Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

R Kings and other car raffles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

My guess going on my dealings with them is that they would only offer you trade rate for your car which would be a lot less than what you would get selling it privately.

Selling a 25k+ car on UK plates privately is not easy, you'd be as well to take the easy option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

millington wrote: »
    Selling a 25k+ car on UK plates privately is not easy, you'd be as well to take the easy option

I did, as I said before. 2 phone calls and a text and the money was in my account in 24 hours. Never saw the car after I went up to Newry for the winners photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Pristine competitions have a 1978 mk2 Escort ,white, with all the bits including 4 big Cibies its class looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Pristine competitions have a 1978 mk2 Escort ,white, with all the bits including 4 big Cibies its class looking

I seen that a few days ago alright. Nice car for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

They reduced the price on the Focus RS too. A lot of their market must have been in the south I'd imagine. They might want to try the FDR approach as some of the VRT cash they offer doesnt even cover the VRT on the UK imports

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭TylerRyan28

Hey lads I did a competition with Wincar never did one with them before have done R kings a few times , but I wouldn't be using wincar again . With R Kings you get given random numbers and they make it so easy with an email straight away. Win car put up a link to a page full of entries from everyone you have to look for your own number.
    Also if you buy say 3 tickets you expect to get 3 random numbers but you get what ever number is next on there list . Going through the list few people bought 10 entries so say they were first to pay for a ticket you will get number 1 all the way up to 10 not random numbers .

Would yous recommend any Irish competition pages that are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Hey lads I did a competition with Wincar never did one with them before have done R kings a few times , but I wouldn't be using wincar again . With R Kings you get given random numbers and they make it so easy with an email straight away. Win car put up a link to a page full of entries from everyone you have to look for your own number.
    Also if you buy say 3 tickets you expect to get 3 random numbers but you get what ever number is next on there list . Going through the list few people bought 10 entries so say they were first to pay for a ticket you will get number 1 all the way up to 10 not random numbers .

Would yous recommend any Irish competition pages that are good.

Good to know that you have a better chance of winning with 10 x non sequential numbers as opposed to sequential :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭rodge123

There’s definitely a very noticeable slowdown in cars shifting, another lovely m3 that’s taking days to sell out there now.
    Can’t really see it changing unless they start putting good wads of cash with the cars to entice the southerners back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭maddness

McKinney competitions have a new Golf R up. Wonder how much vrt, vat and everything else it would cost to put it on the road here?

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Murt102

maddness wrote: »
    McKinney competitions have a new Golf R up. Wonder how much vrt, vat and everything else it would cost to put it on the road here?

Was just about to ask the same question!! Presuming that it is unregistered, what would be the case?

And if it is registered, then how much would a person be expected to pay to get it registered in ROI since its less than 6 months old?

Either way it is going to be expensive...

Murt102 wrote: »
    Was just about to ask the same question!! Presuming that it is unregistered, what would be the case?

And if it is registered, then how much would a person be expected to pay to get it registered in ROI since its less than 6 months old?

Either way it is going to be expensive...

Yeah I reckon about 20-25 grand to get on the road here.
    Still a €65,000 car here.

Not sure vat is applied on something you win in a raffle?

rodge123 wrote: »
    Not sure vat is applied on something you win in a raffle?

Its new, think vat will apply
    FDR have a 211 Tiguan,

Its new, think vat will apply
    FDR have a 211 Tiguan,

So anyone that wins a car on the late late show has to pay vat on it?

McKinneys is in the North, you will be charged Southern Vat if the car is less than 6 months old and you live in the South

RKings have a Porsche Panamera Turbo up now. Beautiful car but again massive vrt bill to bring it in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

RKings have a Porsche Panamera Turbo up now. Beautiful car but again massive vrt bill to bring it in here.

Ahhhhh stop FFS ill be busted, turned off notifications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

And in contrast, anything with a 'southern reg' sells out fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

That mazda has lasted a long time compared to the normal vintage yokes - what's the story there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Cheensbo wrote: »
    That mazda has lasted a long time compared to the normal vintage yokes - what's the story there?

Modified, older Mazdas probably don't have as much of a following perhaps? That is a very niche car and would be harder to shift at the best of times when compared to a MkI or MkII Escort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Cheensbo wrote: »

How many people even know what it is, never mind actually want one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

millington wrote: »
    How many people even know what it is, never mind actually want one?

It's really old, rwd and turbo - in this climate of expensive old rwd jap cars - what's not to want ? :pac:

Now that booter, I could definitely have a go of that.

I’ve decided that I’ve had enough with these draws. I started doing the odd one and ended up doing far too many draws. I’m just bored and liked the distraction but there has to be a limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

I’ve decided that I’ve had enough with these draws. I started doing the odd one and ended up doing far too many draws. I’m just bored and liked the distraction but there has to be a limit.

Ssme boat

Wincar have a nice 171 BMW 5 series up but haven't heard much about them, and they always seem to take a while to sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I have a ticket for it, I see they’re now offering a cash alternative of £40,000. I would have thought it’d be worth well north of that.

Certainly 40k is life changing money for a lot of people and a decent chunk of change but (a) the total cost of the tickets is £70k and (b) a 2017 Panamera in that spec goes for about £67k retail on auto trader. So they ain't exactly desperate to get rid of it.

