayal of Carol Baskin. Whether she's best/worst of a very bad bunch, her place still looks awful for the cats that are in it. You could argue that if she was genuinely concerned about the cats that she'd look too have them shipped to some animal sanctuary in Africa, rather than having them in cramped cages.

I don’t know why you would put an animal through that to park them at another sanctuary. They wouldn’t even be able to be released to safari parks as the animals there are wild. So that just seems like an empty gesture. Florida has a warm climate too.

To be honest, we didn’t get a good enough look at any of the facilities. Her one, or Joe’s and Doc’s. They showed a feeder thing at Carole’s filmed by Joe but he was portraying that as where the cats were held permanently. From the air, the facility looked huge. I didn’t really get much of a sense of the living conditions of the cats at any of the facilities. All of them were light on detail in that regard. So we only have solid facts (like convictions) and the accounts of the owners and their workers to go on. And I’ve pointed out omissions by the filmmakers that nobody has been able to refute. What I do know is that Carole’s sanctuary is a registered charity. It has a very good rating. Now, I don’t put all my trust in the government there. We know charities can be crooked whilst seeming legit. But we were never told any of this. I guess I’m just annoyed at the lack of attention given to the animal side of things but I have to keep reminding myself that this was really about people, not animals.

I’d also like to take another opportunity to say fuck Jeff Lowe.

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    I remember the Louis Theroux interview. Yer man said if he ever went bankrupt, he’d “euthanise” every animal he had rather than give them up.

They should never have given that wanker any publicity.

I shouldn’t have but I laughed numerous times during the Louis documentary. The reason being Louis’s head when he was being handed wild animals to hold or being made to stand near unrestrained big cats. Now, his reactions were totally normal and exactly how I’d be but he just has a funny head on him. :pac:

I’m still traumatised by the story from Louis’s documentary about a woman getting her face ripped off by a chimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Did any of you consider, even for a nanosecond, how 'merica would have been, had Joe become President instead of DJT?
    Did it even fleetingly pass through your mind?
    Anyone?:o

No but Joe Exotic actually running for President reminded me of the same stunt that Trump pulled in the 1980s/90s when he said he was running for President but then never did. He did it for publicity and 'Brand Trump', it got him on to Oprah and a whole host of other shows but when it came to the crunch he pulled out. Id imagine it was the same for Joe Exotic, it was all just a publicity stunt to feed his ego and promote his name & business.

We had the same stunt pulled here in the last Presidential contest with the Dragons Den lads all running, two of them had no actual interest in that job but were doing it to promote their own personal brand. iirc it was said it only costs around 50k to actually run. 50k would barely get you a couple of 30 second TV ads during a prime time show but if you use it to run for President you will get your face on national tv every single day for around a month. Out of that comes business opportunities, thats why they did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,912 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Hard to say who's the biggest creep on the show but I'll go for the following:

1. Jeff Lowe
    2. Doc Antle
    3. Fat jet ski guy

Honourable mentions to bald would-be hitman and Joe himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Finished it yesterday awful outcome! 22 years?! For what? Being an absolute legend?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

say what you want about Jeff Lowe but he is punching well above his weight on the partner front. His missus is stunning, how did he manage to snare such a beauty??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,912 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

donfers wrote: »
    say what you want about Jeff Lowe but he is punching well above his weight on the partner front. His missus is stunning, how did he manage to snare such a beauty??

By the looks of things Jeff's modus operandi is the classic "Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Finished it yesterday awful outcome! 22 years?! For what? Being an absolute legend?

Legend? Absolute tool.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Orbital, Supergrass

NDWC wrote: »
    By the looks of things Jeff's modus operandi is the classic "Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen"

The scene in the final episode with Jeff and his heavily pregnant wife searching the internet for an au pair with big tits was a real WTF moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Penfailed wrote: »
    Legend? Absolute tool.

some "hick" built the largest private zoo in the world, you are surprised when a murdering snake like Carole Baskin, tries to ruin him, that he doesnt take it lying down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Doodah7

some "hick" built the largest private zoo in the world, you are surprised when a murdering snake like Carole Baskin, tries to ruin him, that he doesnt take it lying down?

