Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

Anti-Lockdown Protests in Dublin today

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_r959s7LyeE&feature=youtu.be

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Why are a crowd allowed to march through Dublin with a Garda escort during level 5 restrictions ?

See video

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/protest-nigerian-embassy-dublin-endsars-19143115

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭audman13

Does anyone know if I can travel to dublin airport to collect someone. Unfortunately no buses down as flight is arriving in late at night. Would be travelling from the west.

Perhaps I missed something - why would anyone be out protesting by blocking the port? :confused:

And why is it always the obviously unemployed that never held jobs that are protesting lockdowns? Especially when this level 5 lockdown isn't a lockdown at all (everywhere is still open under the click and collect guise?)

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Frankie19

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    SIM cards and broadband can be ordered online, the sim cards posted. Same with phones, repairs can be collect and return or ordered online.

Also, JD Sports aren't open and don't sell PPE..

Which could take up to 48 hours to receive by courier....sometimes longer. Thats a long time for someone's phone to be out of action especially if they are reliant on looking after elderly parents and need to communicate with them.

And JD sports do sell PPE....they sell sports branded face masks!

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

To be fair any checkpoints i've been through the Gardai have been nothing but professional and pleasant - I have passed many and just told them the gods honest truth of what I was at whether it was shopping or just out for a spin on the bike. I'd say it's fair sh!te standing on the side of the cold road for circa 30k a year while getting abuse - i'm sure they'd rather be spinning around in the Hyundai i30 with the heating on.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Flyer1 wrote: »
    To be fair any checkpoints i've been through the Gardai have been nothing but professional and pleasant - I have passed many and just told them the gods honest truth of what I was at whether it was shopping or just out for a spin on the bike. I'd say it's fair sh!te standing on the side of the cold road for circa 30k a year while getting abuse - i'm sure they'd rather be spinning around in the Hyundai i30 with the heating on.

They get a lot more then that.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

€30,000 is the first point on the salary scale.

So the young recently qualified Gardai are on that.

There are 8 more points on the scale going up to €48,000.

Of course there are allowances and promotions to take into account also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

What? So your answer is to arm people and shoot them?

Bleeding hell your away with the fairies
    You're putting words in my mouth. I said nothing about shooting. I said 'armed', there is a difference.
    People should be ready to protect their home, that's the point. We don't have guns in Ireland.
    If it's someone who's calm and reasonble, no problem. If it's someone who's a bit of a hot-head, and these powers escalate, people should be securing their homes in some way. It's a fairly simple point.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Covid19

eleventh wrote: »
    You're putting words in my mouth. I said nothing about shooting. I said 'armed', there is a difference.
    People should be ready to protect their home, that's the point. We don't have guns in Ireland.
    If it's someone who's calm and reasonble, no problem. If it's someone who's a bit of a hot-head, and these powers escalate, people should be securing their homes in some way. It's a fairly simple point.

There are plenty of guns in Ireland. Most households in Rural areas have them.

Domestic violence doesn't have to be loud either.

You made an insane comment and used very faulty logic to get there.
    If you're talking about the earlier comment, it was responding to you talking about breaking a door and walking through the hole where the door was. Was that not violent? People were talking about the covid powers.

Domestic violence is a separate issue. I notice it's mentioned in some of the papers today as well. They seem to be almost conflating it with covid reasons. They are two separate and different reasons and shouldn't be in the same article. Obviously when there's violence happening, break-in is warranted.

Discodog wrote: »
    Are those the only two choices ? How about moving them out of the way & arresting them if necessary, without violence.

How do you physically move a protestor without violence?

How do you arrest a protestor that refused to move and comply with directions without violence?

'armed' means to posess a firearm. It was the term you used.

Good lord man you cant even decide your own point, which remains lunacy
    If you're talking about the earlier comment, it was responding to you talking about breaking a door and walking through the hole where the door was. Was that not violent? People were talking about the covid powers.

So you are suggesting that people should be allowed arm themselves (Your word) in order to protect themselves against the lawful actions of the national police force? Primarily it seems, people that are in fact committing crimes in that home

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Flyer1 wrote: »
    To be fair any checkpoints i've been through the Gardai have been nothing but professional and pleasant - I have passed many and just told them the gods honest truth of what I was at whether it was shopping or just out for a spin on the bike.

Bicycle or motorbike?

At the risk of calls for my summary execution, what do you think would be the response to the honest truth that one is out for a fully distanced spin for the sake of sanity?

Breezin wrote: »
    Bicycle or motorbike?

