Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

How long can a person be kept on respiratory Imachine in ireland,is it till the person is brain Dead

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

LRNM wrote: »
    The National Ambulance Service trained and intended to redeploy over 100 emergency medical technicians (intermediate care operatives) from patient transport work to instead crew up with paramedics on frontline vehicles to fill the gap in staff out isolating, and also to staff covi19 testing cars but Siptu and many of the paramedics taking issue with this.

Despite the fact NAS was built on EMT's and majority of paramedics today were trained to a lesser standard than modern EMT's and handed a paramedic license overnight when PHECC was established.
    The same PHECC who recommended this should happen.

Big divide in the service now. Most paramedics agree with whats happening but a sizeable loud minority despise the EMT's who have been part of NAS since 2012.

All boils down to overtime payments. Imagine that in the time of national crisis. Classic Siptu. "The best interest of all stakeholders." Who could that be now?
    I reckon they'll be told to go and shíte.
    Fkj8uIS.jpg

jesus didn't take long for the unions to show their true colours.

scum. and like anyone else using this disaster for other agendas, their actions now will be remembered for a long long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

LRNM wrote: »
    The National Ambulance Service trained and intended to redeploy over 100 emergency medical technicians (intermediate care operatives) from patient transport work to instead crew up with paramedics on frontline vehicles to fill the gap in staff out isolating, and also to staff covi19 testing cars but Siptu and many of the paramedics taking issue with this.

Despite the fact NAS was built on EMT's and majority of paramedics today were trained to a lesser standard than modern EMT's and handed a paramedic license overnight when PHECC was established.
    The same PHECC who recommended this should happen.

Big divide in the service now. Most paramedics agree with whats happening but a sizeable loud minority despise the EMT's who have been part of NAS since 2012.

All boils down to overtime payments. Imagine that in the time of national crisis. Classic Siptu. "The best interest of all stakeholders." Who could that be now?
    I reckon they'll be told to go and shíte.
    Fkj8uIS.jpg
    is there a limit to how often paramedics can work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Does anyone know why the cargo received from China was transported on Army trucks and Garda outriders with cameras rolling to capture the whole exercise?
    I've seen it replayed several times.
    To me it looked like a propaganda exercise.

That's you're biggest worry through all this?

If that's our biggest issue at the end of all this I'd be happy.

Jesus you whinging whining negative doom and gloom merchants literally suck the life and belief out of normal people just trying to get through this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

froog wrote: »
    jesus didn't take long for the unions to show their true colours.

scum. and like anyone else using this disaster for other agendas, their actions now will be remembered for a long long time.

The letter simply suggests that ambulances should be staffed by qualified personnel whenever possible. That's how I read it. I didn't see any threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Juanito13

is there a limit to how often paramedics can work?

It’s normally 60 hours pw, but i think that has been lifted due to the crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Jesus you whinging whining negative doom and gloom merchants literally suck the life and belief out of normal people just trying to get through this.

And yet it's all you positive sorts that are angry as hell

You've all got this manic, pissed-off positive energy - it's scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭threeball

Never underestimate what Trump will say and the amount of numpties that will take everything he says as gospel. His ratings among the US public are at an all time high at present.

So was bush during the gulf war. He still lost the election in November. When all the numpties are dropping like flies their allegiances will be tested.

Trump is at 60%, Biden at 87%

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Conorregan88

For a second there I thought it was Dave Navarro

Jane's Addiction guitarist to coronavirus specialist... That's a pretty wild career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭Talisman

Are people on ventilators conscious?
    No, they are sedated before the tube is inserted.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭lillycakes2

Does anyone know how our curve is actually going by looking at the figures? literally dreading this bloody surge/peak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

pc7 wrote: »
    I’d say they are absolutely bol!oxed, stress, very long days, knowing what’s coming. They must all be wrecked.

Must be incredibly hard, can’t even imagine the days they are putting in right now throughout this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

The letter simply suggests that ambulances should be staffed by qualified personnel whenever possible. That's how I read it. I didn't see any threat.

it's about overtime. read it again.

twirlagig wrote: »
    Must be incredibly hard, can’t even imagine the days they are putting in right now throughout this.

Plus exhaustion depletes the immune system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,847 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

ZX7R wrote: »
    How long can a person be kept on respiratory Imachine in ireland,is it till the person is brain Dead

about two weeks, i think. ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

froog wrote: »
    it's about overtime. read it again.

I did. The word 'overtime' isn't mentioned. Perhaps you should read it again?

