Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,685 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

If you looked out your window and your favourite pornstar was in the garden beckoning you out, but told you she had a cough and a bit of a fever.

Would you smash or pass?

What an idiotic question.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭lastusername

The Russians are giving up to 7 years in jail for those who break quarantine.

That lunatic Rodrigo Duterte in the Philippines wants to shoot lockdown violators.

I prefer our own Garda response... thank you.

I'd love anyone giving out about our very fair and reasonable Guards here to spend time in Italy or Spain and see how they'd get on with the police there, or in the likes of the Philippines...

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Bushmaster64

I know.

Smash it is. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Yes of course it is. While older people and those with underlying conditions have a higher death rate, overall most will survive and most will not require hospitalisation even.

Thanks. When this all first started I thought well that's it mum won't make it. But she didn't even get the NHS letter about being extremely vulnerable - she is only "vulnerable". But you only have one mother so even a 0.001% risk would still be too much.

If you looked out your window and your favourite pornstar was in the garden beckoning you out, but told you she had a cough and a bit of a fever.

Would you smash or pass?

What level of PPE are we talking here?

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

Fair enough... following the patient's wishes is to be admired and is always correct.

However the lack of elderly in our ICUs suggests to me that even those who did not sign a DNR are being triaged already.

Maybe you know something different.

I can't help but wonder, will elderly relatives who pass in Nursing Homes be included in the final figures.

Does anyone know, are they testing staff and residents in the Nursing Homes where there are clusters?

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Bushmaster64

fr336 wrote: »

Marigolds. But only because she has a weird fetish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,528 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Would you smash or pass?

Apt username is apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Me too, there can't be queues at all times anywhere in Ireland.

Queues are exaggerated by the fact there only letting a fraction in at a time to what normally would be in

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

The damage the likes of trump & Boris do and yet people lap it up.
    Nothing really to do with leaders performance, it's a fairly common phenomenon in countries perceiving themselves under an external existentialist threat.

Even trump called the uk herd immunity idea madness. Trump!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,897 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

fr336 wrote: »

One of those bedsheets with a hole in it that ultra-orthodox Jews use when banging their wives

Would you smash or pass?
    Base a commercial on it?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭mick987

I would have a heart attack running down the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

Queues are exaggerated by NBC the fact there only letting a fraction in at a time to what normally would be in

..and the queues move pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Cw85 wrote: »
    Is there a briefing today or just an announcement on the six one?

Always just an announcement on Saturday and Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭d51984

Ive just lost my uncle about an hour ago to Covid 19. Its hit home very hard now.

Please please please stay in and stay safe everyone.

Its a disgrace Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

bekker wrote: »
    To many the Leaving Cert is a matter of life and death, for the vast majority it determines the ultimate course of their lifetime income potential.

That in turn influences their general state of health, their access to better medical treatment, and their ultimate lifespan.

Dropping points, or providing free passes to university courses will simply devalue qualifications for that entry cohort.

If at all possible the exams should go ahead, it is not beyond our ability to organise relative same environments for them.

If they think the leaving cert is that influential, they correct to a degree but are really over egging the pudding.

It's a sign of immaturity, lack if life experience to think any one thing determines ones life. By the time they are 22, they could be on a completely different path, no one will care about their leaving cert then. All the same opportunities will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

d51984 wrote: »
    Ive just lost my uncle about an hour ago to Covid 19. Its hit home very hard now.

How very sad. My sincere condolences to you and your family. Such a difficult time for people for funeral arrangements too. None of the usual comforting routine. So sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Update: Well Mother in Law’s Nursing Home is now officially a Cluster*uck.

This is beyond hand-wringing. I remember NHI being admonished for acting Unilaterally on March 6th.

The Nursing Home would not say how many – because that’s confidential. CONFIDENTIAL?! Are you kidding me?!

After everything it’s a fkng secret?! Are we still doing that?!

This is the Frontline. It’s a bloody disaster and not one mask between any of the staff.
    Finally, theCovid-19 support scheme has been announced. Well it’s a bit late!

