Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,136 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Has anyone seen the various reports that ventilators may not be the correct treatment for the chronically ill ?

https://time.com/5820556/ventilators-covid-19/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I don't understand the question? They are not viable, safe businesses. There is no choice here.

But sure we were told the curve has been flattened. Wasnt that the whole point of lockdown?

Look I'm not saying reopen them right now but no reason why they cant reopen in may when everything else is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Cyrus wrote: »
    Has anyone seen the various reports that ventilators may not be the correct treatment for the chronically ill ?

yeah a week or two back...

I watched contagion last night, about a viral outbreak, jesus its uncanny! Its worth a watch, just for how much they nailed, what would actually happen, who would be involved etc...

That hypothetical was something you would not want to catch (obviously its a film, they werent going to make it out to be something liked Covid 19), where many dont realise they have had it or its very mild, for a large amount that get it...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I agree, imagine just being able to go for a few pints now, with no virus implications, in a dream land, it would do us the world of good. but no , of course they cant open them any time soon. This bull**** about pubs will be open in a month or two, on another planet. they will start getting people back to work over the next few weeks, the schools are realistically going to have to go back in september, I dont have kids, but I am also not an idiot, particularly if people are working, go tell parents schools wont re-open in september, after months of this bull**** already, good luck! Pubs are way down the road and foreign leisure based travel? LOL! same with large gatherings , miles down the road.

its pretty simple to work out, there is the mass contact, that is important and totally unimportant, work related, that cant be done remotely, important. Kids education and the households sanity, important. The cost of them getting back up, will rightfully be, pretty much all of the good stuff, pubs, gigs , sporting events, is pushed way back...

You do know some people work in pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭JPCN1

I don't understand the question? They are not viable, safe businesses. There is no choice here.

Neither then are barbers, dentists, taxi's, public transport, air travel....

At some stage we have to get all these working again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Reganio 2 wrote: »

So?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Podge201 wrote: »
    Pubs won't be open until 2021.

Nobody can say that, that's 8 months away. We have had this for 5 weeks properly and we have had so many ups and downs, nobody has a clue what life will be like in 4 months, never mind 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭jibber5000

Cyrus wrote: »

Think the issue there is that they don't have enough intensivists to manage each patients ventilator settings closely.

We don't have that problem here.

If someone is desaturating on 15L of non invasive 02 they need to be intubated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

listen, I run a business. The total lockdown thing is idiocy or people here actually thinking its some long term solution, I am starting to think they are trolls, not idiots.

But what do you propose with the pubs? I wish I could go for pints again, under reasonable circumstances, but they just cant be justified to rep-open unless they get a better handle on this, I hope they do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭briany

But sure we were told the curve has been flattened. Wasnt that the whole point of lockdown?

Look I'm not saying reopen them right now but no reason why they cant reopen in may when everything else is.

Flattening the curve is not the end goal. Flattening the curve is about getting the cases and deaths under control. The next step after that is to cautiously reopen things in stages while being careful not to tip the graph upward again.

Pubs are, by their nature, places where people like to socialise in close proximity. They will not be places where people observe social distancing. This fact could be seen from before the lockdown where people in pubs didn't give a bo****ks about spreading COVID-19.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

No, you end up back at square one and have to enact another lockdown if you allow the virus to go unchecked after you open. This isn't shut it down, virus is gone. Open it all back up. ffs

accensi0n wrote: »
    So?

Ah ok their jobs dont matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Only the very stupid are not going to take reasonable precautions when the lockdown is lifted. So if the vulnerable and elderly continue to lock down and we all stay away from the very stupid (I try to do this anyway) we should have a fighting chance. There will be casualties, but at the end of the day, people smoke, drive too fast and partake in extreme sports. Life comes with its risks, it’s part of the attraction.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Is this headline not hugely misleading, from what I read it mean antibody tests wont prove your immune and not that there is no immunity.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0418/1132298-who-anti-bodies-covid-19/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭alwald

The government will have some hard decisions to make in the next months starting with the most anticipated road-map.
    C-19 represents the biggest challenge to the Irish government in the last few decades. There is so much at stake between the well being of people, the challenges facing the healthcare system as a whole, the economy of the country, the mental health of the nation...there is so much to think of.

No, you end up back at square one and have to enact another lockdown if you allow the virus to go unchecked after you open. This isn't shut it down, virus is gone. Open it all back up. ffs

Posing ffs after your posts to various degrees dosent make your point more expressive. I am saying all this talk about going back to normal but pubs cant reopen dosent make sense. Peoples livelihoods are in the pubs too. I didnt say open it all back up or anything of the sort.

• Administrators Posts: 53,955 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The Govt. will relax the restrictions on the 5th or the People will take it upon themselves to do so.
    How will the people do this exactly?
    never_mind wrote: »
    By ignoring Gardaí or by sneaking about generally!
    Which if done on a large scale would eventually result in a much stricter lockdown than anything we have in place now.

