Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

tjhook wrote: »
    The Gardai/politicians have made it clear up to now that they don't prevent public protest. They've allowed multiple protests to proceed so I'm ok with an "anti-restrictions" protest. Only a tinpot dictator would ban protests on the basis that "I disagree with their cause".

But once violence starts, it ceases to be a peaceful protest. At that point a sensible protestor should recognise the evolving situation, and leave.

I hope no genuine peaceful protestors have been injured in the response to the violence, but if they have been I'd be slow to blame the Gardai.

The second that firework was shot anyone who saw it and didnt immediately leave was culpable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,061 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I wonder have any patriots tried claiming the guy firing the firework was a garda in disguise yet? Thats normally the excuse they use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,098 ✭✭✭Augme

The protester firing the second firework right into the face of one of his fellow protesters was the most entertaining thing I've seen in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,324 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

MadYaker wrote: »
    Can we protest the virus away? I wasn't aware of that.

If we can tax our way out of climate change..:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Great so your expectations are completely unrealistic.

It's happened in the US where peaceful protests were being hijacked by violent arseholes and the protestors apprehended them and handed them over to the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,499 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Mimon wrote: »
    Things like this may make the Gardai less naïve. They should have had spotters in an elevated situation to see something like this. Instead they were gathered in a group having a talk and never saw the attack happening.

The Stewards should have spotted him, but then again...there seemed to be none....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,434 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Yes, it’s unrealistic to expect peaceful protestors to engage in violence.

But more to the point, it happened very quickly and didn’t look like people would have had time to process what was happening and react to it.

Is it engaging in violence to stop him and say 'Here mate, what the fcuk are ya at with that?'

If they're all committed to peace then I'm sure a couple of good men would step in and take the firework from him or at least attempt to stop him. Instead they just stood there looking at him. Great protestors, so brave.

Stand up and fight for their rights...can't even stop a dope with a firework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,819 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

MadYaker wrote: »
    Can we protest the virus away? I wasn't aware of that.

there is no virus, thats the whole point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,482 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

pjohnson wrote: »
    I wonder have any patriots tried claiming the guy firing the firework was a garda in disguise yet? Thats normally the excuse they use.

Yes, yes they have PJ.

https://twitter.com/PatriciaMAC10/status/1365699171395788803

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Someone holds a baton aloft in front of your head and that's policing by consent. It's absolutely hostile.

Oh clutch yer pearls tighter:rolleyes:

You know as well as I do that the crowd of complete scum in front of them was the reason the batons were drawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,127 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Beasty wrote: »
    I have little doubt some attending today's demonstration had no intention of it becoming violent. However once it turned that way, and in particular the firework incident, they should have left. If they stayed they were condoning thug rule.

Because the Green was shut there were originally lots of little clusters of people in different areas around the area. You couldn't actually see what had happened only that there was a bit of a scuffle near Grafton St.
    It was only when the walk started you realised there were quite a lot of people there an most were unaware of the firework incident.
    Nobody could condone the guy aiming the firework at the Gards but the protest overall was hugely peaceful and good natured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,061 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Boggles wrote: »

There must be a feckin handbook for them to follow :pac:

Witcher wrote: »
    Is it engaging in violence to stop him and say 'Here mate, what the fcuk are ya at with that?'

If they're all committed to peace them I'm sure a couple of good men would step in and take the firework from him or at least attempt to stop him. Instead they just stood there looking at him. Great protestors, so brave.

As soon as he started taking it out he should have been grabbed and the other protestors called for the Gardai to come and arrest him.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

If they're all committed to peace then I'm sure a couple of good men would step in and take the firework from him or at least attempt to stop him. Instead they just stood there looking at him. Great protestors, so brave.

Watch the video again. What you’re suggesting isn’t unrealistic, but it is unlikely in the timeframe it all went down. I don’t support the guy with the firework, but I don’t think that just because someone didn’t jump him that the rest of the thousands of people there are now responsible for or condone violence.

Didn't go dirextly for him says she despite the video showing some huge fcuker burst straight though the crowd's line directly towards him like the parting of the Red Sea. I think these Twitter dopes think we can't watch these videos for ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,491 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

SPDUB wrote: »
    I see RTE are ignoring the protest by running it as the first item on 6.1 :rolleyes:

They sold "there" souls. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,650 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Things like this may make the Gardai less naïve. They should have had spotters in an elevated situation to see something like this. Instead they were gathered in a group having a talk and never saw the attack happening.