Remind me again Expert Teams…what is the most vulnerable age Group? The elderly? And where would find them then? Oh! The Nursing Homes!

Forgive me Boards, I’m so frustrated. The last time I saw her was through a closed window. She was sleeping.

Had Nursing Homes Ireland NOT acted when they did, we would now be looking at complete decimation!!!

I couldn't believe that they came out and admonished them for 'going against guidelines'.

The fact that most weren't weren't treated in a hospital setting should also be investigated. I understand the following
    • triaging
    • allocation of resources
    • person's wishes
    • families wishes

Do not resuscitate does not mean do not treat. If we weren't at ICU capacity I hope some were given a shot to fight it off. This is in stark contrast to Italy early on where there were many in ICU. Maybe it was inevitable. i.e very old person admitted to ICU stays a week, them more and more younger people in the mean time get admitted and need ICU.I know that subsequently happened in Italy. :(

It's definitely a rock and a hard place.

Thank god they did. Hope she stays safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

RIP

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭chooey

So sorry to hear that.

Really sorry RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Significant drop in Italian daily fatalities:

https://twitter.com/electo_mania/status/1246470023062999046

deise08 wrote: »
    I know I asked before, but how are the oxygen supplies? I hear they were running out in other countries. No point ordering machines if there's not enough oxygen.

Or is that a silly question?
    If push comes to shove then we have the technical know-how and engineering expertise to put together an extraction plant if necessary.

Assume this is already being look at by government and/or ad hoc industry groupings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Be right back

So sorry to hear that. May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Wombatman wrote: »
    We have higher deaths per million and higher cases per million. Why single out the US?
    If one person in Ireland spreads the virus to four others and one person in the US spreads it to 240 others which country is doing a better job of containing an outbreak?
    Wombatman wrote: »
    You are talking about ifs and hypotheticals. I'm talking about stats and facts.

I'm trying to point out that pro rata or per million comparisons are not very meaningful.

As the saying puts it "There are lies, damned lies and statistics". Using per million comparisons in this way is misleading.

With different countries having different protocols, criteria for diagnosis, hospitalisation, ICU admission, etc... and different methods for compiling their reported figures anything other than large discrepancies should be treated with caution as the margin for error is significant.

I would say that country A which restricts the spread from a single person to four others us doing a far better job than country B which doesn't manage to stop the spread until 240 others gave been infected.

That country B is 60 times more populous is not relevant to comparing how well country B is controlling the spread, however it is relevant to the relative impact that level of spread has on the country's wider population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭billyhead

How many can we expect to die from this virus in a good or bad case scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭billyhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Will there be a press conference today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

owlbethere wrote: »
    Thats going to be disastrous. To some degree some elders and vulnerable can be cocooned away but it's not the answer. There was a doctor talking to ch4 saying a lot of his patients are 50s and under and some without underlying conditions. It's not going to work.

There's going to be a large number of deaths no matter what way you try, especially if you are late to lockdown like the UK and US. Britain will be lucky to get below 1000 deaths a day during the peak as is. The US lucky to be under 3000 a day and maybe even 5000. And what happens if you lift lockdown? Same all over again.

The problem at the moment is we don't know whose infected. Its the large number of mild and asymptomatic spreaders who will be the problem.

If we had a vaccine in the next 3 months lockdown is a great idea. But it could be 12 months or 18 months before we have one. No way lockdown can be sustained that long. Another plan will be required. Controlled spread may be one. There are others I'm sure. You might even have one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

No

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Usually not at the weekends

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

No because this is Ireland and the Civil Service mentality is still alive and well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    No because this is Ireland and the Civil Service mentality is still alive and well.

Sure but will they release the figures or no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

There's going to be a large number of deaths no matter what way you try, especially if you are late to lockdown like the UK and US. Britain will be lucky to get below 1000 deaths a day during the peak as is. The US lucky to be under 3000 a day and maybe even 5000. And what happens if you lift lockdown? Same all over again.

