Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

Young people do not need bins to encourage them to have a good time these days, being locked down for 14 months will do it.

This idiotic argument of putting bins out would only encourage them just goes to show the rotten mindset this country has towards the young who will be the ones who ultimately foot the bill for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,970 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Mimon wrote: »
    In terms of not being realistic, you hardly expect DCC to provide facilities to encourage large groups of people to gather during a pandemic?

Just because Lord Tony noticed people gathering doesn't mean it's not been happening for weeks now..it's a misguided opinion.

The message has been from NPHET: "Socialize Outdoors" but now all the open areas where people went to are all barricaded off, the Public order unit sent in to clear the streets and public parks...you can't sit at a pub for the past 6 months either... So this pushes groups into smaller more residential areas....instead of suitable open areas that have enough bins and loos and staff to monitor everything.. During a pandemic where numbers in hospitals are so low and the vulnerable have all had one shot at least and it's not the time for the hardline action many on here are calling for...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Just because Lord Tony noticed people gathering doesn't mean it's not been happening for weeks now..it's a misguided opinion.

The message has been from NPHET: "Socialize Outdoors" but now all the open areas where people went to are all barricaded off, the Public order unit sent in to clear the streets and public parks...you can't sit at a pub for the past 6 months either... So this pushes groups into smaller more residential areas....instead of suitable open areas that have enough bins and loos and staff to monitor everything.. During a pandemic where numbers in hospitals are so low and the vulnerable have all had one shot at least and it's not the time for the hardline action many on here are calling for...

Common sense, decency and a little forward planning would dictate that you meet your friends somewhere you can have a slash or if it comes to it a sh!te.

Being caught out and having to piss in an alley way has happened to most of us but actually going to a place where there are a couple of thousand people with no toilet facilities is braindead, again personal responsibility/a bit of feckin cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,477 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Mimon wrote: »
    Common sense, decency and a little forward planning would dictate that you meet your friends somewhere you can have a slash or if it comes to it a sh!te.

Being caught out and having to piss in an alley way has happened to most of us but actually going to a place where there are a couple of thousand people with no toilet facilities is braindead, again personal responsibility/a bit of feckin cop on.

Yes, and policing by consent does not mean a free for all with everyone making up their own rules based on their own personal requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,288 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,611 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

silverharp wrote: »

It's always interesting to see the differences between Boards and Reddit Ireland (almost 400,000 subscribers)

3 of the most upvoted comments in the thread about this

It's not like they showed up and went straight to baton charge.

Attempts to disperse the crowd were unsuccessful and resulted in them being pelted with bottles. Nobody likes seeing this, but who enjoyed the images of the last week which showed the outcome of these gatherings in the city?

This is a public street, nothing about this mass gathering is officially sanctioned, it goes against public health guidelines and impacts businesses and residents in the area with excessive anti social behaviour from adults and underage drinkers.

These gatherings were getting worse and worse as people realised they could get away with it. There has to be a line drawn at some point.

But they say to gather outdoors you say? Yes, in small groups, spread out, and not acting like anti social animals.

Hopefully some scrotes got a few clatters
    Feck sake, people going on like this is Tiananmen square or the Odessa stairs

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    It's always interesting to see the differences between Boards and Reddit Ireland (almost 400,000 subscribers)

3 of the most upvoted comments in the thread about this

Im generally a law and order type, but it looks like the gardai creating a kettling situation so that they can waddle into battle

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Im generally a law and order type, but it looks like the gardai creating a kettling situation so that they can waddle into battle

https://twitter.com/SamanthaLibreri/status/1401088965592158210

You won't see as many videos circulating of the scroates inciting this "battle charge" of course

"Your honour, Tommy comes from a broken family and is a valued member of his local GAA team"

https://twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1401094846350245893

'The drinking starts from 3pm': Dublin businesses intimidated by street crowds

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/the-drinking-starts-from-3pm-dublin-businesses-intimidated-by-street-crowds-1137718.html?fbclid=IwAR0_JHuRVcf2lnXc-r63GtfYk7aiYkDlKsWMt0Kj-lgQh-k1UlEMw7JQAnA
    Intimidated by large crowds gathering to drink in the city centre, some Dublin businesses will shut their doors early this weekend to avoid dealing with antisocial behaviour.

Mary Whelan, spokesperson for the Dublin Can Be Heaven business group of some 68 businesses located between Grafton and George’s Street, said she will close her Irish craft and design shop Eirlooms early today along with a small number of other members.

“Myself, I'll close at three o'clock tomorrow. I know some [members] who just said no, we're just going to close for the weekend, end of story,” she said on Friday evening.

“The drinking starts from 3pm onwards, and then it starts to escalate into the evening,” she added.

“People in our group who've been 33 years, 47 years in business - they said they've never, ever, ever seen anything like this in the city centre,” she said, referencing social media footage of a group recently fighting in the city centre streets.

As an aside, but relative

On the front page of Reddit Ireland today:

How is there so many scumbags in Ireland?

Indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Really hard to justify the Gardai action here, I hope they release some kind of apology. And promise to do better in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,730 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Really hard to justify the Gardai action here, I hope they release some kind of apology. And promise to do better in future

I’m sure those arrested will have that opportunity to apologize to the state, the citizens and the Gardai when they end up in court and their attitudes are tempered.

If I worked in a hospital, I’d be delighted to see the Gardai engage with those individuals as they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Get Real

What did you see in the video that's hard to justify? All I see is a group of people, who presumably were drinking and asked to leave. How many times do you say "come on lads please head on"? 50?

