Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

leavingirl wrote: »
    Slowly, slowly the world is waking up

https://www.skynews.com.au/details/_6145949551001

Goodbye Rosie, the Queen of Corona

Get people indoors by any means necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭Talisman

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    It most likely wasn't a PR exercise. They likely thought they had the resources (scientists/equipment) to do this but is now not possible due to the worldwide shortage in RNA extraction kits.
    De Gascun was straight up saying the scaled up test levels was a target for mid to late April. The following day, Simon Harris went on national radio and said 15,000 tests in the next couple of days.

Whatever about calling it PR, there has been a pattern of managing news cycles by dropping headline grabbing numbers at appropriate times. The 15,000 tests number, the 500 ICU beds, the 5,000 tests a day numbers are each examples of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Trump is some light entertainment in tumultious times

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Cheap oil.
    Gasoline 99cents a gallon. Yeeeeeeehaaaaawww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

At this stage I really wonder if a presser every day is absolutely necessary. We know generally how this is going to go, and hopefully it will be positive, but obviously will also be negative for many, but I'm sure you get my drift.

Same old questions from journos ( the questions seem to be longer than the answers, I cannot understand that, ask a fk question and wait for the answer), but I digress.

A recorded statement would be best. If anything worse happens and we need to be told, OK, say it.

This constant NEED for updates every day, what time is it, when will they tell us and so on doesn't mean those doing the hard graft HAVE to be live and answering the same questions every day either. Give them a break.

I was thinking the exact same. They have been so good explaining to the public what this is, and what's involved, what's coming, whats needed. They have been so so so good. They need to go home and rest and sleep and mind themselves. If there's anything else to tell us, they will let us know.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Cheap oil.
    Gasoline 99cents. Yeeeeeeehaaaaawww

The states will be delighted with the lower incineration costs.

Serious death toll projections coming out there, could be a tragedy over there matching Spanish Flu or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Is there even immunity one you’ve gotten this virus ? I thought that was still being questioned
    That's why my first line said that the best hope is that recovered people are indeed immune. If that's not true, we're completely Fcuked, capital F and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,002 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What is the outcome for people who would survive ICU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,732 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Via JRE I've been following primarily of guru on all things bacterial and viral infections based - Dr Michael Osterholm who runs the website,

http://www.cidrap.umn.edu/about-us/cidrap-staff/michael-t-osterholm-phd-mph

Hydroxychlororquine will apparently come to light efficacy wise in about 6 to 10 weeks.

It the fews weeks of circulation thus far, not quite the miracle cure we may have hoped, but a potential weapon in the tool bag - how effective a weapon, clinical trials lasting 6 to 10 weeks will offer better clarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

These would not be scalable to carry out mass testing. They are to run limited experiments on.

I can assure you they are the exact same type of machines that diagnostic labs use. I've worked in both.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Trump probably thinking that graph is a before and after of a boob job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Testing is a world wide issue not limited to Ireland.

But again you fail to understand, if say 500 people over the age of 80 get the virus - it's safe to say without knowing about their general health a large % of them are going to require hospital treatment and some ICU and some will sadly pass away.

If you take 500 people in their 40's the number that will go into hospital is lower, the number needing ICU will be low, and even less will pay away.

So unless you have a breakdown of the age and where the person got the virus from you can't really take anything from the number in ICU, some nursing homes in Dublin have 150+ residents - wouldn't take much of an outbreak to fill hospital ICU beds in a Dublin hospital for instance.

But that's just it. Once our ICU capacity is reached then we will start to see a huge increase in deaths.

Some people are fixated on how many are testing positive, which at the minute is pointless. The number we should be watching and worrying about is how many are requiring ICU. Once this starts to increase rapidly our hospitals will be overwhelmed and we will start to see a huge rise in deaths. Same as Italy and same as Spain. So my point is to ignore the positive cases number and just hope that our ICU numbers don't go up too fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

owlbethere wrote: »

Surely that's the definition of "critical case recovery" no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,910 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Obviously not. I'm an escort in real life.

