Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you miss the pub?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

alentejo wrote: »
    Well. Todays figures push back the opening of pubs till the end of the month (at least)

Not likely seeing as its roughly the same as last week with around 100 of todays cases a backlog from throughout the week.

Consultation with the vintners to begin this week appearently as they guidelines have been drawn up

Can’t believe people would actually want less information and only get weekly numbers. Madness, we need to know daily numbers and they need to be broken down more detailed geographically also imo. None of this nonsense of x cases in a list of about 10 counties. Every county should get a number and it should be done daily.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Madness, we need to know daily numbers and they need to be broken down more detailed geographically also imo. None of this nonsense of x cases in a list of about 10 counties. Every county should get a number and it should be done daily.

No need to break it down, Zero divided by all the counties is still zero.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Can’t believe people would actually want less information and only get weekly numbers. Madness, we need to know daily numbers and they need to be broken down more detailed geographically also imo. None of this nonsense of x cases in a list of about 10 counties. Every county should get a number and it should be done daily.

A terrible idea. Can you imagine the scapegoating and finger pointing that might ensue?

Any county that is feeling smug about escaping the wrath of this virus at any point needs to check themselves. It is going to go everywhere, get over it.

Public health: so how come Ireland couldn’t legally stop people from other EU arriving in Ireland??

So again you can't answer the question?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I'd argue that home/private beer garden drinkers are probably the type who never frequented the pub much anyway. People will always want to socialise and congregate, there's been plenty of evidence of that even during the lockdown. The pub provides the ideal space for this. I agree habits change, but not the habit of a lifetime! It's a bit like saying that people would stop going to sporting events years ago when they first started televising them but, if anything, demand increased.

I agree that they weren't big pub types but this will make more of them in my opinion. I think that the TV did affect attendances at matches, at least in the beginning and took a good while to recover. Pubs might be the same here.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭cityboyjim

I have been dropping into Boards a few times each week to have a look, and sometimes dropped out just as fast .The odd interesting and informative post and the rest .Well now lets just say people have time on their hands and like using the old keyboard to maybe stir a bit of controversy.The result being that nobody takes whats said here as even remotely solid and reliable information.
    The bottom line is that this pandemic has now killed 880.000 people .
    Infected 27,000,000 .
    Young people are so complacent its mind boggling .
    Nurses and Doctors are putting themselves at risk every day they get up ..
    Not just themselves but their families also .
    Schools should be running 7 days a week .Three days attendance one week and four the next .Community Centers should be used as classrooms .At risk teachers would be safer by doing this .
    Proper compensation for country pubs and stay closed until there is a vaccine .Not going to be financially viable for small bars to open anyway due to the restrictions that will be put in place .Much safer and financially sensible to keep our cases down and out hospitals able to function better in order to cope with all the other illnesses out there .
    Town centers to be policed more .Not just at night .Large shopping centers number restricted .
    GAA seemed to work so far . All Ireland championship should be changed to knock out with all games streamed or televised .
    See out 2020 and Astra Zenica to come good in the new year .Thanks

They could open pubs in areas that have low rates. Areas where cases are still high or climbing like Dublin would stay shut.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

cityboyjim wrote: »
    I have been dropping into Boards a few times each week to have a look, and sometimes dropped out just as fast .The odd interesting and informative post and the rest .Well now lets just say people have time on their hands and like using the old keyboard to maybe stir a bit of controversy.The result being that nobody takes whats said here as even remotely solid and reliable information.
    The bottom line is that this pandemic has now killed 880.000 people .
    Infected 27,000,000 .
    Young people are so complacent its mind boggling .
    Nurses and Doctors are putting themselves at risk every day they get up ..
    Not just themselves but their families also .
    Schools should be running 7 days a week .Three days attendance one week and four the next .Community Centers should be used as classrooms .At risk teachers would be safer by doing this .
    Proper compensation for country pubs and stay closed until there is a vaccine .Not going to be financially viable for small bars to open anyway due to the restrictions that will be put in place .Much safer and financially sensible to keep our cases down and out hospitals able to function better in order to cope with all the other illnesses out there .
    Town centers to be policed more .Not just at night .Large shopping centers number restricted .
    GAA seemed to work so far . All Ireland championship should be changed to knock out with all games streamed or televised .
    See out 2020 and Astra Zenica to come good in the new year .Thanks

What astonishes me even more is that pubs are still the blame for everything, despite the fact that they aren't even allowed open?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    What astonishes me even more is that pubs are still the blame for everything, despite the fact that they aren't even allowed open?