So unprepared that they shut the two open spaces that the "peaceful" types could have run amok in (Stephens Green and Iveagh Gardens) in advance

And managed to corral the protestors into the only remaining space - between the top of the green and Grafton St- leaving the protest only one direction they could go.

But they were naive.:confused:....what does that say about the protestors who didn't realise they were being boxed in ...

Watch the video again. What you’re suggesting isn’t unrealistic, but it is unlikely in the timeframe it all went down. I don’t support the guy with the firework, but I don’t think that just because someone didn’t jump him that the rest of the thousands of people there are now responsible for or condone violence.

He's walking though the crowd with a rocket the length of a sweeping brush and nobody even looks sideways at him. They're either cowards or they approved of his actions.

Either way...some protestors. To expect grown men to have a pair of bollocks probably is too much

It takes a good bit of time to produce that equipment/firework and to light it,then walk towards the Guards. Anyone with a pair of balls would have stopped him as it makes the rest of them look bad. Keyboard warriors in not having balls shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Look at her Twitter, its literally a hive of the worst elements from sharing anti british and anti royal posts, everything gemma does , anti ff / fg content, pro sf content

And even this lovely homophobic interaction where the poster uses ‘gay’ as an insult as if they were 12 again
    https://twitter.com/Robb_gon/status/1365312489198661633?s=20

These people are nuts

He's walking though the crowd with a rocket the length of a sweeping brush and nobody even looks sideways at him. They're either cowards or they approved of his actions.

Either way...some protestors. To expect grown men to have a pair of bollocks probably is too much

He ran up behind them it was all over in a couple of seconds, it's not unrealistic to expect most people not to get involved with scumbags carrying a big stick,he had a few mates there I presume they were carrying.

If the guards didn't block the streets it could have avoided it all. There was more people at the protest than voted for our dear leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,772 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Have the organizers of the today's protest come out publicly and condemned this guys actions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,819 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Look at her Twitter, its literally a hive of the worst elements from sharing anti british and anti royal posts, everything gemma does , anti ff / fg content, pro sf content

And even this lovely homophobic interaction where the poster uses ‘gay’ as an insult as if they were 12 again

These people are nuts

hobbies lads, hobbies, porn and wnaking is a start, just go from there!

He ran up behind them it was all over in a couple of seconds, it's not unrealistic to expect most people not to get involved with scumbags carrying a big stick,he had a few mates there I presume they were carrying.

If the guards didn't block the streets it could have avoided it all. There was more people at the protest than voted for our dear leader.

'He ran up behind them' He walked slowly through the crowd to the front with it above his head, took the time to aim it and stood there while it fired twice. So that's a lie. Why do you think it is acceptable to lie drunkmonkey?

'We'll fight for our rights and our country...oh no a thin wooden stick' :pac:

So it's all the guards fault, from now on whenever we disagree with anything the Gardai do we can use violence. Cool.

These people are nuts

Brilliant, time to quit for the day:D

'He ran up behind them' He walked sloely thought the crowd to the front with it above his head.

Sorry thought he ran, it took 7 seconds. Most people wouldn't have twigged he was going to shoot a rocket at the guards.
    They didn't need to block the protest is my point it done more harm than good.

People need to vent their frustration at government do you not get that? Let them off, most protests are peaceful.

Sorry thought he ran, it took 7 seconds. Most people wouldn't have twigged he was going to shoot a rocket at the guards.

People need to vent their frustration at government do you not get that? Let them off, most protests are peaceful.

He had it held up over his head as he walked through the crowd. 'I didn't know what he was going to do with it' while he aimed it horizontally at the Gardai:rolleyes:

So who decides what we can vent against and what form this 'venting' takes? If someone doesn't like being caught for speeding can they punch the Garda? Who's moderating this venting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,772 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Ok let's say there is another protest in the coming weeks, and there is more violence - what then? Is that ok cause it's a small minority?

What happens next time if a Garda is seriously injured or worse - is that ok because it's only a minority?

I've asked many times on here, who actually organised the protest? Where is their public condemnation of the lad attacking the Garda? unitl they have this they will never achieve their goals - if indeed their goals are peaceful protesting to reopening the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

It takes a good bit of time to produce that equipment/firework and to light it,then walk towards the Guards. Anyone with a pair of balls would have stopped him as it makes the rest of them look bad. Keyboard warriors in not having balls shocker.

Yes they should have just stuck their finger in the end of the barrell, that would have caused the explosion to backfire on the shooter.

At least that's how it works when Bugs Bunny does it to Elmer Fudd.

Seriously no one is going to endanger themselves by interfering when scumbags do scumbag things in public. Same goes for muggings etc. Don't be daft.