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭RurtBeynolds

What's the shopping situation like now? Need to go to tesco tomorrow night, do I need to queue around the block? Are they only allowing one person in at a time? Do I have to be alone or can my partner come too?

Does anyone know why the cargo received from China was transported on Army trucks and Garda outriders with cameras rolling to capture the whole exercise?

you are right, should have been a few lads in a ford fiesta with the merch tied on top with twine.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What's the shopping situation like now? Need to go to tesco tomorrow night, do I need to queue around the block? Are they only allowing one person in at a time? Do I have to be alone or can my partner come too?

I go to supervalu in the evening once or twice a week it's fairly quiet

Trump spouting more nonsense now

Does anyone know how our curve is actually going by looking at the figures? literally dreading this bloody surge/peak

All here

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/ireland/

Look for daily cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Notmything

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Don't forget Leos unrealistic prediction of 15,000 cases by the end of the month.

I see lots of people celebrating and saying fantastic job by the Government because we didn't hit the 15,000 cases or 30% increase per day.

FFS, we get 15,000 cases and it's the government's fault. We don't reach 15,000 cases and it's still their fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

As far as I'm aware ye can both travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭ooter

i've been going to my local lidl around 7ish most evenings and it has been grand, 5 min wait max to get in. you'll be fine with your partner.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Testing center opened up about 100 metres up the road from me a week ago. Built from scratch in a few days. I walk or drive past it 2 or 3 times a day and I've seen two cars drive through it this week. Other people around me are saying the same very little activity but always open and two security guards standing outside.

What's going on why such little testing?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Notmything wrote: »
    FFS, we get 15,000 cases and it's the government's fault. We don't reach 15,000 cases and it's still their fault.

Tony said earlier they may look at loosening th ed restrictions once they see how the next 10 days or so pan out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,847 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

this is daily new cases from Wikipedia, seems to be holding steady enough, not accelerating

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_coronavirus_pandemic_in_the_Republic_of_Ireland
    8ae0baa8814de7cb376d00981f1c95b2c7b936d3.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭beolight

is_that_so wrote: »
    Can't get the kits for the labs they said, it's a worldwide problem.

If you watch killians interview on Prime Time tonight he mentioned that a vital ingredient in the ( probably not correct word) test kit is proprietary and this is the main issue.

So maybe some big pharmaceutical company is holding the world to ransom or simply can’t produce enough

beolight wrote: »
    If you watch killians interview on Prime Time tonight he mentioned that a vital ingredient in the ( probably not correct word) test kit is proprietary and this is the main issue.

So maybe some big pharmaceutical company is holding the world to ransom or simply can’t produce enough

Cant produce enough apparently

I did. The word 'overtime' isn't mentioned. Perhaps you should read it again?

Well that would be too obvious. Second line, second paragraph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

ooter wrote: »
    i've been going to my local lidl around 7ish most evenings and it has been grand, 5 min wait max to get in. you'll be fine with your partner.

Lidl in Doughiska Galway were only allowing 1 person per group in yesterday. Went there with my wife and she ended up waiting in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Simple Simon? Varadkardashian? Did you come up with those all on your own?

Imagine typing that out, looking at it on the screen, and then thinking ''yeah, I'll post that''.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,756 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

https://twitter.com/irishtimes/status/1244711625728208896?s=21

Dr Fauci in the US says he would lean towards people wearing masks in public, once it doesn't affect supplies to medical workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,846 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Testing center opened up about 100 metres up the road from me a week ago. Built from scratch in a few days. I walk or drive past it 2 or 3 times a day and I've seen two cars drive through it this week. Other people around me are saying the same very little activity but always open and two security guards standing outside.

What's going on why such little testing?

Maybe not many people in the area that are looking for testing? if your waiting on a test they are probably trying to avoid people driving 40km for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Where did I say it's my biggest issue?
    I'm just questioning the need for all the fanfare.
    It's laughable how easily people will swallow what's presented to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Notmything wrote: »

I think the thing is if we are only testing only 1500 a day it would be impossible to get to 13000. If we only test 1500 a day we can really keep the numbers down.

Juanito13 wrote: »
    Well that would be too obvious. Second line, second paragraph

So they're saying that unqualified people are staffing ambulances when qualified people are available? And your problem with that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,007 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

At this stage I really wonder if a presser every day is absolutely necessary. We know generally how this is going to go, and hopefully it will be positive, but obviously will also be negative for many, but I'm sure you get my drift.