Then when people are assaulted, heads being smashed with a glass bottle, a guard is injured, the place is in chaos, businesses are complaining, windows being damaged, shop staff being attacked. (headlines on each of these in the same area)

You think..you think a line of Gardaí clearing the street is unjustifiable?

Nobody ever appreciates the guards turning a blind eye and letting people drink and socialise for most of the day. Then it gets out of hand and people complain when the law is enforced.

Why aren't people out videoing Dublin right now? With guards walking about and people enjoying their pints, calmly and not being hassled? Everyone happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Regarding the debate about littering, I've read comments earlier in the week where people were ridiculing the suggestions of bringing bags of empty cans home with them on the train, for instance. If you were that way inclined, you would discover that there's no shortage of bins ON the train itself, at the stations, and no doubt in countless places on your way to the station.
    There is no excuse for just abandoning rubbish were you were drinking, other than laziness and apathy.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

FYI that video doing the rounds isn't from last night.

Just to clarify the context of your post with regards to last night

https://twitter.com/SamanthaLibreri/status/1401088965592158210

You won't see as many videos circulating of the scroates inciting this "battle charge" of course

i dont know the order of events but my question would be, were the gardai antagonistic or playing along and having the crack? It wasnt a political protest and it wasnt 2 groups of rival soccer fans.
    If there had been just normal weekend policing where would you ever get 20 odd gardai in the one spot?

Strumms wrote: »
    If I worked in a hospital, I’d be delighted to see the Gardai engage with those individuals as they did.

As in the gardai are beating up young people to hospitalise them, so that would keep you busy in your job, is that it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,730 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As in the gardai are beating up young people to hospitalise them, so that would keep you busy in your job, is that it?

How many people were hospitalized ? Aside from the one garda that is ?

Did the Gardai beat them up or were they simply carrying out their duties as relates to public order and defending themselves and the public in the process. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭nc6000

Relaxing restrictions on Mondays makes no sense especially when it comes to bars and restaurants etc. People want to be able to go out over the weekends, not from Monday onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭aziz

nc6000 wrote: »
    Relaxing restrictions on Mondays makes no sense especially when it comes to bars and restaurants etc. People want to be able to go out over the weekends, not from Monday onwards.

One of many things during the pandemic that doesn’t make sense

nc6000 wrote: »

I think the rationale is that by opening on Monday it gives the staff a chance to get used to working with the restrictions.

If you open on Friday they are thrown in at the deep end so to speak.

Of course it is a bit of a nuisance on a holiday weekend but probably safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,970 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

elperello wrote: »
    I think the rationale is that by opening on Monday it gives the staff a chance to get used to working with the restrictions.
    If you open on Friday they are thrown in at the deep end so to speak.
    Of course it is a bit of a nuisance on a holiday weekend but probably safer.

That's not it at all..

...the idea is that NPHET don't want to allow drinking at the bank holiday weekend, they've always held off on lifting of restrictions until after the holiday... Now we have the disaster of Sth. William street where instead of being managed by authorities they're sending in the Gards to baton charge people out of it... total mismanagement of something the council and the Gards knew was happening when the "outdoor Summer" was planned..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭nc6000

And now Grafton Street and Dawson Street have been closed off. Everyone enjoy your outdoor summer!

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    That's not it at all..

...the idea is that NPHET don't want to allow drinking at the bank holiday weekend, they've always held off on lifting of restrictions until after the holiday... No we have the disaster of Sth. William street where instead of being managed by authorities they're sending in the Gards to baton charge people out of it... total mismanagement of something the council and the Gards knew was happening when the "outdoor Summer" was planned..

I think you will find that all the authorities you mention and the Government are trying to to keep people safe rather than conspiring to spoil their fun.

The pub and restaurant opening is being phased in correctly and if everyone behaves themselves we can all look forward to better times.

If you read the press releases and advertisements you will see what is really meant by an "outdoor Summer".

It's certainly not going into town and making a nuisance of oneself by willfully misinterpreting the guidelines and rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,321 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Look at the state of this. Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Just astonishing the defence of these utter S***B**** and not all, the delicate youth the media have bleethed on about for months, Mental Trauma because of the Pandemic, blaa Blaa Blaa. Nothing can justify the havoc and mayhem being perpetrated in a number of locations throughout the country.

These Thugs are seriously impacting small businesses trying to recover forcing early closures and reduced business and to add insult to injury, they are not even purchasing alcohol from the few bars actually doing take away punts. Who in their right mind will go into dine outdoor next week with this disgraceful carry on.

It just baffles me why any group, young or old would decide to buy alcohol, make their way into city centre cramped streets with Bars, restaurants, night clubs closed, WTF has got into these Gobs*****.

Then there's panic stations over supplying Toliets and Bins for these thugs, it's just beyond belief. Gardai being maligned for doing their duty and I won't get started over lack of social distancing.

This behaviour needs to be called out for what it is, I'd almost say takeaway pints should be banned but these F****** not even purchasing most of their drink in the CITY so that would only harm publicans.

I'm just disgusted and Livid

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Look at the state of this. Embarrassing.

What has this country become

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,321 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Gardaí shutting down parts of our public transport now. Ashamed of what our country has become. They've lost the run of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,127 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Gardaí shutting down parts of our public transport now. Ashamed of what our country has become. They've lost the run of themselves.

probably to do with this https://twitter.com/SamanthaLibreri/status/1401279861155676162

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Munsterman12

Well done to he Guards. Scumbags have no place in a city centre in this day and age.