Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

I don't remember the same outrage in the media about the riots after Nkencho was shot

• Registered Users Posts: 86,713 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

jackboy wrote: »
    Banning young people from going outside. 😂

Yes at certain times if that is their behaviour

• Registered Users Posts: 56,135 ✭✭✭✭walshb

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Yes at certain times if that is their behaviour

Exactly!!!

And if parents can’t or won’t do it, the state should.

Simple: you want to be free and part of society, behave. If not, those freedoms should be forcibly removed!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I think there's a lot of pent up testosterone and hormones over the past year. We can't underestimate the effect restrictions have had on people who lack the life experience to deal with such impediments placed on prime socialising years.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,085 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

walshb wrote: »
    Exactly!!!

Simple: you want to be free and part of society, behave. If not, those freedoms should be forcibly removed!

Aha! The freedom to obey orders!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Have you talked to them?

Nope living in the quiet countryside.

Have you talked to them?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,835 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Where are the parents of these minors

Their parents are scumbags too. Failures as parents.

walshb wrote: »
    Exactly!!!

I wouldn't put it that way. If you are part of society, you should accept and follow the rules of that society, if you choose not to, well either move somewhere else or face consequences. Free choice.

Another thing i noticed from a trip into the city centre this morning is the amount of empty nitrous oxide capsules all over the place. Is anything being done to tackle this does anyone know??

Soda stream business must be booming.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Shirrrrrrr they'll take friggin anything now..if it's not shots laced with whiskeys and vodkas,, it's something even more dangerous. Weekend nights in Ireland were becoming more and more dangerous and uncontrollable years before the lockdown,.thank God it happened if just only to stop the kids killing themselves with drink and drugs... I'd like to think there's not or wasn't a huge drug epidemic before the lockdown,.but to be on those streets late at night (and not so late) you would think drugs was the reason,.but their so out of their heads on crazy drinks it's hard to tell the difference....

• Registered Users Posts: 31,085 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The degeneration of discussion into uninformed moaning about recreational drug use is surely a sign that this pandemic is over and the finger waggers are moving back to their traditional territory.

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

Pretty much everyone on twitter is outraged at the Garda over this. I wonder maybe if they should have just dealt with individuals and groups instead of shutting the whole place down? Should they not be policing it in a manner where it's not able to kick off?
    I mean anyone with any sense knew that little knackers would be kicking off in these circumstances.
    Does anyone really want to be sat outside eating or drinking when there's gangs of grey tracksuit bottomed youths all over the place?

Twitter sounds like it's full of nutjobs tbh.

Every single person iv'e spoken with about it fully supports the Gardai on this one.

TefalBrain wrote: »
    Twitter sounds like it's full of nutjobs tbh.

Every single person iv'e spoken with about it fully supports the Gardai on this one.

Me too. The softly softly approach doesn't work. You want to act like a c**t then you have to be prepared to deal with the consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Lumen wrote: »
    The degeneration of discussion into uninformed moaning about recreational drug use is surely a sign that this pandemic is over and the finger waggers are moving back to their traditional territory.
    For those, like me, who are ignorant of any obvious need to inhale such gases, here's a link explaining it.

https://adf.org.au/drug-facts/nitrous-oxide/

• Registered Users Posts: 10,519 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Have 2 nights booked in a Dublin hotel from tomorrow night on.
    I was looking forward to a few sociable pints with the missus and hopefully a nice atmosphere around town.
    I'll still go for a few but I'll definitely be wary of going anywhere near the hotspots mentioned on the news.
    It's a shame as I would've liked to have a few pints in them areas.
    Absolute **** heads ruining it for everyone.
    The guards are 100% correct in what they are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,319 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lumen wrote: »
    Aha! The freedom to obey orders!

Not acting like a scumbag is "obeying orders" *rolls eyes*

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Valhallapt wrote: »
    ...But tony holohan took to the airwaves to say that restricting visits to nursing homes would be detremental to residents health and urged nursing homes to stay open. He also stated that masks were not necessary.

Now 18 months later, he is tweeting pictures of youth outside in the sunshine, and letting it be known that he disapproved of this action, next weekend, the gardai baton charge groups of youths. heavy handed actions from a poorly trained force.

https://www.thejournal.ie/covid-19-coronavirus-nursing-homes-hse-residential-care-5080182-Apr2020/

Whats with making up shyte?

What "pictures of youth outside in the sunshine" was Tony tweeting?

You posted this earlier and its more bs
    Valhallapt wrote: »
    Lots of people on here blaming the gardai, lots on here blaming the scrotes.

Its government policy that lead us to this place. Tony holohan not helping by tweeting blame at youth.

"Tony" didn't mention the word "youth" in his tweet at all.

https://twitter.com/CMOIreland/status/1398724543536041990?s=20

But don't let any of that stop you whinging about de poor deprived youf ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Since when is public drinking tolerated? I think most of these will disperse once the pubs are fully opened.