The Guards police Ireland by consent. The only reason we are in lockdown right now is because the people are currently happy to be in lockdown.

When the people are no longer happy to be in lockdown, then lockdown will end, with or without government approval. Mass arrests by the Guards or army is just pure fantasy that exists only in the head of the curtain-twitching lockdown-fetishists on here.

Simon Harris and co said many times at the start, when some on here were incredulous that Ireland hadn't just totally shut down the country months ago, that it was important to implement lockdown measures at the right time. That's because they know that there is only so long that such measures can be put in place, and timing is everything.

The restrictions will ease in the weeks after May 5th, officially or unofficially. It is inevitable. Those enjoying lockdown, and those who enjoy this outbreak as it gives them their daily dose of drama, will need to adjust to this reality.

As for those posting things like "I lost my job but I'm happy cause the economy doesn't matter", we'll see how happy you are when that 350 quid you're getting is stopped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

All the fluff outta the lift the lockdown brigade they want em lifted rapid as they are worried about the money but when put to the question on the issues around such a return to normality they have no answers just a load of fluff buzz word of the day they hide behind **hyperbolic**

Kasier seems to think his a psychologist, and expert on why people think how they think , then there's the legion of sheep behind him...

Boards is always good for a laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Nermal

niallo27 wrote: »
    Is this headline not hugely misleading, from what I read it mean antibody tests wont prove your immune and not that there is no immunity.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0418/1132298-who-anti-bodies-covid-19/

Yes - hugely misleading, and I've seen the exact same headline in numerous other sites, including the IT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Posing ffs after your posts to various degrees dosent make your point more expressive. I am saying all this talk about going back to normal but pubs cant reopen dosent make sense. Peoples livelihoods are in the pubs too. I didnt say open it all back up or anything of the sort.

We are not going back to nornal after the lockdown. There is normal before this virus and the new normal after the lockdown, they will be very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Ah ok their jobs dont matter.

Their jobs do matter.

But I think the other posters point was that you can't have people crammed into a pub during the virus.

How is 'But people work in pubs' a good enough reason to allow an extremely conducive environment for allowing the virus to spread?

awec wrote: »

As for those posting things like "I lost my job but I'm happy cause the economy doesn't matter", we'll see how happy you are when that 350 quid you're getting is stopped.

That's the big one, all kind of rosy at the moment with people getting a grand set of money a week. But when that 350 stops in 5 weeks (I think) what happens then. People arent going to be happy sitting there on just job seekers money or whatever they decide to do. Basically most jobs are going to have to reopen as soon as this 350 dries up, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

Cupatae wrote: »
    All the fluff outta the lift the lockdown brigade they want em lifted rapid as they are worried about the money but when put to the question on the issues around such a return to normality they have no answers just a load of fluff buzz word of the day they hide behind **hyperbolic**

Kasier seems to think his a psychologist, and expert on why people think how they think , then there's the legion of sheep behind him...

His contribution has been far superior to yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,602 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We are not going back to nornal after the lockdown. There is normal before this virus and the new normal after the lockdown, they will be very different.

Normality will probably only be achieved with a vaccine. Covid just won’t disappear.

I agree. I hope to a certain extent people do change things. But also worry that people are creatures of habit. How long till all of the procedures just owly fade away and then we are pretty much back to normal.
    Their jobs do matter.

But I think the other posters point was that you can't have people crammed into a pub during the virus.

How is 'But people work in pubs' a good enough reason to allow an extremely conducive environment for allowing the virus to spread?
    But if they do it like other businesses with less seating or people coming in or whatever why couldn't they? The reason it's a good enough excuse is because people need to get back to normality earning money and pubs arent just pubs half of them can be called restaurants if they wanted, which people will be crying to be open again. Lots of places are crammed like pubs but will be reopened before pubs and people wont say a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,136 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

As opposed to you who has a solution for everything, actually you don’t it’s just #lockdownforlife

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

Their jobs do matter.

When the lockdown is removed the virus will spread alot faster, it's only a matter of time wait and see the groups and gatherings once the restrictions are eased.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,789 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Posters like yourself ruin what should be an interesting thread. Stop with the point scoring and go back to the curtain twitching I'd say

I feel your moaning failed miserably.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,287 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Strumms wrote: »
    Normality will probably only be achieved with a vaccine. Covid just won’t disappear.

And a vaccine may or may not arrive for god knows how long and might not even work. Theres going to have to be a balancing act somewhere along the line that life resumes under some sort of normality, WHO have been pretty vocal in saying this over the last week that we can't be paralysed until a vaccine.

Wouldn't like to be the person setting the dates for things to reopen. Your dammed if you and dammed if you dont.