Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I guess it's like any business, they can decide the terms under which they'll allow entry (equality legislation aside obv.)

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭moonage

Graham wrote: »
    I guess it's like any business, they can decide the terms under which they'll allow entry (equality legislation aside obv.)

Maybe if they were a private business, but post offices are state operated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    moonage wrote: »
    Masks aren't mandatory in post offices, yet they have signs up saying to wear a mask.

These signs should be taken down. They should instead put up "masks not necessary" signs if they want.

Why don't you open a post office and you can do whatever you want and put up whatever signs you want?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

906 out of 951 post offices are owned/operated by retail partners.

The fact that masks aren't mandatory under the legislation doesn't preclude an organisation from deciding otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I fcucking love how anti maskers use the ''but but but you are not required by legislation to.....' as an argument for not wearing a mask, but then refuse to wear a fcucking mask in places where it is required by legislation.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

joeguevara wrote: »
    I fcucking love how anti maskers use the ''but but but you are not required by legislation .

I fcucking love how anti maskers are anti maskers. I mean, of all the things in the world to be concerned about, popping a mask on for a few minutes in a shop is well down the list.

But some people have spent entire months of their lives now "protesting" it. How bored and angry are some people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    joeguevara wrote: »
    You do know the pointlessness of your argument if none of the guidelines from them matter to you.

Shows up the blatant hypocrisy of those crying the loudest for masks.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I'm on the other side of the fence with this pandemic but I don't mind wearing a mask, however barely anyone actually knows how to use and handle them correctly so I question the point of even wearing one. Still its got to be better than nothing as the principal behind how a mask works is pretty simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,549 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Your blatant lies have been shown up already on this thread,inventing quotes from experts.

And there is no hypocrisy. Some people have the cop on to distinguish between recommendations for optimal performance and legal requirements for effectiveness. Wearing a mask in enclosed public places is the law, the law which you claim to be ignoring with a fradulent letter.
    It's like someone saying if you are not following the optimal care guidelines for your vehicle or tyres, there's no point in having an NCT.
    It's a ludicrous position which has been rightly ridiculed on this thread.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,659 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade

You might think that but it really doesn't. It just shows you looking for new holes to dig each day as your dogged rejection of masks runs into dead ends.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

rob316 wrote: »
    I'm on the other side of the fence with this pandemic but I don't mind wearing a mask, however barely anyone actually knows how to use and handle them correctly so I question the point of even wearing one. Still its got to be better than nothing as the principal behind how a mask works is pretty simple.

If it makes the fragile little old woman I'm standing beside in the shop feel more comfortable Ill happily wear one for a few minutes for her sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,192 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yes: other
    The Nal wrote: »
    I fcucking love how anti maskers are anti maskers. I mean, of all the things in the world to be concerned about, popping a mask on for a few minutes in a shop is well down the list.

But some people have spent entire months of their lives now "protesting" it. How bored and angry are some people?

They're not just anti-maskers though. You'd be here all day making a list of things they're against.

It boils down to sheer selfishness and, in some cases, sociopathy!

Masks? No! Ok, then how about social distancing? No! Ok, how about any other method of protecting others? No!

They "want". They just "want" and they don't care who will die as long as they get what they "want". They're the kids who banged their heads and bit their mothers because they didn't get the sweets they wanted in the shops, and they haven't grown out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,549 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The main thing when wearing them is that they cover your mouth and nose to contain any droplets you produce when breathing, speaking, coughing, sneezing.
    That's their essential purpose and why you are being asked to wear one in enclosed public places - to protect those around you.

Using the masks as PPE (and they need to be masks not cloth coverings) is usually approached more for those in health and care settings coming into contact with infected patients. A lot of the guidance still reflects that aspect.
    So if the question is whether they are being handled and used correctly, whether it's to protect others or as PPE is significant.

The infected particles on a health care worker's mask are likely to come from patients, and in this situation the health care worker is (hopefully) uninfected and therefore vulnerable. In contrast, if a member of the public is wearing a cloth face covering, they are the most likely source of any infectious particles on it. The more infectious particles that are caught in that covering, the fewer will have been aerosolised to infect others.

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/jep.13415

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

No: I don't care enough

What precisely about a mask being put in a pocket after wearing rather than a zip lock bag and being washed at 60 degrees every evening and never scratching your nose renders them pointless?

Once it covers your mouth and nose then it's doing its job. Not difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Spiderman0081

MrStuffins wrote: »
    They're not just anti-maskers though. You'd be here all day making a list of things they're against.

Masks? No! Ok, then how about social distancing? No! Ok, how about any other method of protecting others? No!

They "want". They just "want" and they don't care who will die as long as they get what they "want". They're the kids who banged their heads and bit their mothers because they didn't get the sweets they wanted in the shops, and they haven't grown out of it.
    And it looks like mommy didn’t give enough hugs to a little angry someone

• Registered Users Posts: 19,192 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yes: other
    And it looks like mommy didn’t give enough hugs to a little angry someone

Exactly! They're exactly like this You've nailed it!

