Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Max H wrote: »
    Borrowed from a friend, so very apt at the moment

As someone with a Masters in disease control, you can only imagine the sheer hell on earth that Facebook is for me at the moment.

From Chantelle who has impressively made the leap from bath bomb retailer to consultant virologist in a matter of weeks and can tell you exactly why the government and their experts are wrong, to Bob who claims to have secret intel from a secret government group on the secret programme of secret treatment measures that the government are definitely bringing in at 3pm next Thursday, only it’s a secret, but he’s posting it on Facebook so he feels like 007, to Steve who thinks it’s all a load of bollocks and if he wants to wander round town he bloody well can cos he doesn’t feel sick and why the **** is ‘spoons shut cos his granddad didn’t fight the nazis for him to be told to stay inside even if pornhub premium is now free for a week.

I tried as hard as I could in my studies and in my work in disease control to avoid viruses like the plague (see what I did there?) because they are absolute bastards. Bacteria are so much easier to control and parasites are positively dreamy. Viruses are utter bastards (did I mention that?) because you can do almost **** all to them. To deal with viruses you have to deal with the viral vector instead. That’s the weak point for a virus. Its vector. Only in this case the vector is humans, bloody stupid, arsehole humans like Chantelle, Bob and Steve. Viral control is about psychology more than it’s about medicine and that’s what’s scary about it. Giving everyone a pill is easy, getting everyone to listen and change their behaviour is a ****ing nightmare.

The virus is just chugging along being a virus, it’s living it’s best life #livelaughcough. You can’t ignore it out of existence, scaremonger it away or become magically immune by gargling with vinegar, donning a decorating mask or sticking a live frog up your arse and swanning round town like an immortal dickhead. You have to actually do what you’re being told to do. YOU.

YOU. You can stop it. Do what you’re told. Stay the **** inside. Stop thinking you’re an expert, stop thinking you know best, stop thinking you’re a rebel, stop trying to be a special little cupcake. Be a sheeple. Do what you’ve been asked to do. This is NOT your time to shine sweet cheeks, this isn’t your opportunity to over throw the system and save mankind. It’s your opportunity to sit tight, watch Netflix and save mankind.

The virus does not give a **** about you. You’re just a stepping stone, a host, a nameless, faceless breeding ground and launchpad. All it gives a **** about is reproducing and finding new hosts. Don’t let it. Break the chain. Shut the hell up. Stop spreading fake news, fear and gossip. Let the experts be the experts and do what they tell you because all the googling, all the conspiracy theories, all the spoilt princess routines and all the voodoo bull**** in the world is not going to help you one little bit. This is not about YOUR ego, it’s about OUR survival. So act for the good of us all and do what you’re being asked to d

Tripe

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Blueshoe wrote: »
    You can still go outside.

No you can't. You can (at the moment) exercise once a day and go out for essential food.

Someone in an abusive relationship is now stuck there 24/7, pretty much. No work to go to to escape, no gym, no socialising with friends. And all this at a time where everyone is stressed, tempers are fraying and people are scared.

I'm not saying end the lockdown right now, I'm saying that it isn't a matter of 'snowflakes' wanting to go out drinking. None of the people who were reported to have carried out murder suicides were young. One man who killed himself and his wife was over 70.

But people keep prattling on about 'snowflakes' as if it's all so simple and so easy to just stay inside. It isn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

kippy wrote: »
    Of course they are going to save a great deal of lives....which is a direct consequence of not overwhelming the health service...

Frightening as the virus is it`s even more terrifying how some so called intelligent people can`t or won`t acknowledge this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Nermal wrote: »
    You referred to a WHO study of 56,000 patients (link still to be provided) and in the same post discussed results found in tiny case studies. Scare-mongering. Blocked.

Well I presume I don't have to hold your hand - do I? The WHO study is fairly easy to find.

Yes I linked to a very relevant case study. Or would your like me to find you half a dozen more as you cant be bothered?

Reality! Actual facts! nah - prefer to stick your head in the sand? Fingers in the ears? 'Nah nah nah I dont want to hear it'

Reality

It sucks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

gozunda wrote: »
    Whst the fuk are you on about? Did what exactly?

Eitherway bull****. If you didnt understand what was written its not my fault.

You said: "Additionally those lucklily enough to be totally asymptomatic have been found to exhibit considerable organ damage including the presence of 'ground glass type opacities' to the lungs."

You then went back and changed it to: "Additionally (at least some)* of those lucklily enough to be totally asymptomatic have been found to exhibit considerable organ damage including the presence of 'ground glass type opacities' to the lungs."

You are a bluffer.

ITman88 wrote: »
    Look you have no issues sitting indoors for 18 months. That’s great you can do that.

