Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Allinall

jpfahy wrote: »
    Ridiculous waste of time and resources. Imagine how long was wasted organising and rehearsing this - and I'm a retired Garda

What resources were wasted?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ridiculous waste of time and resources. Imagine how long was wasted organising and rehearsing this - and I'm a retired Garda

Jaysus, some people just can't resist an oul moan.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Done on break time so it was neither.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Notmything

Jaysus, some people just can't resist an oul moan.

Same people moan and whine when gardai do drive bys to make a kids day.

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

silverharp wrote: »
    Tone deaf or stunning and brave? I only watched 10 seconds, but really?, kinda rubbing salt in the wound for people not allowed work, socialise or exercise as they would like

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1356554527806259200

Thank you ladies and gents. Certainly brought a smile to my face in these tough times. Beautiful locations. Could be an ad for irish tourism board

• Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I’ve heard of two salons in the local area where people are going in the back door to get in and out, so as to not be seen. If I report them to the Gardai, how likely are they to act on it? One salon is so close to the local Garda station, they could walk there in about 15 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭celt262

I’ve heard of two salons in the local area where people are going in the back door to get in and out, so as to not be seen. If I report them to the Gardai, how likely are they to act on it? One salon is so close to the local Garda station, they could walk there in about 15 minutes.

Sure ring them up and see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

celt262 wrote: »
    Sure ring them up and see what happens.

Don’t encourage them for gods sake

• Registered Users Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

they have a helpline 0800-curtaintwitchers

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Probably just as well the Guards without a sense of humour are retired.
    It was harmless fun, no more than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

Great video! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Are Garda stations open? I’ll need to apply for a passport for my baby at some stage, I’m already waiting 3 weeks just to register the birth. Any idea what level we need to be in so I can do that? I imagine there’ll be a massive backlog in the passport office

• Registered Users Posts: 14,903 ✭✭✭✭elperello

silverharp wrote: »
    they have a helpline 0800-curtaintwitchers

Curtain twitching is being a nosey neighbour or taking an unwelcome interest in other peoples lives.

Opening a non essential business at the back door is illegal and could lead to a spread in infections.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Beanybabog wrote: »
    Are Garda stations open? I’ll need to apply for a passport for my baby at some stage, I’m already waiting 3 weeks just to register the birth. Any idea what level we need to be in so I can do that? I imagine there’ll be a massive backlog in the passport office
    Look up your local one and give them a call.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,484 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Garda stations are open as normal. I'd imagine you will need the birth certificate for a first time passport for a new born though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think they were breaking the law and cops react to that

How many cops arrested colleagues for making stupid dancing videos?? Or are the Gardai above the law?

bubblypop wrote: »
    As far as I know there is no law stopping anyone from dancing in the street, as long as it is within 5km of their home?

You aren’t allowed meet in groups, 5k from home or not.

Passports aren’t being processed at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

If they're gardai from specific gardai stations on their break etc - then no issue

gozunda wrote: »
    If they're gardai from specific gardai stations on their break etc - then their ok.

I must have missed the exemption in the restrictions that say it’s ok to meet in groups on break.

“no organised outdoor events should take place“ - let me guess, it was a spontaneous meeting?

“no indoor or outdoor exercise group activities” the gov.ie website must have forgotten to say except the Gardai.

You can't stop in the street and talk to people? Are you sure about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I must have missed the exemption in the restrictions that say it’s ok to meet in groups on break.

“no organised outdoor events should take place“ - let me guess, it was a spontaneous meeting?

“no indoor or outdoor exercise group activities” the gov.ie website must have forgotten to say except the Gardai.

I presume they're together in groups at work so as long as they observe social distancing etc

Do gardai take their breaks together? I'm sure they sometimes do.

But if you reckon rules have been broken - you could always send a detailed complaint to the Policing Authority. Details on the garda website

You do realise gardai work beside each other all tour long?
    Sit in the same cars?
    Work outside at the same checkpoints?
    No matter how hard you try, it just makes you look bad........

You can't stop in the street and talk to people? Are you sure about that?

Gov.ie restrictions state that you should only be out for work, education, exercise or essential purposes.

“The clear message is that we must all now stay at home, with the exception of essential purposes, in order to stop the spread of the virus.”

You can if you work together and area in the work place at the time.

Don't be such a miserable git

Gov.ie restrictions state that you should only be out for work, education, exercise or essential purposes.

“The clear message is that we must all now stay at home, with the exception of essential purposes, in order to stop the spread of the virus.”

I'm well aware of the restrictions, thank you.
    I'm also aware that while people are outside exercising, shopping or whatever else, they meet others that they know. Sometimes those people even talk to each other. In my locality I see a lot of older long time residents chatting on the streets. I

Now, you really are making yourself look worse.

You do realise gardai work beside each other all tour long?
    Sit in the same cars?
    Work outside at the same checkpoints?
    No matter how hard you try, it just makes you look bad........

I sit in the same office as my colleagues and friends from 8am-5pm. Are we exempt from Covid restrictions now too??

You can if you work together and area in the work place at the time.

Don't be such a miserable git

Hold on, you said they were off duty earlier. So were they off duty or in work?

I sit in the same office as my colleagues and friends from 8am-5pm. Are we exempt from Covid restrictions now too??

Firstly, you have no idea when any of those members took part in this video.
    Secondly, public relations and community is a major part of policing.
    Thirdly, you're boring me now and probably everyone else on boards.

Edit, you never ans me earlier, should they stop doing all that 'little blue hero' rubbish too???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Sure you're not allowed leave the country....