Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Checks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

My girlfriend is stuck in a flat-share in Dublin with 5 others 4 in a room in bunk beds, no social distancing and now one of the girls has gotten a job cleaning in a Nursing home, it is only a matter of time before she will get infected and bring the virus home. They were studying and working prior to this, she lost her job and everything and can't return home as the flights to her country are cut.

I live in Kerry and we both now want for her to come here to stay with me in quarantine in my own house. I'm currently with my parents just for taking care of them but we can stay in my house (10kms away). She has an underlying medical condition which makes her extremely high risk if she was to catch the virus. Staying put for her is now no longer an option really.

Our 3 options would be for her to fly down to Kerry Airport with Aer Lingus, try to make it down by train or I to drive up to Dublin for her. She has quiet alot of stuff and would be pulling out of that flatshare for good.

If I was to explain my situation to a local Guard could I get special dispensation to make the journey? It would be very risky to drive it as I could now get arrested. What I would be doing is basically a humanitarian evacuation mission. I was also thinking to make a throwaway flight booking on ryanair and use it as an excuse that I was driving to Dublin airport for to get passed the checkpoints?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

theguzman wrote: »
    My girlfriend is stuck in a flat-share in Dublin with 5 others 4 in a room in bunk beds, no social distancing and now one of the girls has gotten a job cleaning in a Nursing home, it is only a matter of time before she will get infected and bring the virus home. They were studying and working prior to this, she lost her job and everything and can't return home as the flights to her country are cut.

I live in Kerry and we both now want for her to come here to stay with me in quarantine in my own house. I'm currently with my parents just for taking care of them but we can stay in my house (10kms away). She has an underlying medical condition which makes her extremely high risk if she was to catch the virus. Staying put for her is now no longer an option really.

Our 3 options would be for her to fly down to Kerry Airport with Aer Lingus, try to make it down by train or I to drive up to Dublin for her. She has quiet alot of stuff and would be pulling out of that flatshare for good.

If I was to explain my situation to a local Guard could I get special dispensation to make the journey? It would be very risky to drive it as I could now get arrested. What I would be doing is basically a humanitarian evacuation mission. I was also thinking to make a throwaway flight booking on ryanair and use it as an excuse that I was driving to Dublin airport for to get passed the checkpoints?

Theres just so many illegalities to start with in this story. I presume the landlord can't be notified because he doesn't know theres 4 South Americans living in one bedroom in the house ?

Landlords don't care, its a one bedroom apartment designed for a couple with a decent sized bedroom now housing four, a single bed occupies a corner of the living room. €450 per head cash rent a month. It was barely manageable during normal times never mind in a pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,653 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Yeah I heard on the radio the other day of a lad who had to do a 300km round trip for similar reasons. He rang up his local Garda station first and cleared it with the Superintendent as an essential journey. Not sure if the Super gave him a letter or something to show at Garda checkpoints but by logging it in advance he made sure he wasnt getting arrested over it. The Gardai are being very reasonable in their application of the rules so you shouldnt have a problem once the journey is for a genuine reason.

I think your best bet is to drive to Dublin and pick her up yourself. But before doing so make sure she has no symptoms, the last thing you want is it getting transferred to your parents via yourself caring for them.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah I heard on the radio the other day of a lad who had to do a 300km round trip for similar reasons. He rang up his local Garda station first and cleared it with the Superintendent as an essential journey. Not sure if the Super gave him a letter or something to show at Garda checkpoints but by logging it in advance he made sure he wasnt getting arrested over it. The Gardai are being very reasonable in their application of the rules so you shouldnt have a problem once the journey is for a genuine reason.

I think your best bet is to drive to Dublin and pick her up yourself. But before doing so make sure she has no symptoms, the last thing you want is it getting transferred to your parents via yourself caring for them.

I'm not a carie giver, my initial reason for going home was to enforce the quarantine on my argumentative at risk mother, both parents are in good health (but at risk) and I do the grocery shopping, fetch medicines and do the typical errands they would be doing to keep them away from supermarkets etc.

The plan is I won't see my parents for 15 days after me and my GF self-isolate just incase she would bring it from Dublin, the plan is that she will move here indefinitely until the situation improves, she finds better accommodation and work in Dublin again. My sister will take over for my parents as she is cocooned herself and on the dole now but is not at risk to buy the groceries etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Landlords don't care, its a one bedroom apartment designed for a couple with a decent sized bedroom now housing four, a single bed occupies a corner of the living room. €450 per head cash rent a month. It was barely manageable during normal times never mind in a pandemic.

I bet the real landlord doesn't know anything about this, this is probably organised by whoever invited these students into the house collecting cash. Ask them to put her in another house, they probably run a few of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,653 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The plan is I won't see my parents for 15 days after me and my GF self-isolate just incase she would bring it from Dublin, the plan is that she will move here indefinitely until the situation improves, she finds better accommodation and work in Dublin again. My sister will take over for my parents as she is cocooned herself and on the dole now but is not at risk to buy the groceries etc.

