Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Checks

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The checkpoint on the M4 has been there all day. Like since early this morning till at least an hour ago a friend of mine was stopped.

They are certainly not messing about. I've been stopped more in the last two weeks than in my entire life.

Looking right now on the M4, N2, N7, N11, M1. Anyone coming in or out of Dublin is getting stopped at this point.

Some of these checkpoints are going to be fixed there for the weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Says who ?

it is clear this thing is the most contagious thing we have ever come across.

Outlined in daily briefings and by all the medical experts within government and I’m pretty sure it’s on the HSE website in the COVID19 section. You will not get it walking past someone out for a walk per say. Someone has to cough or sneeze in your face and when you are in shops, clean your hands before going and clean your hands after, basic things to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭touts

Every Garda checkpoint should hand out a flyer listing the cost of having smashed car windows replaced, paintwork resprayed and slashed tyres repaired. Then just wish the driver best of luck parking their cars overnight outside their holiday homes.

The vast majority of cars would turn around at the next junction.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I doubt anyone would want to touch the coronavirusmobiles.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

How often does the Google Maps traffic update? Do you have to manually refresh the page or will it update continually if you use navigation ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I was stopped this morning by a young garda, he just asked where I was going, I said just to get some milk and bread at the shop, he said OK be careful and I went on my way.
    He never came within 2/3 meters of me.
    He just waved me on as I came back by him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

I seen on another forum that a well known seaside town have a Clare were putting posters on holiday homes basically, suggesting that if you want a holiday home to come to in the summer, please leave our town alone, or something to that effect.

For the life of me I cannot believe that a certain section of society think they can give the middle finger to the rest of us because they're different and should get a safe pass.

I have an interest in society and sociology and I have to say I'm a bit of a loner and have a handful of people I socialise and random acquaintances.
    We're all similar, so it doesn't matter if we're apart we're using zoom to connect.
    But the behaviour of a lot of people during this pandemic solidifies my lonewolfness.
    Its the perfect way to study people's bad habits and ineptitude.

I stay away from the herd and avoid the shepherd, and the dogs won't be rounding me up.

It doesn't mean that I'm better than anyone but I sure feel better in myself to adjust to the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Stopped on my way to work today on the M2.
    Garda very young and looked a little embarrassed , but was very cordial , showed my lanyard and waved on my way .
    This was my fourth stop since Monday so they are out in force.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭keano25

Sorry just reading through this and notice a lot of people saying stopped by a very young Garda, what's the problem with a young Garda???

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

keano25 wrote: »
    Sorry just reading through this and notice a lot of people saying stopped by a very young Garda, what's the problem with a young Garda???

It's a generational thing.
    "Jaysus,is it me or are the guards getting younger?"
    Nothing new with that question.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Do not really understand why people would bother going to these places when nothing will be open so little to do and the garda will be around when people might want to leave after a few days in their holiday homes .Was on road to west this morning and all cars were stopped just trucks and Vans let go on no questions .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

My wife has just been stopped on the way to Tescos.

Felt a bit sorry for the gard because although he was saying shure you're grand, she insisted on showing her three shopping lists and then all the bags in the boot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I was stopped this morning by a young garda, he just asked where I was going, I said just to get some milk and bread at the shop, he said OK be careful and I went on my way.
    He never came within 2/3 meters of me.
    He just waved me on as I came back by him.

Did he check the discs in the window?
    Discodog wrote: »
    How often does the Google Maps traffic update? Do you have to manually refresh the page or will it update continually if you use navigation ?

Google maps is live, as is Waze.

And to those who think they can bypass the M4 checkpoint by going backroads around Celbridge- ha ha, think again- a nicely positioned crossroads checkpoint on road parallel to the motorway- clever guards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,464 ✭✭✭✭Alun

And to those who think they can bypass the M4 checkpoint by going backroads around Celbridge- ha ha, think again- a nicely positioned crossroads checkpoint on road parallel to the motorway- clever guards :D
    Ditto for sneaking through Shankill or Bray.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Alun wrote: »
    Ditto for sneaking through Shankill or Bray.