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭littlecbear

john4321 wrote: »
    Hopefully after reading the below you might reconsider if you are listening to the correct person

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ucd-professor-asked-to-resign-from-eu-committee-over-covid-19-claims-1.4277698

"Ms Cahill also supported the use of hydroxychloroquine to treat Covid-19, one that has been supported, too, by US president Donald Trump. The drug, she said, is “safe and effective” in treating the disease."

The HSE would agree with the drug being safe and effective. In fact back in March Professor Michael Barry sent a memo to pharmacists to ask with their assistance in conserving its stocks for hospital treatment of Covid-19 to avoid hospital shortages and ensure stocks for community use for other non covid conditions only.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭juno10353

Yes: to protect myself and others
    The HSE would agree with the drug being safe and effective. In fact back in March Professor Michael Barry sent a memo to pharmacists to ask with their assistance in conserving its stocks for hospital treatment of Covid-19 to avoid hospital shortages and ensure stocks for community use for other non covid conditions only.

Hydroxychloroquine has been shown to have benefits in prevention and in early onset Covid, but the reverse if given only in later stages

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Why don't you post all that on Relaxation restrictions thread, you'll get plenty of audience there. This thread is a bit dead end for ya

• Registered Users Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

• Registered Users Posts: 10,659 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Seanergy wrote: »

So no posts from him tonight then? He'll tell the Gardaí they're wearing their masks wrong and not washing then enough - it'll do their head in. Extra charges if they find the fraudulent letter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Gardaí attended the scene just before 4pm where, according to footage shared on social media, they began removing and seizing the banners over the objections of a small group of protesters. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

odyssey06 wrote: »
    The main thing when wearing them is that they cover your mouth and nose to contain any droplets you produce when breathing, speaking, coughing, sneezing.
    That's their essential purpose and why you are being asked to wear one in enclosed public places - to protect those around you.

Using the masks as PPE (and they need to be masks not cloth coverings) is usually approached more for those in health and care settings coming into contact with infected patients. A lot of the guidance still reflects that aspect.
    So if the question is whether they are being handled and used correctly, whether it's to protect others or as PPE is significant.

The infected particles on a health care worker's mask are likely to come from patients, and in this situation the health care worker is (hopefully) uninfected and therefore vulnerable. In contrast, if a member of the public is wearing a cloth face covering, they are the most likely source of any infectious particles on it. The more infectious particles that are caught in that covering, the fewer will have been aerosolised to infect others.

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/jep.13415

you can't convince people with facts unfortunately....

realistically, the only way of changing an anti maskers opinion is through empathy... which means them being directly impacted by COVID...

thereafter, you're in psychopath territory

• Registered Users Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Anyone got access to the Lancet? paper doi:10.1016/s1473-3099(07)70029-4

So we had Fauci and Luke O'Neil both citing that public would cause more harm to themselves than good if they donned masks in March, maybe they took this from the following paper.

We know airborne was cited as a route of transmission by HSE around the middle of March, albeit covered up now. It's very possible that HSE have known about airborne transmission since March but due to various reasons, possibly the reasons outlined below, have not publicly relayed this.

Here are 2 snippets from paper + a snippet of text from Charles V. Chapin.

ab1.png

ab2.png

ab3.png

Ventilation is good with airborne viruses. The HSE knew from the beginning this was airborne. Their advice from the beginning of this was to go into a room by yourself, with a phone and open a window. They just never actually said it was airborne. It's criminal behaviour from them really because face coverings at least should have been made mandatory for the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭jackboy

Ventilation is good with airborne viruses. The HSE knew from the beginning this was airborne. Their advice from the beginning of this was to go into a room by yourself, with a phone and open a window. They just never actually said it was airborne. It's criminal behaviour from them really because face coverings at least should have been made mandatory for the public.

There was a shortage of masks at the start so the HSE wanted healthcare workers to be first priority for getting these. They handled the shortage by lying to the public, claiming masks were dangerous and wearing them is worse than not wearing them.

The vast majority of the media and Irish scientists backed up the lies.

jackboy wrote: »
    There was a shortage of masks at the start so the HSE wanted healthcare workers to be first priority for getting these. They handled the shortage by lying to the public, claiming masks were dangerous and wearing them is worse than not wearing them.

The vast majority of the media and Irish scientists backed up the lies.

That's why I said they should have made face coverings mandatory back in the early days. They just lied to us and allowed all this to happen, risking people's lives. Now all we have are anti-maskers who doesn't believe they work.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Yes: surgical
    I wonder how many anti maskers rarely wash their hands...not folks id want to be socialising with

• Registered Users Posts: 20,995 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Anyone got access to the Lancet? paper doi:10.1016/s1473-3099(07)70029-4

So we had Fauci and Luke O'Neil both citing that public would cause more harm to themselves than good if they donned masks in March, maybe they took this from the following paper.

We know airborne was cited as a route of transmission by HSE around the middle of March, albeit covered up now. It's very possible that HSE have known about airborne transmission since March but due to various reasons, possibly the reasons outlined below, have not publicly relayed this.

Here are 2 snippets from paper + a snippet of text from Charles V. Chapin.

ab1.png

ab2.png

ab3.png
    Just wear the feckin thing

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

MrStuffins wrote: »

Nail on the head. They dress their selfishness up as some kind of crusade to protect their individual rights etc when the reality is they are just a***holes plain and simple.