Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

quokula wrote: »
    I lived over there until recently and had family members working in the NHS. The statement that their healthcare system is better than ours may have been true in the past but is on shaky ground these days. Ireland spends more per capita on healthcare while the NHS has been in freefall for a decade - The Lancet ranks Ireland's healthcare more highly than the UKs.

Yes but we spend more than them for a healtcare system that is not free for half our population. Theres cover their entire population with free healthcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Washington DC has been put under "shelter in place" order joining New York and Maryland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭Be right back

1641 wrote: »
    So Paddy Cosgrave has publically confirmed himself to be a complete and utter dickhead.

Absolutely. His tweet is still up. Hopefully he will take it down and shut up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Amazing how the entire economy has been shot down and sacrificed to "protect us " from something that The vast majority would recover from in a week. We are supposed to believe that the hse and government suddenly started Caring about old people, lol.. Talking to the local postmaster yesterday and he was on the ball, there will be more suicides as a result of this than deaths as a result of contracting the actual virus. Just wait until people realise they have no jobs to go back to.

These are just my own sums but let's assume 50% of the population get the infection. That will be approx 2500,000 people. So let's assume 99% of people make a full recovery only 1% mortality, that Will still be 25,000 deaths.
    Our current suicide rate is about 300per year, so no your postmaster is not on the ball.
    Those figures don't include the many lives that will be lost due to the health system not been able to cope. Heart attacks, strokes etc will still happen.
    This is serious and if we get away with a few months of movement restrictions it will be a small price to pay.
    It will still be a significant economic and personal cost, absolutely, but better than the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Just passed over 800,000 global cases.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

So Paddy Cosgrave has publically confirmed himself to be a complete and utter dickhead.

Is he just trying to panic people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

1035 new cases in Portugal. Highest increase in cases there so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,896 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Can't understand the extreme tight restrictions on funerals. If workplaces and supermarkets can manage to spread out crowds of people into acceptable distances, why can't the same be done in a large church or graveyard???

I suspect reports were coming back of regulations being flouted, friends & neighbours being let in on the Q.T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

240k ?

0.5*4.5M*0.01 = 22.5K ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Ice Storm wrote: »
    HSE confirm that no nurses have died in Ireland from Covid19.

https://twitter.com/HSELive/status/1244942663142563841?s=20

Didn't they confirm that a nurse had died a few days ago? Not the 4 from yesterday but a singular one

edit: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-healthcare-worker-in-republic-dies-after-contracting-virus-1.4213892

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Amazing how the entire economy has been shot down and sacrificed to "protect us " from something that The vast majority would recover from in a week. We are supposed to believe that the hse and government suddenly started Caring about old people, lol.. Talking to the local postmaster yesterday and he was on the ball, there will be more suicides as a result of this than deaths as a result of contracting the actual virus. Just wait until people realise they have no jobs to go back to.

Well if the local postmaster said it then it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

Didn't they confirm that a nurse had died a few days ago? Not the 4 from yesterday but a singular one
    I believe they said a "healthcare worker" died.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Thought Cosgrave was a ball sack before this crisis. Even more so now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Antares35 wrote: »

Talking to the local postmaster hahahaha in a thread full of drivel that has to be right up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,420 ✭✭✭facehugger99

reconfirmed.

I believe they said a "healthcare worker" died.

Says a nurse in the east of the country. Maybe the tweet meant in so far as the 4 rumoured yesterday. Paddy needs to stay out of it and stop tweeting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Doubtful.

He's another nut case

It's a puck in the jaw that gobshite needs -

Yer on here Paddy - fancy a straightener? - I win - you shut the fuck up, you win - you shut the fuck up? - it's a fair deal, I can't fight for shit so would be worth streaming it, we just need some high quality internet - I'm sure you can manage that end of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

HSE confirm that no nurses have died in Ireland from Covid19.

https://twitter.com/HSELive/status/1244942663142563841?s=20

Cosgrave is nothing but a shït stirrer, I hope he get short shrift when all of this is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Can't understand the extreme tight restrictions on funerals. If workplaces and supermarkets can manage to spread out crowds of people into acceptable distances, why can't the same be done in a large church or graveyard???

Because what happens at funerals? People are naturally inclined to greet and sympathise with the family. With the best will in the world, you would not be able to enforce social distancing at a gathering like a funeral.

Ffs, there were some that couldn't help themselves on TV when getting back from Peru yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Do tell - what do you think we should have done/do differently? please - you have the floor

Protect the minority of people who actually needed it, that's where the focus should have been. Instead we put our economy on its knees to the point where 2008 is going to seem like a storm in a teacup. Hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland are not going back to work even after the Soviet style restrictions are lifted. The economy is toast, suicide is going to go through the roof in the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Amazing that the glorious and mighty economy is so fragile that it can't handle being put on hold for a while to save lives.

Amazing how the entire economy has been shot down and sacrificed to "protect us " from something that The vast majority would recover from in a week.

And who cares about the elderly and those with chronic illnesses? They'd only be dying in a few months/years anyway...

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Maybe shock tactics are needed to reach those who are not behaving responsibly.

It put a human face on the damage Covid-19 is doing here. There is no point in trying to varnish the truth in a dangerous pandemic

This concept of not behaving is ridiculous. People in Ireland are abiding by the measures. We don't need to be frightened into doing so. The rate of new infections is over half what was predicted at this stage and that was before the lockdown. It shows that the Facebook posts about people walking along the beach were just over hyped. The measures were working. There will always be stories of people not abiding by the measures same as during bad weather events there will always be someone who choses to go swimming in the sea. People love to judge other people and there are a lot of people on here who wish this thing was worse so they can say "sure no wonder with all those people out in phoinex Park last weekend".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Why do you keep linking nonsense stories from that twitter account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Here's a piece on the Spanish Flu, about the economic effects.

https://theconversation.com/coronavirus-and-spanish-flu-economic-lessons-to-learn-from-the-last-truly-global-pandemic-133176

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

Because what happens at funerals? People are naturally inclined to greet and sympathise with the family. With the best will in the world, you would not be able to enforce social distancing at a gathering like a funeral.