Same old questions from journos ( the questions seem to be longer than the answers, I cannot understand that, ask a fk question and wait for the answer), but I digress.

A recorded statement would be best. If anything worse happens and we need to be told, OK, say it.

This constant NEED for updates every day, what time is it, when will they tell us and so on doesn't mean those doing the hard graft HAVE to be live and answering the same questions every day either. Give them a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

cajonlardo wrote: »
    Hi Kermit

Perhaps you missed it

I asked you to back up your little hissy fit there
    and another poster asked you why did heavily edit my post to make it seem like I was saying something I did not.

By any chance are you the chain smoking lecturing neighbour?

I see runners running around my block all the time. It's the same people, not once or twice, but over and over again. They just go round and round running a mini marathon on the public footpaths every day.

This is not required and they should not be doing that when everyone else does what they are suppose to do.

Stick to the rules we all get out of this sooner. Don't be a pr!ck to people who follow the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/TomthunkitsMind/status/1244630284240379906

It's fun seeing Fox news exposed on a daily basis through this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

FVP3 wrote: »
    you are right, should have been a few lads in a ford fiesta with the merch tied on top with twine.

Or just transported in ordinary trucks without the cameras. Army and Garda outriders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭tscul32

Tesco yesterday morning. No under 65s except carers allowed in until 9. Then I got in, no queue, and no queue when I left either. And plenty of stock on the shelves, except flour, never any flour. I went to lidl when I couldn't get to Tesco, noone limiting the amount of people, but again, not busy, no prob shopping, straight up to the till, no queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭beolight

blackcard wrote: »
    One of the learnings from the 2010 big freeze was to have sufficient salt available for our roads and this hasn't been an issue since. Some of the learnings from the current crisis?
    Sufficient ventilators?
    Additional Test kits?
    Sufficient reagents?
    Sufficient masks and other personal protection equipment?
    Additional measures for nursing homes?
    Measures such as perspex glass in shops?
    Hygiene education and practices?
    Increased numbers of ICU's?
    Increased capability to work from home?
    Not to believe a fraction of what you read on social media?
    Social distancing?
    What else?

Transparency not Spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,691 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

At this stage I really wonder if a presser every day is absolutely necessary. We know generally how this is going to go, and hopefully it will be positive, but obviously will also be negative for many, but I'm sure you get my drift.
    We don't need it, but we should have it. Because otherwise we'll have the "they're hiding stuff from us" crowd out screaming.

I agree though that we need to go easy on the people involved, I doubt they have had a day off in months. Perhaps not every press conference needs to have questions, as they can be quite stressful to answer.

So they're saying that unqualified people are staffing ambulances when qualified people are available? And your problem with that is?

They are being disingenuous, EMT’s are qualified practitioners. In their eyes, the EMT’s are interfering with OT.

Juanito13 wrote: »
    They are being disingenuous, EMT’s are qualified practitioners. In their eyes, the EMT’s are interfering with OT.

Nowhere in that letter does it say anything like that. I'm afraid it's you who is being disingenuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,846 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

hmmm wrote: »
    We don't need it, but we should have it. Because otherwise we'll have the "they're hiding stuff from us" crowd out screaming.

I agree though that we need to go easy on the people involved, I doubt they have had a day off in months. Perhaps not every press conference needs to have questions, as they can be quite stressful to answer.

Agreed, Has Dr. Tony being on every day since this started - the guy must be exhausted.

One day I journalist asked Dr. Tony if he offered his condolences to those that passes a way - Tony was actually taken a back that this was a question.

Realistically we don't need any questions - release the figures, new cases, deaths, and those in ICU - really all that's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

1. The Defence Forces have drops transport trucks available to be utilised by the State.

2. Those particular DF personnel are regularly airside, no red tape with passes etc for anyone else.

3. There was a lot of media coverage stating that we were low on PPE. So its natural that when PPE artived, it would be captured by the media...its very topical like.

4. AGS outriders are needed to control the route, block off side roads, junctions etc to ensure direct transport to the destination.

5. 'Propaganda' is a poor use of term for this. It suggests the act of obtaining PPE was somehow political or misleading...whatever you are on about.

6. It wasnt a 'propaganda exercise'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,007 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

https://twitter.com/TomthunkitsMind/status/1244630284240379906

It's fun seeing Fox news exposed on a daily basis through this.

Off topic, so I might be told off, but honestly I have more disrespect for the Trump ass lickers and sycophants than I have for the Moron in Chief himself. They are perpetuating this debacle. Don't know why, can't figure it out.