The problem at the moment is we don't know whose infected. Its the large number of mild and asymptomatic spreaders who will be the problem.

If we had a vaccine in the next 3 months lockdown is a great idea. But it could be 12 months or 18 months before we have one. No way lockdown can be sustained that long. Another plan will be required. Controlled spread may be one. There are others I'm sure. You might even have one?

Antiviral meds and/or cheap and reliable self-testing would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Yawn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Sure but will they release the figures or no?

Yes the figures will be released. Don`t know at what time yet though.

Significant drop in Italian daily fatalities:

https://twitter.com/electo_mania/status/1246470023062999046
    Continuing good news from Italy

Dead/Resolved 15,362/36358 = 42.25%

Now below 43% for 3rd day, was in 44+>45+% box since abt. 10th.Mar, moved to 43-44% box late Mar., hopefully below 40% by next week.

In other countries that point has normally been the start of an accelerating downward trend as health service regains control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,608 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Beyond releasing the numbers the press conferences have been quite tedious. Irish journos ask shit questions tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

billyhead wrote: »

I think it will be kept to below several thousand here, that's with tremendous effort.

Long term it will mean face masks for months hand washing for the rest of the year, mass testing as normal, hometests, etc, passengers tested before flying, tested on landing etc, 10 minute tests nearly ready etc.

It will allow some normality till treatments are ready.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

If we had a vaccine in the next 3 months lockdown is a great idea. But it could be 12 months or 18 months before we have one.

The hope at present is that the worldwide trails on antiviral drugs, re-purposed existing drugs and recovered peoples serum will lead to positive results.

If it became possible to stop, or modify, the deterioration of lung function in the most afflicted, that would make a huge difference to the outcomes.

A safe and effective vaccine is realistically not possible in the near future.

The longer we can keep the virus at bay... the better the chances of something positive happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Will these issue numbers today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kyote00

Today on BBC news, it was mentioned that UK deaths in nursing/care homes are not being counted - example of 7 deaths in a Scottish home this week.

Are we counting care home deaths here ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 4 April 2020 @ 08:00 hrs

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-2020-04-04.png?itok=3UKvvlNI

I think it is fair to say a plateau on the daily cases in Europe over the last 10 days.

Maybe even a slight downward trend in spite of the increased figure for today.

Larger clickable version here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Be right back

Or maybe they're allowed days off like the rest of us too?

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭d51984

Thanks so much everyone for all the kind words, it means a lot.

Look after each other and stay safe, were a great little country when we want to be.

God bless you all.

Its a disgrace Joe!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,842 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

kyote00 wrote: »
    Today on BBC news, it was mentioned that UK deaths in nursing/care homes are not being counted - example of 7 deaths in a Scottish home this week.

Are we counting care home deaths here ?
    We are counting all those who tested positive, so to the extent they have tested in nursing homes, yes. What we do not know is how many may have died infected but untested (in nursing homes or elsewhere)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

bekker wrote: »
    Continuing good news from Italy

Dead/Resolved 15,362/36358 = 42.25%

Now below 43% for 3rd day, was in 44+>45+% box since abt. 10th.Mar, moved to 43-44% box late Mar., hopefully below 40% by next week.

In other countries that point has normally been the start of an accelerating downward trend as health service regains control.

Also the number of patients in ICU in Italy is down for the first time.
    Today it was also announced that Italy has managed to increase the number of ICU beds from 5000 to 9000.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 4 April 2020 @ 08:00 hrs

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-2020-04-04.png?itok=3UKvvlNI

I think it is fair to say a plateau on the daily cases in Europe over the last 10 days.

Maybe even a slight downward trend in spite of the increased figure for today.

Larger clickable version here :- https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

I presume that difference in today is france declaring the nursing home numbers etc. But it does seem to have hit a level in europe now. Hopefully the next few weeks see a downward trend even with the UK seemingly now on the sharp incline