A point will come where the economic effects from the restrictions will cause more deaths than covid.

I’m not talking about suicide,I’m talking about a lack of revenue to run an efficient health service.

So far all advice has been from HSE/WHO, those organisations are only concerned with the nations health.

Very little advice exists from an economic point of view.

As another poster alluded to, has a risk assessment been carried out yet of health risk vs economic effects?

You know a lot of other countries are in this with us yeah? It's not just the HSE/ WHO

Economics are far from being ignored. The aftermath is not going to be pretty. But thats where we're at.

Frightening as the virus is it`s even more terrifying how some so called intelligent people can`t or won`t acknowledge this.

And not a single poster isn’t acknowledging that.

Great to have some balanced input

Reality! Actual facts! nah - prefer to stick your head in the sand? Fingers in the ears? 'Nah nah nah I dont want to hear it'

Reality

It sucks...

Ironically, when the reality hits home for some, there will be no more solace to be found hiding in the bedroom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

ITman88 wrote: »
    Your sensationalising the point I made.

We will save some lives buy not overwhelming the health service.

Some posters think that number will be in the thousands, it wont

You`re right. If no restrictions had been imposed the death toll could well be tens of thousands higher than what it eventually will be.

kippy wrote: »
    I am sure that's being looked at too but it's far to early to start making those calls.

I think this point sums up the concern in this thread.

It’s certainly never to early to consider the effects of the restrictions continuing indefinitely

You`re right. If no restrictions had been imposed the death toll could well be tens of thousands higher than what it eventually will be.

You’re right, we would end up with more deaths than Italy, with a much younger population and less than 10% of the population of Italy.

Anyway I don’t suggest we should of never implemented restrictions, the thread is about how long they can continue for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

polesheep wrote: »
    A lot of sense but, let's be clear, mankind is not going to be wiped out by this virus.

Quiet a few members of mankind will , are and have been.

I would say we'll have another month of restrictions ... at least

You said: "Additionally those lucklily enough to be totally asymptomatic have been found to exhibit considerable organ damage including the presence of 'ground glass type opacities' to the lungs." You then went back and changed it to: "Additionally (at least some)* of those lucklily enough to be totally asymptomatic have been found to exhibit considerable organ damage including the presence of 'ground glass type opacities' to the lungs."

You are a bluffer.

Nowhere does that quote refer to "All" btw. I also linked to the study that referred to. You know specifics like ...

So this stands btw
    "Additionally those lucklily enough to be totally asymptomatic have been found to exhibit considerable organ damage including the presence of 'ground glass type opacities' to the lungs."

Determined to nitpick yeah? I already figured that btw.

And yeah just because you jumped to the daft presumption that referred to all cases and being nice - I simplified it for you. You're welcome.

Quiet a few members of mankind will , are and have been.

I would say we'll have another month of restrictions ... at least

Quite a few of mankind won’t be wiped out, some graphs are suggesting very little rise in overall death rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,515 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The thread is descending into utter chaos.

If it's a mirror of society we are in for a long few weeks. I reckon another 2 weeks of lockdown. Simon Harris said R of the virus 2.5 is still high and not where they want it. Said the same about testing. Its only going one way next week with the announcement. 2 more weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭GreyEagle

Gardai advised a family member of mine(elderly) that everybody should avoid the Pavilion Shopping Centre in Swords today (Sunday)as it is packed at the moment.

Some people not getting the message there.

Watch out for the case numbers to rise in North Dublin next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I can see it being extended to the end of the month . if its working then I think there will be a relaxation so that hardware stores, garden centres , paint shops etc can run on a delivery or collection basis only. stay like that for a few weeks and then start scaling back the restrictions as we control this.

people are and will get seriously bored at home so allowing stuff like paint , plants building materials etc to be bought would occupy a lot of people and make another few weeks bearable

Nowhere does that quote refer to "All" btw. I also linked to the study that referred to. You know specifics like ...

So this stands btw

Determined to nitpick yeah? I already figured that btw.

And yeah just because you jumped to the daft presumption that referred to all cases and being nice - I simplified it for you. You're welcome.

You did not refer to 'some' asymptomatic people until you were pulled up on it. You are a bluffer. I understand that your scaremongering comes from a position of fear, but it would be best if you refrained from doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

N
    GreyEagle wrote: »
    Gardai advised a family member of mine(elderly) that everybody should avoid the Pavilion Shopping Centre in Swords today (Sunday)as it is packed at the moment.

Are shopping centres open except for food shopping. Why would it be packed. Why would the guards have to advise your family. Do guards go around doing this.

You did not refer to 'some' asymptomatic people until you were pulled up on it. You are a bluffer. I understand that your scaremongering comes from a position of fear, but it would be best if you refrained from doing it.