Murdering snake?? Any proof for that Joe?

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Stewball

Finished it last night.
    A shower of bastards and barely a brain cell between them.
    Delighted Joe got 22 years - hopefully Lowe ends up in there with him eventually.

Carol Baskin ran rings around the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Stewball wrote: »
    Finished it last night.
    A shower of bastards and barely a brain cell between them.
    Delighted Joe got 22 years - hopefully Lowe ends up in there with him eventually.

Carol Baskin ran rings around the lot of them.

Not sure I'd fully agree with that comment about Baskin.

I think she just made less mistakes than the others did, and took her chances when they came about. Exotic was able to get in behind her defences a couple of times to land a couple of blows, but in general Baskin had a much more solid defence and waited for the opposition to slip up. You have to hand it to Baskin's husband though, his tactics were spot on. May not be the most likeable of fellas, but has shown he can set his team up to be solid and counter the opposition when the opportunities arise.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭robwen

Carole also had the big advantage of being a millionaire

Ah...sure forget about the animal cruelty, the drug taking, the polygamy, the bullying, etc., etc. Legend? Nah.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,074 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I was thinking throughout it, what was the reason Jeff Lowe got involved in the program.

I couldn't understand it. By the end I figured it was to try to use as some sort of future defence against any prosecution through claiming everyone is prejudiced from having seen him on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,579 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Louis Theroux: America's Most Dangerous Pets, including his visit with Joe Exotic, is on BBC2 tonight at 2150

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,980 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Nice Cage to play Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Carole Baskin awarded control of Joe Exotic's zoo in trademark dispute. :eek:

Jeff Lowe must vacate the property. LOL. This will send Joe daft but at least the animals have a chance at not being mauled anymore.

Netflix could make a second season based on this news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

From what I read elsewhere, she only now owns the property. Jeff's new facility that he'd started building at the end of the show is pretty much ready to go and they were planning on moving there anyway, so all the animals will just end up there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

wonder was jeff working for carole baskin along ?

I wonder where all Joes employees will end up, they were some bunch of misfits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

https://variety.com/2020/tv/news/florida-sheriff-confirms-will-forged-carole-baskin-husband-1234624459/

So Carole baskins husband's will was forged seemingly....nothing dodgy about that at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Doff

Yeah, season 2 is definitely happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Channel 4 at 10pm tonight:
    America's Animal Hoarder: Horror at the Zoo

Documentary telling the story of Terry Thompson, who released his collection of exotic animals onto the streets of Zanesville, Ohio, before killing himself in October 2011. The authorities were forced to shoot 48 of the dangerous creatures, including tigers, lions and bears, to bring the situation under control. Only six animals survived, and were taken to a local zoo. This film, first shown as part of the True Stories strand, explores the events in Thompson's past that led up to the incident, and includes interviews with the police officers involved.

Penn wrote: »
    From what I read elsewhere, she only now owns the property. Jeff's new facility that he'd started building at the end of the show is pretty much ready to go and they were planning on moving there anyway, so all the animals will just end up there now.

Oh. Shite. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,856 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Jimmy Saveeel, lol.

That's hilarious. People can pay to get Carole Baskin to read out a birthday greeting. Someone played a blinder there :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

Trump just pardoned him, madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,553 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Jesus.... Reality star pardons reality star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,007 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Netflix have season 2 material right there if he does get that pardon or if he doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Joe's gor his priorities right Sort the hair out first :)

https://twitter.com/KOCOPerris/status/1351347509797527554?s=19

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Not yet he hasn't, but it does seem that Joe has a good chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,553 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Bill Ponderosa

#FAKENEWS