Sounds like a sensible plan to me. She would likely lose her deposit in Dublin but her health is more important than that.

Id say she was pretty annoyed about her flatmate getting a job cleaning a nursing home especially as the virus seems to be rampant in these places. Best to get your girlfriend out of there as the chances of her getting it have now increased substantially. But clear it with your local Garda station first.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Juicee

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/coronavirus/photographs-emerge-of-gardai-inspecting-shopping/ar-BB12HDET?ocid=spartanntp

I find this very disturbing although I'm sure there will be a slew of replies from boards people any minute now, trying to justify this. We are sleepwalking into communism.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

No. We are taking the steps to curtail a pandemic. How you got from Covid19 to communism is a special kind of mental gymnastics.

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭pjdarcy

"Images of gardai appearing to conduct such searches" - we have no idea why this particular garda was checking the bag. No need to jump to conclusions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Downlinz

It's an image of a guard being shown the contents of a bag, we have no idea of the context and shouldn't jump to conclusions.

No. We are taking the steps to curtail a pandemic. How you got from Covid19 to communism is a special kind of mental gymnastics.

No I got from cops checking your shopping to communism. No mental gymnastics required. You are the one who needs the mental gymnastics to justify that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

2 unrelated images of Gardai appearing to check people's shopping and we're sleepwalking into communism?

And the article comes from Extra.ie, weren't they shown up last week for reporting that 1000's of vehicles were arriving into ports from the UK when it turned out to be less than 10 and all were Irish returning home?

Besides, if we were moving towards communism there'd be no shopping bags to check because they'd be empty.

"The pictures also shocked Consumers’ Association of Ireland chief Dermott Jewell, who said: ‘This is, to all intents and purposes, a violation of privacy.’"

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭pjdarcy

Stalin famously loved rummaging around in other people's shopping bags ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,011 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The Gardai are also carrying people's shopping now too:

90262854_10157925957768001_3134174623873105920_o.jpg

This is actually more of a communist action than looking in shopping bags. "From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs".

But you probably think she's being escorted to a gulag.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,425 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Doesn't seem like the right place to do it, what if the shopper had some odd purchase that would cause maximum embarrasement but was essential to him like say knob rot cream?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Juicee wrote: »
    No I got from cops checking your shopping to communism. No mental gymnastics required. You are the one who needs the mental gymnastics to justify that

I think your understanding of the mechanisms of communism is slightly amiss. You should also understand extra.ie has been found quite recently to be posting misleading articles to feed into the 'covidiots' fears. Dont join the bandwagon

Doesn't seem like the right place to do it, what if the shopper had some odd purchase that would cause maximum embarrasement but was essential to him like say knob rot cream?

I thought that was a spray?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Police state is the term you want. You can have lefty and righty police states.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Checking for drugs being transported under cover of shopping bags perhaps?

I was stopped on the way back from weekly grocery shop at Supr Valu yesterday. Very courteous and polite guard. Explained I had been grocery shopping, and waved on, my boot was not checked.

Thw Gardai are also carrying people's shopping now too:

90262854_10157925957768001_3134174623873105920_o.jpg

This is actually more of a communist action than looking in shopping bags. "From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs".

But you probably think she's being escorted to a gulag.

Having seen that picture, Juicee will surmise the Guards ran off with the old womans shopping bag after the picture was taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

"So you were in Tesco then?"
    "Yeah I was, plenty of stuff."
    "Great, need some stuff myself. What did you get?"

Probably the only important statement in the article
    Irish Council for Civil Liberties executive director Liam Herrick said: ‘Where someone asserts that they are moving about to purchase goods from an essential retail outlet, it is reasonable for gardaí to ask him or her to support this assertion – e.g. to show shopping bags or say which outlet they are going to or from.'
    ‘We have had no reports of gardai making any distinction as to purchased goods being essential or non-essential.’

• Registered Users Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭bladespin

XYZ are selling hand sanny; 2 for a euro, jaysus giz a look.

Just as likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,204 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They wouldn't have to do that if some people weren't taking the piss, having parties in houses other than their own or having things in shopping bags that weren't shopping.

If it's just your lawful shopping, you're not going to a gulag, don't worry petal.

Checking for drugs being transported under cover of shopping bags perhaps?

I was stopped on the way back from weekly grocery shop at Supr Valu yesterday. Very courteous and polite guard. Explained I had been grocery shopping, and waved on, my boot was not checked.

Well that was nice of him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/coronavirus/photographs-emerge-of-gardai-inspecting-shopping/ar-BB12HDET?ocid=spartanntp

I find this very disturbing although I'm sure there will be a slew of replies from boards people any minute now, trying to justify this. We are sleepwalking into communism.

Another absolute bulls**t post, weak and pathetic journalism yet again. No proof at all of what went on here.
    Jesus you sit there and type tripe about communism while all the time believing this rubbish.

The communists would love you, they love sheep.

As predicted

• Registered Users Posts: 33,365 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Why are the guards faces pixelated? Also, looks like hey aren't wearing facemasks...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.