At the risk of calls for my summary execution, what do you think would be the response to the honest truth that one is out for a fully distanced spin for the sake of sanity?

We are only a few days in, do a jigsaw

So you are suggesting that people should be allowed arm themselves (Your word) in order to protect themselves against the lawful actions of the national police force? Primarily it seems, people that are in fact committing crimes in that home
    Can you elaborate then on when it's lawful to break someone's door in --besides violent crime-- when is it lawful for reasons of 'killer virus on the loose' ?!

I'd suggest that if someone's more used to or trained to deal with gangland crime and the like, they should stay away from calling to homes of ordinary people.

Can you elaborate then on when it's lawful to break someone's door in

Yes, to arrest for an arrestable offence. There ya go, that wasnt so hard now was it?
    I'd suggest that if someone's more used to or trained to deal with gangland crime and the like, they should stay away from calling to homes of ordinary people.

When the thieves guild is up and running and issuing ID cards that should be no problem. The patrician is working on it as we speak.

Now are you going to withdraw the insane comment that people should be armed to defend themselves against Gardai?

Yes, to arrest for an arrestable offence. There ya go, that wasnt so hard now was it?

When the thieves guild is up and running and issuing ID cards that should be no problem. The patrician is working on it as we speak.

Now are you going to withdraw the insane comment that people should be armed to defend themselves against Gardai?
    My granddad slept with a pitchfork beside the bed. Would you consider that armed. I don't think it was there for decoration. The home is important to most people, it's a line that shouldn't be crossed or there better be serious crime if it is. Whereas a public gathering, a pub, hotel, it's different.

I think there's potential for lunacy down the road when 'the virus' -which will never be policed or controlled- gets out of hand. I hope the guards will wake up to it before it happens, and not get drawn in by it, at least, so it doesn't become Irish against Irish (which is what the globalists want, divide & rule).

My granddad slept with a pitchfork beside the bed. Would you consider that armed. I don't think it was there for decoration. The home is important to most people, it's a line that shouldn't be crossed or there better be serious crime if it is. Whereas a public gathering, a pub, hotel, it's different.

I think there's potential for lunacy down the road when 'the virus' -which will never be policed or controlled- gets out of hand. I hope the guards will wake up to it before it happens, and not get drawn in by it, at least, so it doesn't become Irish against Irish (which is what the globalists want, divide & rule).

Ah I see, that's how you operate. Ignore comments that prove you wrong

You repeatedly use the term 'armed' but also insist on referring to tools then try and claim your being misrepresented. The term 'armed' as has been pointed out, refers to firearms.

You then also get smart about the ability to force entry without a warrant. You asked, I delivered. Ignore that though, that didn't work out in your favor.

Last up, let's ignore the call to arms against Gardai by yourself and try and slide sideways into another issue as again, you have been left looking foolish.

If your grandfather had a pitchfork, he was probable a farmer. If he was a farmer, he could have just as legally had a shotgun. Seems an odd device to keep in your bedroom for self defence when you can own a gun. Perhaps he was just an odd fellow. Also dangerous if it fell over or a child went near it but again, I am speaking to someone who thinks we should all get guns and have shootouts with the police. Do to think he had a pitchfork because he wanted to fork a few guards to death over the music being too loud? That seems to be your suggestion.

Ah I see, that's how you operate. Ignore comments that prove you wrong

You repeatedly use the term 'armed' but also insist on referring to tools then try and claim your being misrepresented. The term 'armed' as has been pointed out, refers to firearms.

You then also get smart about the ability to force entry without a warrant. You asked, I delivered. Ignore that though, that didn't work out in your favor.

Last up, let's ignore the call to arms against Gardai by yourself and try and slide sideways into another issue as again, you have been left looking foolish.

If your grandfather had a pitchfork, he was probable a farmer. If he was a farmer, he could have just as legally had a shotgun. Seems an odd device to keep in your bedroom for self defence when you can own a gun. Perhaps he was just an odd fellow. Also dangerous if it fell over or a child went near it but again, I am speaking to someone who thinks we should all get guns and have shootouts with the police. Do to think he had a pitchfork because he wanted to fork a few guards to death over the music being too loud? That seems to be your suggestion.
    Ok, I have never heard of 'firearm', except on American films, that's the only time I've heard that word used. It sounds like you've lived or worked over there, or maybe watched an episode too many of NYPD blue or whatever's the latest trash on TV now.

Think what you like. I meant it in a general sense. It could include "a firearm" if people have them, but again, not America so where would you get them here. I'm honestly not up to date on that side of things.