Ffs, there were some that couldn't help themselves on TV when getting back from Peru yesterday.

Plus tears & sniffles used tissues etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭Be right back

Paddy Cosgrave only caused needless worry and stress to those working on the frontline and also their families. What kind of kicks does he get out of it? Will be interesting to see if he'll apologise.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

My AIB card has stopped working contactlessly :| why would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Antares35 wrote: »

Yes. With such wisdom he should be at HSE headquarters advising Tony Holohan not delivering post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    This concept of not behaving is ridiculous. People in Ireland are abiding by the measures. We don't need to be frightened into doing so. The rate of new infections is over half what was predicted at this stage and that was before the lockdown. It shows that the Facebook posts about people walking along the beach were just over hyped. The measures were working. There will always be stories of people not abiding by the measures same as during bad weather events there will always be someone who choses to go swimming in the sea. People love to judge other people and there are a lot of people on here who wish this thing was worse so they can say "sure no wonder with all those people out in phoinex Park last weekend".

It's very clear certain posters in this thread don't venture outside too often themselves. Too busy monitoring their neighbours and curtain twitching.

They're in their element now. This is what they've been training for all this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,159 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

It was a stark obvious difference on the report . One family couldn’t help themselves hugging and kissing . Another family drove up in two cars , threw the keys of one car to the returnee , they then drove home in one car while he drove alone in the other

I always maintain that 90% of people are doing their best , the other 10% are arseholes .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

And who cares about the elderly and those with chronic illnesses? They'd only be dying in a few months/years anyway...

I am all for protecting them. Ireland didn't have to commit economic suicide in order to do that. The fallout from the destruction of our economy will be worse than the virus, for old, young and everyone inbetween, I guarantee you that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

BloodBath wrote: »
    Why do you keep linking nonsense stories from that twitter account?
    TBH it's hard to see whether he wants to be helpful, right or just has a bee in his bonnet. Can't say I've found any of his tweets helpful and they all seem borderline alarmist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Belgium has +192 deaths today

Belgium is six times smaller than Italy. It only has a population of 11 million.

So for perspective, if it was the same size as Italy, 192 x 6 = 1,152 deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e472ddacff3b7667ca1fb008f53c84fa5b3e4ddfbc7&rid=giphy.gif

Finally getting out of isolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭joseywhales

So now that Hungary is a dictatorship, shouldn't we seriously consider removing them from the EU. We can't have that precedent, it's democracy or nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Is there still a limit to the amount of transactions you can use contactless in 24 hours? It used to be 4, is that still the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

That can happen over time, may not be related to any changes the issuing Bank has made or may be due to rules in place that the pin needs to be used after every X number of times to ensure that the card holder is the one using it. Best to check with the issuer as opposed to an open forum where nobody but yourself knows how the card is being used.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

"The Irish Times has learned."

Note the lack of HSE confirmation. The Times may have "learned" from Cosgrave's shít-stirring.

TBF I think they'd do more fact checking than Cosgrave.

"The Irish Times has learned."

Note the lack of HSE confirmation. The Times may have "learned" from Cosgrave's shít-stirring.

It also says "At a briefing at Government Buildings on Friday night, where further sweeping restrictions on social and commercial life were announced in a bid to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Minister for Health Simon Harris paid tribute to the nurse who died."

Protect the minority of people who actually needed it, that's where the focus should have been. Instead we put our economy on its knees to the point where 2008 is going to seem like a storm in a teacup. Hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland are not going back to work even after the Soviet style restrictions are lifted. The economy is toast, suicide is going to go through the roof in the coming months.

Protect how - focus how, we have an exact program in place, what would yours actually look like?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Maybe there's a pigeon in the part of the vault where your account is, so they've had to close it for now until they catch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Every so often you have to do a PIN transaction, it’s to stop fraud on your card and someone else using it.

TBF I think they'd do more fact checking than Cosgrave.

You would, unfortunately the reality is that they're up there with The Liberal.ie in terms of integrity with some of the scutter they put out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

It also says "At a briefing at Government Buildings on Friday night, where further sweeping restrictions on social and commercial life were announced in a bid to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Minister for Health Simon Harris paid tribute to the nurse who died."

Cheers, I actually missed that - will edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I shudder to think what some household electricity bills will look like by end of April. Especially homes with lots of kids where the telly and game consoles will be running from the moment they wake up.

Protect the minority of people who actually needed it, that's where the focus should have been.

Can you offer some back-of-the-envelope suggestions on how this might have been done without shutting everything down? Lots of vulnerable elderly live with children & grandchildren. How in practice could they be 'quarantined' in a watertight way while the rest of the household was going about their business and likely picking up the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,102 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Paddy Cosgrave only caused needless worry and stress to those working on the frontline and also their families. What kind of kicks does he get out of it? Will be interesting to see if he'll apologise.

I would say there is about as much chance of Paddy Cosgrave producing a cure for Covid-19 as there is for him to apologise for this, or to stop his BS campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭CitizenFloor

I'd imagine the risk is greater at the funeral of a person who has/potentially has died COVID19 related. Family & friends could be asymptomatic or pre-symptomatic carriers. Every action that has been taken is being risk assessed. My two cents.