I would have had you down as a fiesta myself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

As someone who can readily work from home, I dont expect to be allowed to go into my office before sometime in June. My company fully support working from home

As restrictions get eased I suspect the government will ask companies like mine to continue this to allow a gradual return to normal life

Dr Tony said tonight that they will review restrictions Easter Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,894 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Loughc wrote: »
    The massive slow down in % of new cases over the past few days is surely a sign we got ahead of this early when we closed the schools and colleges so soon.

It seems to be working well.

Wouldn't be cracking open the champagne just yet. Need to see a few consecutive days of decline in the actual number of new cases before we can be confident we're winning the battle

kenmc wrote: »

Does ICU care always indicate critical status?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

'Its tested enough so you know it doesnt kill you'

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭voluntary

Trump probably thinking that graph is a before and after of a boob job

He's not stupid. He just treats people in America as they were stupid. And they love him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,732 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

owlbethere wrote: »

Could develop asthma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

You can tell that Trump is looking at the chart and is just thinking one thing - it looks like a perky boob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

US figures of 2 trillion dollars to save 2 million lives is a million dollars per life.
    Just to give some perspective on the numbers being thrown out because they are kind of meaningless when you hear them, they're just mind bogglingly big.

Have to admire them for that, but Trump is still an awful waffler, some of the stuff even in this press conference is just complete rabble and filler for ratings.

Not a fan of either of those doctors either, but I suppose they are only press conferences the real work is going on away from cameras.

Cheap oil.
    Gasoline 99cents a gallon. Yeeeeeeehaaaaawww

Dublin. Before the crash diesel 1.32, after the crash diesel 1.20 (today)

That's not even 10% reduction, WTF?

kenmc wrote: »

I suppose so, yes. Sorry for my choice of words.

I was just thinking about something tonight and this is something I'm interested in. Like the quality of life after this infection and after ICU. I know it's a new virus and it's early days.

Wasn't there reports from china of lung transplants happening there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭threeball

Fauci literally just said the efficacy tests will take months for hydroxy and other drugs and Trump just recommened going ahead and taking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,698 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

No fan but that is taking something out of context

US figures of 2 trillion dollars to save 2 million lives is a million dollars per life..

$1000 per life maybe?

US aircraft carrier Theodore Roosevelt is docked in Guam. Apparently 100 of the crew have the virus. Quarantining the entire crew is being considered.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-52110298

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Stripes99 wrote: »
    So you reckon this way of living is likely to go on for a number of months to come??

Who the fook knows? Why are you asking random lads on the internet who, in reality, probably know no more than yourself? Just follow the guidelines and wait and see like the rest of us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

voluntary wrote: »
    $1000 per life maybe?

2,000,000,000,000 (2 Trillion)
    2,000,000 (2 million)

= $1,000,000

Maths is hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Don't forget Leos unrealistic prediction of 15,000 cases by the end of the month.

I see lots of people celebrating and saying fantastic job by the Government because we didn't hit the 15,000 cases or 30% increase per day.
    You are the same kind of eejit that would be giving out about FG about putting the economy first if they didn't react to the virus and for all intents and purposes close the country

It's almost like you and that other clown weldoninhio would find any angle and use it as a stick to beat Varadkar.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Tax is so hight in this country on fuel in Ireland

Apparently...
    WASHINGTON: China's "wet markets" have reopened - selling bats, pangolins and dogs for human consumption.

The move is dangerous as scientists believe that the Covid-19 causing coronavirus first lurked in a bat in China and hopped to another animal, before getting passed on to humans.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/china/chinas-deadly-wet-markets-are-back/articleshow/74912294.cms?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=TOIMobile

yum

pH wrote: »
    2,000,000 (2 million)

= $1,000,000

Maths is hard.

right :D

But this is actually like 6 grand per citizen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Tandey

He's not stupid. He just treats people in America as they were stupid. And they love him for that.