Not at all. Most of these scroates won't get served

• Registered Users Posts: 10,519 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Mr.S wrote: »
    Mid week isn’t that bad, it’s really on the weekends or evenings where it’s very sunny when it gets chaotic.

Bank holiday Monday though......
    Tuesday will be fine.
    I'm not too bothered but I'll be keeping an eye out all the same.

Get Real wrote: »
    It's literally in the video I posted. Guards moving people on, calmly, not seizing drink.

There are articles in the newspapers on people being glassed, there are articles about a shop window being broken and staff attacked.

I was drinking myself in the Green.

I saw with my own eyes a nice cordial atmosphere.

I saw the videos of batons and shields out.

And from this I can only come to the conclusion, that the poster claiming Soviet tactics is wrong. That they are using clips of last resort tactics and trying to make it seem like they're used from the get go.

Which is not what I've seen with my own eyes, read about in the news or seen by doing my own research and seeing footage of. Like all the videos below.

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBnheP/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBKJkn/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBq8oN/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBnaPw/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBpT86/

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEBHxXC/

In none of these videos do I see Eastern European police tactics. In one of them I see guards moving people calmly, not seizing drink.

In another i see them escorting an ambulance so it can get in.

In another i can see crowds wedged shoulder to shoulder, partying.

In another I see lads enjoying themselves and rallying around a speaker.

This is why I do not believe taking two or three clips, from the end of a night, as a last resort and safety tactic, after people have been assaulted and various crimes occurred and equating it with the gestapo, as something to be true.

Fecking superb post backed up with evidence

93b32fb4c2c4f199d645b764a68d641b.gif

"Your outdoor Summer is proudly sponsored by Canada Goose, North Face and badly smelling fake tan"

The scroates are now setting the bins on fire

https://streamable.com/rarm39

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭hynesie08

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    "Your outdoor Summer is proudly sponsored by Canada Goose, North Face and badly smelling fake tan"

Not their fault, council should have provided fire pits, what are they supposed to do?

ShineOn7 wrote: »

Okay, send in the riot squad.

It's weird, in all the nights I've gone to town over the past 10 years I never ever saw 15 or 16 year olds drinking around these spots. They were out in fields somewhere, whatever happened with Covid it opened this part of the city to them.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Not their fault, council should have provided fire pits, what are they supposed to do?

Lol

I can see the Sinn Fein tweets now

An Garda defends response after 33 people arrested in Dublin city over bank holiday weekend
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/an-garda-defends-response-after-33-people-arrested-in-dublin-city-over-bank-holiday-weekend-1.4585732

After an initially quiet late afternoon and early evening, a larger group of around 200 people gathered on South Anne Street at around 9pm.

In statement, Gardaí said they “came under fire from an assault of multiple glass bottles” on this street from a group of approximately 200 young people.

Places around South William Street were told to stop selling at around 8. Then when everything quietened down they were going around the city removing people's drinks after initially just telling people to scatter from those few streets where people were congregating. It wasn't even overcrowded, those streets always are like that on nice days. It was probably a Guard younger than me who ordered me to pour out my Vodka hahaha. I came close to a Gemma O'Doherty 'who are you here to serve' rant. It's tough for them but I think this shows how overzealous enforcement has become. What's closing a few streets when the reference point is 2km restrictions on people's movement? There's always been little scrotes, how that ends with the epicentre of Dubin's social scene being shut down on a whim just doesn't make sense to me. I still don't know why things were shut down? Is it Covid or the little scummers?

We definitely do need things to open up and stuff like festivals and whatever else to diffuse the pent up frustration. It be a crying shame if outdoor culture in Dublin was scrapped because some curtain twitchers and scrotes join together in unlikely unison to ruin everyone else's enjoyment.

I saw many people enjoying themselves in the phoenix park, iveagh gardens, Smithfield square.
    No Gardai moving them on, why was that?
    Oh, maybe they behaved like normal human beings??

• Registered Users Posts: 10,979 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

tom1ie wrote: »
    Have 2 nights booked in a Dublin hotel from tomorrow night on.
    I was looking forward to a few sociable pints with the missus and hopefully a nice atmosphere around town.
    I'll still go for a few but I'll definitely be wary of going anywhere near the hotspots mentioned on the news.
    It's a shame as I would've liked to have a few pints in them areas.
    Absolute **** heads ruining it for everyone.
    The guards are 100% correct in what they are doing.

I say you it will not be bad. With all the places opening up withe outdoor seating and the publicity the people will only be able to be there if booked at a place. Enjoy yourself and just be as cautious as if you were last time it was open

• Registered Users Posts: 10,979 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

hynesie08 wrote: »

And also protectors so they don't get burnt on those fire pits