I heard that tyring to bypass Ennis via Gort is a no no too lol to get to North Clare and the Burren

Im like the count out of sesame Street whaa wahh wahhh

M1 M2 M3 N17

And today's numbers 19nnnnnnn 19

Seen as what is and isn't considered a reasonable journey seems to be up in the air so much, what do ye make of my situation here? I would consider it essential but Im unsure if there has been any official guidance on it or not.

I do a little part time work for an estate agent, holding keys. Someone bought a house and now, obviously, wants the keys. If I post them they likely won't get the keys til tuesday/wednesday, and they're under pressure to move out of their current location by end of april. So I was gonna drop the keys to their current address.

Seems a reasonable and essential journey to me?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

keano25 wrote: »

I’m 55 and everyone in a uniform/hat I encounter looks as if they just got their Confirmation. That’s just the way it turns out. When you're 23 everyone over the age of 35 is “old”.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,549 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think it's the recent 'rushed' Templemore graduates that seem to be on a lot of these checkpoints... hence the gosh they look young reaction from anyone over 40.
    Certainly that was my (hopefully) internal reaction at my first checkpoint stop ... of course outwardly there'd be no difference in how I responded based on appearance of the Garda.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭d15ude

Just tell them you are going Groceries shopping...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Does anyone know if these checkpoints will be manned 24 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Apparently someone in work was given grief over the letter so now we've been issued individual letters with our name on them rather than a blanket one that covers shift admin, warehouse, drivers etc.

Strange considering most on here are saying they just wave you on.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Hopefully they don’t check this yoke for tax and insurance.........

https://www.facebook.com/1044662542248978/posts/2873742806007600/?d=n

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Starlord_01

Will be until at least Monday?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Yup there are some fixed checkpoints in place at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭secman

I had to travel from Wexford to Dublin Tue and Wed , our company is working on 3 essential services projects so we have a reduced office staff of 3 operating from the office, usually 12 plus. Im working from home today and tomorrow but due back in on Tuesday. I was caught up in the tailback on m50 yesterday evening at 7pm, took an hour to get through it. The optics of it looked bad but its very easy to create a huge tailback when you reduce 3 lanes into 1 lane. From what i could see of cars around me before we entered the single lane i saw no cars with more than 1 person in them. There were plenty of vans and trucks too which were also essential work. I could see the checkpoint from a good way back and i didnt see 1 vehicle being escorted by a garda motorcycle to the next exit which was a good 2km io the road. Furthermore i passed aporox 50 vehicles max from checkpoint to exit 23 at Gorey so majority of vehicles were not going to Wexford. But because that twat Des Cahill put out a tweet last night about the traffic on N11, Southeast Radio has been bad mouthing Dublin people all morning , for once in my Life i can agree with Trump, whom i cannot abide by, and see how Fake news works. I would love to have a word with Des Cahill.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Seen as what is and isn't considered a reasonable journey seems to be up in the air so much, what do ye make of my situation here? I would consider it essential but Im unsure if there has been any official guidance on it or not.

I do a little part time work for an estate agent, holding keys. Someone bought a house and now, obviously, wants the keys. If I post them they likely won't get the keys til tuesday/wednesday, and they're under pressure to move out of their current location by end of april. So I was gonna drop the keys to their current address.

Seems a reasonable and essential journey to me?

I would class that as essential as it’s an open business and house is a safe haven for these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

khaldrogo wrote: »
    Seems to me to be an awful lot of dub bashing on this forum of late. A lot more than normal tbh. I get you all have an inferiority complex about the mighty dubs but I implore you to be rational in your thinking going forward please.....we are not the enemy, at least not any more than normal

And yous wonder why?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

grayzer75 wrote: »
    Hopefully they don’t check this yoke for tax and insurance.........

https://www.facebook.com/1044662542248978/posts/2873742806007600/?d=n

What a bunch of crazies. Kneeling down in front of a modified truck with a man in a dress swinging a bit of tin around.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

The Nal wrote: »
    Did he check the discs in the window?

Google maps is live, as is Waze.

Checked nothing, very cordial just asking where I was coming from and going.