Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users Posts: 32,718 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

https://gript.ie/gardai-we-caught-a-hardened-criminal-walking-on-the-beach/

Why are gardaí not taking as tough a stance towards the George Nkencho protesters as they are towards lone individuals who violate the 5 km rule?
    Gript...with no agenda whatsoever....John McGuirk...lol

The guy was given a chance to escape fine but took the piss and went back...tough.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It's nothing to do with racism, the right wing crowd have been protesting on the streets since the first lockdown began last year without being challenged. There's been funerals all over the country breaking the rules.
    As said above it's the guards using their discretion to avoid these things escalating

Not quite. A woman was arrested at the recent Mansion house protest following “persistent lack of compliance with public health regulations and directions from An Garda Síochána”.

Numerous other anti mask protesters have been arrested under public order offence throughout the year.

And no its not a competition. The protests in blanchardstown went on for days right outside the Gardai Station.

Feking unbelievable considering we are in the midst of a pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

gmisk wrote: »
    Gript...with no agenda whatsoever....John McGuirk...lol

What media organization DOESN'T have an agenda anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,718 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    What media organization DOESN'T have an agenda anymore?
    It is an opinion piece dressed up poorly as a "news story", it to be expected from John McGuirk and Gript is my point.

Plenty of decent sources politico, al jazeera, bbc (generally) NPR, PBS.
    I prefer to look at facts versus extremely biased opinion pieces from people with a clear and obvious agenda....like John McGuirk.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Easy targets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Something not right about a load of guards at St Brigid’s well in Faughert County Louth today arresting people saying a few prayers at St Brigid’s well . Huge anger in north Louth as a result of their carry on .

Plenty of people selling drugs in Dundalk without a bother in the world .

Gardai don’t make money off arresting drug dealers. Few easy €100 fines off soft targets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

I think they were breaking the law and cops react to that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭Homelander

Are they arresting them or issuing them fines? Was there "a load" of guards at this holy well, or do you actually mean there was about two.

In the midst of a pandemic, I'm sure God is perfectly fine with people saying their prayers at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Gardai don’t make money off arresting drug dealers. Few easy €100 fines off soft targets.

Do the arresting Gardai get commission?

Gardai don't make money from giving out fines either.
    They still get paid every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Nice whataboutery. Hope they gave them the option to leave before fining them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Easy targets

Spot on.

The Gardaí are becoming like any other workplace. Clock in, get the easy bits done, leave the more difficult jobs for others or hope the problem just disappears. Path of least resistance.
    What do we expect when these lads and ladies €48k before tax?

People are still being stupid, unfortunately enforcement needed at times.

Group of five women jogging together this morning. It's something you can easily do on your own.

Friend was talking about having a party with 4 or 5 of us and I've said no but feel like going for it when I see people not doing their part.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Arrests or fines?

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭the14thwarrior

there were 4 gardai at my road block today.
    waste of time?

i thought we were i the middle of a pandemic with couple things like no gathering etc.
    not sure i see the difference between this and issuing fines last weekend for being at the beach, or in a park "exercising" or house parties.

ya can't win.
    if they didn't turn up, people would say its a religous thing...... can't win really.....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,413 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Homelander wrote: »
    Are they arresting them or issuing them fines? Was there "a load" of guards at this holy well, or do you actually mean there was about two.

In the midst of a pandemic, I'm sure God is perfectly fine with people saying their prayers at home.

Ah yeah, but I didn't hear about any arrests or fines at certain protests lately or certain funerals in Cork.

All Eyes On Rafah

On Facebook one man seems to have about 5 guards lifting him into a paddy wagon .

Link to the video please.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭tigger123

On Facebook one man seems to have about 5 guards lifting him into a paddy wagon .

Is there any chance he talked himself into that situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bandit country. Why are people surprised.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

tigger123 wrote: »
    Is there any chance he talked himself into that situation?

Most probably

• Registered Users Posts: 10,659 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Something not right about a load of guards at St Brigid’s well in Faughert County Louth today arresting people saying a few prayers at St Brigid’s well . Huge anger in north Louth as a result of their carry on....

There isn't huge anger in north Louth over the Gardaí breaking this up. I'm in North Louth and not far from the shrine. Most people are angry at the idiots who gathered unnecessarily and applaud the Gardaí for doing their job.

All those people could have visited the well privately over the next few days if they lived locally or could just have stayed in the 5km zone as they're supposed to do - more idiots.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Was out to a couple of local beaches yesterday ( have an exemption letter for the kid so it's allowed) BUT both places were a good 15km from home, were fairly well attended, car parks pretty full and no sign of any gardai, well I saw a car parked at the side of an exit road, was still parked there on way home but that's all it did. lol

Now for one thing I don't think being out in the air like that poses any problems, plenty of open space on an Irish beach in winter but find it mad hearing of some places issuing loads of fines etc and then nothing elsewhere. I think most people see the new laws for what they are: a sham that won't be enforced at all.

Also over the last year even during Level 5 the amount of pubs operating as normal through side doors is shocking. Friday /Saturday night right on cue at closing time you'd still here the wasters making noise on their way home. So obvious what was going on but sure its grand right.

I'm reminded of Kang and Konos in The Simpson :"Strict restrictions for some, absolute free for all for others".

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Was out to a couple of local beaches yesterday ( have an exemption letter for the kid so it's allowed) .

Forgive me for being nosy, but what type of essential activity requires you to go to a beach and who issues such an exemption letter?

I'm not having a go, I'm genuinely curious. 

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Forgive me for being nosy, but what type of essential activity requires you to go to a beach and who issues such an exemption letter?

I'm not having a go, I'm genuinely curious. 

Not essential by any means and even with the letter I'd turn around if a garda firmly insisted, but a child who among other things has sensory processing issues and on the autistic spectrum. The last Lockdown had some pretty nasty effects on their mental health and a brief trip in the car to collect shells on the beach or walk through a forest etc. helps a ton.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Not essential by any means and even with the letter I'd turn around if a garda firmly insisted, but a child who among other things has sensory processing issues and on the autistic spectrum. The last Lockdown had some pretty nasty effects on their mental health and a brief trip in the car to collect shells on the beach or walk through a forest etc. helps a ton.

Sounds essential to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Tone deaf or stunning and brave? I only watched 10 seconds, but really?, kinda rubbing salt in the wound for people not allowed work, socialise or exercise as they would like

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1356554527806259200

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

silverharp wrote: »
    Tone deaf or stunning and brave? I only watched 10 seconds, but really?, kinda rubbing salt in the wound for people not allowed work, socialise or exercise as they would like

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1356554527806259200

Ridiculous waste of time and resources. Imagine how long was wasted organising and rehearsing this - and I'm a retired Garda

As far as I know there is no law stopping anyone from dancing in the street, as long as it is within 5km of their home?