Even more nit picking lol

What do want? Spoonfed?. What I certainly did not do - was make any reference to "all" and to clarify that for you in the very next comment also linked to a relevant study.

Sorry you were unable to understand any of that.

Did you bother to ask if you really were so unsure? No you did not. You just started to whinge and moan - much like most of your other pointless comments. I feel sorry for you that you equate verifiable facts with 'fear'.

Welcome to the ignore list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭GreyEagle

niallo27 wrote: »
    N

Are shopping centres open except for food shopping. Why would it be packed. Why would the guards have to advise your family. Do guards go around doing this.

If you are cocooned (over 70s and/or medically compromised)and in need of assistance for pharmacy, groceries etc the Gardai will help if required. Once you are on their list they will make contact in person or by phone every so often to make sure you are ok.

It's horrible. I don't think people who haven't lived somewhere like this can truly understand how crap it is. I'm sharing with people I don't particularly know or like, I can only buy small amounts of food at a time because I only have one shelf in the fridge and a small amount of space in a press.

I need to get out and exercise, but doing so puts me at risk because the pavements are full of joggers and cyclists because of the busybodies who reported people to the police for minding their own business in the park, sitting alone and reading books or enjoying the sun. So now it's even worse for those of us who don't have a nice big private garden and our own space to exercise.

The nice weather is making it all seem so much worse, to be honest. I'm sitting here with the sun streaming in the windows, not even allowed to sit and read a book outside and with no idea when I'll be able to do that again. People here NEED the outside communal spaces.

Given your situation- would it be possible for you to volunteer with the likes of Vincent de Paul or similar? The HSE is also looking for volunteers afaik.

At least that would get you out of the flat and stsrt meeting others even with social distancing restrictions in place.

I know of several young people who are severely restricted to their accommodation due to underlying health issues and who really do not have much hope of getting out at all for the foreseeable future or until a vaccine or similar is found.

For the rest of us - there are options.

Even more nit picking lol

What do want? Spoonfed?. What I certainly did not do - was make any reference to "all" and to clarify that for you in the very next comment also to the relevant study.

Sorry you were unable to understand any of that.

Did you bother to ask if you really were so unsure? No you did not. You just started to whinge and moan - much like most of your other pointless comments. I feel sorry for you that you equate verifiable facts with 'fear'.

Welcome to the ignore list.

You're like the Lord Haw Haw of Covid-19. Go back under your stairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭RoryMac

GreyEagle wrote: »

Sounds like BS, probably only 2 shops open there

Given your situation- would it be possible for you to volunteer with the likes of Vincent de Paul or similar? The HSE is also looking for volunteers afaik.

At least that would get you out of the flat and stsrt meeting others even with social distancing restrictions in place.

I know of several young people who are severely restricted to their accommodation due to underlying health issues and who really do not have much hope of getting out at all for the foreseeable future or until a vaccine or similar is found.

For the rest of us - there are options.

I'm in London and I do have underlying health issues, which is why it's so important that I'm getting exercise and air. I don't mind doing the lockdown but I need to get outside.

niallo27 wrote: »
    N

Ah but you see, the people in there aren't just normal people trying to get some food in for the house, like the poster's parents. They're idiots, who are deliberately trying to kill everyone they know by selfishly going shopping.

It's getting quite amusing seeing posts from people who think 'other people' are a problem when they're just trying to do the exact same thing they or their family are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

this nanny state is so ridiculous, cant wait to see how it all pans out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Idbatterim wrote: »
    this nanny state is so ridiculous, cant wait to see how it all pans out!

What country are you in?

What approach do you think should be taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,121 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

irishgeo wrote: »
    The thread is descending into utter chaos.

If it's a mirror of society we are in for a long few weeks. I reckon another 2 weeks of lockdown. Simon Harris said R of the virus 2.5 is still high and not where they want it. Said the same about testing. Its only going one way next week with the announcement. 2 more weeks.

And what then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

No you can't. You can (at the moment) exercise once a day and go out for essential food.

Someone in an abusive relationship is now stuck there 24/7, pretty much. No work to go to to escape, no gym, no socialising with friends. And all this at a time where everyone is stressed, tempers are fraying and people are scared.

I'm not saying end the lockdown right now, I'm saying that it isn't a matter of 'snowflakes' wanting to go out drinking. None of the people who were reported to have carried out murder suicides were young. One man who killed himself and his wife was over 70.

But people keep prattling on about 'snowflakes' as if it's all so simple and so easy to just stay inside. It isn't.

You are putting quotation marks either side of the word snowflakes. I didn't use the word. I used the word selfish.

It's a pandemic. Hundreds of millions of people around the world are living in lockdown. Deal with it. You are not special