It's not that they are being blamed but that opening them up everywhere would pour more fuel on the fire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Maybe alcohol kills the virus.
    Worth a try.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

IAMAMORON wrote: »

And outdoor sports events. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

They will be encouraging day drinking if they set close at half 10

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Maybe alcohol kills the virus.
    Worth a try.

It does but has to be over 60%!

PTH2009 wrote: »
    They will be encouraging day drinking if they set close at half 10

It'll be as it is now id say out by 11.30

Not too bad tbh

Maybe add an extra hour for Fri/Sat and BH Sundays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Then all out onto the street and everyone queuing for the few taxis that are working. Or into the only takeaway open.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Not too bad tbh

Maybe add an extra hour for Fri/Sat and BH Sundays

So normal trading hours then if you've no late licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Time to bring a bit of good humour to this thread, what is the pub you would most like to visit first when they reopen?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Time to bring a bit of good humour to this thread, what is the pub you would most like to visit first when they reopen?

i don;t have a specific one, will just be nice to order a drink without having to eat food.

to be honest, the majority of all the places ive visited have not been strict with the time rule, especially when you are going in at 8pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

A place I like visiting when I’m in the capital is the Living Room! Savage spot to watch a game!

Santy2015 wrote: »
    A place I like visiting when I’m in the capital is the Living Room! Savage spot to watch a game!

yeah thats a great spot esp on the way to a match/concert (its within travel distance of Aviva, Croke Park and 3Arena)

With the prices nowadays im almost going to drink in the Weatherspoons Abbey Street before stuff

Almost there ladies and gents Almost there, tbh sometimes the food rule could be handy esp if you knew you weren't been thrown out quickly but nothing beats the old times and the spontaneity of it. Just dropping in a few after work/walk/match etc to have a think to yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭4Ad

Foggy Dew..probably means I'm in Dublin for a gig...I can dream on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Christ talking to people and reading comments about opening times like this make me feel old. I remember the days of 2-4pm closing on Sundays and 11pm closing across the board for every pub in Winter and 11.30pm closing in Summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭4Ad

Christ talking to people and reading comments about opening times like this make me feel old. I remember the days of 2-4pm closing on Sundays and 11pm closing across the board for every pub in Winter and 11.30pm closing in Summer.

Not in East Clare !!!
    The Gardai raiding the pub and everyone out the 'emergency' door....
    Lads getting caught and the pride of having your name in the Clare Champion on a Thursday...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

4Ad wrote: »
    Not in East Clare !!!
    The Gardai raiding the pub and everyone out the 'emergency' door....
    Lads getting caught and the pride of having your name in the Clare Champion on a Thursday...
    The pub I was working in at the time couldn't do that. (I was about 16) Every Sunday this guard would come in to make sure it was empty for the "holy hour"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

The King's Inn for guinness and regulars talking ****e......

Underdog for craft beers and regulars talking ****e.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

11.30 is a bit mad in fairness.

What's gonna happen at 11.30 on a Friday and Saturday? House parties will be ten times busier than before.

I want the pubs to reopen but the 11.30 closing is just a recipe for disaster.

The increase in house parties will just be crazy. No one is going to get bed at 11.30 on a Friday or Saturday.

Open them back up to feck to normal times with social distancing.

inthenip wrote: »
    11.30 is a bit mad in fairness.

What's gonna happen at 11.30 on a Friday and Saturday? House parties will be ten times busier than before.

I want the pubs to reopen but the 11.30 closing is just a recipe for disaster.

The increase in house parties will just be crazy. No one is going to get bed at 11.30 on a Friday or Saturday.

Open them back up to feck to normal times with social distancing.

True, Do they realize people will go out earlier or maybe go in a bit late and binge drink

What is the meaning of the earlier closes ?? **** to gain from it

These NPHET lads must think were a bunch of yahoos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I'll keep on the Dublin trend, The Long Hall is one I'm looking forward to returning to. If I can ever get in there again!!