You can stop saying I "repeatedly use the term" as well. I used it once, you just keep going back to it. Probably to try deflect from the fact it was you -not me- who introduced violence to the discussion (yes breaking a door and in the gung ho way you described it was definitely violent).

Not interested in that kind of discussion. It's a serious topic. Deal with the points made or don't. I've said what I had to say on it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

How do you arrest a protestor that refused to move and comply with directions without violence?

With a jcb, scoop him up peacefully with the front barrow.

Ok, I have never heard of 'firearm', except on American films, that's the only time I've heard that word used. It sounds like you've lived or worked over there, or maybe watched an episode too many of NYPD blue or whatever's the latest trash on TV now.

Think what you like. I meant it in a general sense. It could include "a firearm" if people have them, but again, not America so where would you get them here. I'm honestly not up to date on that side of things.

You can stop saying I "repeatedly use the term" as well. I used it once, you just keep going back to it. Probably to try deflect from the fact it was you -not me- who introduced violence to the discussion (yes breaking a door and in the gung ho way you described it was definitely violent).

Not interested in that kind of discussion. It's a serious topic. Deal with the points made or don't. I've said what I had to say on it anyway.

What a load of tosh. You didn't realise the term 'armed' meant firearms? You never heard the term 'firearm'? Fancy buying a bridge?

There's over 300 thousand legally licenced firearms in Ireland (that's the word by the way in the law)

I brought violence into it? Your entire post is encouraging violence against Gardai with weapons ffs!

I replied to every single nonsense you have posted but the reality is just that, it's nonsense. Nonsense spouted in ignorance it seems.

Go on now and stop making a clown out of yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

bubblypop wrote: »
    If you understood anything about the law you would understand that gardai are exempt from certain road traffic offences for very good reason.

Gardai use radios and official mobile phones as part of their duty, now how would you suggest them doing so if it was against the law?
    There are plenty of things that you could find fault with, exemptions to road traffic is not one of them!

I never said anything about breaking the law. I asked if they didn't get involved on road accidents like the rest of us mere mortals who can't be trusted to touch our mobiles while driving as we could kill someone.. Gardai obviously can't.

Your entire post is encouraging violence against Gardai with weapons ffs!
    You think someone being armed for protection automatically means violence. So if police are armed with batons, guns or whatever, to you that means they intend to use them regardless of situation.

"armed for their own protection" - that's what I said and that's all I said.
    People can go back and read and what it was in response to, if they're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,411 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I've yet to see a checkpoint since we entered Level 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

You must not be out and about much.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,411 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Oops! wrote: »
    You must not be out and about much.

Covered about 30 miles the last 2 days, last time around I recall much more in place, perhaps I got lucky :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Yep, plenty of them around.

Read the last few pages and leprechaun is lying and bullsh1tting to bate the band. He's then doubling down and claiming a victory by strawmanning the points/responses by poster eleventh. And getting thanks :rolleyes:

"Armed" = a firearm according to leprechaun ffs. Poster was on about being armed, and I assume he meant being prepared by using whatever tools/implements he had to hand for the purposes of self defence. Leprechaun thinks it's okay to break down doors without a warrant; and this was with regard to "illegal activity" going on inside. How the fuq does Leprechaun know what's going on?

The whole premise of Leprechaun's deceptions was based on a poster having, or considering, or speculating on his rights to have an indoor gathering. Leprechaun then proceeds to say of course I can break down doors if there's an assault happening inside. It was Leprechaun who went off the reservation. No one but Leprechaun; and definitely not the poster eleventh, was on about a bloodbath - a few cups of tea maybe.

Is it no wonder when there's over zealous thugs like Leprechaun - and there's plenty - who think they can make up their own laws; that folk are worried and want to arm themselves against the likes of Leprechaun, who thinks he can make up his own laws, and wants to go Judge Dredd by taking his own righteous interpretations in order to dispense his own summary justice or wtf.

It's like the twilight zone here. Guards who are in contact with allsorts daily, and most likely at a higher percentage of catching C19, want to break into people's homes on the pretext of containing the spread :pac: You couldn't make this sh1t up . Figure of speech there as anything goes nowadays apparently.

And fair play to those protestors too; whoever or wherever they are. If they're not causing any obstruction/s then they should be let have at it imo.. People like them are heroes. No law against travelling (yet), but folk are still expected to come up with an excuse to those who are supposedly just "advising" at the many checkpoints across the Country. It's depressing at best what we've come to.. Even more sad that most on here seem to agree with Leprechaun. Smh :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I would hope you & your colleagues are well trained in the use of minimum force & restraint. Violence is something completely different.