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/car-details/202006089925086?radius=1500&advertising-location=at_cars&make=PORSCHE&include-delivery-option=on&aggregatedTrim=Turbo&sort=relevance&keywords=bhp&year-to=2017&postcode=bt487th&model=PANAMERA&onesearchad=New&onesearchad=Nearly%20New&onesearchad=Used&year-from=2017&page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭markc1184

If you were to win and took the £40k would there be any tax implications?

40 grand is a piss take. It’s an easy 55-60 grand sale to a garage up north or if you were brave enough to vrt it it’s close to 90 grand of a car here.

Hence the link to a 67k car above ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭easygoing39

That red Mazda 626 from R Kings won by a lad from Dublin.Looked ok in the flesh,but sounded very well.

WTF is with them nearly always havibg non OEM wheels on otherwise nice cars!
    Maybe I’m a bit of a purest but I’d much prefer to have the originals on.
    surely an m3 comes with a lovely set from factory for example....taking about the m3 they have up now on rkings.

That aside, I do hardly any of their comps nowadays they seem to offer very little cash with them to offset vrt costs.
    Also reckon ya could be hit with import 10% as I’d say lot of the fancy cars are coming from mainland uk. Wouldn’t be sure if they have registered them in north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭bladespin

That aside, I do hardly any of their comps nowadays they seem to offer very little cash with them to offset vrt costs.

Agree with that, seems to be a lot of band new cars up now the vat on top of the VRT would put me off.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That red Mazda 626 from R Kings won by a lad from Dublin.Looked ok in the flesh,but sounded very well.

It wasn't a very nice looking car, nothing like the Nissans and Toyotas from that era and so took for ever to sell out compared to the R34 which sold nearly 6000 tickets in just over 2 days.

I haven't bought a ticket for any of their raffles for a while but simply couldn't not buy one for the R34. God only knows what I would have done if I had won it, you'd need a mortgage to VRT it and then trying to get insurance would be next to impossible but I still wanted to win it...but didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I haven't bought a ticket for any of their raffles for a while but simply couldn't not buy one for the R34. God only knows what I would have done if I had won it, you'd need a mortgage to VRT it and then trying to get insurance would be next to impossible but I still wanted to win it...but didn't.

You could do what the lads who won the yellow lambo did. Drove it for a few weeks and sell it. You’d be quids up regardless. Just don’t bust the sump on it like the lambo lads did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

You could do what the lads who won the yellow lambo did. Drove it for a few weeks and sell it. You’d be quids up regardless. Just don’t bust the sump on it like the lambo lads did.

I'm told that was a mechanic or his son that did that out show boating. The gold R(cough) was a better one. Engine was ejected out of the car. :eek:

I thought they were going to be stuck with that X5 it was taking so long to shift. But they added the £40k alternative prize on to it instead.

They made £80k on it.....

Anyone use the Storm Competitions? They have a lovely GLE up there, 1 ticket is 18 GBP but there's a huge amount of tickets (4999)

Only 3314 tickets sold and draw is tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Mc Love wrote: »
    Anyone use the Storm Competitions? They have a lovely GLE up there, 1 ticket is 18 GBP but there's a huge amount of tickets (4999)

Only 3314 tickets sold and draw is tonight

They are based about 10 miles from me, I was originally put off by the amount of English winners they had but since then I know of 1 person locally who won a car from them.

Yeah we'd still be stung from import and vat would in the republic?

Aska wrote: »
    Nice Evo 6 on Ooosch at present too, had a white 2001 VI in the past so I purchased a ticket for her. And just incase anyone doesn't deal with them. Herself won a drone about a month ago with them. Delivered asap and all, no hassle, and yes that's the same lucky bird that won the X5 on RKings in June. I wouldn't mind only I would probably outspend her by 4:1 and she wins. In fairness I guess the stuff she usually puts a bid on is wont £5

They have an R Line double bubble now for 25 euro - well worth it

Escort Harrier up now RS wheels no other mods ,nostalgia overload

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Jamie981

How is it a draw goes ahead even if tickets don't sell out? are they taking a loss and moving on I wonder

Jamie981 wrote: »
    How is it a draw goes ahead even if tickets don't sell out? are they taking a loss and moving on I wonder

They don't do the draw until the tickets are all sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Notdeco

Saw a white BMW with northern reg and r Kings sticker on the back window in Bray today. Anyone here won it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Jamie981

They don't do the draw until the tickets are all sold.

I often see in the description, 'Draw goes ahead regardless of sellout'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Jamie981 wrote: »
    I often see in the description, 'Draw goes ahead regardless of sellout'

Yeah I think there was a porsche draw recently that didn't sell out, he actually commented on one of the draws they took a haircut on that draw.

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Yeah I think there was a porsche draw recently that didn't sell out, he actually commented on one of the draws they took a haircut on that draw.

I presumed it would be a sort of spoof, in that such a situation would never arise. But fair play to them for staying true to their word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Imagine pulling up to the dole office in that. Double parking and them all looking at ya.

Session heads done a great ad for lucky dip competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭bladespin

Imagine pulling up to the dole office in that. Double parking and them all looking at ya.

Session heads done a great ad for lucky dip competitions.

Any different to an 'ethnic minority' parking outside the SW office in their S class?

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!