Ah he’s a bit thick in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭Hippykitten

I'm summarising the US press conference with three words:

For The Birds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,910 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Going by how quiet the roads are, I’m in North Dublin and I’d be hearing cars in the evening pass at one every couple of minutes, nothing has passed in about 2 hours. It’s fücking weird.. silence is deafening out there. Reassuring though all things considered. The prices might be forced down because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Cases rising again in Spain ,
    https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-03-31/after-small-reprieve-daily-coronavirus-deaths-spike-in-spain-again.html

There will be carnage here in the summer when people will be expected to sit at home while it's 36C outside ..... total carnage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,698 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Strumms wrote: »
    Going by how quiet the roads are, I’m in North Dublin and I’d be hearing cars in the evening pass at one every couple of minutes, nothing has passed in about 2 hours. It’s fücking weird.. silence is deafening out there. Reassuring though all things considered.

I wouldn't be one for going to nightclubs and banging music but right now I wanna be sitting in one and not be able to hear myself talk

pH wrote: »
    2,000,000 (2 million)

= $1,000,000

Maths is hard.

*Math

We really need to up the standard here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,560 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The “ramping up of tests” etc was a PR exercise. The “we have plenty of PPE” was a PR exercise.
    The bullshyte about getting to “15,000 tests a day” was a PR exercise.

All we are getting from Simple Simon and Varadkardashian is spin and PR bluster.

The whole world is struggling with the this crisis.

It's now a global crisis.

I don't see the point in turning this into a political issue and blaming our politicians with hilarious names.

15,000 tests a day is not a PR exercise, it's a target they are working towards and they ar presently at 5,000 a day. By tests I mean results, not just swabs. They were at 2,000 last week.
    People do not accept it takes to get all these things up and running.

Constant sniping at politicians and other geniuses pointing out how they predicted this crisis the moment they heard a person in Wuhan had a sore throat is boring , and that the government should have gone full lock-down in February,achieve nothing and make this thread unreadable.

In the meantime our death rates remain low compared to other countries and that's nothing to do with the impact of the decisions taken by the government. It now means their forecasts were false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

$1000 per life maybe?

2 trillion divided by 2 million is 1 million, now obviously that money is spent on alot of different agencies but 1 million a patient for that posters figures

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Thursday 27th February....
    UK / HSE confirmed cases 016
    IRL / HSE confirmed cases Zero

Then on the 15th March ....
    UK / NHS confirmed cases 1,372
    IRL / HSE confirmed cases 0,139

Confirmed cases, 31st March....
    UK / NHS Confirmed cases 22,000
    IRL / HSE Confirmed cases 03,235
    UK / NHS Covid-19 deaths 01,415
    IRL / HSE Covid-19 deaths 071

Looking at these figures alone for the UK & Ireland just shows what a speed this virus is travelling at......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,643 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The beautiful ships, lol.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

*Math

We really need to up the standard here

Not this side of the pond, it isn't!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Cases rising again in Spain ,
    https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-03-31/after-small-reprieve-daily-coronavirus-deaths-spike-in-spain-again.html

There will be carnage here in the summer when people will be expected to sit at home while it's 36C outside ..... total carnage.

Im afraid so. Like if we get a few gorgeous weeks in May there'll be carnage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

The CMO was saying this evening that if the current measures take effect, we could see a relaxation of the current measures. Would this be the reopening of schools, colleges ect or what are we thinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Christ thats some turnaround by Trump. Only a week ago he banging on about back to business at Easter and the China Flu.

Moron absolute moron.

It may be time for everyone to mask up
    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is having second thoughts about masks.

Citing new data that shows high rates of transmission from people who are infected but show no symptoms, he said the guidance on mask wearing was “being critically re-reviewed, to see if there’s potential additional value for individuals that are infected or individuals that may be asymptomatically infected.”

The coronavirus is probably three times as infectious as the flu, Dr. Redfield said. Some people are infected and transmitting the virus probably as long as two days before showing any symptoms, he said. “This helps explain how rapidly this virus continues to spread across the country, because we have asymptomatic transmitters and we have individuals who are transmitting 48 hours before they become symptomatic,” Dr. Redfield said in the interview.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/31/health/cdc-masks-coronavirus.html